This community is friendly and clean. The staff are warm and welcoming. I think that they are struggling with staffing right now but it is just a sign of the times and it seems that everyone is going through this now. Whenever I have an issue and go to the staff they are always very open and accommodating. There were a lot of things that made this community just right for our loved one.... Read more
In elegant, residential environments, we deliver the finest in senior care, and are recognized internationally for both quality and innovation. Guided by our Principles of Service, Sunrise affords families peace-of-mind by providing today's seniors with a range of personalized assisted living services. From assistance with activities of daily living such as eating, bathing, dressing to medication monitoring, Sunrise provides residents with the help they need. Residents maintain the same privacy in their new home as they enjoyed in their own home. At Sunrise, we encourage residents to challenge themselves while offering the assistance they need. We encourage family and friends to be involved, to visit frequently, and to invite residents on outings to community events. This innovative approach to senior care is designed to maintain independence and dignity, yet is balanced with the comfort and security that comes from knowing experienced help is close at hand.
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Devotional Services Offsite
Devotional Services Onsite
Indoor Common Areas
Outdoor Common Areas
This community would not give us the time of day. We were exhausted and we were under time constraints. I kind of felt profiled at this community. It was lovely walking in but we had to wait for 10 mins to get into the community. This community also had a smell to it that was not nice.
Response from Sunrise at Bon AirFebruary 23, 2022
We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team
This community is friendly and clean. The staff are warm and welcoming. I think that they are struggling with staffing right now but it is just a sign of the times and it seems that everyone is going through this now. Whenever I have an issue and go to the staff they are always very open and accommodating. There were a lot of things that made this community just right for our loved one.
I would not recommend this community. IT was kind of depressing and we did not see any residents. The tour was great it just wasn't for us.
Response from Sunrise at Bon AirOctober 19, 2021
Allow us to take a closer look at this for you. Please contact us at email@example.com with your information so we're able to best assist you. Thank you.- The Sunrise Team
We toured this community and the tour was very good. They answered all of our questions and were very informative. They were very accommodating and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, the community was just not in our price range
We were not a big fan of the atmosphere inside of Sunrise, it was just not going to be the right fit. We did a virtual tour and the video/audio were not working properly.
I didn't think to much of this place. This may have been due to the lock down of the community. My loved ones didn't like the community. The services where charged a daily fee. The maintenance was good. The staff wouldn't help one of my loved ones. I feel they were low on staffing.
We chose this facility because my cousins visited a bunch of them and Sunrise was the most welcoming, friendly, most home-like environment of all of them. It really made sense for someone who had never been in a facility before. The room sizes are more than adequate. I ate here many times and the food was excellent. They had a lot of variety and it was chef prepared on site. I would recommend Sunrise at Bon Air.
In the residents's rooms, it doesn't seem like they are cleaning thoroughly enough. The overall community is pretty clean, however. The staff is pretty friendly, however they do seem to have a lot of turnover. It seems like when you just start to get used to the staff, they end up leaving. From the director down to the aids all end up leaving quickly. Sometimes, they do seem forget things when they are bringing the residents food, like silverware, which would seem like a fairly obvious thing to bring. It does seem like they offer quite a bit of activities available for the residents to participate in. It does seem like sunrise is a good value for the price. At some communities, there is a central nursing station where you can ask for assistance with things. Because Sunrise doesn't have that, it can be a bit hard to coordinate or request care. Ensuring proper care does require a lot of follow up.
Sunrise was lovely. I loved the decorations on the wall which made it a very cheerful place. I love the fact all residents are on one floor level. I loved the country look with fireplaces and comfortable seating in the common area for residents. They had a great schedule for activities and I met many staff members. I really liked it.Their shared rooms were two separate rooms but they shared the bathroom which was in a little foyer to the left outside of the bedroom doors. The foyer was big enough to put a small sofa and a couple of single chairs.They have skilled nurses in the AM and CNAs and Med Techs in the evening and night hours.
Met lots of staff...chef, maintenance, memory care coordinator, operations director... all pleasant. Due to the delay of the tour, I also met several residents who had been there for a variety of length of times. 2 said food was not that great. All had no complaints. I liked the size (50 apartments arranged as two smaller communities). No openings at this time. Cost was said to be on par with [removed]. Recommended [removed] for their mother if no openings at sunrise. Model of sunrise used but others for cuddling facilities. Staff seemed to be there for awhile. Only staff who was not great with interacting was a med tech working the front desk. This position would interact directly with dad on a regular basis. Could be a problem. I failed to ask if staff could be changed if not responsive to dad.
A great place for my Dad (92) to stay. Very attentive Nursing and CNA staff. Facilities very nice. Meals very diverse and filling. Great Communication between Family Members and Staff. Safe, Secure and Peaceful Place.
The staff members take really good care of my sister and they seem to be very competent. Everyone is friendly and they go out of their way to get all of the residents integrated in the activities. One of the activities that everyone seems to like is they get everyone on a bus and go on a field trip. The facility itself is bright and well decorated. I would recommend this facility to other families.
I toured here when looking for a place for my Mom. The building is a little older so it doesn’t look very modern and the color scheme makes it look very dark. I was able to see the rooms and they weren’t that large. Everything looked clean, though, so that was good. Every head of department came to speak with me about what they all did within the facility. The staff was nice and able to answer my questions. However, it just wasn’t the right place for us.
This community is in a good location for us. The staff have been helpful and encouraging. They are good at handling the different levels of memory care. The community is clean and the grounds are nice. My wife has started to participate in some of the daily activities. The food is good and they offer healthy choices. I can not say enough good things about this community and I would highly recommend it.
I would say the little things are really what matters when considering a community for my mother. This community has been very open with working with me to figure out the proper care plan for my mother. She is doing well, and receiving the care she needs. I love the fact the community is only two miles from me. I feel that is important, because I can really help the staff understand her better. I can visit whenever I want to, and they have been good at keeping me updated on information. The staff have been patient, and understanding. They even allow me to bring my dog to visit her, and the residents love it. I know she is in positive environment, with caring people. This is a community I would recommend.
The facility is nice. They are just under staffed. Residents will pull the alert button and it can be up to an hour at times before you see a caregiver. They take on patients who require a lot of care but do staff accordingly. This would be a good "independent living" facility but if you need much assistance look elsewhere.
Response from Sunrise at Bon AirMarch 8, 2017
We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email information (at) sunriseseniorliving (dot) com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team
So far, we haven't had any problems with this community. It is a very nice place. They were always cheerful, and every time I look for a staff member because I need help, I always find one. My father doesn't really like the food. I am happy with it the place, though, they take very good care of him.
This is the worst place ever. I have a family member there who has been there for a few months. The staff neglect her for hours. I have come to see her every couple of days and whenever i do she is so wet from urine that her clothes are saturated and so is her furniture, which they attempted to cover up by halfway washing. This is elder abuse! When you complain they pretend to speak to the staff but nothing changes. All they care about is the money. DO NOT PUT YOUR LOVED ONE IN HERE!!!!!!
Response from Sunrise at Bon AirOctober 5, 2016
We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at information (at) sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team
My mother has lived here for 3 years. Before she moved in, we were thrilled. The decor is lovely, the staff seemed attentive. After she moved in, however, the actual care provided was terrible. The staff was disinterested and hostile. The neglect and disrespect was unconscionable. Some staff members would argue and patronize my mother, making any request she made feel like a special favor - she was often scolded for things beyond her control - things that are the reason she is in Assisted Living to begin with. When I would seek out a staff member, they were frequently together chatting, or staring at their phones. On several occasions, my mother fell in her room, and wasn't discovered for more than 5 hours. They are supposed to check on her every 2! They played around with her prescriptions to make the medication administration easier on themselves. I asked to be notified about any changes in medication, but I never was. She recently moved out, but we are still paying for the room - but the staff helped themselves to everything that was left in her fridge. She'd only been gone 3 days and the room was still technically "ours"! If you are considering living here, please keep looking.
Response from Sunrise at Bon AirJanuary 20, 2015
Thank you for your review and please know we take all concerns seriously. Please email us at Information (AT) SunriseSeniorLiving (DOT) com with further details about your experience with Sunrise so we may follow up. Thank you, Sunrise Team
really nice, wish we had discovered sooner
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
To reach a resident at Sunrise at Bon Air call: (804) 560-7707
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Heatherwood Community, located in Burke, offers Independent Living and Assisted Living. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited, Inc community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing exceptional care for senior adults.
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Aarondale Community, located in Springfield, offers Independent Living, Assisted Living, and Inspiritas - Memory Care. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing exceptional care for...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
The Westmont, currently under development, will soon be the premier senior living community in a thriving Short Pump, Virginia. Here, you’ll experience a warm and gracious setting, with beautiful surroundings and care levels for independent living, assisted living, and memory care - Inspiritas....
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Welcome to Harmony at IndependenceIndependent Living | Assisted Living | Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Virginia Beach, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services...
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Heritage Green Assisted Living is a licensed assisted living facility with a secured Memory Care unit. We are located just minutes away from Memorial Regional Hospital and physician offices. For more than 16 years families have named Heritage Green Assisted Living as the residence that provides a...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Welcome to The Harmony Collection at HanoverAssisted Living and Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Mechanicsville, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services and supplies...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
As a resident of First Colonial Inn, you can take advantage of the refreshing outdoor campus by joining the gardening club, bird watching, or perfecting your putting on the private green. Take an afternoon stroll or just relax with a good friend on the terrace. Indoors the energy is contagious,...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.