A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

Sunrise at Bon Air

2105 Cranbeck Road, Richmond, VA 23235

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Sunrise at Bon Air community exterior
17 Photos
17 Photos available
4 Floor plans
4 Floor plans available
Sunrise at Bon Air in google map
street view of Sunrise at Bon Air
T T - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Satisfied at sunrise

This community is friendly and clean. The staff are warm and welcoming. I think that they are struggling with staffing right now but it is just a sign of the times and it seems that everyone is going through this now. Whenever I have an issue and go to the staff they are always very open and accommodating. There were a lot of things that made this community just right for our loved one.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Sunrise at Bon Air

In elegant, residential environments, we deliver the finest in senior care, and are recognized internationally for both quality and innovation. Guided by our Principles of Service, Sunrise affords families peace-of-mind by providing today's seniors with a range of personalized assisted living services. From assistance with activities of daily living such as eating, bathing, dressing to medication monitoring, Sunrise provides residents with the help they need. Residents maintain the same privacy in their new home as they enjoyed in their own home. At Sunrise, we encourage residents to challenge themselves while offering the assistance they need. We encourage family and friends to be involved, to visit frequently, and to invite residents on outings to community events. This innovative approach to senior care is designed to maintain independence and dignity, yet is balanced with the comfort and security that comes from knowing experienced help is close at hand.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Sunrise at Bon Air is a community within Sunrise Senior Living properties. See all Sunrise Senior Living communities.

Pricing for Sunrise at Bon Air

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sunrise at Bon Air

Community Details at Sunrise at Bon Air

Activities Offsite

Activities Onsite

Beautician Onsite

Devotional Services Offsite

Devotional Services Onsite

Indoor Common Areas

Meals Provided

Outdoor Common Areas


More on this community

Reviews for Sunrise at Bon Air

3.5

(28 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.8

Care services

3.6

Staff

4.0

Meals & dining

5.0

Activities

3.8

Value for cost

3.5

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 28 reviews
1.0
February 11, 2022
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
My tour review

This community would not give us the time of day. We were exhausted and we were under time constraints. I kind of felt profiled at this community. It was lovely walking in but we had to wait for 10 mins to get into the community. This community also had a smell to it that was not nice.

Response from Sunrise at Bon Air

February 23, 2022

We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at info@sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team


5.0
December 10, 2021
T T - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Satisfied at sunrise

This community is friendly and clean. The staff are warm and welcoming. I think that they are struggling with staffing right now but it is just a sign of the times and it seems that everyone is going through this now. Whenever I have an issue and go to the staff they are always very open and accommodating. There were a lot of things that made this community just right for our loved one.


5.0
October 11, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
My tour review

I would not recommend this community. IT was kind of depressing and we did not see any residents. The tour was great it just wasn't for us.

Response from Sunrise at Bon Air

October 19, 2021

Allow us to take a closer look at this for you. Please contact us at information@sunriseseniorliving.com with your information so we're able to best assist you. Thank you.- The Sunrise Team


5.0
August 17, 2021
Karen - Toured community
Verified Review
my tour

We toured this community and the tour was very good. They answered all of our questions and were very informative. They were very accommodating and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, the community was just not in our price range


3.0
July 30, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Tour of Sunrise

We were not a big fan of the atmosphere inside of Sunrise, it was just not going to be the right fit. We did a virtual tour and the video/audio were not working properly.


2.0
February 23, 2021
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Awful!

I didn't think to much of this place. This may have been due to the lock down of the community. My loved ones didn't like the community. The services where charged a daily fee. The maintenance was good. The staff wouldn't help one of my loved ones. I feel they were low on staffing.


5.0
September 17, 2020
Terry Tatar - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Fabulous community

We chose this facility because my cousins visited a bunch of them and Sunrise was the most welcoming, friendly, most home-like environment of all of them. It really made sense for someone who had never been in a facility before. The room sizes are more than adequate. I ate here many times and the food was excellent. They had a lot of variety and it was chef prepared on site. I would recommend Sunrise at Bon Air.


3.0
June 22, 2020
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Sunrise At Bon Air

In the residents's rooms, it doesn't seem like they are cleaning thoroughly enough. The overall community is pretty clean, however. The staff is pretty friendly, however they do seem to have a lot of turnover. It seems like when you just start to get used to the staff, they end up leaving. From the director down to the aids all end up leaving quickly. Sometimes, they do seem forget things when they are bringing the residents food, like silverware, which would seem like a fairly obvious thing to bring. It does seem like they offer quite a bit of activities available for the residents to participate in. It does seem like sunrise is a good value for the price. At some communities, there is a central nursing station where you can ask for assistance with things. Because Sunrise doesn't have that, it can be a bit hard to coordinate or request care. Ensuring proper care does require a lot of follow up.


4.0
August 31, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

Sunrise was lovely. I loved the decorations on the wall which made it a very cheerful place. I love the fact all residents are on one floor level. I loved the country look with fireplaces and comfortable seating in the common area for residents. They had a great schedule for activities and I met many staff members. I really liked it.Their shared rooms were two separate rooms but they shared the bathroom which was in a little foyer to the left outside of the bedroom doors. The foyer was big enough to put a small sofa and a couple of single chairs.They have skilled nurses in the AM and CNAs and Med Techs in the evening and night hours.


4.0
July 18, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

Met lots of staff...chef, maintenance, memory care coordinator, operations director... all pleasant. Due to the delay of the tour, I also met several residents who had been there for a variety of length of times. 2 said food was not that great. All had no complaints. I liked the size (50 apartments arranged as two smaller communities). No openings at this time. Cost was said to be on par with [removed]. Recommended [removed] for their mother if no openings at sunrise. Model of sunrise used but others for cuddling facilities. Staff seemed to be there for awhile. Only staff who was not great with interacting was a med tech working the front desk. This position would interact directly with dad on a regular basis. Could be a problem. I failed to ask if staff could be changed if not responsive to dad.


5.0
May 29, 2018
Larry Meyer - Loved one of resident/client
Safe, Secure and Peaceful Place.

A great place for my Dad (92) to stay. Very attentive Nursing and CNA staff. Facilities very nice. Meals very diverse and filling. Great Communication between Family Members and Staff. Safe, Secure and Peaceful Place.


4.0
January 10, 2018
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Bright and friendly atmosphere

The staff members take really good care of my sister and they seem to be very competent. Everyone is friendly and they go out of their way to get all of the residents integrated in the activities. One of the activities that everyone seems to like is they get everyone on a bus and go on a field trip. The facility itself is bright and well decorated. I would recommend this facility to other families.


3.0
December 20, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
This place needs some updating

I toured here when looking for a place for my Mom. The building is a little older so it doesn’t look very modern and the color scheme makes it look very dark. I was able to see the rooms and they weren’t that large. Everything looked clean, though, so that was good. Every head of department came to speak with me about what they all did within the facility. The staff was nice and able to answer my questions. However, it just wasn’t the right place for us.


5.0
September 7, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A good match

This community is in a good location for us. The staff have been helpful and encouraging. They are good at handling the different levels of memory care. The community is clean and the grounds are nice. My wife has started to participate in some of the daily activities. The food is good and they offer healthy choices. I can not say enough good things about this community and I would highly recommend it.


4.0
June 20, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It's The Little Things That Matter

I would say the little things are really what matters when considering a community for my mother. This community has been very open with working with me to figure out the proper care plan for my mother. She is doing well, and receiving the care she needs. I love the fact the community is only two miles from me. I feel that is important, because I can really help the staff understand her better. I can visit whenever I want to, and they have been good at keeping me updated on information. The staff have been patient, and understanding. They even allow me to bring my dog to visit her, and the residents love it. I know she is in positive environment, with caring people. This is a community I would recommend.


2.0
March 3, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Good for independent living but not if you need "assistance"

The facility is nice. They are just under staffed. Residents will pull the alert button and it can be up to an hour at times before you see a caregiver. They take on patients who require a lot of care but do staff accordingly. This would be a good "independent living" facility but if you need much assistance look elsewhere.

Response from Sunrise at Bon Air

March 8, 2017

We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email information (at) sunriseseniorliving (dot) com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team


4.0
December 16, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great place so far...

So far, we haven't had any problems with this community. It is a very nice place. They were always cheerful, and every time I look for a staff member because I need help, I always find one. My father doesn't really like the food. I am happy with it the place, though, they take very good care of him.


1.0
October 4, 2016
Willow - Loved one of resident/client
Worst place EVER

This is the worst place ever. I have a family member there who has been there for a few months. The staff neglect her for hours. I have come to see her every couple of days and whenever i do she is so wet from urine that her clothes are saturated and so is her furniture, which they attempted to cover up by halfway washing. This is elder abuse! When you complain they pretend to speak to the staff but nothing changes. All they care about is the money. DO NOT PUT YOUR LOVED ONE IN HERE!!!!!!

Response from Sunrise at Bon Air

October 5, 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at information (at) sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team


1.0
January 16, 2015
Tktracy - Loved one of resident/client
Smoke and mirrors

My mother has lived here for 3 years. Before she moved in, we were thrilled. The decor is lovely, the staff seemed attentive. After she moved in, however, the actual care provided was terrible. The staff was disinterested and hostile. The neglect and disrespect was unconscionable. Some staff members would argue and patronize my mother, making any request she made feel like a special favor - she was often scolded for things beyond her control - things that are the reason she is in Assisted Living to begin with. When I would seek out a staff member, they were frequently together chatting, or staring at their phones. On several occasions, my mother fell in her room, and wasn't discovered for more than 5 hours. They are supposed to check on her every 2! They played around with her prescriptions to make the medication administration easier on themselves. I asked to be notified about any changes in medication, but I never was. She recently moved out, but we are still paying for the room - but the staff helped themselves to everything that was left in her fridge. She'd only been gone 3 days and the room was still technically "ours"! If you are considering living here, please keep looking.

Response from Sunrise at Bon Air

January 20, 2015

Thank you for your review and please know we take all concerns seriously. Please email us at Information (AT) SunriseSeniorLiving (DOT) com with further details about your experience with Sunrise so we may follow up. Thank you, Sunrise Team


5.0
June 29, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
really nice, wish we had discovered s...

really nice, wish we had discovered sooner

Neighborhood around Sunrise at Bon Air

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise at Bon Air

Sunrise at Bon Air offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Sunrise at Bon Air has received an average review rating of 3.5 based on 28 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (804) 560-7707 to reach a resident at Sunrise at Bon Air.

To reach a resident at Sunrise at Bon Air call: (804) 560-7707



Similar communities nearby

1 / 3
Find Senior Living
There are 62 facilities near Richmond, VA

Heatherwood Community

9642 Burke Lake Rd, Burke, VA 22015

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(85 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Heatherwood Community, located in Burke, offers Independent Living and Assisted Living. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited, Inc community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing exceptional care for senior adults.

Aarondale Community

6929 Matthew Place, Springfield, VA 22151

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(65 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Aarondale Community, located in Springfield, offers Independent Living, Assisted Living, and Inspiritas - Memory Care. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing exceptional care for...

The Westmont at Short Pump Community

14399 N Gayton Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23059

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(78 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The Westmont, currently under development, will soon be the premier senior living community in a thriving Short Pump, Virginia. Here, you’ll experience a warm and gracious setting, with beautiful surroundings and care levels for independent living, assisted living, and memory care - Inspiritas....

Harmony at Independence

2077 S Independence Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23453

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Harmony at IndependenceIndependent Living | Assisted Living | Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Virginia Beach, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services...

Heritage Green

7080 Brooks Farm Road, Mechanicsville, VA 23111

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(53 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Heritage Green Assisted Living is a licensed assisted living facility with a secured Memory Care unit. We are located just minutes away from Memorial Regional Hospital and physician offices. For more than 16 years families have named Heritage Green Assisted Living as the residence that provides a...

The Harmony Collection at Hanover Assisted Living and Memory Care

8227 Meadowbridge Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23116

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(34 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to The Harmony Collection at HanoverAssisted Living and Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Mechanicsville, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services and supplies...

First Colonial Inn

845 First Colonial Rd., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(42 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

As a resident of First Colonial Inn, you can take advantage of the refreshing outdoor campus by joining the gardening club, bird watching, or perfecting your putting on the private green. Take an afternoon stroll or just relax with a good friend on the terrace. Indoors the energy is contagious,...

Spring Arbor of Fredericksburg

5308 River Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22407

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(26 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.