Sunrise At Reston Town Center

1778 Fountain Drive, Reston, VA 20190

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Sunrise At Reston Town Center in google map
street view of Sunrise At Reston Town Center

About the community Sunrise At Reston Town Center

In elegant, residential environments, we deliver the finest in senior care, and are recognized internationally for both quality and innovation. Guided by our Principles of Service, Sunrise affords families peace-of-mind by providing today's seniors with a range of personalized assisted living services. From assistance with activities of daily living such as eating, bathing, dressing to medication monitoring, Sunrise provides residents with the help they need. Residents maintain the same privacy in their new home as they enjoyed in their own home. At Sunrise, we encourage residents to challenge themselves while offering the assistance they need. We encourage family and friends to be involved, to visit frequently, and to invite residents on outings to community events. This innovative approach to senior care is designed to maintain independence and dignity, yet is balanced with the comfort and security that comes from knowing experienced help is close at hand.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing for Sunrise At Reston Town Center

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sunrise At Reston Town Center

Community Details at Sunrise At Reston Town Center

Activities Offsite

Activities Onsite

Beautician Onsite

Devotional Services Offsite

Devotional Services Onsite

Indoor Common Areas

Meals Provided

Outdoor Common Areas


More on this community

Reviews for Sunrise At Reston Town Center

3.3

(21 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.7

Care services

3.5

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

3.5

Value for cost

3.2

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 21 reviews
5.0
January 4, 2021
Anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
complete satisfaction

The administration is extremely supportive and willing to work with people. everything we have asked they gone out of their way to get done for us. I would definitely recommend this community to others


5.0
November 10, 2018
RT Ahrens - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Grateful for this caring commuity

Sunrise in Reston is so wonderful, I don't know where to begin! Although my brother is still settling in and has some dementia, he enjoys the folks he is meeting and values the independence available to him in assisted living. I have found the administrators both professional and warm enough to know them by their first names. Every single person, director, nurse or caretaker, cook or aide, has a smile and greeting for residents and visitors. I'm so grateful to have this caring community so close by so the rest of the family can share these years with my brother.


3.0
May 28, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

While I enjoyed the tour with the Executive Director, I was not as impressed with this Sunrise facility as others in the area. The rooms were small and needed freshing, as were most of the facilities. The staff seemed pleasant and I enjoyed meeting with them. I feel like the facilities need a bit of work.


4.0
May 25, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Tour for care

We toured this community. The menu seemed to be appealing. The community was clean and it was a nice atmosphere. They have a nice feeling with this community. We were happy with the community tour and recommend this community to other families


5.0
May 15, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

I was very impressed with the facility and staff at Sunrise Reston. Probably the most impressive fact is the length of tenure many (+60%) of the staff is over 5 years with a significant percentage over 10 years.


4.5
September 30, 2016
John W Smith - Toured community
Verified Review
close to family and to hospital services

We were impressed by the extent of services offered and the staff attitudes which were very professional. We were able to work out all moms care in a location that is close to a hospital and to family residences.


4.0
September 21, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community

Very nice facility--great location. The staff has been very helpful as we are moving in.


0.5
August 27, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
DON'T DO IT!!!!

Worst place ever!!! I BEG of you to not place your loved one here!! My mother has had to wait over an hour and a half after hitting her "call button" for a response on numerous occasions. The first time was on her very first night there, she fell out of her bed, layed on the floor for over an hour to wait for help. UNACCEPTABLE!!! This is the normal response time. Food is absolute garbage. Staff is very incompetent. Overall one of the worst facilities I've seen. I've had my mother in a few facilities. My mom is a stroke patient and needs less care than some that I've seen in this facility. She's paralyzed on her left side so she needs a hand. I live very close so I visit every day. I feel sorry for the ones who live here and have no family to "stick up" for them. Horrible experience overall. Communication with the "higher ups"....good luck!! It took almost a month to get a response. I guess my point is...don't send your loved one here. I explored all the local facilities. This was unfortunately the best available. We've only been here a month and my mother has had way too many issues to post about. For the amount of money charged for a "level of care"...it's a complete joke. If you have the time and money...keep searching, don't listen to the staff that gets you into these places because I can assure you...after you meet and sign that contract, you'll never see "them" again.

Response from Sunrise At Reston Town Center

September 2, 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at information (at) sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team


1.0
March 6, 2016
Paula Getshen - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Unhappy in Reston

Maria is never available. She is never in her office and never returns phone calls. Very poorly run! Extremely unhappy at this particular Sunrise.

Response from Sunrise At Reston Town Center

March 7, 2016

Thank you for your review. We take all concerns seriously and are sorry to hear you have not been pleased with your experience at Sunrise. We'd like to learn more. Please email us at Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving (dot) com so we may follow up.


0.5
February 10, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Not happy

I have had a loved one in this facility for over a year now and I concur with a couple of the other reviewers. Many improvements are needed. When I signed up to bring my loved one to the facility, I was misled about so many things but the two things are the care and pricing. Jean, the head of Wellness should not be dealing with the public as she is a very unfriendly person. The Executive Director just hides and smiles and always seems to turn their issue back around on your loved one as if that is going to appease people - to blame them rather than correct their problem. Three times over the last month, my loved one pressed the alarm button and no one ever came to help. This is totally unacceptable. This place only seems interested in how much money they can charge for services they don't provide.. The food is tasteless and when my loved one, who will eat most anything complains, I know it's bad. I've eaten at 3 Assisted Living facilities and this is way below even cafeteria food. The location of the facility is great but I am currently looking for a better solution. This place is just not cutting it.

Response from Sunrise At Reston Town Center

February 12, 2016

Thank you for sharing a review. Please know we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn if you feel there is other room for improvement so we can address. Please email us at Information(at)SunriseSeniorLiving(dot)com. Thank you! Sunrise Team


1.0
February 6, 2016
Paula - Loved one of resident/client
Frustrated

My mother was in the Reston Sunrise for 2 1/2 weeks and it was not a good experience for her or myself. There were few if any activities for residents that are alert and would enjoy some stimulation. In fact, there was nothing offered and when you walk into the building you see many residents just sitting there. The ones who are capable of doing things are usually in their rooms watching tv because there is nothing for them.for them. My mother who had moved from a Sunrise in NJ , where she was very happy was extremely unhappy. She has since left Reston and now resides in the Fair Oaks Sunrise where she has been for the last 2 weeks and is very happy. When I received my final bill, there were some things that I did not understand. Maria [removed] was called into the sales office and told me that we were accidentally billed for Living Plus 3 which simply means that the resident receives assistance for showering, getting dressed and using the facilities. She acknowledged that this was a mistake and would be taken off the bill. When I received the corrected copy, it had not been taken off. I then spoke to Kara Le who is in charge of billing and was told that she could not take it off without Maria's approval. After 4 days of calling and leaving voice mails, she once tried to returned my call, but unfortunately my phone put her directly to my voice mail. On two occasions I called at least 5 times, after 4 days of frustration, on Thursday 2/4 I went there and once again she could not be located in the building. Jean, the Wellness woman on the third floor tried to tell me that my mom had received Living Plus 3 assistance, which was not true and confirmed by the Fair Oaks Sunrise where she does not receive that help. I told Janet in the Sales office that all I wanted to do was to pay my bill, but no one was willing to assist me. Eventually, Kara did take off all the incorrect charges and I paid my bill. I am so relieved that my mom is out of there and that I do not have to deal with them again. Maria [removed], does not do her job correctly and has no skills at relating to people and avoids dealing with any problems that may occur. No one in the building could even locate her when I called. This was an extremely frustrating experience dealing with most of the people at the Reston Sunrise. Janet in sales and Amber in the main office were the two exceptions in my experience at Reston.

Response from Sunrise At Reston Town Center

February 11, 2016

Thank you for your review. We take all concerns seriously and we are sorry to hear you that you have not been pleased with your experience at Sunrise. We'd like to learn more, please email us at Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving (dot) com. Thank you, Sunrise Team.


1.5
January 15, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Corporate-wake up! Reston facility needs ur attention!!!

My family and I are very dissatisfied with Sunrise Senior Living in Reston, VA. It's a beautiful facility which initially attracted us. However, so many of the staff, from management, to aides, even kitchen servers are curt and not welcoming, which you so want for your loved one. We have experienced staff not responding to the "fail proof" new alert system, failure to distribute medications accurately - despite repeated meetings and phone calls and written instructions, and now parking has been made impossible! They have removed all parking spots for visitors and require you find street parking, if available! And to make matters worse, the food is awful. For the exhorbitant amount of money we shell out for care, I surely wished we would have investigated more carefully other facilities as now, with our relative uncomfortable with change, it would be too disruptive - and they know it! I advise everyone to not only visit many facilities, but interview the residents and their family members for an accurate assessment. Don't go on outside beauty of the facility or hearsay. It's so frustrating for us since we fear our loved one will get even worse treatment if we complain to corporate so we choose to keep this review anonymous.

Response from Sunrise At Reston Town Center

January 29, 2016

We are sorry to hear about your experience and would like to learn more. Please know we take all concerns seriously; we ask that you email us at Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving (dot) com with further details so we can follow up. Thank you, Sunrise Team


3.0
October 6, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mixed experience

Our experience with Sunrise at Reston Town Center has been somewhat mixed. The facility itself is nice, and always very clean, and the staff seem friendly for the most part. However, I think they could be more attentive when it comes to the day to day changes in the behavior of their residents. I ended up needing to take my loved one in to the emergency room based on some behavioral changes that they hadn't noticed until I visited.


4.0
July 7, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Good staff for memory care patients

I had my mother in the memory care unit, and I think that they had a good number of caregivers who were very caring. I think the staff obviously had training with dementia and they did really well with my mother in the time that she was there.


5.0
May 26, 2015
Anonymous - Toured community

The facility is nice and clean with larger rooms with big windows. It is located near the hospital and many doctor offices. the staff is very and knowledgeable.


4.0
October 6, 2014
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Review of Sunrise At Reston Town Center Alzheimer's / Memory Care in Reston, VA

I liked this community very much and felt that it will certainly be considered as one of the options. Lisa was great and provided a wealth of information. Location is good.


3.0
June 7, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Two views

The staff in the memory care unit is wonderful, I would highly recommend any of them. However it seems the management is always after your money, saying that they need to switch roommates when they know that they don't get along and then saying you need to get a private room at a higher price.


4.0
May 29, 2014
Loved One - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It really is a very nice facility, and we visited about six or seven.

It's an older facility, and there are areas where some of the carpeting could be replaced in the elevator, and things like that, but they keep it pretty well clean otherwise. The staff has been very friendly with the family, and it's sort of mixed with my loved one, of course. There is some confusion with the care services, but that could be on a communication issue on our loved ones' part. The chef has spoken to her about specific things she likes, and there have been a few meals she has really liked a lot. It really is a very nice facility, and we visited about six or seven.


4.0
October 7, 2013
Daughter in Law - Toured community
Verified Review
Short term memory guard system

This was slightly smaller than the other Sunrise and while they did have the wander guard system, they seemed reluctant to use it for an individual past the initial beginning stages. We wanted her to have it for as long as she was there, however long that may have been.


4.0
September 30, 2013
Liz - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Meal service needs improvement

They need to provide better service at meals. My dad moved here to assisted living and I feel like this is more of a cafeteria and not a dining room. One menu is provided per table, they don't ask the people what they want, they just bring out this huge tray of food. My dad has eating issues so he would eat more than one meal; I've seen a woman who finished her meal and they came back and asked her if she wanted something more. My dad was supposed to get fruit for dessert and it was never offered, it is now, but they would bring out these HUGE dessert trays and just let them chose. I'm not really happy with the dining and the way meals are being served. I don't think I would ever eat here, all of the food comes already on the plate, covered in plastic, so it's been sitting for some time, it's not always hot. Meals are probably the highest point of my dad's day, he's hearing and seeing impared so he can't really participate in the activities. I feel like, when I've had to deal with all the "big people" (Executive director, marketing people, the director of assisted living...) all of them have been great and I feel like they listen and I know when I ask for changes for my dad I've gotten them. It's a really big job and they have a lot of people and they do a good job.


Neighborhood around Sunrise At Reston Town Center

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Sunrise At Reston Town Center in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise At Reston Town Center

Sunrise At Reston Town Center offers Studio and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Sunrise At Reston Town Center has received an average review rating of 3.3 based on 21 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Reston, VA

1 / 3

The Kensington Reston (NOW OPEN)

11501 Sunrise Valley Dr, Reston, VA 20191
$X,XXX+ monthly

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Tall Oaks Assisted Living

12052 North Shore Drive, Reston, VA 20190
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(34 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Hunters Woods at Trails Edge

2222 Colts Neck Rd, Reston, VA 20191
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(5 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Great Falls Assisted Living A Memory Care Community

1121 Reston Ave, Herndon, VA 20170
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(21 reviews)

Studio

Harmony at Chantilly

2980 Centerville Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(23 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Pacifica Senior Living Sterling

46555 Harry Byrd Hwy, Sterling, VA 20164
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(35 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Greenbrier Assisted Living

8204 Madrillon Estates Drive, Vienna, VA 22182
$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(2 reviews)

Studio, Private

Sunrise at Fair Oaks

3750 Joseph Siewick Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(42 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Arbor Terrace Fairfax

3925 Downs Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.