Morningside of Alpharetta

253 N Main St, Alpharetta, GA 30009

Photo 1 of Morningside of Alpharetta
See all 18 photos

About the community

Five Star Senior Living with approximately 300 communities nationally manages Morningside of Alpharetta. The community opened in 1997 as Dogwood Forest. We are a senior living community in the beautiful city of Alpharetta, Georgia, in Fulton County. Our sophisticated, home-like community sits on a large landscaped lot in the heart of the city, surrounded by lush gardens, inviting shops and unique restaurants. Alpharetta is a peaceful, affluent city that offers easy access to world-class healthcare, transportation and entertainment in nearby Atlanta, making this a wonderful place to call home.

Morningside of Alpharetta is dedicated to providing our residents with a safe, supportive community that strikes the perfect balance between independence and assistance. Our state-of-the-art 24-hour emergency call system includes both a wearable pendant and apartments are equipped with emergency pull cords to ensure our seniors can call for immediate, on-site assistance from our team of experienced, compassionate caregivers.

Morningside of Alpharetta offers a wide range of attractive amenities, unique services and specialized features designed to encourage residents to be active, make new friends and explore their interests, including:

Spacious private apartments with walk-in
...

Read More

Senior Housing Types

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing at Morningside of Alpharetta

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities

Health Care Services

Memory care
Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist
Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.

For a local A Place for Mom Advisor

(877) 345-1716

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
Restaurant style dining
Room service

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground floor units
Private patio, deck, or balcony

Community Amenities

On-site dining options

Café or bistro
Private dining room

Transportation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Transportation at cost
Property convenient to public transit

Pets

Dogs allowed
Cats allowed

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Main street shops
Barber shop

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Movie or theater room
Piano or organ
Raised garden beds

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Grocery shopping and errands
Laundry service / drycleaning

Memory care services

Wander guard or similar system available
Secured community
Designed specifically to accommodate memory loss
Enclosed courtyard

Languages spoken

French
Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Visiting chaplain or priest
Art classes
Cooking classes

Reviews

3.9

(34 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.8

Care services

3.9

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

5.0

Activities

3.9

Value for cost

3.9

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community.
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 34 reviews

5.0
February 21, 2021
Joe F - Sibling of resident/client
Very Happy

I am pleased with the cleanliness of the facility and the concern management and staff have for the comfort and safety of my sister. The building is spotless and in two years I have experienced no bad odor which is amazing. The staff is polite and caring . [name removed] the director works tirelessly to maintain such a phenomenal facility.

Response from Morningside of Alpharetta

March 8, 2021

Thanks for your positive feedback on our team and community Joe. It is our privilege to have your sister call Morningside her home, and we're very glad you feel comfortable with the care she receives here. You made us smile when you called our community phenomenal and will work hard to retain that title!


2.0
January 12, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Older but clean and feel a little more like home. Country cooking food. Still feel like we are too young for assistant living. Apartment very small and carpet. Bedroom have no space for night stand and only queen size bed will fit in. Not much closets leaving are very small, just fit two recliners.They gave us delicious cake and pie to carry home.


1.0
December 9, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
A nurses perspective

I am a visiting caregiver. I have been to this facility many times and have been in the field 20 years, Although this has always been a nice looking and feeling place, my most recent experiences here have been horrible. The staff yells all the time non stop at night and early morning. They act like they own the place and not like this is the residents homes. They are loud and disrespectful. They do not knock before entering rooms. They need some serious management and teaching. They need to actually care and they don’t care about anyone sleeping here. Worst part is families don’t know because they aren’t here late nights or early. I’m listening to them now like they are partying. Talk and yell less, and work more.


4.0
September 6, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Really satisfied

The community is kept very clean and the grounds are well maintained. The food looks presentable. The caregivers treat dad very well and encourage him to participate in some of the daily activities. This community is close to family and dad seems content. I would recommend this community.


4.5
July 24, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Comfortable Respite Stay

My husband had a comfortable two-week respite stay at Morningside of Alpharetta. A very nice and clean community. My husband did not care for the food, but what do you expect from an assisted living community.They offered plenty of activities for the residents to participate in. Since my husband was only there for such a short time he did not go on the outings provided. The staff was very friendly and caring.


2.0
April 26, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Care is suffering under new management!

My mother has been living in the assisted living for 4 years and the care was very good until the new company, five star took over. The whole management staff has quit and many of the caretakers. The new company is not paying competitive wages and as we all know you get what you pay for. Change is hard for the elderly and now I have no other choice but to move my mom. Look elsewhere.

Response from Morningside of Alpharetta

May 8, 2017

Like in all senior living communities some staff turnover is inevitable, however many of our management and team members have been with us for 1, 5, 10 or even 15+ years! We know our team members are our most valuable asset, and in a competitive job market we have increased starting pay and offer a comprehensive benefits package, including tuition assistance for our team members working toward degrees. Please contact us if you would like to know more about what we are doing to find and retain the talented people who work directly with our residents like your mom.


4.0
May 19, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
She Is Happy Here And Likes It

I helped my friend's mother find a community. A Place for Mom was a big help for us. My friend's mother has adjusted well to the community. She really likes it and the people are very kind. My friend is pleased with the type of care her mother is getting. Her mother is starting to come out her shell and try new activities. She is happy and that is the most important thing.


5.0
April 9, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Review of Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta - Alpharetta, GA

Love this place. Beautiful facility and the people are very helpful


5.0
April 5, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mom Is Doing Well

My mom is doing very well and have adjusted very well. This is a nice community with kind people. The community looks nice and clean. The staff is good very and caring for my mother very well. She enjoys the activities like bingo and the shopping trips. She seems happy and I am pleased with this community.


4.5
March 21, 2016
Thea Kozar - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Excellent staff, clean facility, great residents

Moved my Loved one in February to DF. The experience has been all positive. The support staff was there for us every step of the way. They helped moved furniture, installed tvs on wall, and fulfilled every request immediately. The food is good, activities are fun and plentiful, a relaxed and pleasant environment. The facility is clean and well kept. This place has more of a homey feel than others I toured and my loved one is adjusting quickly.


5.0
January 20, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Good layout

Very friendly staff, especially the dog. Good layout. Wheelchair acc under sinks (not found in a lot of other places). We like Dogwood a lot.


4.0
July 16, 2015
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Seemed like a nice place

I toured this community while looking into care options for a loved one. The facility was well kept and clean, and all of the staff I met seemed friendly and professional. We ended up selecting another community, but this is somewhere I would have considered as an option for my loved one.


4.0
June 9, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice place, overall

Overall I think they do a good job at Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta. The facility is clean and well kept, and for the most part the staff is friendly and helpful. I really have no complaints, things have gone very well since my loved one moved in!


4.0
May 14, 2015
Cindy - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Much improved living

Mom and Dad are happy with their new home as compared to another place they have lived. There is always room for improvement that can be seen once one is settled in any assisted living environment. Dogwood Forest seems to be all they claim to be but it is still necessary for residents and their family to point out where some details are lacking. I think this is mainly due to turnover of staff in residences like this and the attention to detail and customer care mind-set of each individual staff member. My siblings and I have found that our parents are not always willing to speak up but will grumble to us behind the scenes. So we take it upon ourselves to kindly point out to those in charge, the areas of concern our parents have. So far our small concerns have been well received and addressed....and that's a good sign! There are always questions you don't think to ask upon visiting a residence so I recommend each person who is searching for one, to think through your own day and the needs you have on a regular basis in order to make a list of items to ask about and get answers up front. For example, if a place says they do laundry, ask specifics about how it is done to determine how well your parent's belongings will be taken care of. Some places throw darks right in with the whites. For a woman who has been meticulous about her own laundry all her life will feel discouraged when her bright white items come back looking gray, which in turn could reduce her enthusiasm and morale. For someone who never cared much about how their laundry looked, this item wouldn't be a concern. You get the drift...watch out for the things that are important to your parent, not just to you.

Response from Morningside of Alpharetta

May 29, 2015

Thank you for your kind words. Great recommendations. Please communicate to your parents that we really want them to feel comfortable sharing with us in concerns or questions they might have. However, if they prefer for you to continue to speak to us on their behalf, that's perfectly fine with us as well. Thank you for taking the time to review us!


3.5
February 11, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Friendly Atmosphere

Very helpful staff, always friendly. The facility is clean and pleasant. The food is fair, but the staff is willing to find alternatives.


4.0
February 11, 2015
Suemay - Loved one of resident/client
Nice and homey!

Nice and homey...friendly staff.Meals need to be upgraded. The food is not consistent, sometimes good, sometimes pretty bad. Should be a lot better quality of food.


2.0
February 4, 2015
Anonymous - Toured community

Dirty. Floors throughout stained and I vacuumed. Was shown rm with clogged toilet (yuk!) and dead bug on floor (double yuk!). Nice views from rooms of trees and outdoor patio. One room had screened porch. Resident dog is awesome. Long corridors with old yellow ceiling lighting made it look dismal. Nice nooks for reading. Good looked terrible..canned peas and something in identifiable. Memory care unit for transitioning.

Response from Morningside of Alpharetta

February 9, 2015

Hello. Thank you for your review. We are sadden to hear about your initial impressions from your recent visit with our community. Though we typically don't show apartments that are not prepared for viewing, in this case, we decided to give you an idea of the size of the one bedroom apartment you were interested in, so you wouldn't leave with any questions on what we offer in terms of apartment size. As we explained to you that day, though the apartment was in the process of being prepared for the next resident, it wasn't quite move-in ready just yet. We can assure you that we take great pride in our apartments appearance and functionality as our Environmental Services Director is dedicated to this very thing. We apologize for any negative impressions we might have left you with as we always strive to put our best foot forward by leaving a lasting and positive impression. Also, we are happy that you met Abby, the community's dog! She is a real sweetheart and the resident's love her! In regards to the lighting...every detail in our community is chosen by design. We feel the warmer light color better fits our homelike environment. Our community was renovated and expanded not to long ago, so everything that you saw was designed with purpose. You probably noticed other elements representing our philosophy on design exemplified through our choice of wall color, furniture and those cozy reading nooks found throughout our community that you mentioned in your [removed] In reference to dining, we aren't exactly sure what we were having for lunch the day you visited, but our resident's really enjoy the cuisine offered at Dogwood Forest and our Dining Services Director takes pride in the food she offers. We hope that we will have another opportunity to leave a better impression because we really are a great senior living option as we have served hundreds of seniors over the years! Please give us a call with any additional questions you may have!


5.0
December 30, 2014
Carolyn - Resident/client

The care is excellent, and reliable. Great entertainment! I feel safe here, it feels like a big family.

Response from Morningside of Alpharetta

February 2, 2015

Thank you so much! Its glad to know that you fee safe andl at home here! Thank you for your review!


5.0
December 30, 2014
Andy McGill - Industry reviewer
Dogwwod Alpharetta has "the right stuff."

Dogwood has a friendly, helpful atmosphere from the moment you walk in the door. The staff seems to really want to be there and is very helpful. Activities are available throughout the day, and residents help one another have access to them. Their special events are memorable, as I have attended the Thanksgiving dinner several years in a row. I have become friends with a number of residents and staff members in recent years.


4.0
December 29, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Overall, a very good place with compassionate staff.

Having already toured three nearby facilities, I knew Dogwood was the right place for my mother when I visited. Barb, the community relations director, was very personable and seemed genuinely interested in my situation. The facility is very homelike, a good size, and not too formal. One concern that I had was that there is not a lot of outdoor space, like a garden for taking walks. Overall, our experience at Dogwood has been good. I feel confident about my mother being there. The staff are very compassionate, which is what a primary caregiver wants when a parent has dementia. There is room for improvement, however. More attention needs to be given to cleaning the residents' rooms. The activities are great, but when Dot, the activities director is gone over the weekends and for vacation, they are sparse.


Frequently asked questions about Morningside of Alpharetta

Morningside of Alpharetta offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Morningside of Alpharetta has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 20 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar communities nearby

1 / 3

Addington Place of Alpharetta

762 North Main Street, Alpharetta, GA 30009
(17 reviews)

Brickmont of Milton

2925 Webb Rd, Milton, GA 30004
(23 reviews)

Village Park of Alpharetta

12300 Morris Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30005
(12 reviews)

Inspired Living at Alpharetta

11450 Morris Road, Alpharetta, GA 30022
(1 review)

Harris Senior Living

11905 Harris Road, Roswell, GA 30076
(1 review)

The Crossings at Webb Bridge Road

3300 Webb Bridge Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30005
(2 reviews)

Legacy Ridge at Alpharetta

4125 N Point Pkwy, Alpharetta, GA 30022
(28 reviews)

Village Park Milton NOW OPEN

555 Wills Rd, Milton, GA 30004
(2 reviews)

Atria North Point

100 Somerby Drive, Alpharetta, GA 30009
(58 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

Contact Us
701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.