A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

4931 Ridgedale Parkway, Richmond, VA 23234

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield dining room
5 Photos
5 Photos available
2 Floor plans
2 Floor plans available
Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield in google map
street view of Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield
Sharon - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
A nice community, but cumbersome for a blind person.

It was hard for my loved one because he's blind. I don't know that a lot of the people knew, and he's not one to tell people. I was a little disappointed that they didn't really have activities that could accommodate a blind person. When we visited, we went to a social they had with cupcakes and wine, which was okay. But I didn't really feel a part of it. Their communication at the very beginning wasn't great. I had asked if we could bring in his medication in pill boxes sorted by the day, and they told me yes. But it turns out they have to be in the original pharmacy containers, and nobody told me that even after he got there. So he was without his medication for three days, which I was not happy about. I think important details like that should be better communicated. Also, when I went to get his stuff to check him out, I was surprised I didn't have to sign anything. And they also billed me in error for after he left. They did work with me to resolve that issue, but it was frustrating nevertheless. I wished there would ha been more for my dad to do and that they would consider people's handicaps more. Had that been the case, he probably would have stayed.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

Based in a vibrant neighborhood in Chesterfield, Virginia, Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield has been providing exceptional care to Virginia's seniors, blending the comforts of home and around-the-clock care into one exclusive assisted living and memory care community. With numerous indoor and outdoor common areas, a rich calendar of events, and highly trained staff and caregivers, residents can count on this community to provide a friendly face and a helping hand.

Amenities and Services

With varying levels of care, you’re guaranteed to have a compassionate team of staff by your side every step of the way. They offer services like routine housekeeping, laundry, and complimentary transportation to scheduled appointments and off-site locations. The community also provides exceptional medical care, including ambulatory and specialized diabetic to make sure residents are getting the care and therapy they need.

The community’s professional chef has carefully planned their dining program. Residents are served seasonally-inspired, nutritious meals throughout the day in a comfortably formal, restaurant-style dining room. Residents can also make themselves comfortable in the community’s indoor and outdoor common areas. Take a walk through their vibrant butterfly garden or rest your feet by their cozy central fireplace!

Nurturing friendships, staying active, and taking care of your health is...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield is a community within Commonwealth Senior Living properties. See all Commonwealth Senior Living communities.

Pricing for Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
High Acuity Care
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Anytime Dining
Guest Meals
International Cuisine

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Ground Floor Units
Cable or Satellite TV

Facility Amenities

Dining

Bar or Pub
Café or Bistro

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Property Convenient to Public Transit
Uncovered Parking

Pets

Weight limit 21-30lbs
Dogs Allowed
Cats Allowed

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Beauty Salon
Butterfly Garden

Recreational areas

Piano or Organ
Raised Garden Beds

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Memory care

Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Enclosed Courtyard
Outdoor Walking Paths

Languages spoken

Spanish
English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Art Classes
Live Well Programs

Reviews for Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

3.9

(8 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

3.9

Staff

4.7

Meals & dining

4.5

Activities

3.4

Value for cost

3.9

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-8 of 8 reviews
3.0
June 6, 2022
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Our families experience so far

Commonwealth Senior Living is very close in location so very convenient for us. We do like that our loved one gets more attention then any other place he has been to, the day to day staff who work with our loved one are great. However the leadership could improve more on their communication - we had recently followed up with them to double check our loved one for a UTI and unfortunately they did not do that, so our love done ended up in the hospital with a severe UTI and a small stroke

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

June 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us, and I am grateful to hear that you have been happy with our associates. Thank you for highlighting areas we can improve our service to your family. I apologize that we did not follow up with you in a timely manner. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience so that we can improve our process moving forward. Please reach out to me at your convenience at Sharon.Jones@commonwealthsl.com. Kind regards, Sharon Jones Executive Director


4.0
May 9, 2022
Sharon - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A nice community, but cumbersome for a blind person.

It was hard for my loved one because he's blind. I don't know that a lot of the people knew, and he's not one to tell people. I was a little disappointed that they didn't really have activities that could accommodate a blind person. When we visited, we went to a social they had with cupcakes and wine, which was okay. But I didn't really feel a part of it. Their communication at the very beginning wasn't great. I had asked if we could bring in his medication in pill boxes sorted by the day, and they told me yes. But it turns out they have to be in the original pharmacy containers, and nobody told me that even after he got there. So he was without his medication for three days, which I was not happy about. I think important details like that should be better communicated. Also, when I went to get his stuff to check him out, I was surprised I didn't have to sign anything. And they also billed me in error for after he left. They did work with me to resolve that issue, but it was frustrating nevertheless. I wished there would ha been more for my dad to do and that they would consider people's handicaps more. Had that been the case, he probably would have stayed.

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

May 10, 2022

Dear Sharon, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I’m so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We should have told you well in advance that we would need the prescriptions in their original containers. As you can imagine, we need to adhere to the guidance of each physician. Having the dosage and direction on the bottle is essential. It sounds like we missed an opportunity to provide both you and your father with a more comforting and personalized experience. I would love to speak with you in greater detail about this as I want to make sure we tighten up our processes so that this does not happen again. Our goal is to improve the lives of seniors and their families, and we want to do everything we can to ensure this is the case. Please reach out to me at your convenience at (804) 661-6089. Kind regards, Sharon Jones Executive Director


4.0
March 30, 2022
CW - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Pleasant and Cheerful

It has been a very positive experience. The staff seems to be fairly cheerful, and they interact well with the residents. My friend says the food is really good. It's a clean facility. The only issue is sometimes getting feedback and answers to questions can be difficult. You just have to find the right person to get an answer. But overall we're very satisfied with the care. She's happy and safe, and gets the attention and care that she needs, which is the important part. She would rather be at home, but since that's not doable, this is a good alternative.

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

March 30, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! Improving the lives of seniors and their families is central to everything we do. I’m grateful to receive the opportunity to improve our communication. I would love the chance to speak with you directly about this. Would you please reach out to me at your convenience at Sharon.Jones@commonwealthsl.com?


5.0
August 25, 2020
Vanessa - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Peace of Mind

My mom didn't participate in any of the activities, but they had them available. Some of the activities were: bingo, checkers, movie night, outside singers. They did have a common area that my mom would go socialize with other residents. The staff was very friendly. The size of the room was only if you had two people in a room it was a little crowded. I could leave my mom there and it made me feel that it was a good place to leave her. She always says the girls were so nice.


1.0
July 19, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

Got off on the wrong foot with them not expecting me today, your guide didn't work there anymore, no parking for to Long term construction that would have been nice to know about ahead of time. It just felt like no one was ready. No resident was smiling. Assisted and memory care.

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

July 23, 2018

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m so sorry that you did not have a positive experience. Normally, we would call the day before to confirm your community experience and ensure that parking would be available. Regardless, I apologize that your experience was not positive. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please feel free to call me directly on my cellphone at [removed].- Sharon Jones, Executive Director


5.0
December 20, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
We're very happy with this facility

My Mom lives here currently and things are going well for her. The staff is working really hard with her to try and help her walk and become independent again. They’re very attentive to my Mother and her needs and very nice. I feel like when I leave her for the day, she’s safe with them. The food is good; they usually have 2 options available on the menu but if you don’t want what’s offered then you can ask for an alternative. The facility is kept very clean and housekeeping comes by every day to make the bed. Her room is always clean when I visit. I would recommend them for others.


5.0
September 11, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
My father's care

We were happy with this community for my dad. The community was very nice and we were happy with the care that was received. The menu was very good and the activities were helpful for dad. We would recommend this community for the care of a loved one for the great care and the value.


4.0
February 13, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review

I am happy that my husband is getting good care from the great staff here. The food is good and he is happy with the activities that are helpful. The community is nice and clean. Other family members would be happy with the care and the value of a loved one.

Neighborhood around Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield

Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 8 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (804) 271-9787 to reach a resident at Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield.

To reach a resident at Commonwealth Senior Living at Chesterfield call: (804) 271-9787



Similar communities nearby

1 / 3
Find Senior Living
There are 62 facilities near Richmond, VA

Heatherwood Community

9642 Burke Lake Rd, Burke, VA 22015

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(85 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Heatherwood Community, located in Burke, offers Independent Living and Assisted Living. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited, Inc community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing exceptional care for senior adults.

The Westmont at Short Pump Community

14399 N Gayton Rd, Glen Allen, VA 23059

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(78 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The Westmont, currently under development, will soon be the premier senior living community in a thriving Short Pump, Virginia. Here, you’ll experience a warm and gracious setting, with beautiful surroundings and care levels for independent living, assisted living, and memory care - Inspiritas....

The Hidenwood Community

50 Wellesley Dr, Newport News, VA 23606

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(247 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

The Hidenwood Community, located in Newport News, offers Independent Living, Assisted Living, and Inspiritas - Memory Care. You'll have peace of mind knowing we are a Retirement Unlimited, Inc community, family-owned and operated in Virginia with a proud 35+ year tradition of providing...

Harmony at Independence

2077 S Independence Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23453

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Harmony at IndependenceIndependent Living | Assisted Living | Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Virginia Beach, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services...

Heritage Green

7080 Brooks Farm Road, Mechanicsville, VA 23111

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(53 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Heritage Green Assisted Living is a licensed assisted living facility with a secured Memory Care unit. We are located just minutes away from Memorial Regional Hospital and physician offices. For more than 16 years families have named Heritage Green Assisted Living as the residence that provides a...

The Harmony Collection at Hanover Assisted Living and Memory Care

8227 Meadowbridge Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23116

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(34 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to The Harmony Collection at HanoverAssisted Living and Memory CareIn our continued effort to meet the demand of seniors in Mechanicsville, Virginia, we are offering Virtual Tours, an enhanced screening procedure for new residents, along with the security, support, services and supplies...

First Colonial Inn

845 First Colonial Rd., Virginia Beach, VA 23451

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(42 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

As a resident of First Colonial Inn, you can take advantage of the refreshing outdoor campus by joining the gardening club, bird watching, or perfecting your putting on the private green. Take an afternoon stroll or just relax with a good friend on the terrace. Indoors the energy is contagious,...

Spring Arbor of Fredericksburg

5308 River Rd, Fredericksburg, VA 22407

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(26 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.