Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

93 Manalapan Avenue, Freehold, NJ 07728


About the community Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

Mattison Crossing, an assisted living community, provides a full range of services that promote the optimum level of comfort, security and a home like environment. Mattison Crossing offers a variety of apartments to fit your individual lifestyle. All apartments are equipped with sprinklers and smoke detectors. Amenities abound including the kitchens wall to wall carpet, large closets, window treatments, individually controlled heating and air conditioning. And for your convenience, each suite is equipped with an extra large full bathroom. The community boasts an impressive array of services, all meant to ensure a '5-star' experience. Exercise daily in our fitness room, take in a movie in our magnificent theater, be pampered in our beauty salon, read a book or surf the internet in our library, or create your own project in our arts and crafts studios. Mattison Crossing also offers a helping hand with on-site healthcare services such as bathing, showering, dressing, help with medications and ensuring excellent on-site care by visiting doctors. Mattison Crossing has its own beautifully appointed synagogue, available daily, Shabbat and high holiday services. Coupled with a kosher kitchen, the community has created a Jewish cultural environment that is second to none.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care
Independent living

Pricing for Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
International cuisine
Professional chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground floor units

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured community
Designed specifically to accommodate memory loss
Enclosed courtyard
Indoor walking paths

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Main street shops
Barber shop

Services

Beautician
Grocery shopping and errands
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Languages spoken

Filipino
French
Japanese
Russian

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Billiards lounge
Fitness center
Game room

On-site dining options

Bar or pub
Café or bistro
Private dining room

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Visiting rabbi

Reviews for Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

2.3

(38 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

2.9

Care services

2.7

Staff

4.5

Meals & dining

4.0

Activities

3.0

Value for cost

2.3

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 38 reviews
4.0
April 1, 2021
Lisa - Child of resident/client
They are very responsive and accommodating and its a lovely facility

Our loved one was only there for three weeks, but we were very pleased. Physically it is a nice facility and they made large efforts to engage them in activities and bring the residents outside weather permitting. They would have little music concerts and other activities. The administrator there was super responsive, and anytime we had any issues she corrected them immediately. Our one concern we did have, was getting a hold of the night workers to ask questions or get information on. That was a concern and frustrating but once we brought that to the administrators attention, she worked to fix it immediately. We also really liked the doctor, he was very responsive and called us all the time regarding anything with our loved one.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

April 19, 2021

Thank you so much, Lisa for taking time to share your experience of Mattison Crossing. We'll share your positive review with out team, as your feedback is greatly appreciated. If you have anything further to share, please reach out to us. - Warm regards, Alison


4.0
March 19, 2021
Melissa W - Loved one of resident/client
Review of Mattison Crossing

We have not been able to go inside the community due to the restrictions, but the grounds are absolutely beautiful. When it comes to the meals they give the families the option to review the menus, and they do try and keep the activities going, and if anything happens or they notice anything off they call the families immediately.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

March 31, 2021

Thank you so much, Melissa for taking time to share your experience of Mattison Crossing. We value your opinion deeply and will share your positive review with our team. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. If you have anything further to share, please reach out to us as we love hearing from you! - Warm regards, Alison


0.5
September 11, 2020
PK1950 - Loved one of resident/client
Avoid this place

My mother in law was a resident for 3 1/2 years. During that period, we saw a steady decline in activities and food service. Staffing was chronically short-handed. During the pandemic, the shortage made things worse. Residents were isolated and depressed and needed more care not less. In the the period of 3 months, she lost more than 40 pounds (we only found out when she was hospitalized). We tried to get updates on her weight and other matters but got no responses. She fell at least twice that we know of (we had to rely on staff to tell us) and were told that she was checked out and unhurt. When she was hospitalized for the last time and we saw her, we found swollen knees, recently healed scabs, and black and blue marks that showed that they lied to us. When she fell the final time and didn't return to Mattison for three days, nobody even contacted us to check on her status. She died a few days after the last fall. It took more than three weeks for us to get her possessions. When we finally got them, thousands of dollars in jewelry, clothing, walkers, shower chairs, and other items were missing. When we reached out to management, we basically got a shrug of the shoulders.


4.5
June 17, 2020
Kathy Rodio - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mattison Crossing At Manalapan

They take very good care of the community and there is always someone in the hall cleaning. The staff is very friendly and they go above and beyond for the residents. They have been very accommodating with all of them during the community lock down, which was the result of the Covid-19 pandemic, making sure they are taken care of. They have also been very good about communicating with us about what the community has been doing to keep the residents safe. Given the situation, they are doing the best that they can do in terms of care. They are not letting outside professionals in as a way to protect the residents. Because of the pandemic, we have really seen how much the staff cares for each of the residents. The activities are pretty good and the activities director is doing the best she can since all the residents are social distancing. They were also really good about engaging my mother in the activities and she always enjoyed it when they involved her. It is very expensive to have a loved one here but, given the market, it seems on par with what other communities are charging. I would definitely recommend Mattison Crossing to anyone! Even the food is very good and the kitchen is fully kosher. They will make sure the service and food are exactly what the residents want.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

January 27, 2021

Thank you so much, Kathy, for taking time to share your experience at Mattison Crossing. We shared your 4.5-star rating with our team, which certainly meant a lot. If you have anything further to share, please reach out to us as we greatly appreciate your feedback! - Alison


4.5
March 5, 2020
Gail Levy - Loved one of resident/client
1st Visit

My brother [name removed] is in the memory care unit at Madison Crossing and in Manalapan. I met with [names removed] at the very end of February 2020 I have been in contact with them since mid December and felt that they really knew how difficult this situation was and how best to handle it I have never met such a strong professional team, take charge and knowledgeable, while being kind and compassionate. They are truly professionals in every way possible. I didn’t know what to expect with my brothers arrival at Madison Crossing. Each one of the above mentioned people treated him like he was a member of their family and when I met with them and with my husband, they treated us like we were a member of their family and the family at Madison Crossing It is very difficult to put into words how comfortable we felt placing my brother in the hands of these people.. There is not enough praise I respect that we have for them. They are a credit to assisted living and the concept of it and they are credit to Madison Crossing. We are eternally grateful to them and to Madison Crossing providing a lifestyle which my brother describes as beyond wonderful

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

January 27, 2021

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. We shared your positive feedback with our team, which they truly loved to hear. If you have anything further to share, please reach out to us as we love hearing from you. - Alison


0.5
May 25, 2019
Lynda Rothstein - Loved one of resident/client
Changes are needed

This place needs new director of nursing this is obvious she fails to oversee staff and follow up as she should So many families old and new are so upset because care has declined and she is never available or she is argumentative she has no customer service skills she thinks her childlike voice will smoothe things over but no we need a professional caring RN she is bringing care down

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

June 3, 2019

Good afternoon Lynda, I hope your day is going well. My name is Shawn, and I work at the Milestone Support Center (located in Vancouver, WA). I apologize for the negative experience that you've had with this community. It is our goal to provide the best care and service to our residents, families, and staff. I have shared your review with our community leadership team for further review. If you wish to provide additional details about your time with the community, please send a private Facebook message to the community. I can then send it to the appropriate individuals. Thank you again, Lynda, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


0.5
March 13, 2019
RL - Loved one of resident/client
Beware in the event patient falls

If your love one falls and breaks a bone and needs surgery beware of a phone call from administration advising you that your loved one is not welcome back as their evaluation will advise they are not equipped to take care of your loved one. They will kick your loved one out to the street. Family trusted and selected their place because we believed in them that they would offer the best available care. We were sold a bill of goods. They are hungry for the money and when they feel it is to costly to care for your loved one they throw them out in the street. They definitely not care givers and should be ashamed of themselves.


0.5
March 12, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
sadly disappointed

I am very disappointed with the Mattison Crossing for mistreating my mother. She fell and broke her hip while under their supervision and did not call for an ambulance to take her to the hospital. I found her sitting in the wheel chair in the social area. I wound up taking her to the emergency room following the ambulance the night of her fall where they found a broken hip and she needed HIP replacement surgery. She is in rehab and the social worker contacted me to advise that she will be discharged and The Mattison Crossing Executive contacted me while I am out of town on a cruise to advise me that they are not accepting her return and it is my responsibility to remove my mothers furniture and personal belongings this week or will be charged again. Clearly while I am out of town, this will not happen. In addition, they are trying to throw her out in the street but they had no problems taking her money. My mothers home was sold and has no place to go. They should be ashamed of themselves acting this way as a healthcare provider.


5.0
November 11, 2018
Mary Masucci - Toured community
Caring outstanding

Outstanding review all 5

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

November 15, 2018

Thank you, Mary, for taking the time to rate Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue five-stars. We are ecstatic to hear that your expectations have been met so far. If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us either through Facebook message or phone. Thank you again, Mary, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


2.0
November 10, 2018
Janet Fliegelman - Loved one of resident/client
Deteriorated With New Management - don't recommend

My father moved in when it was Brookside and we felt quite good about the decision. However, when the management changed hands the service deteriorated. There were fewer aides and response time to a the call button increased. The food was hugely worse. We had chosen the facility because of the Kashrut on the food. Without notice to family they changed to a lower standard. I happened to see to find out because a notice was put in my father's box in 8 point type, too small for most seniors. My sister spoke with the management and they had no interest in discussing. The executive director was quotes by another staff as saying "The residents are spoiled we need to retrain them.". The food and beverages in Bubbe's cafe - a nice place to spend time out of the room was rarely available and the coffee machine was broken at times. The prices just went up alonf with the service decline One shininging light are the nurses who are truly amazing. The nurses are caring and understanding and the reason he stayed there after the changes made by the new management.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

November 16, 2018

Hi Janet, we are sorry to hear that this is your perception of our Community. We strive to provide the best in quality care and service every day. Our Management team maintains a strict open door policy and the community welcomes families to partake in a care conference meeting to review the medical needs of our residents. We are also excited about our new menu options and have already instituted a few very well received themed meals. Customer service is essential to us and at the forefront of our Community. Our Community Executive Director will be reaching out to you shortly. Thank you, Janet, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


4.0
October 29, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

very impressed with all of the services, rooms, activities and care. set up a follow up tour this weekend.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

October 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue four-stars. Our primary focus is providing the best care to each of our residents. We do this by having a caring staff, plenty of activities to participate in, having rooms that feel like home, and most importantly, making each resident feel welcome. We are excited about your follow up tour this weekend. If you have any questions before then, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us either through phone or Facebook message. Thank you again, and have a great rest of your day.


0.5
September 17, 2018
janiesue1000 - Loved one of resident/client
New Management is Decerease

The good - the nurses are amazing. They are caring and considerate and really look after the residents. Could not ask for better nursing staff. The bad - since the new management has taken over services have been cut tremendously. The staff is overworked, food has been downgraded. Bubbe's cafe has nothing in it - for the amount that we are paying - they could bring back the plain cookies, milk and yogurt. It was a nice social opportunity to sit with relatives and guests. The ugly - (1) No one monitors the phone between 10 pm and 8 am. If your family member calls you and they need help and you need to reach someone at the facility, you can only leave a message. (2) the level of Kashrut is being changed with only a poorly written notice in small type in the resident's mailbox. We know that other's are unhappy from talking to people, but when we discussed with management they said it was only us. The representative had little or no information and what they told us was wrong. This was done in a deceptive manner and appears to be reflective of management style. And there are no decrease in pricing to offset this change.

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

September 21, 2018

Hi there, my name is Shawn, and I work at the Milestone Support Center. What you have described here do not uphold the standards we have for our community. I will let the community leadership team know about Bubbe's Care and no one monitoring the phones between 10:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. I do know that the Kashrut is changing, but the food will remain the same. There will be no difference in the food quality. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please private message us on Facebook so I can relay the message to the appropriate individuals. Thank you and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


1.5
July 12, 2018
Gk - Loved one of resident/client
Paint a true picture

My parent has been here for few years Yes I will admit the young man who took over as executive director is not good for this community he may be a nice guy but he truly is not up to running a facility I have seen too much of a decline but do we blame him or management they can read they can see so why have they not stepped up to replace him or educate him better The nurse is caring I have not had a issue with her at all making fun of a persons voice is not mature let’s focus on the community yes we need new director Food is good Activity Staff is exceptional

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

September 21, 2018

Hi there, my name is Shawn, and I work at the Milestone Support Center. I want first to say thank you for the compliments about the food and activity staff. These are two of the most crucial components of our community. I also wanted to let you know that the Executive Director you are talking about no longer works here. We have a brand new Executive Director that is eager to work for the community. If you have any questions or concerns, don't hesitate to reach out to us either by Facebook message or phone. Thank you again, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


1.0
July 7, 2018
Pat - Loved one of resident/client
One lil boy can destroy a great place

I can’t believe that this Executive Director is asking staff to write positive reviews and have them pretend to be families I could not believe my ears Then I heard that in one of is meetings which he is always in his office he was trying to figure out what residents family wrote a negative comment This is why families residents are afraid to speak up because he would go out of his way to give those harsh negative backlash I have a question why can’t new owners see how bad he is

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

September 21, 2018

Hi Pat, my name is Shawn and I work at the Milestone Support Center. What you have described are not in line with standards for our community. I do want to let you know that this Executive Director is no longer with us. We have a new Executive Director who is eager about being in the community. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to us either by Facebook message or phone. Thank you again, Pat, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


0.5
June 19, 2018
Ann - Loved one of resident/client
Stop fake reviews and get rid of ED

I am confused who is writing these positive reviews they must be phony or sadly new residents that have not truly experience the ignorance and poor management This facility has gone down rapidly so many families pull family out good staff left and the question asked why? All due to Executive Director and head nurse with annoying voice unless she squeaks as she lies This Executive Director has no heart for his residents he is a liar gossiper unprofessional and we so tired of hearing about your upcoming marriage Focus on the residents stop your chit chat and help stop hiding in your office and lying you are destroying a once great place

Response from Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

September 21, 2018

Hi Ann, my name is Shawn, and I work at the Milestone Support Center. The actions that you have described do not mirror the standards we set for our community. The Executive Director that you are talking about is no longer employed here. We have a new Executive Director who is excited about being and working in the community. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to us either by Facebook message or phone. Thank you again, Ann, and have a great rest of your day. Shawn - Digital Marketing


5.0
June 12, 2018
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Amazing

There has been a recent change in management here and it definitely shows for the better! My mother has been here for a while now and she has had more and more fun with all of the activities they have available and trips they plan. She talks about [name removed], the bus driver, with the highest regard. On a more serious note, any concerns I have had have been addressed immediately and taken seriously. I truly believe my mother couldn’t be in better hands.


0.5
June 11, 2018
Disgusted Daughter - Loved one of resident/client
New Managers A MUST

We had to move our parents the management is horrible the Executive Director [name removed] lied to us He was unprofessional He won’t return calls He has no clue about his residents The head of Nursing she is a joke besides her annoying voice she too lies lies lies so good bye!


1.5
December 2, 2017
S. Cooper - Loved one of resident/client
Family friend

blind tour over the weekend visited family friend. Only 4 staff members to assist aides. Nurses stating in front of staff this building is going down the tubes. New Management horrible. Family looking for new facility, the brookside needs to change there name or get a new management company to truly fix the building


0.5
December 2, 2017
M.Cohen - Loved one of resident/client
Stay away unsafe fr your love ones

My mom was in this supposed community. She was put on the unit for the residents who are left to die. I never knew the difference between assisted living and long term care, because it was never explained to me. The only person who was trying to make a difference and showed compassion is now gone. This nurse worked more hours than I have seen in a long time in this community.My mom had wounds all over, the director of nursing called in specialist, changed her orders and cared. Than the new ED got rid of her. Reason I was told, not the perfect fit! after speaking to multiple lawyers, The Brookside is trying to make themselves into a skilled facility that they are not licences to be. They are keeping residents far past the safety threshold and need to have true legal action to protect the public from there neglect. buyers beware and know the difference between LTC and AL


1.0
November 12, 2017
Dee - Loved one of resident/client
Heartbreaking

I Don’t understand Why Owners would Hire this Director My Mom has been at Brookside for few years Now it’s just horrible Place unkept Staff miserable A Director who is never available or bold face Lies to you


Neighborhood around Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue

Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Mattison Crossing at Manalapan Avenue has received an average review rating of 2.3 based on 38 reviews. See all reviews.

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar Senior Communities Near Freehold, NJ

1 / 3

Tahanan Residential Healthcare Facility

51 Broad Street, Freehold, NJ 07728

Monmouth Crossing Assisted Living

560 Iron Bridge Road, Freehold, NJ 07728
(16 reviews)

Sunrise of Marlboro

3A South Main Street, Marlboro, NJ 07746
(20 reviews)

The Chelsea at Manalapan

445 Route 9 South, Manalapan, NJ 07726
(4 reviews)

The Chelsea at Marlboro

52 County Road 520, Marlboro, NJ 07751
(3 reviews)

Sunrise of Jackson

390 North County Line Road, Jackson, NJ 08527
(47 reviews)

The Orchards at Bartley

100 North County Line Road, Jackson, NJ 08527
(12 reviews)

Harmony Village at CareOne Jackson

11 History Ln, Jackson, NJ 08527
(61 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.