Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

4916 W Norfolk Rd, Portsmouth, VA 23703

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House in google map
street view of Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

About the community Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

Recently celebrating our 20th year anniversary, Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House has been a premier assisted living provider throughout the Hampton Roads area. Located in a neighborhood community of Portsmouth Virginia the community is conveniently located to shopping, community activities, hospital and doctor's offices. We strive to provide the best quality care in an intimate, homelike atmosphere.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing for Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Podiatrist
Dentist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Anytime dining
Guest meals
Restaurant style dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Ground floor units
Handicap accessible

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Wander guard or similar system available
Secured community
Designed specifically to accommodate memory loss
Memory care only community

Transporation & parking

Complimentary transportation
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Library
Outside patio

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Movie or theater room
Piano or organ

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Art classes
Cooking classes

Reviews for Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

4.3

(12 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.4

Care services

4.2

Staff

4.0

Meals & dining

3.0

Activities

4.4

Value for cost

4.5

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-12 of 12 reviews
3.0
September 21, 2021
cat - Toured community
my tour

We toured the community but we didn't really like the layout or the size of rooms. The marketing person was really nice and she followed up with us when we toured a few years ago. The new one we didn't get a good feel of.

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

September 23, 2021

Dear Cat, Thank you for providing us with this feedback. At Commonwealth Senior Living, our focus is to improve the lives of seniors, their families, and each other. We know the decision to move to senior living is not one that any family takes lightly. I would love the opportunity to speak with you in greater length. I believe it may also be helpful for you to connect with some of our families. They have researched options in the area and may have advice for you on your journey. Please reach out to me at your convenience at Paula.Taylor@CommonwealthSL.com. Kind regards, Paula Taylor Executive Director


4.0
August 13, 2021
Michelle C - Child of resident/client
A positive place and experience

We chose Commonwealth Senior Living because I liked that this facility was smaller and everybody seemed friendly when we came in. She went with a private room and it was perfect for her needs. [name removed], the lady that greets you when you walk in is wonderful and that sets the tone for the whole facility. We had some really great nurses and everyday staff. My moms complaint on the food was that they put pepper on everything, but I talked to the chef and he was great at accommodating her needs. I would recommend them to others looking.

Response from Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

August 17, 2021

Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other families searching for senior living. I’m so happy to hear that you have been happy with the lifestyle we offer your mother and all of our residents. Of course, we would love to see a 5 in every category! I invite you to reach out to me at your convenience to let me know how we could achieve that in your eyes. Once again, thank you for your kind words and offering us the opportunity to celebrate the team members who are making your mother’s experience so wonderful.


4.5
April 2, 2019
lcooper - Loved one of resident/client
Hardest and best decision I've made.

The first time I visited Churchland House, I knew this was where I wanted my 92 year old grandmother to reside. This facility has so much energy from the time you walk through the door and it starts with the staff. The facility is very clean, bright and welcoming. The staff members are professional and treat each resident and family member with respect and dignity. Leaving my grandmother here was the hardest decision I ever made, but I have peace of mind knowing she's well cared for here.


5.0
July 25, 2017
Don - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Perfect choice

Very concerned to find a place Mom would be comfortable and cared for. Churchland House has fulfilled our entire wish list. The staff is so helpful and kind. The food is exceptional with white tablecloth dining. Optional services include laundry, which really helps since she is not close by. They have a doctor who comes by regularly which is a blessing. The rooms are of sufficient size and the bathrooms are great. She is beginning to socialize and make new friends partially do to the activities. Great place for my Mom.


5.0
September 26, 2016
Keith - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Such a great facility!!

From the initial phone care to the very end, the entire staff were helpful, caring and courteous. They really treat every person like family and that was beautiful to witness.


4.0
May 31, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Taking Good Care Of My Mother In Law

My mother in law in doing well at this community, she seems to have adjusted well to it. I do feel confident in the type of care she is receiving. The staff is friendly and kind. The community is very well maintained, everything is nice and clean. Everyone here have been friendly and welcoming. Overall they are taking good care of her and I would recommend it.


4.5
August 4, 2015
Danny Bowers - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A great place for mom

I am an only child, so I really needed all the help I could get. With the help from A Place For Mom I started my task of getting my mom the care she needed as well as moving here closer to me so I could support her and help her with the transition from her home in Richmond. Angelia was most helpful in assisting me with al the arrangements needed to allow my mother a comfortable transition to her new home. I visit my mom 3-4 times each week now, because she is only about 10-15 minutes away. My mom after about 30 days is on track to understanding why she is where she is. All the folks at Churchland House really work hard and care for all their guests. Thanks so much for all you do!


4.0
January 14, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice place

We're very satisfied with Churchland House. The staff are all friendly, and they've been very accommodating to any requests we have made. It is a nice place, overall.


4.0
September 27, 2013
JCU - Toured community
Verified Review
Second choice to another commonwealth community

This was our second choice to Georgian Manor and it turns out they were also affiliated with Commonwealth so we just like their facilities. The memory care unit was probably about the same size as georgian manor but it was just the feeling you got when you walked in. There wasn't a smell and it wasn't so much that I didn't like the layout of their memory care it was just that feeling walking in.


4.0
September 26, 2013
Linda - Toured community
Verified Review
This was more of your nursing home ty...

This was more of your nursing home type of environment, although I do think they had less of a lock down environment and my brother lives over by there so we thought it would be nice but it ended up being a little too far.


5.0
September 26, 2013
John - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
churchland house

Meets all my mother-in- laws needs


4.0
September 19, 2013
John - Toured community
Verified Review
Better location but not as nice

When I went there they were having a diarrhea outbreak or something like that and they had them almost quarantined off. Some people might have been turned off by that, but I wasn't turned away because I know how those things can go. The people were all very nice and it was clean and it looked adequate to me. I probably would have put him there because it was mrer convinient for us. It didn't look as nice, it wasn't as bright or cherry as Clare Bridge but I was okay with dad being here.


Neighborhood around Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House

Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House offers Studio and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Commonwealth Senior Living at Churchland House has received an average review rating of 4.3 based on 12 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Portsmouth, VA

1 / 3

Emily Green Shores

500 Westmoreland Ave, Portsmouth, VA 23707
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.3

(3 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Bickford of Suffolk

6860 Harbour View Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23435
$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(4 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Harmony at Harbour View

5871 Harbour View Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23435
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.2

(22 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Mayfair House Senior Living

901 Enterprise Way, Portsmouth, VA 23704
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(10 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Commonwealth Senior Living at the Ballentine

7211 Granby St, Norfolk, VA 23505
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.4

(25 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Commonwealth Senior Living at Leigh Hall

890 Poplar Hall Dr, Norfolk, VA 23502
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(19 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Commonwealth Senior Living at Georgian Manor

651 River Walk Pkwy, Chesapeake, VA 23320
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(34 reviews)

Studio, 2bd, Semi-Private

The Gardens of Virginia Beach

5620 Wesleyan Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23455
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Brookdale Virginia Beach

937 Diamond Springs Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23455
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(43 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.