A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

Atria Riverdale

3718-3726 Henry Hudson Parkway, Riverdale, NY 10463

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Atria Riverdale Outdoor Common Area
Atria Riverdale in google map
street view of Atria Riverdale
DG - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Atria Riverdale-a wonderful place

Atria Riverdale is a very warm and welcoming environment. The activities are varied and constant. The staff is very attentive, kind and caring.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community Atria Riverdale

Luxurious and chic Atria Riverdale has been the Bronx's senior living community of choice for more than 15 years. Atria is an industry leader in senior living communities. With a continued commitment to quality, we have just completed a $14 million renovation to enhance the contemporary style and purpose-built functionality of our Atria Riverdale community. And, with famed nearby attractions like The Bronx Museum of the Arts, Wave Hill, and the New York Botanical Garden, exciting adventures are always around the corner. At Atria Riverdale we facilitate your connections to the local social, cultural, and entertainment scenes while discreetly supporting you, so you can pursue the vibrant lifestyle of your dreams. Your pets are welcome too! Contact an A Place for Mom Senior Living Advisor to learn more about our exciting lifestyle, today!

Our Community

Professional and caring staff is available 24/7 to attend to any immediate resident needs. Our trademarked Life GuidanceⓇ program provides specialized support and activities within a purpose-built community for those with memory care needs. We provide wellness programs, check-ups, specialists, and physical therapy on-site through our Optimal Living program. Assistive living, personal and medical services are adapted to resident needs. Recent upgrades to our interiors includes...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Pricing for Atria Riverdale

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Atria Riverdale

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Memory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice Available On-Site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Physical Therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Professional Chef
Kosher

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Memory Care Only Community

Transporation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas

Services

Beautician

Pets

Cats Allowed
Dogs Allowed

Languages spoken

Polish
Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Art Classes
Educational Speakers / Life Long Learning

Reviews for Atria Riverdale

3.8

(70 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.0

Care services

3.8

Staff

4.6

Meals & dining

3.8

Activities

3.8

Value for cost

3.8

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 70 reviewsBack to top
5.0
March 15, 2017
DG - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Atria Riverdale-a wonderful place

Atria Riverdale is a very warm and welcoming environment. The activities are varied and constant. The staff is very attentive, kind and caring.


3.0
January 26, 2017
Fran R. - Toured community
Pleasant Tour

I toured this community for my mother and her needs. The community is nice looking, and from what I saw everything looked great. My tour went well, but I preferred a closer location. While it offers much, this wasn't a perfect fit for my mother and her needs.


4.0
June 14, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A nice place!!

My dad has only been at Atria for a short time and he is now moving to another state. I have only been at the community once when we took the tour. This community was the choice as it is kosher. The person who took us on the tour was very knowledgeable and my dad seems to like it there. I have heard no complaints from him.


3.0
February 29, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Wasn't Aware Of Kosher Food

Things are going okay for my cousin over here at Atria Riverdale, but the one thing my cousin dislikes here is the food. All the food made here is Kosher and they do not inform you of this before you move in, I really think that is very important information that you and your loved one should be told about because my cousin is not kosher. The community looks really nice and the staff is very kind and helpful. Other places were really expensive but this place was a little more reasonable with their price even thought I still have my concern regarding what they are charging her. I give the community 3 stars and the food here I would give 1 star.

Response from Atria Riverdale

March 7, 2016

I appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention. I’d like to help you and your cousin, so if you’re willing to continue this conversation, I invite you to send me an email directly at [removed].


4.0
January 11, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great

Although I do like this place very much and has been very good to our family, my one concern is its slightly understaffed. I feel like there could be a little more staff and then it would be perfect

Response from Atria Riverdale

January 14, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We strive to provide exceptional service to our residents and their family so I'm glad to know you're pleased with the service you have received at Atria Riverdale. If you'd like to share more feedback about your experience, feel free to reach out to me directly any time at [removed].


4.0
January 6, 2016
K Yuan - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
my impression of Atria--high standard nursing home

Atria's overall environment is pleasant. clean and quite pretty. The staff . especially the directors , are very friendly and helpful. Food service, however, is quite boring and simple. Fish almost every day with little variety. Activates they provide are mainly for very elderly and disabled people, like book talks, singing songs, , old movies, religious services, etc. Could be quite monotonous for some less disabled people. I think Atria is a very high standard and well supervised nursing residence for elderly people with some disabilities. However, for healthy and normal elderly people, the residence is too high priced and not really for independent living .

Response from Atria Riverdale

February 9, 2016

Thanks for giving me your valuable feedback. We strive to be the best possible senior living provider in the markets we serve. I’m happy to share these thoughts with our community leadership team and welcome you to keep the conversation going with me directly at [removed].


5.0
November 24, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
We like it

Everything is going good. We like it and my Dad likes it very much.


5.0
November 5, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The people are extremely nice.

It's very nice and extremely clean, the people are more than friendly. Our loved one was apprehensive, it took her no time to say she likes it. The billing has been no problem at all. The people are extremely nice. A relative of the family, who is in need of a place that offers care, saw this, we had to them this place, and now that's where he wants to go.


4.0
September 17, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The place is very nice, but they are understaffed like every place.

The place is very nice, but they are understaffed like every place. Sometimes the meds are off schedule. The other residents living here, are the biggest issue, there isn't a lot of diversity, and they are not very friendly, cliquish, and exclusive. They sometimes won't let others join at their tables. She likes the food. We have met with the team and they are very good about meeting her needs.


4.0
August 13, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Wonderful..

My loved one was there for one month on respite care. For her, it was wonderful. The socialization was wonderful for her. She loved going to the movies. The location is great because it's near the city. The shuttle service was good. It was a positive experience for her. We were very happy with everything. The only thing that was missing was an exercise room. (Care Services are not applicable, my loved one is independent.)


4.0
July 6, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Needs better onboarding

I find the Atria team to be capable, friendly, and responsive to the needs of its residents. I did find the onboarding process a bit lackluster. While I'm sure they do this all the time for new residents for many of their clients this is likely only the first or second time. I wanted more handholding, help, suggestions, best practices, what to expect, etc. I felt I only got the questions I asked answered, and not proactively letting me know what I should be doing to prepare for this big change.


4.5
March 29, 2015
John - Industry reviewer
Verified Review

Very friendly. The place is nice and clean and staff is ready to help.


5.0
March 15, 2015
Sandy - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great !

They were very helpful on expediting my fathers move in date. They have been very accommodating since he has been there. The cost was reasonable.


2.0
March 9, 2015
Pcalb - Resident/client
Verified Review
A Trial is Important

My visit to Atria was very enlightening. I decided to try it for30 days. I went in with my husband on January 19th. By Feb 7 ,I was ready to leave. Our experience was not what I expected. Too many services were not performed according to my original orientation. Starting with the room which was too small for two people. My husband was evaluated level 2 . He was suppose to get help mornings and evenings. Lucky I was there to guide them. There was no real schedule. The dining room was always a long wait. The menu was not complete. You could get almost anything if you knew what you wanted. Room was never vacuumed. The activity staff was excellent. It is difficult to service two individuals on different levels. There was a lock down because of illness. We should have been sent home until it was over. There were many things that should have been coordinated. One chief didn't know what the others were doing. We should have had a meeting with a social worker after a short time. Getting home was the best we could do.

Response from Atria Riverdale

March 24, 2015

Your comments are very concerning to us. We would like to continue this conversation about your stay at Atria Riverdale. Please reach out to us directly at [removed].


4.0
December 15, 2014
Loved one - Resident/client
Seemed like a nice place

Our loved one's stay here was unfortunately only a very brief one, but overall Atria Riverdale seemed like a very nice place. It was a nicely decorated, clean, well kept community, and they had a lot to provide for their residents. They had a good variety of activities, and also seemed to do a good job with the food. Unfortunately on his first day here my loved one suffered a bad fall and was not able to return. We moved him in on a Saturday, and they seemed to have fewer staff available on weekends.


3.0
December 10, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice place overall, a few difficulties

Overall I think they do a good job at Atria Riverdale, although we have had a few difficulties. From what I have seen the staff are all very friendly and willing to help out, and the facility itself is well kept and clean. My loved one is having a bit of trouble adjusting to this new style of living, but the staff are doing their best to help him settle in. We've had a mix-up or two with the medication service, but nothing serious. My loved one does not seem to enjoy the food here. I do like that they are pet friendly, I think having animals around is a big plus for seniors!


4.0
December 10, 2014
anonymous - Toured community

This place buzzed with activity... in part due to our timing (arrived as people were gathering for a program, plus renovation work made some common areas smaller). Multicultural, highly social community was a plus. More urban feel than other sites we visited. Staff stood out as extremely friendly and attentive.


1.0
October 20, 2014
MyHonestOpinion - Loved one of resident/client
Don't Be Fooled By Appearance

Don't be fooled by appearances. When you go and visit everything is nice and pretty and everything seems so well run. BUT - - - after your loved one is actually living at Atria Riverdale for a while, you realize there is massive confusion in management. Our latest complaint is that Atria, since January 2014, has been charging an ADDITIONAL $475 to medicate the residents. What was formerly done as part of the monthly fee is now being done for an additional $5000 plus annually and the system is not working. Residents are forced to leave their apartments to be medicated, often waiting in crowded conditions amidst confusion for the person administering the prescriptions to actually show up. Sometimes you have hunt the med-tech down to actually GET your medication. Mom sometimes has had to wait HOURS for her medications and, worst of all, SHE HAS BEEN MIS-MEDICATED at least four times to our knowledge. She's even missed medications because no one followed up to make certain she received it. One time she was handed her night time medications in the morning (luckily she realized that before she agreed to take the pills) and the "staff" has trouble following her doctor's changes in her medications, continuing to give her older medicines after the doctor has changed her prescriptions. Basically she is paying someone else to medicate her while she has to manage her own supervision to make certain it's being done properly. I'm sure this is not a unique situation and luckily Mom is on top of things enough to make sure something serious doesn't happen to her. The attitude in "Wellness" (the euphemism used to call the nursing office) is not acceptable. Staff seems more concerned with their performance reviews than with the actual wellness of the people whose lives are entrusted to them. Their attitudes are at times argumentative, surly, and in general completely unprofessional and often, they don't return urgent attempts by the residents to reach them when there's a problem for several hours or even not at all. In all honesty, we are deeply disappointed and feel that we've been misled as to Atria Riverdale's ability to address, maintain and protect the quality of life of their residents. We've been asked several times by people if we would recommend Atria Riverdale and we've responded "emphatically not." The only reason Mom remains there is because of the many deeply satisfying friendships she has formed with members of the resident community and the truthfully high level of caring and commitment she receives from the aids. Her leaving now would be emotionally very stressful to her, but she finds the mismanagement and bungling by the administration at Atria Riverdale extremely stressful as well. Cheech and Chong could do a better job of running this place.

Response from Atria Riverdale

January 29, 2015

Your comments regarding your mother’s experience are very concerning to us. We would like to speak with you personally to gain a better understanding of the situation and work together towards a solution. If you are willing, please email us directly at [removed], including “Atria Riverdale” in your subject line so we may quickly include the right people who can help. We hope to hear from you soon.


5.0
September 8, 2014
Resident - Resident/client
Verified Review
I would recommend it highly.

Everything is going really well. It's quite clean, and the staff is very friendly. The staff does seem to change from time to time. I rarely see the same person 3-4 times before it changes. It's a very good place. They have plenty of entertainment, with a movie every night, and people coming into play music. They have a very good dining room, the food is very good, and the menu are varied quite a bit. The food is is prepared well, and served well. I chose it based on the location, I like the area, and I can walk to shops and things within five minutes, and that's a big reason why I chose it. They provide transportation. I would recommend it highly.


4.5
August 10, 2014
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
I think this would be a goo...

I think this would be a good fit for my mother-in-law. I would give it 4.5


Neighborhood around Atria Riverdale

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Atria Riverdale

Atria Riverdale offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Atria Riverdale has received an average review rating of 3.8 based on 70 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Riverdale, NY

1 / 3

The Arbors at Islandia - East and West

1515 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Islandia, NY 11749

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(147 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Arbors Assisted Living is the Premier ALL INCLUSIVE assisted living option on Long Island.The Arbors Assisted Living community at Islandia East & West offers a nurturing and caring adult living community where each day brings something new to explore. The Arbors Assisted Living is more than a...

Atria West 86

333 West 86th Street, New York, NY 10024

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(104 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Ideally situated and all-inclusive, this luxury residence is tailored exclusively to older New Yorkers – and makes it easier to live in the artistic and cultural heart of the City, just one block from scenic Riverside Park. Featuring handsome pre-war architecture, art deco-inspired finishes and...

Birchwood Suites Enhanced Assisted Living and Memory Care

423 Clay Pitts Road, East Northport, NY 11731

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(85 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Birchwood Suites is a a fully enhanced assisted living community nestled on five acres of beautiful property in East Northport, NY. Our community offers a variety of luxury suites when life becomes too difficult or unsafe to live alone. Our Enhanced License, appointed by the New York State...

Traditions of Lansdale

1800 Walnut St, Lansdale, PA 19446

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(75 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Traditions of Lansdale: Caring for those who cared for us.Knowing your loved one will have the things that matter for health and security makes the decision to seek personal care a whole lot easier for the entire family.Traditions has individualized personal care that goes beyond the basics to...

South Mountain Memory Care

201 S. 7th St., Emmaus, PA 18049

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(68 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

South Mountain Memory Care was built on the “Small House” concept. This concept has been found to be most the most successful environment for those with memory issues in that it creates a sense of home, confidence of surroundings, and ultimately happiness with residents.Research indicates that...

Atria Lynbrook

100 Peninsula Boulevard, Lynbrook, NY 11563

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(75 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

For more than 20 years, Atria Lynbrook has proudly served the families of Nassau County. With a continuing commitment to quality, the community is undergoing an extensive renovation to enhance its beauty and functionality, scheduled for completion in March 2020. Residents will enjoy a host of...

Spring Hills Somerset

473 DeMott Lane, Somerset, NJ 08873

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(70 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

At Spring Hills Somerset, we are committed to making healthy living the foundation of every aspect of life. From dining that truly satisfies, to fitness that invigorates and motivates, down to the smaller details, such as our use of safe, non-toxic cleaning products in each assisted living...

The Arbors at Hauppauge

1740 Expressway Drive South, Hauppauge, NY 11788

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(78 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Arbors Assisted Living is the Premier ALL INCLUSIVE assisted living option on Long Island.The Arbors Assisted Living community at Hauppauge is more than a retirement community or an apartment complex for active adults. The Arbors senior communities are places where our loved ones can enjoy...

Spring Village at Pocono

329 E. Brown St, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(67 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Spring Village at Pocono is a senior living community located in the lovely hamlet of East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. This gorgeous senior living community is also situated right in the midst of the scenic and breathtaking Pocono Mountain area is the northern region of Pennsylvania. This places...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.