Savannah Place

1501 Secessionville Rd., James Island, SC 29412

About the community

Savannah House is an assisted living community located in the beautiful community of James Island, South Carolina. Clark Sound is only a mile away and is a popular afternoon destination for our residents. If you have a history buff in your family we are only two miles from both the Secessionville Historic District as well as Fort Lemar Heritage Preserve and there are many other historical sites just a short drive away.

Our spacious apartments come with all of the comforts of home as well as several safety features:

  • Apartments range in size from 320 square feet to 540 square feet
  • Private bathrooms with built in safety features
  • Large amount of closet and storage space
  • Kitchenettes with frost free refrigerator/freezer
  • Indoor mailboxes
  • Personal safety pendant
  • Staff pagers interfaced with emergency call systems that are in apartments
  • Housekeeping and laundry service
  • Enclosed outdoor courtyard

    Our knowledgeable friendly care staff will assist you with daily tasks, manage your medication and arrange transportation for medical appointments. Our activity director plans fun activities ranging from Tai Chi to ice cream socials as well as outings to local parks or to the ocean. Our registered dietician plans menus that are nutritious...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living

Pricing at Savannah Place

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities

Health Care Services

Memory care
Ambulatory care
Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Podiatrist
Physical therapist
Have a question?

Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.

(866) 819-9754

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Anytime dining
Guest meals
International cuisine

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground floor units

Community Amenities

On-site dining options

Private dining room

Transportation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit
Uncovered parking

Pets

Dogs allowed
Cats allowed

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Barber shop
Beauty salon

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Game room
Movie or theater room
Piano or organ

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Grocery shopping and errands
Laundry service / drycleaning

Memory care services

Wander guard or similar system available
Secured community

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Catholic services
Art classes
Educational speakers / life long learning

Reviews of Savannah Place

4.3

(42 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

4.3

Staff

4.0

Meals & dining

3.8

Activities

4.3

Value for cost

4.2

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-30 of 42 reviewsBack to top

5.0
October 17, 2017
Anonymous

The best!


4.0
September 19, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

Nice intimate facility with helpful, friendly staff. A good for my mother w/her mobility and sight issues. However, this facility was much more expensive on rent/community fee, but they said they could work with us on that


4.0
September 14, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review

This community was nice in comparison to others that we saw. The community was a good size not overly big where I felt my mom would get confused and lost. The grounds were lovely and inside was very well kept very clean. The staff was very nice the person who did the tour was very informative took their time didn't make us feel rushed.


4.5
March 10, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
She is very happy!

Things happened very fast with availability. My mother is very happy here. This is the first time every we had to go with a companion and it is the best thing we have ever done.We did it for financial reasons but they get along great, they look out for each other. Everyone, there is already likes family. It took her a week to adjust to the meals, but she is doing better now. She is interacting with other residents and joining activities, we are happy with this community.


5.0
February 9, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Great first impression but not for us

We toured this community when we were looking for my sister. They did turn her down because they didn't feel they could provide the level of care she needs. It was a wonderful place with a friendly staff. I wish we could have moved my sister here but it wasn't a good fit for us.


4.0
January 26, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Comfort for mom!!

I like the fact that the place is homey. All of the staff seem to be very accommodating and welcoming. My mother seems to be very comfortable. The place is clean and they have a good variety of activities. My mother's more favorite is when thy play Uno. The meals she is not crazy about, she doesn't always like the choices. But it's not home cooked meals and I'm sure it's like that in other places. Other than that, things are going well and we like the place.


5.0
January 17, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

The community was very homey and a beautiful setting. Everyone was very friendly. The location would have been difficult for everyone in the family to get to, so that is why we chose somewhere else. Loved the room layouts.


3.0
December 21, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mom Likes it, But I do Have Some Concerns

It has been a transition process since my mother's move to this community. Some days are better than others, but overall she seems to like the place. The family loves the community, we know she is being cared for well. My only issue has been that it isn't a completely secure facility. My mother got out the back door, and now I have to stay, or hire someone to sit with her 24 hours. That is the only problem I have with this community. Other than that the food is good, and they have nice activities available. At this moment due to the security system. I'am not quite sure I would recommend it.


2.5
December 13, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Not the right place!

We did end up having the tour and it was good. I was helped and all of my questions answered. Things were okay and the community was nice. We just did not think that it was a good fit for my wife.


4.0
November 10, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Family oriented community!!

As of right now I have little to no complaints about this community, they have friendly staff and all of the residents have been very welcoming to my mother. My favorite thing about this place is how involved they keep the family members . We are able to join in on many of the activities and share meals with my mother as well as take her off campus whenever we would like.


Frequently Asked Questions

Savannah Place offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Savannah Place has received an average review rating of 4.3 based on 42 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar Senior Communities Near James Island, SC

1 / 3

Merrill Gardens at Carolina Park

3501 Merrill Place, Mount Pleasant, SC 29466
(1 review)

The Palmettos of Charleston

1900 Ashley Crossing Dr, Charleston, SC 29414
(12 reviews)

Harmony at West Ashley

1925 Essex Farms Dr, Charleston, SC 29414
(5 reviews)

Brookdale West Ashley

2030 Charlie Hall Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29414
(46 reviews)

Oaks at Charleston

2333 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
(15 reviews)

Palms of Mt. Pleasant

937 Bowman Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
(19 reviews)

Benton House of West Ashley

1445 Bluewater Way, Charleston, SC 29414
(4 reviews)

Atria Mount Pleasant NOW OPEN

601 Solana Way, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
(3 reviews)

Oaks at Daniel Island

320 Seven Farms Dr, Charleston, SC 29492
(4 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

Contact Us
701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.