About Assisted LivingAssisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.Complete guide to assisted livingBest of 2024 Assisted Living Winners
About Memory CareMemory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering. Complete guide to memory careBest of 2024 Memory Care Winners
About Independent LivingIndependent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to independent livingBest of 2024 Independent Living Winners
About Senior LivingSenior living is a term used to describe various housing and care options for older adults from maintenance-free, 55+ facilities for active seniors, to secure, fully staffed facilities for seniors with Alzheimer's or dementia. Complete guide to senior livingFind senior living facilities near you
About Nursing HomesNursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.Complete guide to Nursing Homes
About Senior ApartmentsSenior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to Senior Apartments
About Care HomesResidential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.Complete guide to care homes
Veteran ResourcesVA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
VERIFIED PARTNER

The Residence at Paine Estate

CompareSaveShare

10 Green Way, Wayland, MA 01778

7.7
Review score
25 reviews
Add review
7.7
Review score
25 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
12%
3 star
12%
2 star
4%
1 star
16%
See all reviews
8.6
Review score
930 reviews
37 facilities
For pricing & availability:
(866) 374-4058
The Residence at Paine Estate
CompareSaveShare
The Residence at Paine Estate community exterior
44 Photos available
The Residence at Paine Estate in google map
street view of The Residence at Paine Estate

Get pricing & check availability

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

Anonymous
-
Family/friend
4.0
Review for The Residence at Paine Estate
As I expected; pleasant. Food needs to improve; there are more people with memory problems than I expected.We picked this community because of the location, ambiance, and the fact that rooms are live in place.

About the facility
The Residence at Paine Estate

Set in a stunning New England estate and surrounded by acres of natural beauty, The Residence at Paine Estate is located in Wayland, Massachusetts, and in close proximity to local shops, restaurants, and attractions throughout the area. The historic yet modern community features entertainment spaces, gorgeous outdoor areas, and a perfect mix of expert care and hospitality. With independent living, assisted living, memory care, and respite care services, residents have access to the short term and long-term lifestyle options that keep their health and wellness at the forefront.

Because the community provides a range of care options, residents can have just the right amount of care that changes as their needs change so they can age in place. The community also provides LCB Senior Living’s Reflections Memory Care programming, offering extra cognitive support through sensory services, a specialized neighborhood, private dining options, and more. Along with a long list of services and amenities available, the caregivers at The Residence at Paine Estate go above and beyond to make each individual feel safe, comfortable, and engaged in their new home.

The pet-friendly community offers the choice of a studio, alcove, one-bedroom, or two-bedroom apartment, each one complete with kitchenette, full bath, and a...

Read more

Senior living options offered

Assisted Living

Memory Care

Independent Living

Pricing
for The Residence at Paine Estate

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock pricing
Studio
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at $XXXX/mo
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Tours
at The Residence at Paine Estate

Select tour type
Select preferred date
Select preferred time

Compare

The Residence at Paine Estate community exterior
The Residence at Paine Estate

10 Green Way, Wayland, MA 01778

Maplewood at Weston community exterior
Maplewood at Weston

99 Norumbega Road, Weston, MA 02493

Youville Place
Youville Place

10 Pelham Rd, Lexington, MA 02421

Benchmark Senior Living at Waltham Crossings
Benchmark Senior Living at Waltham Crossings

126 Smith Street, Waltham, MA 02451

7.7
Review score
25 reviews
7.7
Review score
25 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
12%
3 star
12%
2 star
4%
1 star
16%
9.8
Review score
67 reviews
9.8
Review score
67 reviews
5 star
80%
4 star
12%
3 star
6%
2 star
1%
1 star
1%
9.7
Review score
12 reviews
9.7
Review score
12 reviews
5 star
92%
4 star
8%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
9.5
Review score
33 reviews
9.5
Review score
33 reviews
5 star
61%
4 star
24%
3 star
6%
2 star
0%
1 star
9%
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
--

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

Room Discount

Lowers your rent by a dollar amount or percentage.

Active promotion

No

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Care types offered

3

Assisted Living, Memory Care, Independent Living

Care types offered

3

Assisted Living, Memory Care, Independent Living

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Memory Care

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Memory Care

Amenities
at The Residence at Paine Estate

Healthcare Services

  • Staffing & Ancillary Services
  • Memory Care
  • High Acuity Care
  • Medication Management
  • Non-Ambulatory Care
  • Incontinence Care
  • Diabetic Care

Meals & Dining

  • Special Dining Programs
  • Anytime Dining
  • Restaurant Style Dining
  • Low / No Sodium
  • Meals Provided

Room Amenities

  • Kitchenette
  • Air Conditioned
  • Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
  • Full kitchen
  • Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers
  • Handicap Accessible
  • Ground Floor Units

Community Amenities

Transportation & parking

  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Resident Parking Available
  • Uncovered Parking

Pets

  • Dogs Allowed
  • Cats Allowed

Common areas

  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Outdoor Common Areas
  • Outside Patio
  • Central Fireplace
  • Beauty Salon
  • Library
  • Barber Shop

Recreational areas

  • Billiards Lounge
  • Raised Garden Beds
  • Piano or Organ
  • Arts and Crafts Center

Services

  • Beautician
  • Housekeeping

Languages spoken

  • English

Activities

  • Devotional Activities Offsite
  • Live Musical Performances
  • Happy Hour
  • Qi Gong
  • BBQs or Picnics
  • Holiday Parties
  • Karaoke
  • Live Dance or Theater Performances
  • Community Service Programs
  • Cooking Classes
  • Birthday Parties
  • Tai Chi
  • Activities On-site
  • Gardening Club
  • Day Trips and Outings
  • Educational Speakers / Life Long Learning
  • Yoga / Chair Yoga
  • Brain fitness / Dakim
  • Activities Off-site
  • Art Classes
  • Trivia Games
  • Stretching Classes

Reviews

for The Residence at Paine Estate

7.7Review score25 reviews
7.7
Review score
25 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
12%
3 star
12%
2 star
4%
1 star
16%
LCB Management
8.6
Review score929 reviews37 communities
Write a review
A Place for Mom has scored The Residence at Paine Estate with 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 8 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, The Residence at Paine Estate has 25 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 3.8 out of 5.
Overall Rating
3.8
Cleanliness
3.6
Friendliness
3.9
Care Services
3.7
Staff
3.0
Meals & Dining
3.8
Activities
3.7
Value for Cost
3.4
A Place for Mom has scored The Residence at Paine Estate with 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 8 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, The Residence at Paine Estate has 25 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 3.8 out of 5.
Parent company
Best of Senior Living 2024
LCB Management
8.6
Review score929 reviews37 communities
Logo for LCB Management
Filters
Overall Experience
Date Submitted
Reviewer
Care Received
Verified Review
A Place For Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community.
1-20 of 25 reviews
Anonymous - Family/friend
Assisted Living
February 26, 2024
4.0
Verified Review
Review for The Residence at Paine Estate
As I expected; pleasant. Food needs to improve; there are more people with memory problems than I expected.We picked this community because of the location, ambiance, and the fact that rooms are live in place.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
4
Staff
4
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
5
Value for Cost
3
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
March 15, 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We take suggestions seriously and are working hard to meet and exceed your expectations. A number have changes have been made in the community in addition to the major renovation that recently completed. That includes the culinary department, and we hope that you enjoy the results!
Peter - Family/friend
Assisted Living
January 20, 2024
1.0
Questionable practices
My mother recently passed away at Paine Estate in a room that shortly thereafter was deemed uninhabitable by the local Board of Health. Then, six days AFTER she passed away Paine Estate had the audacity to withdraw more than $[removed] from her bank account without authorization. The Acting Executive Director justified raiding the account by saying that they were entitled to collect rent, fees, and expenses for a month after each Resident's death (in effect, it appears, they levy their own death tax)! I am not sure how it's possible to charge a dead person for a room, meals, services, etc. that they obviously cannot utilize. It's too late for us, but please take such conditions and behavior into account when you are considering where your loved ones should live.
Cleanliness
1
Friendliness
3
Care Services
1
Staff
1
Meals & Dining
4
Activities
3
Value for Cost
1
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
February 5, 2024
We are very sorry for the loss of your mother. It is true that all leases signed by residents or loved ones include the fact that a one-month notice is required, including in the unfortunate circumstances of a passing. As with most apartment rental agreements, this is to give us time to affect any repairs or upgrades necessary to make the apartment available for renting. It also gives our families time to grieve in the immediate days after the loss, and retrieve a loved one's belongings at an easier pace. We regret that you were unaware of this policy. In the case of your mother's apartment, there was superficial mold found resulting from belongings placed adjacent an air conditioning vent. Of course, no mold is acceptable to us or the Board of Health (and rightly so), and it was wiped away and sanitized immediately. We would be happy to speak with you further about either of these issues. Again, our condolences
L - Family/friend
Assisted Living
December 24, 2023
1.0
Unfit for Human Habitation
Very disappointed. We found mold throughout my mother-in-law's room as we were cleaning it out after she passed. There was a leak months before. They did not even inform us of the leak. We visited a few days later, noticed the odor and the carpet was still very wet. Clearly the water that ran down the walls and soaked the carpet was not cleaned up properly. We could not salvage any of her belongings.
Cleanliness
1
Friendliness
2
Care Services
1
Staff
1
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
2
Value for Cost
1
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
January 3, 2024
First, our deepest condolences on the passing of your mother-in-law. Our investigations in August showed no evidence of a water leak in the building. There were however personal belongings obstructing the air conditioner vents (where early-stage, superficial mold was discovered), which could have resulted in condensation and the beginnings of mold. That situation was immediately remediated prior to Labor Day. We take such matters very seriously, and immediately conducted an investigation of the entire building, during which no evidence of a leak or additional mold was found. We regret that you have been unable to return our phone calls, but we remain willing to discuss this matter with you at your convenience. Again, we are very sorry for your loss.
Elizabeth - Family/friend
Assisted Living
October 10, 2023
5.0
Verified Review
Excellent place for your loved ones to call their new home!!!
My loved one is currently a resident at The Residence at Paine Estate. I would highly recommend this place. From the information we received when touring the facility with us not being rushed and having all of our questions answered in a friendly, patient, and professional way to the onboarding process when we chose to move there. The food and choices given to the residents is varied and delicious. Communication with the family is very open. They try to keep the residents actively engaged in all of the offered activities as well. All of the staff are friendly and very kind to the residents. Everyone seems to be very happy there.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
5
Value for Cost
5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
January 3, 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us these warm words!
Anonymous - Family/friend
Assisted Living
May 1, 2023
5.0
Verified Review
Review for The Residence at Paine Estate
We picked this community, because it was equidistant from two family members, a beautiful setting, and stay-in-place model. Beautiful home on beautiful grounds, about to undergo large renovationn as they were newly acquired by a top-notch large company ensuring excellent staff; activities director is amazing, nursing and staff attention exquisite, and our Mom is extremely happy there!
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
5
Value for Cost
5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
May 2, 2023
Thank you for the wonderful review!
anonymous - Toured community
Independent Living
February 15, 2023
5.0
Verified Review
Community Tour
The staff at The Residence at Paine Estates covered all of the questions I had during the tour, and I thought it looked like a good place.
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
February 16, 2023
Thank you for your review of Paine Estate! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Betty - Family/friend
Assisted Living
October 26, 2022
5.0
Verified Review
A relatives delight
We have been very happy with Traditions of Wayland. I live far away, but from everything I have heard it has been great. They were very helpful and accomdoating during the whole move in process and continue to be so. One thing I found out this week is that they have a physician on site once a week and he can come in and do lab work in your loved ones room, that way you do not have to take them out to the doctors office. This has been a God send to us. I would highly recommend Traditions without a doubt.
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
October 28, 2022
Thank you so much for your five-star review, Betty! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us.
anonymous - Toured community
Independent Living
September 7, 2022
4.0
Verified Review
Tour experience
We toured with Traditions of Wayland and liked what we saw. They had just been bought out so they were in the middle of changing/re-doing everything. The sales person who we dealt with was great. We just felt another facility we were looking at was going to be a better fit.
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
September 8, 2022
Thank you so much for your review!
Michael - Resident/client
Independent Living
March 29, 2021
3.0
Verified Review
For What You Pay, You Get Very Little (Some of it is Covid, some of it is not)
Don't come here. It's too small. Breakfast is good, but dinner is terrible. There are almost zero activities going on right now, and I understand why due to Covid. It's a small population, and most people don't participate or interact. I think they're overpriced. As I understand they're at the top end of the market for the cost. Apart from that, everything is fine. It's a nice building, pleasant architecture, and the grounds are quite pleasant. The service is average, and I understand a lot of this is Covid driven. Not all of it, but some of it.
Cleanliness
2
Friendliness
2
Staff
2
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
2
Value for Cost
1
Ann - Resident/client
Memory Care
October 22, 2018
5.0
Traditions of Wayland Cares
I have lived at Traditions of Wayland for about 10 months, and it couldn't be better. I visited other places at first, but they were overwhelming. It’s so friendly at Traditions and you get to know so many people. I think my favorite part of living here are the activities, they are very well done. I love going to all of the events they host here?they are superb, very informative. The care staff here are well educated and simply wonderful. They are willing to deal with everyone and all of our different care needs. The entire staff takes the time to get to know who you are and they have really become my friends. Also, the food is excellent and the dining staff really work hard to make you happy and to be helpful no matter what. I really have to say the staff here is great and they care so much.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
November 26, 2018
Ann, it's wonderful having you at Traditions! Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The friendly atmosphere you describe, the exciting and meaningful daily programs, and our amazing food are often cited by other residents as their favorite things about Traditions as well. I’m excited to share this positive feedback with our team. They do so much to make Traditions of Wayland the very best place to call home.
Mary Howard - Family/friend
Memory Care
July 17, 2018
5.0
Grateful for Traditions of Wayland
My dad was determined and prepared to remain in his Wayland home. He moved to Traditions of Wayland in December for a two month “respite”, not long after a bad fall and several broken bones required hospitalizations and weeks in rehab. When the Traditions Resident Care Director, came to his discharge planning meeting I knew he would be in good hands. [name removed]’s intelligence, compassion, expertise and kind sense of humor inspired trust and optimism. Her resident care staff are especially cheerful, responsive, respectful, skilled and kind. I look forward to seeing them whenever I visit. About halfway through his “temporary” stay at Traditions, my dad decided to become a longer term resident and now lives in a nice apartment furnished with his favorite belongings. He has developed friendships and relationships that are meaningful and bring a new kind of purpose to his days. I am continually impressed by the quality of care and assistance he receives. The staff is responsive, communicative, cheerful, thoughtful and dedicated. From welcoming and informative greeters at the front desk, to the kitchen staff and activity planners, administrators and maintenance staff, everyone is dedicated to providing a pleasant and meaningful experience for the residents. I am grateful and proud to feel part of the Traditions of Wayland community.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
5
Activities
4
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
July 23, 2018
Thank you, Mary! I am excited to pass along your story to our team and we are thrilled to have your Dad as part of our Traditions family. Many families we have worked with have found that a short-term stay at Traditions, whether for a recovery period or for caregiver respite, turns into a long-term living arrangement. They thrive with their new found security, friendships and sense of purpose, just as your Dad experienced. Hearing how your Dad is enjoying his time with us is truly rewarding! Thank you, again, for helping him to find a home here. -- Libby Mattei, Executive Director
Mary-Verdella Nelson - Family/friend
Memory Care
June 30, 2018
4.5
Traditions is on the Up & UP
Traditions of Wayland encompasses a serene life and intimate atmosphere within a gracious, historical estate. The various lounges are clustered in close proximity which enables crossing paths throughout the day and making residents feel "at home" with one another. The sunny patio and pretty gardens are welcoming nods to a breath of fresh air and seasonal "parties." The Resident Care Director is selective in admitting residents who will fit in well. Once admitted, every effort is made to enable residents to remain in their units without being displaced to another facility. As time passes, if additional personal attention is needed on a daily basis, it can be provided. At least the promise to keep one's place at Traditions is given from the start. The residential care team reviews individual care plans on a routine basis, and necessary adjustments can be agreed upon. I give the aides tremendous praise for their kindness above all. This is what residents appreciate the most! Patience, promptness, and respect are the standards provided by the aides. No matter what the request may be, cheerful attention is given. A variety of entertainment and activities keeps residents on the lookout to participate out of personal, individual interest. Very popular with residents are the recitals given by local adults and youths, and this is a great venue for the performers as well. Occasionally there are special dinners with an interesting theme where guests are invited to attend gratis -- very popular with residents, family members, and guests. Traditions' staff assist and interact which makes for a good party. Best of all, these times allow family members to relate to one another and feel validated for all that is required of us at our end. We also enjoy feeling appreciated for the encouragement we're constantly giving at every visit. Traditions has been in transition for the past year whereby some qualified personnel have been replaced, and that's been unsettling. The new Executive Director is very approachable and is taking a devoted, personal interest in the residents and their families. Such personable, executive functioning trickles down to staff and residents, but also to us, the family members. It's a good thing we can all feel "at home" in this special place.
Cleanliness
4.5
Friendliness
4.5
Value for Cost
3.5
Care Services
4.5
Activities
3.5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
July 3, 2018
You’ve really hit on a lot of the elements that makes Traditions such a special place! Our outstanding team of dedicated, approachable and compassionate professionals truly do go out of their way to ensure each resident feels at home. I am also glad that you’ve mentioned our gorgeous outdoor spaces, intergenerational programming, and musical performances. Our programming department works directly with residents to create the adventures and opportunities that they want most. Our monthly themed dinners is a newer program that everyone really seems to love I am so glad you were able to join us for one. Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughtful review of our community. - Libby Mattei, Executive Director
MW - Family/friend
Memory Care
June 28, 2018
5.0
Traditions of Wayland - Senior Living at its Best
I moved my parents into Traditions of Wayland this year. The facility is located in a country setting in what was formerly a mansion. The beautiful exposed brick in some of the hallways, the warm mahogany paneled library and the bright and attractive dining room and adjoining patio create an atmosphere of home that is unparalleled. I chose this facility after interviewing and visiting other facilities. Traditions of Wayland offers independent living, assisted living and memory care. From the minute that I walked in the door at Traditions, I knew it was the right place for my parents. The staff was kind, warm and caring. I was impressed as I watched how the residents were treated. I was even more impressed when I asked the residents if they were happy at Traditions and they went out of their way to reassure me and my parents that they would be very happy there. My parent's apartment was welcoming and roomy with views of the patio and countryside. The apartments are kept very clean, the food is exceptional and the waitstaff is accommodating. They have excellent exercise and activities programs. When my dad's health began to go downhill, the staff made allowances to make sure that he felt welcome, that he was given world class service and that he could stay with my mother through it all. When he died after only a month at Traditions, the kindness and caring extended to my mother was not to be believed. The staff went out of their way to engage her in activities and to make sure that she met others who had experienced the same loss and could offer support. My mother looks relaxed and happy and feels better than she has in a long time. What could be a better testament to Traditions of Wayland.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
June 29, 2018
WOW, thank you! Your thoughtful recommendation is so much appreciated. Reviews like this fill our hearts and inspire our associates to be the best they can be. I am excited to share your kind words with our team. We, too, are proud of our building’s rich history, the unique look and vibrancy of our community, and the dedicated and professional team we have cultivated. Our dedicated staff works day in and day out to provide a comfortable, supportive and culturally enriching home for the residents of Traditions of Wayland. They are entirely committed to our number one value of providing seniors with the highest quality of life, so when you say that our team members went out of their way to support your Mom, I can say that I am truly not surprised, but I am very pleased to know that your Mom is enjoying her time with us. We consider your family to be a part of our family. -- Libby Mattei, Executive Director
Matt M - Family/friend
Memory Care
June 26, 2018
0.5
Traditions of Wayland used to be a great place to live for my Mother. She has lived there for several years. The Staff and Management used to be really great. Now the staff is very unpleasant and never smile. Things have changed drastically in the past month. The new staff are not experienced. The home my mother used to enjoy, she nolonger enjoys. The place is messy and unorganized. All the new changes in staff past few months have not been great. The food is bland and does not taste well anymore. The Activities Director that my mom loved quit recently. The dining department just recently lost two of the best people who made the overall dining service pleasurable for my mom and the other residents. The dining service has been awful lately and the dining staff have been unpleasant. The housekeeping staff used to be great and now noone keeps areas clean anymore. Considering moving my mother to a different location if things do not improve.
Cleanliness
0.5
Friendliness
0.5
Value for Cost
0.5
Care Services
0.5
Activities
0.5
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
June 27, 2018
In my numerous recent community-wide family meetings and individual conversations, residents and family members have provided nearly unanimous positive reviews of current community life at Traditions of Wayland. Understandably, some individual residents and family members find it difficult when some staff members move on either to pursue other opportunities or for other reasons. We assumed management of the community several months ago, and with the encouragement and support of many long-tenured, highly valued professional managers and staff at Traditions, we have been working to: improve the quality of resident services, heighten the professional standards of staff, provide increased staff training and professional development opportunities; and provide vastly increased communication to residents and families. However, as the saying goes, you can’t please everyone, and some longtime staff have moved on. Overall the changes have gone quite well and our newer team members are qualified, caring professionals. Our new Executive Director, Libby Matei is an experienced assisted living professional who brings both enthusiasm and diligence to the community. Traditions continues to enjoy the services of our tremendous long-term Resident Care Director and staff of nurses and caregivers; Social and EnrichedLIFE programming in our traditional assisted living and memory care neighborhood is now expanding to seven days per week; we have hired an experienced assisted living EnrichedLIFE Director who is excited to get to know the residents, and bring new ideas into our robust programming, entertainment, and lifelong learning pursuits. Our Executive Chef is already improving the quality and delivery dining services. We know as experienced assisted living owners and managers that every single change that has occurred has been in the residents’ best interest and has been a change for the better. To longtime residents and family members we can only ask for a bit of patience and to give the newer folks a few weeks to settle in and get to know you better. In the meantime I am available to residents and family members at any time, so please don’t hesitate to reach out directly to me at any time so that I can address any individual concerns. - Robert Larkin, President, Senior Living Residences
whr - Family/friend
Memory Care
May 28, 2018
2.5
Used to Be First Class - Has Gone Down Hill
We chose this for my mother because the food and attention to detail were fabulous. In the last eight months it has gone way down hill. The food has been very uneven, sometimes not fully cooked, the portions even smaller than usual. The entire house keeping staff quit recently, and they lost the activities director who apparently was going to be let go. The place has been bought by a holding company that owns several similar places. They no doubt know that once a parent is settled, children are reluctant to move a parent, even if the residence declines, due to the disruption.
Cleanliness
2.5
Friendliness
4.5
Value for Cost
2.5
Care Services
2.5
Activities
2.5
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
February 16, 2018
2.0
They were not expecting me when I showed up. I found the place to be dirty, the staff to not be knowledgable, and the rooms to be dingy. Not for me.
Cleanliness
2
Friendliness
2
Value for Cost
2
Care Services
2
Activities
2
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
May 14, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Traditions of Wayland. I’d like to first apologize for the less-than-stellar experience you had with us. Our community should be visitor-ready at all times and so your unexpected visit should not have impacted our community’s appearance nor how our associates were able to serve you on your tour. While it is no excuse, in February when you visited, our community was just finalizing a major transition in operations. Since the beginning of this year we have made extensive changes to our building both in the way it looks and in the way our staff is trained. We are proud to say that in the months since February, each of our associates have gone through a robust training program to better equip each team member for working with both residents and family members. I would like to personally invite you to come back in for a tour to see how we’ve improved the experience for both resident and visitors alike. Please call me directly to set this up. I look forward to speaking with you -- Libby Mattei, Executive Director
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
October 9, 2017
4.0
Traditions of Wayland is a wonderful community. The living space is a lovely estate. The apartments are clean and spacious. The residents are happy and enjoying their senior life. The staff love their work and are involved and attentive to the residents. The healthcare is impressive.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
September 18, 2017
5.0
Verified Review
Fantastic Place!!
My mother has recently made the move into this community and so far things have been going well for her. I could have not picked a better team of staff to care for her especially the physical therapy department. They have really worked closely with her and she is making improvements everyday. The food the chef prepares has been amazing and she has really been enjoying the dinning experience with the other residents. This had been the perfect place for my mother and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
May 1, 2017
5.0
Wonderful place, executive director is wonderful.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
September 20, 2016
1.0
Avoid Traditions at Wayland memory unit
My mother lived in the memory unit at Traditions for six months before I moved her out. I had so many issues with her care which I repeatedly brought to the attention of the staff. In the six months she lived there there were 2 different memory care directors and a period of time with none. They never let us know when one left, came etc.. My biggest problem was that they had a calendar with listed activities but the activities did not really happen. I live nearby and would stop in at different times of day multiple times a week and they generally had the residents lined up in the hallway sitting on soiled chairs with paper towels on them (I assume for incontinent residents) watching a movie with one staff member sitting there completely unengaged oftentimes texting or with headphones on. They have no activity room in the memory unit that would even fit all the residents if they chose to actually run activities. I spoke to the staff and the director about this on multiple occasions. The cleanliness also was a problem. I noticed her sheets had not been changed in weeks and spoke to an aid about it. She acknowledged they had somehow forgot - how long would this have gone on if I had not noticed the second sheet set never moved? Another time her room and bathroom were not cleaned in weeks. Even their schedule on the wall showed this not that the unpleasant smell would not have told me. Weeks after she moved in I saw they still had the previous occupants emergency information on her door which in the event of an emergency would have been a big problem. It was very sloppy and unsafe. They should not have a memory unit. It is clearly an afterthought and very small,dingy and badly designed. The outdoor area is cramped and not visible from inside so they can only access it with aids so they spend most their time inside usually in the hallway watching movies. I have little knowledge of the traditional side of the building and can only speak for the memory unit. On many occasions I spoke with staff and emailed or spoke to the Director of the entire building. I also told them I was looking elsewhere due to the issues. When I moved her out they tried to charge me for two extra months. They really should have had to pay her moving expenses. It is very difficult to move a loved one with dementia and we never would have done it if her care had been better and we had not been forced to make the move for her well being. If you have a family member in the Traditions memory unit drop in often during the week and keep track of their care and activities as well as the amount of staffing. If you are looking for somewhere to put a loved one I would look elsewhere!
Cleanliness
1
Friendliness
1
Value for Cost
0.5
Care Services
1
Activities
1
Response from The Residence at Paine Estate
October 4, 2016
We’re very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience with us. It is never okay for our residents or their families to feel anything less than completely satisfied. Each of our residents have different needs and we do our best to address them. Please know that we take your concerns very seriously, and are already looking into where we may have fallen short in our service to you and your mother, with the resolve that nothing like this will happen again. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Viewing 1-20 out of 25 reviews

Neighborhoods
around The Residence at Paine Estate

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
The Residence at Paine Estate in google map

Frequently Asked Questions
about The Residence at Paine Estate

The Residence at Paine Estate offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

A Place for Mom has scored The Residence at Paine Estate 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.

 

We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.

 

Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.

Call (508) 358-0700 to reach a resident at The Residence at Paine Estate.

Similar communities nearby

Find Assisted Living

Brookdale Cushing Park community exterior

Brookdale Cushing Park

300 West Farm Pond Road, Framingham, MA 01702
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.9
Review score
54 reviews
8.9
Review score
54 reviews
5 star
55%
4 star
26%
3 star
15%
2 star
2%
1 star
2%
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Detached Cottages / Bungalows
Quality Care Today and TomorrowIf you are ready to exchange the burdens of household chores and maintenance for a lifestyle rich in comfort and quality care, prepare to savor the good life. Nestled on more than 100 acres in Framingham, Massachusetts, our community offers a wonderful quality of...
Photo of New Horizons at Marlborough LLC

New Horizons at Marlborough LLC

400 Hemenway St, Marlborough, MA 01752
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
9.2
Review score
43 reviews
9.2
Review score
43 reviews
5 star
61%
4 star
30%
3 star
7%
2 star
2%
1 star
0%
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
New Horizons is a large not-for-profit continuing care retirement community where a safe, happy, and engaging retirement is everyone's most important concern. Fine dining and extensive activities are vital parts of every day. Our staff of exceptional people has enabled New Horizons to build its...
Photo of The Village At Farm Pond

The Village At Farm Pond

200 W. Farm Pond Road, Framingham, MA 01702
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Welcome to The Village at Farm Pond, a Parkside Community designed to capture the spirit and charm of New England. The grounds are expansive and truly breathtaking. Enjoy its beauty throughout the year, from the cozy three-season porch or while meandering amidst our walking paths and accessible...
Concord Park outdoor common area

Concord Park

68 Commonwealth Ave., Concord, MA 01742
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.5
Review score
10 reviews
8.5
Review score
10 reviews
5 star
60%
4 star
20%
3 star
10%
2 star
10%
1 star
0%
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Concord Park, a Volunteer of America senior community, is conveniently located on Commonwealth Avenue in the heart of the West Concord, MA shopping village. Concord Park offers local seniors a secure, supportive and independent lifestyle. The community features both independent and assisted...
Carriage House at Lee's Farm community exterior

Carriage House at Lee's Farm

134 Boston Post Road, Wayland, MA 01778
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.0
Review score
16 reviews
8.0
Review score
16 reviews
5 star
62%
4 star
19%
3 star
0%
2 star
6%
1 star
13%
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Carriage House at Lee's Farm is an assisted living community in Wayland, Massachusetts. Wayland is a beautiful small town with natural spaces like forests, fields and marshes around the Sudbury River.At Carriage House we strive to meet the individual needs and wants of our residents Our care...
Photo of The Falls At Cordingly Dam

The Falls At Cordingly Dam

2300 Washington St, Newton, MA 02462
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
7.8
Review score
26 reviews
7.8
Review score
26 reviews
5 star
38%
4 star
42%
3 star
8%
2 star
8%
1 star
4%
2bd, Studio, 1bd
A magnificent waterfall that once powered an 18th century mill creates a dramatic setting for The Falls at Cordingly Dam. Tucked away in a charming historic village, this is an extraordinary natural haven where fond memories and family traditions thrive. Inside, you'll find a familiar feeling of...
Photo of Mary Ann Morse at Heritage Senior Living Community
5 star
72%
4 star
21%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
7%
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Heritage at Framingham is an Assisted Living community where seniors find the services and security they need without giving up the traditions and independence they cherish. Located in eight park-like acres in the Nobscot region of Framingham, Heritage at Framingham offers seniors personal care...
The Wingate Residences of Needham and One Wingate Way community exterior
8.5
Review score
19 reviews
8.5
Review score
19 reviews
5 star
63%
4 star
21%
3 star
5%
2 star
0%
1 star
11%
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Voted Best Assisted Living in Boston in 2014 & 2015 by SENIORADVISOR.COM and Voted Best Retirement Living Residence in Needham and Surrounding Communities by the Readers of Hometown Weekly in 2014. The Residences at Wingate is an Independent Living, Assisted Living, and Memory Care Community...
Maplewood at Weston community exteriorCommunity badge

Maplewood at Weston

99 Norumbega Road, Weston, MA 02493
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
9.8
Review score
67 reviews
9.8
Review score
67 reviews
5 star
80%
4 star
12%
3 star
6%
2 star
1%
1 star
1%
1bd, 2bd, Studio
Maplewood at Weston is located along the Charles River in one of the most desirable suburbs in the country. Surrounded by the tranquil countryside, our community is just minutes from the many cultural attractions of Boston, including the Museum of Fine Arts and The Boston Symphony Orchestra. We...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom. A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Back to top