A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

1481 Marbach Dr, Washington, MO 63090

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community Community Exterior
The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community in google map
street view of The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community
Krista Sieve, RN, BSN, CFCN
5.0
Always Impressed

I have been in hundreds of retirement facilities as a paramedic and later an an RN and can say that most (by far) depress the Hell out of me. However, I first began spending time (a few times a yr) at Homestead as an instructor (Health Occ) in 2011, and today I spent many hours there as a vendor for their yearly health fair. I was really impressed as I witnessed the loving relationships between the staff and residents, as well as between the residents. I'm not painting a picture of a gaggle of giddy - cuddling people but one of really knowing each other and knowing who wants the energetic-affectionate interactions and also respecting the space others desire/require. It's a CLEAN, peaceful and pleasant environment that provides as much social interaction as one chooses to enjoy. ... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

Welcome to The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community, the premier Senior Living Community in scenic Washington, Missouri. The Homestead is situated on several wooded acres in the heart of Washington just minutes from the beautiful Missouri River. The Community is close to parks, shopping, restaurants and St. John's Mercy Hospital; all less than one mile away.

Our goal at The Homestead is to exceed each Resident's individual needs while maintaining the highest level of choices, dignity, privacy and respect. Our concept of comfortable senior housing with services assures our Residents that their specific needs will be met while maintaining their independence and enhancing their quality of life.

The Homestead amenities include a large elegant dining room, living room, reading nooks, activity room, library, and TV lounge. Safety features of the Community include a complete building sprinkler system and smoke detectors. Our residents enjoy these features along with delicious, home-style meals, a meaningful activity program and scheduled transportation. Our small town community atmosphere compliments all of this and more.

As a Resident at The Homestead you will enjoy the privacy of your own residence within a Community of care and support. Each apartment or cottage features...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Pricing for The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice Available On-Site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Physical Therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Anytime Dining
Guest Meals
Professional Chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Full kitchen
Kitchenette
Ground Floor Units
Handicap Accessible
Air Conditioned

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Transportation at Cost
Uncovered Parking

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Main Street Shops
Barber Shop

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Pets

Cats Allowed
Dogs Allowed

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Fitness Center
Movie or Theater Room
Piano or Organ

On-site dining options

Café or Bistro
Private Dining Room

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Protestant Services

Reviews for The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

4.5

(38 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.6

Care services

4.5

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

4.6

Value for cost

4.3

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Previous Reviews Page
21-38 of 38 reviewsBack to top
4.0
April 6, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Glad for the facelift, but...

I love all the renovations that are being done at the Homestead, the refreshing was needed and I hope it continues! I love the people who work there and the atmosphere of hominess you see in the furnishings. However, my family member has been there for a number of years and I feel the quality of the food and the number of activities have declined. And continue to be curtailed all the time. With the prices, these people pay to live here, it shouldn't be a budget problem They used to have fun things in the evenings and now the alternative is to go to your room or just watch a movie. That feeling of comradery experienced before seems to be waning. Now many of these special events such as the winter ball or the wonderful buffets are gone Although, it is an independent living facility, extra care is provided for those who are declining either mentally or physically on an a la carte basis with a partnership between The Homestead and the Home care entity located within the premises. This extra care is priceless.


2.5
April 6, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Not as Nice as It Was....

I have had four family members at Hickory View for many years since 2001 -- it is now early April 2016. The new manager (since late 2015) has made many changes that are not for the better: adding garages for the cottages, at the expense of parking for visitors is clearly not an improvement. There have been several construction and reconfiguration projects inside that took months (many months!) to finish -- and some are still not yet complete. These unfinished projects are a hazard to residents and unsightly to everyone. Recently, we were informed that staffers are no longer available to move residents' furniture (a regular bed to the closet to make way for a hospice bed). Our family member was also told that she may not take a banana from the breakfast area to eat in her room -- that the banana must be eaten in the dining room. Really? A banana must cost all of $.14. The shuttle bus availability is much curtailed, and outings are less frequent. I understand that this is a for-profit business, but I am sure that just the mismanagement of recent construction projects have cost much more than the shuttle service, staff helpers, and a whole crate of bananas. I know that many of the staff -- some of whom have been there many years longer than the new manager -- are embarrassed and disenfranchised as well. While the facility is nice, at this time, I cannot recommend Hickory View because of the decreasing level of services provided, lack of parking, poor morale, low visibility of the site manager (I have not yet even seen her), and silly 'rules' in the dining room.

Response from The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

April 18, 2016

The construction and current renovations are to enhance the community, we apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing. The Homestead at Hickory View also offers At Your Service Dining where residents can eat anytime and as often as they would like. We do offer transportation for all of our residents at no cost.


4.5
January 30, 2016
Earl and Carol Sandroff - Loved one of resident/client
Homestead was exactly what we were looking for.

In shopping for a comfortable and safe atmosphere for our parents, Homestead At Hickory View, Washington, MO fit ALL of our needs. Barb [removed] helped us through the whole process and was always available to answer any questions that we had. The atmosphere is delightful yet quiet, the food is good and nutritious. there are extra services such as medication dispensing, helping with showers, anything that may help your loved, ones plus give the family peace of mind. Mother and Dad are enjoying their new residence and we hope they will be here for many years. And....we enjoy visiting them here.


4.5
January 23, 2016
Vinita Strubberg - Industry reviewer

The homestead at hickoryview is a warm and welcoming environment where the residents are well cared for. All of the residents at the homestead are given daily opportunities to engage in enjoyable activities to help them build upon the friendships they have made there. The staff at the homstead make the residents happiness and comfort their number one priority in all the things they do for them everyday. The food is well prepared and served by the best! So if you are looking for somewhere for you loved one to be able to start that next chapter in their life look no further than The homestead at hickoryview and have confidence in knowing that they will be cared for as if you were caring for them yourself. Homestead is the place to be!


5.0
September 26, 2015
Krista Sieve, RN, BSN, CFCN
Always Impressed

I have been in hundreds of retirement facilities as a paramedic and later an an RN and can say that most (by far) depress the Hell out of me. However, I first began spending time (a few times a yr) at Homestead as an instructor (Health Occ) in 2011, and today I spent many hours there as a vendor for their yearly health fair. I was really impressed as I witnessed the loving relationships between the staff and residents, as well as between the residents. I'm not painting a picture of a gaggle of giddy - cuddling people but one of really knowing each other and knowing who wants the energetic-affectionate interactions and also respecting the space others desire/require. It's a CLEAN, peaceful and pleasant environment that provides as much social interaction as one chooses to enjoy.


4.0
August 31, 2015
Janet J - Toured community
Caring, friendly, family-like atmosphere....

I took a tour of Homestead while looking for a place for my mother that is closer to where I live. She is currently in a retirement community on the east coast. There are a lot of positives about Homestead including the friendliness of the staff, the intimate size and family-like feel to the place, and the available activities. Since I only have one other place to compare it to at this point, my only real concern is that it seems a bit pricey. For an equivalent, if not a bit cheaper price, my mother's current unit is significantly larger and has more of an apartment feel to it with separate rooms. Upon reflection, I also decided that the 3-meal-a-day setup at Homestead may not be the best fit for her. She currently can choose from 1, 2 or 3 meals a day and when she goes out to eat or eats in her apartment, the meals she misses carry over to the next month. I feel that she would be "wasting" a lot of her meals under the 3-meal-a-day plan. Back to the positives, it appears that Homestead is a very caring place and that they work very hard to provide the assistance needed for seniors to live comfortably in their own places.


4.0
August 11, 2015
memom - Loved one of resident/client
Nice place

This was our first experience with independent senior living. Its a little pricey. Food was fair to good. Staff was always caring and helpful. Sandy always made activities fun.


5.0
August 11, 2015
anonymous
Verified Review
They really care

Really caring people who go the extra mile.


3.0
August 8, 2015
Local Daughter - Loved one of resident/client
Not as good as it used to be.

Several of my relatives and friends have chosen to make The Homestead at Hickory View their home over the past 13 years. While still the "premier" senior living facility in Washington, the facility is starting show its age. Some of the staff are absolutely wonderful and embrace the residents as family members (Barb, Sandy, Debbie). Others seem to have some difficulty with the relationship between staff and resident. You can expect that your rent will increase by 3-4% every year. but services will not remain at the level you experienced at move-in, and will likely decline. Meals are not as good as they once were although they probably meet basic nutritional guidelines. Maintenance and housekeeping assistance was once standard and provided enthusiastically. Now it seems a monetary charge is contemplated for every request for assistance by a resident. It is a shame. This really is HOME to the residents. Unfortunately for some of the staff it's just a job and they don't want to do any more than the bare minimum.


4.5
June 1, 2015
Maureen King

Barb Hellman and the crew at Homestead help the residents remain involved in the community activities by promoting and planning the annual community Trail Ride, which includes lunch and bingo. Fun for all.


5.0
April 21, 2015
Steve W. - Loved one of resident/client
Great Place!

My Grandmother stayed here for several years. She is a very picky person and will let you know how she feels. She absolutely loved the place. The staff is friendly and the facility is very clean. They also have great activities.


5.0
January 26, 2015
Carolyn Parmer - Industry reviewer
You will feel right at home!

My source of news and information is Barb Hellman...who has her finger on the pulse of everything going on for seniors in Washington. Her energy and enthusiasm carries into the Homestead community, where tours and activities are informative and tailored to each visitor. She is always accommodating and delivers a high level of service....in the Homestead way!


5.0
January 23, 2015
Jennifer Hayth - Toured community

While I have toured many retirement communities, Homestead at Hickory View stands out as an exceptional facility. The establishment is furnished beautifully, providing a warm and welcoming setting. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, with the director, Barbara Hellman going above and beyond with assistance. I encourage everyone to consider this as your retirement community of choice.


4.5
January 21, 2015
Beth S. - Industry reviewer
Wonderful, friendly, warm!

Barb took us on a tour of the Homestead and it is in a beautiful and relaxing setting. Everyone we spoke to from the residents to the staff were all so friendly and welcoming. There is such a feeling of warmth and "family" that is exemplified throughout the entire community. It is a very well maintained facility and I would have no hesitation having a loved one call The Homestead home.


5.0
June 13, 2014
Anonymous - Toured community
Very nice place and lots of activitie...

Very nice place and lots of activities always going on.


5.0
January 2, 2014
Colorado Bob
Verified Review
Mom was reluctant

Mom at 95 lived at home alone. She started experiencing multiple falls. I knew her mind was still very alert and she was not ready for a "HOME." The rest of the family was feeling that she could not stay home alone. I came in committed to helping Mom do what she wanted to do. I thought that would mean bringing supports into her home. We explored several alternatives in the area and I could tell Mom was getting depressed with the prospect of being moved into a place for "Old People" - she doesn't see herself in that category. Then by chance we visited "The Homestead". When we drove up Mom said, "we don't need to go in there, that's too fancy and I could never afford it." We went in, she was impressed, she discovered that the cost was no more than the other places we had visited and the energy and ambiance was attractive. She's doing well at The Homestead.


5.0
December 13, 2013
Matt Weick - Loved one of resident/client
A Great Place for our Parents

Recently, I moved my Mom into The Homestead. Although everything always looks great on the tour, you can't really be certain until you've actually experienced a place like this. Gladly, The Homestead is EVERYTHING they say it is and a WHOLE LOT MORE! The entire staff is friendly and helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure my Mom is happy, safe and comfortable. This was the best move I could have possibly made for my Mom. In fact, it was so good that my wife's parents recently moved in and absolutely love it. Guess where my wife and I will be when the time comes!?!


5.0
December 12, 2013
Marcia B - Loved one of resident/client
EVERYTHING we could ask for...

Two years ago, it was no longer possible for Mom to live along in her home...we began the search for a facility near my home. In my career as a music therapist, I worked in a hospital geriatric psych unit, special education in the public school system, and several geriatric care facilities. I knew what I was looking for in a place for Mom and The Homestead has met or exceeded ALL of my expectations. The facility is clean...EVERY time I visit. The staff is friendly, caring, and knowledgeable about the needs of the geriatric resident. The dining staff is courteous and prompt. The menu selection is nutritious, flavorful, and varied to please all residents. Mom has her own apartment with her own furniture and even got to bring Miss Kitty along to the Homestead...something I did NOT find to be an option at the other facilities we visited. Although The Homestead is described as an "independent living" facility, additional nursing service is available and can be purchased as needed...from medication reminders to 24-hour care. The nursing staff is well-trained and provides top notch care for Mom. Thanks to God, The Homestead, and Mom & Dad's careful financial planning...she'll be able to spend the rest of her life in a safe and comfortable "home".


Neighborhood around The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community

The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

The Homestead at Hickory View Retirement Community has received an average review rating of 4.5 based on 38 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Washington, MO

1 / 3

Crestview Senior Living

8660 Grant Road, Crestwood, MO 63123

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(66 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Life is an Invitation .... Enjoy Yours!Conveniently located in Crestwood, MO. Crestview offers Luxury Living at an affordable month to month price. Choose from studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom apartment homes. Crestview's quiet neighborhood is within minutes of Grants Farm and Grants Trail....

Park Place Senior Living at Winghaven

2002 Boardwalk Place Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63368

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(70 reviews)

1bd, 2bd, Studio, Semi-Private

Park Place Senior Living at WingHaven is truly a unique community!  We offer Independent Apartment Homes and a state licensed Assisted Living.  We are nestled in the community of WingHaven, close to shopping, restaurants, and more.  What makes us different is our exceptional...

Garden Villas of O'Fallon

7092 S Outer 364 Rd, O'Fallon, MO 63368

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(60 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

About the communityGarden Villas of O’Fallon Luxury Retirement and Assisted Living Community continues the grand tradition of excellence established by the Delmar Gardens Family in 1965. Based in St. Louis and owned by the same local family for over 55 years, everything we do is founded upon a...

Cedarhurst of Tesson Heights

12335 W Bend Dr, Saint Louis, MO 63128

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(64 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Discover that the sky's the limit at Tesson Heights, home to Independent Living and Assisted Living services in St. Louis. From thoughtfully designed floor plans to the world-class service and myriad recreational and social opportunities, residents may just find that we have thought of...

Sunrise of Des Peres

13460 Manchester Road, Des Peres, MO 63131

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(57 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

If you're looking for an assisted living option other than the traditional nursing home, Sunrise of Des Peres is a great choice. We offer a range of individualized assistance and care—from light support to care that addresses more complex needs—in a setting that feels like home.Guided by our...

Southview Assisted Living & Memory Care

9916 Reavis Road, Affton, MO 63123

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(49 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Southview Assisted Living is the premier senior living community in South County near St. Louis, Missouri. We offer, assisted living and Dementia / Memory Care . This newly built senior living community will begin welcoming residents in Summer 2012.We know how difficult change can be, especially...

Dougherty Ferry Assisted Living and Memory Care

2929 Dougherty Ferry Rd, Valley Park, MO 63122

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(44 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Welcome to Dougherty Ferry Assisted Living & Memory Care, a luxurious senior living community just outside St. Louis, Missouri. Here you can enjoy a full lifestyle that balances independence with personal assistance. The community offers 95 comfortable, maintenance-free apartments, along with...

Westview at Ellisville Assisted Living

27 Reinke Road, Ellisville, MO 63021

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(48 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

We welcome new residents! Please contact us to schedule a tour and find out about our special pricing incentive.Westview at Ellisville is the premier senior living community in Ellisville, Missouri. We offer, assisted living and Dementia / Memory Care. Opened in the summer of 2012.We know how...

Sunrise of Chesterfield

1880 Clarkson Road, Chesterfield, MO 63017

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(53 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

If you're looking for an assisted living option other than the traditional nursing home, Sunrise on Chesterfield is a great choice. We offer a range of individualized assistance and care—from light support to care that addresses more complex needs—in a setting that feels like home.Guided by our...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.