23000 Horizon Dr, West Linn, OR 97068
Whether you are eating a beautifully prepared meal in our dinning room, taking a stroll on our outdoor paths, participating in a social event with your friends, or going on our bus for a trip to the store; Tanner Spring affords you the opportunity to have a 'life, lived to the fullest!'
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.(866) 819-9754
No data collected
Meals & dining
No data collected
Value for cost
I'm so glad I picked Tanner Spring. They have a wonderful staff and are always keeping me updated on any issues with my mom.
Skillful caring staff. Very clean and well organized.
We had a tour in the Memory Care Unit by the two Marketing Specialists. The marketing specialists, front desk assistant, and caregivers were friendly. Although I’m surprised management would let an employee wear such revealing clothes! She wore a very short skirt, her shirt was very low cut, and she was wearing flip flops! That just screams unprofessional to me. The other lady was very professionally dressed and so was the young lady at the front desk. The Memory Care Unit itself smelled like urine. The furniture looks like it needs a major makeover. The residents were all sitting around sleeping, no activity, so sad. They renovated the front entrance to the Assisted Living, but for how much people spend in Memory Care (for sharing a bedroom!) they desperately need an update. The only outside exposure the Memory Care seniors have is a small fenced in enclosure which was dirty. They should expand it so there is at least a garden. Although, this is near our home we would never let my mother stay here. Take your money elsewhere!
The most similar to [removed]. Nice neighborhood. Lots of parking. 60 beds in Assisted Living and 52 beds in Memory Care. Rooms are about the same as their living room plus mom's bedroom. Fridge and microwave included. private bathroom. Had ice cream social and music on Friday's (when I was there). Privately owned. Medicaid spend down ok. Deposit $1000/person. Services are $50/point. ([removed] is $61) Private dinning room for guests.
We had our mother at Tanner for 5 years. It is a nice facility. Lots of dedicated hard working people. The caregivers were very accommodating. many very young using the job as an entrance into a future medical profession job.However, they're asked to perform great work, for basically minimum wage. They are good about offering many weekly and monthly fun activities and trips, and family events, i.e. Easter Dinners, Halloween...July 4th picnics....all great stuff. However, many concerns day to day. Within 1st few days of moving her in, one of the care givers, in front of us, told our mother that she'd never leave there alive. This is when we thought and reaffirmed with her that she'd be back in her own home within a year. We were outraged, as it was said in front of myself and family. My mother did eventual pass there. When she did, we never received any condolences,or even flowers at her funeral or any thank yous from Tanner - after 5 years of paying (starting at) $3500 a month to $6000 a month. My entire family had ZERO TRUST with [name removed], the head nurse. She is a mean vindictive person, who'll smile to your face and hide behind "protocol" to push her agenda. When I hear of stories of elder abuse at nursing homes in the news, I wouldn't put it past her to "justify" her records. Promises given before we moved her in were broken: i.e. that she'd be able to take their shuttle to keep one Dr appointment. When she wanted to go, the Dr was located 8/10s of a mile from the "furthest we go out". They wouldn't drive that extra for her. [name removed], the nurse, promised me she would have someone walk with my mother for exercise around the complex daily, per Dr's recommendation. It started, but quickly had excuses why she couldn't. I had an outside care person speak directly to [name removed]and received a promise for her that she would ensure my mother to have assistance being walked to and from her meals. That started and quickly faded. The care person recognized it, and documented it. saying she could only approach the nurse again but couldn't 'force them". (to be fair, this came down to staffing issues at meal time. However it was promised already knowing the staffing issues at mealtime. To top it off, 3 months before she passed was given an eviction notice because we refused to move her into a higher cost room they suggested, after we already had done that. We filed a grievance with the State, and Tanner's parent company, Sterling, and came to a resolution with management. Again, the company action was related to [name removed] suggestion. OVERALL: I'm sure all care facilities try to do the best they can with the resources they have available. Sometimes real care is overshadowed by efforts of increasing financial resources which can be used to give more & better care. That of course would be the corporate response. Tanner is a nice, clean, good facility. Better than most. Other than the issues I experienced there, it was above average. I would recommend. However, family members need to constantly monitor ANY facility they have loved ones at. Daily visits, if possible, allow for additional scrutiny. Don't hold back from asking a question at the moment you have a concern. Hold them accountable and be as informed about their protocol as you can so you'll understand why certain things are done, processed, handled, the way they are. It may answer a concern when you spot one.
I took a tour here, and I was very disappointed. I wanted to love it because it is so close to my house. It would have been so convenient. However I had a meal here and the food was horrible. I was there with other family members, and we all ordered something different, but they felt the same way about it. I also didn't like that while we were there, one of the residents wandered into the kitchen, and one of the aids reprimanded her loudly about it. In general, Tanner just did not feel like a happy place for the people there. I knew right away that it was not a place for my loved ones.
Response from Tanner SpringApril 16, 2018
First, thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are sorry that your meals were not to your liking on the day of the tour. It’s too bad that we were not made aware of it at the time as we would have pointed out the many alternative items that could be ordered from the menu. With the diversity of people here in our community, it is important to offer a variety of meal selections. In addition to the main menu choices, we offer many different sandwiches, salads, as well as “fit options” at every meal. In regards to the resident entering the kitchen area, I was able to speak to staff members that were working and found that the staff member that was assisting our resident was concerned for safety reasons as you can imagine and had spoken loudly to them due to their hearing loss. It was not their intention to reprimand them. The experience that you describe is most certainly not acceptable by our standards. We are sorry that you were unaware of the situation and took it in a different manner.
There are MUCH better Memory Care options out there. The over-all "Facility Administrator" paints a beautiful picture for you. Makes a lot of promises that are not accurate. They have failed so may times with basic care needs I've lost count. My mom went hungry several evening meals due to lack of appealing food. I brought food in to serve as a back up but it always got forgot until I reminded staff of it. The residents are seen a lot of the time doing nothing or lined up in the living room in lazy boy chairs with their heads leaning to one side. It's really sad. Staff spends little time interacting with the residents and they only do what is required or asked of them. Fees continue to climb. But the care or ammedities do not. Furniture looks like it came from Good Will and last but not least the owner, [Removed] decided to change the room occupancies to ALL SHARED units. Two people, small room, $ 10,800.00 a month. It's all about the money.
I am very happy with the great care that my mom is receiving here. She has settled in very well and has adjusted very comfortably. She is very please with the meals and the wonderful varieity. The community is clean and well taken care of. My mom likes the activities and the feeling of this community. We would recommend this care and value for other families wanting outstanding care for a loved one.
We've been on the assisted side for few years now. My recommendations would be to watch your service points, anything of value discussed between admin and yourself, get it in writing. Meal time is extremely long waiting periods for residents. Care Staff is awesome, helpful and experienced. We Just recently moved over to Memory Care. Staff is young and unfortunately inexperienced in common areas that they should be experienced in. For the additional $2500 a month to be over in memory care, the 7 - 1 ratio so far has not turned out to be worth the move. Let's hope they quickly figure it out.
This is a very nice community, and my tour went well. The community looked nice. The staff was very friendly and kind. There was many factors that played into where to move my mother to for the best care. We did have a good experience, and everyone was very kind. This wasn't the place for us.
Response from Tanner SpringFebruary 8, 2017
Even though we were not the right fit for your mother, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you for the chance to show you our community.
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.