This has been a good experience for us so far. The community is having some staff turnover; however, they are working through it. The staff communication with the family is pretty good if we have questions over our loved one. It would be nice to see better personal care such as to remember the resident's glasses and to place them on the resident's face.... Read more
We believe life is meant to be lived and enjoyed at your pace when you live at Sunrise of Edina. Our charming community is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota and is close to Centennial Lakes Park, Southdale Center, and several hospitals including Fairview Southdale Hospital, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, and Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital.
We offer residents a personalized care experience, homemade meals, and an around-the-clock support system. Whether you need short or long-term care, our skilled and compassionate team members will provide care tailored to you. Our community features stunning walking paths, gardens, and a playground for residents’ youngest family members to enjoy. We understand how important family is, so we utilize a family engagement app to send photos, videos, and community updates regularly.
Residents can connect and enjoy social opportunities that keep them enriched and engaged. Through our Sunrise Live With Purpose™ programming, we plan and host different activities that help enrich residents’ minds, bodies, and spirits. We also have an on-site beauty and barber salon to provide some pampering and relaxation.
Our trained team members are available for around-the-clock service needs, and a licensed nurse provides monthly wellness visits to residents. Meetings are scheduled by our staff...
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Devotional Services Offsite
Devotional Services Onsite
Indoor Common Areas
Outdoor Common Areas
My mom really enjoys it, but they are so understaffed and they don't follow through. For example: they tried to give my mom someone else's medications and we caught it, they were looking at the wrong person. After two months they tried to raise her rate by [price removed] and it took them a couple of months to schedule a meeting. They said they'd send us stuff regarding the price increase and they didn't. They also forgot to put her on the shower schedule and we had to bring it to their attention after 6 weeks. They have very poor communication. I would like to see the staff to follow through on what they say, return phone calls, and overall more communication.
Response from Sunrise of EdinaAugust 10, 2022
Hello customer, Allow us to take a closer look at this for you. Please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org with your information so we're able to best assist you. Thank you.- The Sunrise Team
Some employees were good, but were fired or left because of awful management. They are unorganized, make mistakes with meds frequently, don't do laundry when you're paying for them to (you might wait weeks), don't give baths when you're paying for them to, don't respect residents' needs or wishes. Personal items are at high risk of disappearing, with no accountability by Sunrise. This place is really bad and my brother had a lot of bad experiences there. I would never recommend it.
Response from Sunrise of EdinaAugust 10, 2022
Hi B, We take your experience at Sunrise of Edina very seriously and would like to review this matter closer. Please contact email@example.com so we can promptly review and address these concerns. – The Sunrise Team
This has been a good experience for us so far. The community is having some staff turnover; however, they are working through it. The staff communication with the family is pretty good if we have questions over our loved one. It would be nice to see better personal care such as to remember the resident's glasses and to place them on the resident's face.
Response from Sunrise of EdinaJune 29, 2022
Hi Customer, It is delightful to hear that you have been satisfied with the personalized support provided to your loved one by Sunrise of Edina. Our team members share a common goal of enriching every resident’s life by carefully listening to their needs and always delivering the very best. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team
The sales staff at Sunrise of Edina were not very good with communication or follow up after the tour and we just felt they were a little flaky. We did really really like this facility, but the downfall for us was it did not have a gym and my loved one like to workout once or twice a day. They also only had studios available and we were looking for something bigger than that.
Response from Sunrise of EdinaMay 18, 2022
Hi customer, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and encourage you to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team
The workers really stood out to us, just from the tour we saw them all interacting with the residents, you could tell they actually liked coming to work and seeing their residents. We do like the smaller scale of the community it worked out really well for our loved one given their dementia state, and even after his passing the staff were still there for our family and just super friendly. They tried their best given the covid limitations to keep the residents active and busy. It is a very good value for the money.
This community is good for someone that was more ill and less independent. It was not what we were looking for.
After looking into many different facilities, Sunrise of Edina was the one that we all liked the best. I would definitely recommend the facility to others looking.
Our family had an in person tour and it was a big negative right away. The staff members were very nice but the community itself was very old and run down. It was musty and dark inside, and other communities we were touring were very bright and welcoming feeling.
Response from Sunrise of EdinaSeptember 4, 2021
We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at email@example.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team
We are very happy we found Sunrise. The atmosphere is homey and friendly and seems like a home instead of a senior living facility. I would recommend this community to others based on my experience.
30 day minimum respite care.
Don't use this community. You don't get what they promised upfront. They were short-staffed and the communication between the staff and our family was not good. It took forever to get calls back and I would not recommend this community
The friendliness of the staff members were a beyond a five we have nothing bad to say. The care services were excellent, this was such a good decision for our family we could not of been more happy.
Every person I have talked to has been helpful. They've all been knowledgeable, and if they couldn't answer me they got me to someone who could. They proactively reach out to me with updates, and they also Facetime with me. So I feel like they're showing what is going on as much as possible when I can't be there during Covid time. I feel like my loved one is extremely safe there. I would recommend them for sure.
The dining rooms is opening back up but for awhile all the meals were being delivered to their rooms. The community itself is clean, but our loved ones room occasionally could use some more consistent cleaning. The staff members are excellent, there are so responsive and attentive. We think the care services are very good, we do think sometimes they are stretched thin under the current circumstances. Our parents loved the food at the community. The have a beauty salon, which within the past month has opened back up and our mother loves getting her hair done. Most of the other activities are still shut down. We do think the value is there for the money, when we do have concerns they are answered immediately. The executive director has told us that before covid it was like a circus here, there were so many things going on all the time, and they are really hoping to get back to that soon.
I would not recommend the facility to anybody. I feel that they had no compassion or understanding. The communication was horrible. I found them very unprofessional. After my husband had passed away, I never got any condolences from the facility, and that disappointing to me.
I would recommend the community. The people seem nice, and professional. If there is something bad that happens, they make sure that all staff is available to assist the families and residents. They go above and beyond for the residents.
We chose Sunrise of Edina because of the activities that they were able to provide to the residents as well as the location. My mom is in memory care, she is in a small bedroom and it is perfect size for her. The best part about the community is that the memory care is all inclusive. I would recommend the community.
The staff is friendly and truly care about my mom! Allot of the people working here have been with Sunrise for a long time which I really like because she gets to know who is taking care of her. The rooms are smaller than other places, but I cared more about who would be taking care of my mom when I wasn't there. And I found that with Sunrise of Edina. I would highly recommend them if that is your focus too.
I appreciate [name removed] giving my Dad a great tour. My Dad's main concern was the expense. There was no parking and the facility looked older than the others toured. A plus is that there is a YMCA six blocks away.
Our mother was only a short time so it would be hard to accurately evaluate. The few days she was there she was very well taken care of and we were impressed how often someone came to check on her.
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
To reach a resident at Sunrise of Edina call: (952) 927-8000
At Azura, we promise each resident will experience a personalized MOSAIC of exceptional care and engagement, based on our core values: RESPECT, RECOVERY, INNOVATION, RETAIN, and BE EXCEPTIONAL.Our Eau Claire community features two homes purposefully designed to meet the needs of those living...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Home isn’t just a place you live. It’s also a feeling that lives in you. At Flourish Senior Living in Golden Valley, MN, we work hard to bring that feeling out in all we do. From our straight-forward services and easy-to-understand pricing to our wealth of inviting on-site amenities, we provide...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Village Shores Senior Community is located in Richfield, Minnesota’s thriving urban center. Located in the Lakes of Lyndale District, Village Shores is surrounded by Wood Lake and Richfield Lake which offer walking trails and green spaces for residents. In addition, the location offers many...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
The Homestead at Maplewood is a 61 unit senior living community that offers both assisted living and memory support services. We are owned and operated by Volunteers of America National Services and have been since we opened in 1995. Volunteers of America National Services is an affiliate of...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Copperfield Hill offers Independent Living, Assisted Living and Memory Care. Our community is situated 'in the heart of Robbinsdale'. Robin Center and Crystal Lake are located just next door and North Memorial hospital is 1-mile south of Copperfield Hill. Our location offers convenience both to...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
We are truly a family at HeatherWood Assisted Living and Memory Care and we warmly welcome you to experience the good people who live and work here. Our team believes if you do the right things, the right things happen. We understand that caring is what makes us human, and we work with passion...
Welcome to senior living your way.Your choices, your satisfaction—with the ease of a low entrance fee community and the beauty of the old Tessman Farm in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota. Tradition offers robust independent and assisted living in a friendly and inspiring atmosphere that honors who you...
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Step into Autumn Glen Senior Living and take comfort in knowing that you have come to the right place. The community opened in 2015 and has a focus on delivering a lifestyle of care, value and well-being amidst a beautiful setting. It is our commitment to help each resident lead a purposeful life...
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.