Oaks at Tucker

1300 Montreal Rd, Tucker, GA 30084

About the community

Northlake Gardens is a beautiful assisted living and Alzheimer's care community located in Tucker, Georgia conveniently located near I-285 and I-85. Step inside our doors and discover fine retirement living, where excellent care meets the comforts of home.Spacious apartments, thoughtful amenities, and caring staff create a community rich in hospitality and friendship- a community you will be proud to call home.

Stop by for a tour today!

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing at Oaks at Tucker

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities

Health Care Services

Memory care
Ambulatory care
Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Dentist
Have a question?

Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.

(866) 819-9754

Meals & Dining

Meals provided

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered

Community Amenities

Transportation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit

Pets

Dogs allowed
Cats allowed

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas

Services

Beautician

Memory care services

Wander guard or similar system available

Activities

Devotional activities offsite
Activities on-site
Activities off-site

Reviews of Oaks at Tucker

3.5

(21 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.5

Care services

3.5

Staff

No data collected

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

3.5

Value for cost

3.5

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-10 of 21 reviews

4.0
June 7, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
My review of Northlake Gardens

Our family was able to do a couple separate tours with the Northlake and in the beginning they were not the most favorable because they were under construction so we went to another facility. However, our loved one will be moving in her shortly and it just has a much warmer and welcoming atmosphere. We realized its not the facility that makes the experience it is the people that are there who make the experience.


2.0
October 1, 2019
TKD - Toured community
Verified Review
Long term resident opinion

My mother was a resident from January of 2014 until April of this year. Some of the staff are long term and really good. Seem to care about the residents. A lot of turnover in upper managment and nursing supervisors. Frankly the place is a bit run down considering every year the cost went up and I did not feel that they were really equipped to deal with the issues of most of the residents. The food was on the better side. But like every other place the staff isn't "highly" trained nor are they adequately compensated. Which impacts care. At best it's a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Response from Oaks at Tucker

October 7, 2019

TKD, I am the Executive Director and would very much like to have a conversation with you regarding your comments. Exceeding resident and family expectations is our goal in all our interactions. Since you feel we sometimes fell short of that goal I hope you are willing to have a discussion with me as we are always looking for ways to listen and improve. Please contact me at your convenience at the community.


4.5
June 13, 2019
Arthur Rogers - Loved one of resident/client
My review of Northlake Gardens

I appreciated the friendliness of the staff. They acted like we had known each other all the time. I noticed how happy the residents were. Also, the menus are wonderful, a good variety of foods.


1.0
April 13, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

community not well kept, Need interior paint work to common areas and vacant. I requested to see menu for residents meal, since none were present on tables The paper was wrinkled and covered with food stains. Staff members loud personal conversation can be heard while waiting for assistance and during tour.

Response from Oaks at Tucker

April 24, 2019

I am the Executive Director and I am sincerely interested in your comments. Our goal is to provide a warm and inviting residence and our standards dictate a much greater sense of pride in our profession and our home than you described from your tour. To reassure you of our care and hospitality I would be delighted to connect you with residents and family members who can tell you about their experience at our community. Please contact me at the community if we can be of further assistance as you look at senior living options.


0.5
February 27, 2019
Anonymous
NORTHLAKE GARDENS: THE IMPORTANT THING IS YOUR MONEY

My mother was scheduled to move into Northlake Gardens in February of 2019. She lives out of state (MO) and I was to go get her and bring her back. I had to put a $1,500 deposit for the space, a $300 deposit for pet fee, and pay the first month's rent in advance $2,950. I had to do all of this two weeks prior to her move in date. I have them a bank draft, as requested. It was immediately cashed. I then went to get my mother. I took the local police with me because my sister and nephew would not let me see or speak to her and I have POA as they have drained her entire life savings and spent the money on trips, cars, and whatever they wanted for themselves. My nephew refused to let me in her house or for me to take her with me. There is a police report. Northlake Gardens was made a aware of this. It is now one month later and I have yet to receive my refund. I wrote them an email. They told me out of the almost $5,000 I gave them they would be keeping everything but $2,100. Really?!? DO NOT TAKE YOUR RELATIVES TO THIS ASSISTED LIVING! All they want is money and have no empathy for the horrible situation you may be in as I am. They really really do not care as long as you pay them.

Response from Oaks at Tucker

March 4, 2019

I am the Regional Director of Operations and wanted to give you an update on your refund request. This has been processed locally and sent to our corporate office for final processing. The initial community fee is a non-refundable amount per the terms of the contract, but we are refunding the monthly rent, prorated to account for the days we held the apartment off the market for your mother. Please contact me if you have any questions. You may reach me by contacting the community and asking to speak to the Regional Director of Operations. We wish you and your mother the best going forward. Kind regards -- Dannie


4.0
January 9, 2019
A concerned friend of a resident - Loved one of resident/client
Pleasantly surprised to date

I have been impressed with what I have seen. The facility is open and sunny and is well maintained. [Name removed] is always painting something to keep it nice. The only smells are good smells. All of the staff I have met or worked with have been helpful with great attitudes. There are some who are exceptional -- really outstanding, and to them, I say a special thank you! The activities are well-planned and easily available. They don't accommodate those with significant vision problems easily but the staff has offered to help with that as well. The food is outstanding and the aromas are enticing when you are there near mealtime. There is always water available in the public area downstairs, although getting seniors to drink sufficient water is a chore. Despite that, the offers are often made by the staff.


1.5
February 6, 2018
Concerned - Loved one of resident/client
Bad and getting worse

Yes, Northlake Gardens is dated and a bit shabby. However, that's not the worst thing. The worst thing is the quality of the care. While a few of the care givers do seem to really care about the residents, most don't seem to. They are rude, unfriendly and don't smile (maybe because they are under paid and under staffed). There have been many days where my mom was left wet in bed all day. There is high turnover at all levels of the staff: from the director to the nurse to the caregivers. Much of the time there was not a nurse on staff. The corporation that owns Northlake is cutting costs on all levels and does not have the best interests of the residents at heart. We are moving my mom.

Response from Oaks at Tucker

February 13, 2018

Dear 'Concerned', as the Executive Director at Northlake Gardens it is our goal to exceed expectations for all our residents, families and guests. I was sorry to read this was not your experience. I want to assure you that we not only meet state regulations for staffing, as a senior living company committed to quality care, we strive to exceed what is required. Furthermore, we provide our team members with a competitive salary and benefits, and provide training according to state regulations and our organizations' standards. That said, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding your observations; we are always looking for ways to listen and improve.


2.5
May 20, 2015
caregiver04532 - Loved one of resident/client
Would we have moved Mom to Northlake Gardens, knowing then what we know now? Definitely not.

We have had our mom at Northlake Gardens for only a few months but they have been difficult, stressful months. We were promised 24 hour care, in-room checks every 2 hours by a caregiver, prompt and efficient response to concerns, a caring and active community, and excellent food. I cannot complain about the food. Our mom has complained of pain, asking for a Tylenol, for over 2 straight days and no relief was given, to the extent that she called 911, seeking relief from the local ER. Last month she was prescribed a special creme to help control her eczema condition. Because the doctor prescribed the creme to be given "as needed", this creme was applied 3 times in 3 weeks, each time after I asked for it to be applied, each time finding Mom in her room, frantically scratching and uncomfortable. After 3 months it was finally explained to us that "as needed" means "when the resident asks for it". Mom has dementia and doesn't know to ask for many things she needs. She did ask for pain relief for 2 days and did not receive any, so that might be stuck in her mind. Her legs are inflamed & bumpy, and no creme was being applied because Mom didn't specifically ask for it. We began noticing a musty, moldy smell in her room after a month and brought it immediately to the attention of the staff, including the maintenance and sales staff and finally the executive director. Some staff members attempt to cover up the smell with air freshener. It has been over 3 weeks since I brought the mold problem to their attention and this week the condition was checked upon and confirmed. We do not have full knowledge of the day to day activities at Northlake Gardens but with the exception of one occasion when she was at a meal, every time I have visited Mom, she has been in her room, sitting in her chair. Would we have moved Mom to Northlake Gardens, knowing then what we know now? Definitely not.

Response from Oaks at Tucker

May 22, 2015

Thank you for your review. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any miscommunications caused to you and your loved one. I am deeply sorry and I understand and empathize with your experiences. This is highly uncharacteristic of Northlake Gardens standards and practices. Let’s schedule a meeting at your convenience to discuss our plan of action and the solutions that are already in process to rebuild our relationship, regain your trust, and meet and exceed your expectations. Charles James, Executive Director.


5.0
April 24, 2015
Diane Chadwick - Loved one of resident/client
Both parents are in this community

Both my parents were there and the people are wonderful. Food is great according my dad and they took great care of them both. Mom was in beginning stages of Alzheimer's & dad was there to gain strength after an extended hospital & rehab stay. Mom has transitioned to the Bridge group for Alzheimer's patients. Dad was able to transition home. Dad will be returning to NLG in a few days due to a fall & broken hip. We had no reason to look for another facility since we are happy with the care they provide.


5.0
April 24, 2015
Diane Chadwick - Loved one of resident/client
Both parents are in this community

Both my parents were there and the people are wonderful. Food is great according my dad and they took great care of them both. Mom was in beginning stages of Alzheimer's & dad was there to gain strength after an extended hospital & rehab stay. Mom has transitioned to the Bridge group for Alzheimer's patients. Dad was able to transition home. Dad will be returning to NLG in a few days due to a fall & broken hip. We had no reason to look for another facility since we are happy with the care they provide.


Frequently Asked Questions

Oaks at Tucker offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Oaks at Tucker has received an average review rating of 3.5 based on 21 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar Senior Communities Near Tucker, GA

1 / 3

Benton House of Decatur

2711 Lawrenceville Hwy, Decatur, GA 30033
(4 reviews)

Safe Haven Home For All

2362 Lawrenceville Hwy, Decatur, GA 30033

Rising Star Personal Care Home

5018 E. Ponce de Leon Ave, Stone Mountain, GA 30083
(21 reviews)

The Phoenix at Tucker

2060 Idlewood Rd, Tucker, GA 30084
(80 reviews)

The Madeline of Decatur

475 Irvin Ct, Decatur, GA 30030
(25 reviews)

Arbor Terrace of Decatur

425 Winn Way, Decatur, GA 30030
(8 reviews)

Medlock Gardens Senior Living

460 Medlock Rd, Decatur, GA 30030
(16 reviews)

The Holbrook of Decatur NOW OPEN

1882 Clairmont Rd, Decatur, GA 30033
(8 reviews)

Montclair Senior Living

2100 Clairmont Lake, Decatur, GA 30033
(20 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

Contact Us
701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.