A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

Heron East

2290 Cattlemen Rd, Sarasota, FL 34232

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Heron East Aerial View of Community
11 Photos
11 Photos available
4 Floor plans
4 Floor plans available
Heron East in google map
Rosemary kelly - Loved one of resident/client
4.5
Thanksgiving with mom

My mom had thanksgiving with her family , but wanted to go back to herons with all the desserts . Our whole family was treated as if we were at a restaurant . The staff set a table in the living area with coffee , drinks , and plates and silverware . They offered us more . We had all our own desserts . It was so warm and friendly for the whole family to be together . The staff is always welcoming and goes above and beyond . Thank God for herons . We love u !... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Heron East

With southern charm and homelike community features, Heron East has provided a warm, lively community setting for seniors seeking assisted living services since 1999, offering more than 60 years of combined staff experience in senior care. Designed with purpose and endless hospitality, the community not only offers attentive care, but also offers stellar amenities, cozy living arrangements, and enriching social events and activities. Residents can connect with each other in a secure setting on property or during a scheduled off-site day trip to explore the bustling city and pristine beaches of Sarasota, Florida.

Community Amenities and Services

This charming community offers unbeatable amenities, a dedicated team of caregivers, and the highest standard of care possible. Staff members work hard to help ensure residents’ lives are secure and comfortable by offering transportation, routine housekeeping, and beautician services. They also provide on-site therapy and healthcare services such as medication management, incontinence care, diabetic care, and specialized memory care.

Their culinary team provides chef-prepared meals with a large selection of fresh, locally sourced menu items, any of which can be modified to accommodate common dietary restrictions and preferences, like low-sodium and vegetarian. Enjoy the elegance of their restaurant-style dining room, or opt for peace and quiet...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Heron East is a community within SRI Management, LLC properties. See all SRI Management, LLC communities.

Pricing for Heron East

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Heron East

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Ambulatory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Guest Meals
Restaurant Style Dining
Room Service

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Ground Floor Units
Cable or Satellite TV
Air Conditioned

Facility Amenities

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit

Pets

Weight limit 21-30lbs
Dogs Allowed
Cats Allowed

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Main Street Shops
Indoor Atrium

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Billiards Lounge
Game Room
Movie or Theater Room

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician

Memory care

Enclosed Courtyard
Indoor Walking Paths

Languages spoken

Spanish
English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Protestant Services
Catholic Services

Reviews for Heron East

4.1

(19 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

4.1

Staff

3.0

Meals & dining

5.0

Activities

4.3

Value for cost

4.1

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-19 of 19 reviews
3.0
June 18, 2021
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Our Experience

The place is very clean, and the food is good. We also like the size of our loved one's room for the money. Activities are pretty good but could maybe use more variety. Beyond that, we've had some issues overall. Billing is very random, and you should consider having in writing what the month to month billing is going to be. We've also been having some care issues. When our loved one needs something, she has to ring the call bell over and over to get a response. They've had a lot of turnover and have therefore had to utilize contract nurses and aides . With any concerns I've voiced to them, I feel they were unresponsive and just didn't seem to care. Everything is like pulling teeth. I feel like once she went in there, everyone's attitudes changed, and it wasn't what it was portrayed to be. The admissions person is very sweet and nice, and I was very taken with her and the community, but I felt like after they hooked you, they just no longer cared.


1.5
August 19, 2020
POA of a former resident - Loved one of resident/client
Poor handling of a Covid-19 outbreak

Very disappointed in the way COVID-19 outbreak at this facility was handled in June. The person with POA (me) for a resident was not informed she tested positive (asymptomatic) until she had already been removed from the facility and sent to a hospital NOT of our choice. This created a nightmare for the family. . Heron East did not send POA documentation with any of the residents to this hospital. I know this because the case management director told me this. When it was discovered POA documents had not been sent by the ALF for our family member, the hospital then realized NONE of the POA documents had been sent for ANY of the patients they had received from Heron East. Heron East stripped her room without informing us it would be done, then we were told when she returned she could not have her own room back. Prior to the outbreak we had increased the care level of the resident and wanted documentation that this extra care was being provided since the facility was on lockdown. In our inquiries regarding this issue our phone calls were seldom returned, and NEVER RETURNED by [name removed], who was supposedly in charge of this. We never were given any proof that the extra care we were paying for was occurring. Only at the end , when we needed to locate valuables belonging to the resident and make arrangements to get her belongings out of the facility did we start getting phone calls returned. We did not go back to Heron East once our family member recovered. When we went to get her furniture and belongings we ended up with 2 boxes of someone else’s stuff, causing us to wonder how many others had same experiences. This facility let us down. The emergency of the COVID-19 breakout is no excuse. Protocols should have ALREADY BEEN IN PLACE that would have prevented the things revealed in this review. It was inevitable that an outbreak would eventually happen. But Heron East seemed to be flying by the seat of their pants once staff members spread the contagion. The Power of Attorney for a person incapable of making their medical decisions should ALWAYS be their first phone call before actions are taken in a medical situation such as this. Now the facility is running a campaign to fill all the empty rooms. Very disappointed , and yes, angry, about in the poor management in this entire situation.


3.0
March 10, 2019
anonymous - Toured community

Toured this property yesterday. Did not like this property due to: No kitchenette in the rooms. No RN on staff around the clock. The meal times were scheduled, instead of all day dining.

Response from Heron East

March 15, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry that it wasn't a fit for you. We hope you found a community you love!


4.5
November 27, 2018
Rosemary kelly - Loved one of resident/client
Thanksgiving with mom

My mom had thanksgiving with her family , but wanted to go back to herons with all the desserts . Our whole family was treated as if we were at a restaurant . The staff set a table in the living area with coffee , drinks , and plates and silverware . They offered us more . We had all our own desserts . It was so warm and friendly for the whole family to be together . The staff is always welcoming and goes above and beyond . Thank God for herons . We love u !


5.0
October 2, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Affordable With No Issues

My mom likes the community and she is settling in very well. They are very accommodating and we have not had a bad experience yet. The community was more affordable than others. I think the lady in charge of marketing, was really good at her job. She's also a nurse. It has been an overall good experience and easy to get her moved in.


5.0
July 21, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Tour for care

This is a nice community for my father's care. We liked that the staff was helpful and able to answer the questions on the care that is offered for the residents. We liked the menu of the healthy meals and the activities that would have been helpful for my father's care. We would recommend that families tour this community.

Response from Heron East

August 3, 2017

Thank you so much for your recommendation of our community! We appreciate your confidence in us!


3.0
March 15, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Kind Staff

I had a good tour of this community. Everything went well, this is a nice community. The staff was very kind.

Response from Heron East

May 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! How can we improve to get your rating to 5 stars? We are so thankful for your feedback!


4.0
September 28, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Good People!

The community was great and the staff was wonderful. the staff kept me well informed about what my loved one needed and how they are progressing. They offer a variety of activities for my loved to participate in. The provide healthy choices for my loved to eat.


4.0
December 20, 2015
anonymous - Toured community

Lovely. Warm staff. Smaller rooms.100 residents.


4.0
August 3, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A very friendly place. It's a great place for mom.

The Heron East is a very friendly place. They provided great value. It's a great place for mom. The food is good. It's good, but it's not great. I would rate the food three stars. The location and parking is fine. Everything has been very good. I would absolutely recommend the Heron East to anyone looking for a friendly place with a good value. It has been a good experience at the Heron East. Four Stars.


5.0
July 7, 2015
Carol Chartrand and Family - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great place to live!!

My mom has been at Heron East since January 2015. She loves this facility and so do we, her family. She is very well taken care of and the staff is there to please. From the moment you walk in, you are greeted with a smile and a warm, friendly reception. My mom receives great care and all the residents seem very content in living there. There are many daily activities to keep the residents occupied. I couldn't ask for a "better" place for my mom to live!


5.0
May 15, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Wonderful facility for your family member

My mother has been in Heron East since February and I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff and the facility are. My mother is very happy and so is the whole family. Compared to the last facility my mother was in this is indeed a breath of fresh air. I would highly recommend Heron East to any one looking for a place for their family member.

Response from Heron East

May 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful words! We are honored to have your family in our community!


3.5
April 2, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Good people, bad food

The people at Heron East were warm and friendly; A. The physical building and layout; A The nursing/aide staff was pretty good but short staffed at times; B+ The laundry service was very good; A The food was very institutionalized food; F Few of the vegetables were fresh. The cauliflower soup did not taste as if there were 1/4 cup of cauliflower in it. My mother was very disappointed in the lack of vegetables having been a nutritionist. The meat was not much better. She like chicken and fish in its simple form, without much processing. She gave up on the food and stopped eating near the end due to several factors.

Response from Heron East

April 6, 2015

We are disappointed to learn that your loved one did not have a better dining experience while residing at the community. Our top priority is to deliver the best quality services and care for our residents and we continuously ask for resident feedback via surveys and food forums to ensure we are listening to our residents. Please feel free to contact me directly to share more information on why we failed to deliver meeting their expectations and how we could improve the quality of services or care going forward. Barry Landreth, Executive Director [removed]


5.0
March 26, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
ecstatic!

I give Heron East five stars, but more importantly than that, my mom would give them five stars! They have really embraced my mother and fully brought her out of her cocoon and allowed her to feel like she is with family. I am just ecstatic! They have really been great. It is hard to even put into words how great the experience has been!


3.0
March 15, 2014
Brook - Loved one of resident/client
Beware of Additional Costs

The lowest listed price for a small studio is $2100.00 a month. But when entering, you will need to pay an extra non-refundable "community fee" of $3,000.00. If you are incapable of taking your meds., you will be charged another $250+ a month for them to administer them. If you need any level of care over the very minimum, it will be more than $300/ month more. So beware BEFORE you sign on.

Response from Heron East

March 19, 2014

I am sorry if you did not feel that our pricing was fully transparent. We always disclose our community fee, rental rates and care charges prior to move-in. While the community fee and rental rate are straightforward the care charges are based on an assessment from a licensed nurse. Prior to signing the lease the nurse will schedule an assessment, review the care plan and present you with your care charges. After move-in you will have another assessment every 90-days or upon a change in condition to ensure that the care plan is personalized to your needs. Please contact me directly to discuss any questions you have about your charges. Barry Landreth Executive Director [removed]


5.0
January 9, 2014
Son - Toured community
Verified Review
Exceptional

I thought that was exceptional. I loved the way that it looked, and everything about it more than any other place. I loved the layout, the staff was really great, and the people were very welcoming. It just wasn't as accessible to me.


5.0
August 1, 2013
Patti K. - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Gratitude

Heron East is so much more than a building or a place where my mother lives. It is a community where she finds security/safety, contentment, and daily structured care which meets her physical needs as well as emotional needs. The family of caregivers there, including the administrative staff, provides an environment in which my mom has found a certain peace, despite her health issues. From the family perspective, we find immediate response to questions and those occasional "system" issues which are always going to arise no matter where we are. We are very grateful for the exceptional care Mom receives at Heron East.


5.0
July 31, 2013
Dawn S - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A Wonderful, Fun, Clean, Loving Facility with GREAT Food!

After many visits to see a dear friend that lives at Heron East, we decided to move my Father there too. I am so happy with the move. If was a difficult decision as my Dad has dementia and his needs can sometimes be demanding. It was such a good decision as he is now doing so much better than in his former location at another ALF. It's just wonderful to see him so happy. I just love all the staff. Their entertainment Director is so Great!. He really works to get everyone involved in many activities and I love it that they have so much "live" entertainment and all kinds of interesting outings and different events including a quarterly fun, free, family night with great food and live entertainment. I also enjoy all the nice "quiet" areas, different living rooms and a pool table area. The facility is so beautiful with pretty flowers and plants and a nice fenced pond with lots of turtles. But most of all the staff seem to truly care about the residents. They even voluntarily hung up all our photos and shelving and gave terrific suggestions on decorating when he first moved in. Our family is so happy that we found Heron East. And best of all...the food is fabulous! Dad loves having his eggs just the way he wants them for breakfast. Everything seems to be homemade and I love eating with Dad because the dining room is so pretty and spacious and the food is so yummy and a great atmosphere for visits. It's such a relief, knowing that my Dad is in a clean, safe and loving environment. The staff is so attentive and call me if there's anything unusual going on. I just love how they really care about him and want the best for him. And I love that no matter what the staff's position is, they all help the residents get around and find their rooms or help when needed. The staff really has such a positive attitude and it shows. Consequently, the residents all seem very happy. I just love going there. It's a fun place to be. If your looking for an Assisted Living Facility, you should definitely look into it as it's a wonderful place and my Dad just loves it there and tells me "I wouldn't want to be any place else!".


4.5
July 30, 2013
B J Whitley and daughter Jeanie Mitchell - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
My Mom and I love Heron East

3 years ago my mother fell and broke her hip and was unable to return to her apartment alone. We were very lucky to find Heron East when looking for assited living. She has her own private room and bath which REALLY means a lot when coming from home alone, and has really been happy there. She wieghed 85 lbs when she arrived and has really flourished since moving in and has gained weight. Of course I cannot tell you her weight now (she would not be happy if I did) but the socialization has really improved her outlook on life. I feel very confident with the staff and feel each one cares about her as an individual. Having her cared for and knowing she has a place she can call home has made me feel so blessed in so many ways. Thank you to everyone at Heron East, from the housekeepers to the nursing staff to the management staff. A very grateful daughter!!


Neighborhood around Heron East

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Heron East

Heron East offers Studio. Learn more.

Heron East has received an average review rating of 4.1 based on 19 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (941) 378-5757 to reach a resident at Heron East.

To reach a resident at Heron East call: (941) 378-5757



Assisted Living communities nearby

1 / 3
Find assisted living
There are 64 facilities near Sarasota, FL

Aravilla Sarasota Independent Assisted Living

3271 Proctor Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(24 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Aravilla Sarasota is a unique independent assisted living community with private apartments ranging from studios to two bedroom two baths units.We have wonderful views, a pool to relax in or enjoy the aqua-therapy classes.Aside from healthcare and compassion, we are known for our delicious menu...

Coral Oaks

900 W Lake Rd, Palm Harbor, FL 34684

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(11 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Coral Oaks is located in the heart of Palm Harbor within a short drive to the Gulf Coast Beaches. We are within walking distance of shopping centers and restaurants. Favorite amenities are washer and dryers with full kitchens in Independent Living. Assisted Living has kitchenettes and six floor...

The Windsor of Cape Coral

831 Santa Barbara Blvd, Cape Coral, FL 33991

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(69 reviews)

1bd, Studio

The Windsor of Cape Coral is a licensed assisted living and memory care residence committed to providing quality services in a caring, comfortable environment. We offer professional, personalized services designed to enhance the quality of life for those we serve. We have been serving the needs...

Brookdale Punta Gorda Isles

250 Bal Harbor Boulevard, Punta Gorda, FL 33950

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(30 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Putting More Life Into Senior LivingIf you think moving to a senior living community is like joining a nursing home, think again. Our residents enjoy happy hours, sundae socials, weekly card games, fitness groups each morning, and movie nights. They explore creative pursuits, and discover old and...

Beach House

1000 Airport Pulling Road S, Naples, FL 34104

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(34 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The upscale community will provide the comfort, beauty and well-being of a private residence with personalized services to support the activities of daily living. It is a lifestyle that will enable residents to remain as independent as possible and enjoy life to the fullest. Residents will enjoy...

Grand Villa of Pinellas Park

8980 49th Street, Pinellas Park, FL 33782

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(100 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Grand Villa of Pinellas Park Assisted Living and Alzheimer's Residence in Pinellas Park, Florida. We're glad you're here! We are excited to show you all the wonderful features and amenities of our senior living community. As you explore our web site, we think you'll discover how Grand...

The Windsor of Lakewood Ranch

8220 Nature's Way, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34202

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(38 reviews)

1bd

The Windsor is a licensed assisted living residence dedicated to providing quality services in a warm, comfortable environment. We offer professional, personalized services designed to enhance the quality of life for those we serve. At The Windsor, we are dedicated to each resident's...

Barrington Terrace of Ft. Myers

9731 Commerce Center Court, Fort Myers, FL 33908

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(71 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Barrington Terrace offers senior living to residents of Fort Meyers, Florida. We pride ourselves in our high quality assisted living and memory care services. Unlike hospital facilities, we offer a warm environment that feels just like home. Our location is situated near the Lee Memorial Health...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.