Coventry Place is a senior living community in the scenic city of Decatur, GA. Our inviting community is conveniently located across the road from the DeKalb Medical Center. near shops, services and public transit. As a suburb of Atlanta, Decatur offers easy access to world-class hospitals, upscale restaurants and diverse entertainment, making Decatur an ideal place to enjoy an active, worry-free lifestyle.
Coventry Place is committed to creating a safe, comfortable community where all seniors are respected and valued. Our professional, compassionate staff team are always available to keep our residents secure and supported, no matter what time of day or night. We take pride in providing seniors with a welcoming, inclusive community where everyone can enjoy the peace-of-mind that comes with knowing help is always close at hand.
We offer a variety of services and amenities designed to promote health and well-being, including:
We are proud to provide seniors with...
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
No data collected
Meals & dining
Value for cost
We chose Coventry Place because of what he was able to get for the money that it would cost as well as location. The apartment sizes here are nice and roomy. Overall, it has been a good experience so far and I would recommend.
Before COVID this community have bingo, arts and crafts, board games and church services, however due to COVID they have shut down all activities. The food at this community is pretty good, i would say about a four out of five stars. The rooms are very good size and very spacious, that was actually the one thing that really stood out to me most.
The age of the building on the outside shows, the community and inside is exceptional. The common areas are very clean; however, the halls smelled in the independent living area. The hardest part was that my loved one moved in right before COVID. This has been hard due to the lock down and not being able to meet anyone. There usually are lots of activities available when the virus isn't going on. There are sign up sheets for different activities such as shopping, exercising, and going to the movies, etc. The main point for us joining this community was the activities available and the transportation for the residents in the community. The one downside of the building was the WIFI in no longer available for communications with my loved one. We have only been able to speak to him three times since the virus started. The long time director left during COVID and she is no longer there. I haven't been able to speak or troubleshoot anything since the director left.
Staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is a good location, close to restaurants and shopping. Room sizes are good. Food is okay. They have a good variety of options. Outdoor space is limited. Residents are open and friendly. The staff has a very personal relationship with the residents, they know the residents by name.
I toured with my mother and we fell in love with the community. The property is beautiful, the apartments are huge. The staff is so friendly, and the rate is affordable!
Very disappointed in this community. My fathers room had roaches and the staff didn’t care. They say the community was remodeled but it was only the entrance. The residents are not independent like we were told. We moved our father to another community that most definitely followed up on what they said.
Very nice staff. The apartment was somewhat small. It is in a great location.
Professional staff/ clean daft environment.
Me and my mother visited the community. As we were touring roaches were crawling on the wall. I was so disgusted we had to leave. NO ONE DESERVES TO LIVE LIKE THIS!!!
Coventry Place is an answered prayer for my Aunt who is 92yo and very independent! They provide independent living on the first 3 floors and the 4th & 5th floors are reserved for assisted living. So I have the security of knowing my Aunt can age in place. They provide services a la carte like laundry, housekeeping, etc. so that my aunt can also stay in her budget. She is very active and thanks to Coventry Place services like free transportation, she attends LA Fitness twice a week, shops at Kroger, Wal-mart, Dollar Tree and attends church weekly. They have a full service dining hall and we were treated to a lovely meal during her birthday month. Much of the staff are related and it is a family owned business so you do feel like family. It is one of the more affordable living situations in the area. The building itself is older but well maintained and the staff are very responsive. Again for the price point, I wasn’t expecting modern updates or appointments.
What a blessing. We visited Coventry Place Wed 6/21. Looking for a place for my dad. Great location. Right across the street from a major hospital. Nice grounds. I was very impressed by the appearance and cleanliness. This facility is well maintained. The staff was very professional and at the same time nice, warm and genuinely sincere people. We felt so relaxed and at ease and knew Coventry Place would be a great fit for our father. We were also pleasantly surprise with the demeanor of the residents. Each resident that we met inside and outside side were HAPPY. Totally unexpected. Didn't expect the residents to be neighborly, enjoying their home. We toured two other facilities the same day. Neither one came close to the warmth and amenities of Coventry. I have zero reservation about trusting Coventry's staff with the care of my father.
My mother [name removed] lived here for 5 years until she passed, it was a great experience for her and my family. The staff including management are PHENOMENAL. The food was delicious, and the community was always well-kept.
Response from Coventry PlaceJuly 17, 2019
Thank you, Yvonne, for your time and support. Your mom will be missed! Please stay in touch with us!
This is my first choice for my dad. I have visited so many places and none compare to the quality and value. Everyone was fun and professional. I especially enjoyed meeting [name removed], the Director of Personal Care. She is disarming! I was “wowed”! The apartments are really big compared to the other places I visited. I also loved the paint color! It is warm and inviting.
I toured yesterday with [name removed] who was very personable and professional. She invited my family to lunch, and we were very impressed. Everyone we met on the way to lunch or in the dining room was so friendly and kind. The apartments are huge, and the community’s interior renovations are beautiful. Dad leased an apartment and is thrilled with the property. Even the Executive Director’s dog was sweet!
We really enjoyed meeting the staff and touring the family-oriented community! Mom has been so depressed at her current community, and she is so excited about moving-in! Thank you so much for making her feel special and welcome!
My mother [name removed] lived at this community for 7 years until she passed away this year. She absolutely loved it. My family and I were able to sleep at night because we knew she would be taken care of during her stay at Coventry
We moved my mother here and so far it has been very disappointing. We knew it was not one of the nicest places in town but you are supposed to get what is offered in the lease. They have not been able to meet many basic requests. They have not been able to provide an internet service option. Most residents have at&t but Coventry has exhausted their bandwidth and can't add any more users, they keep saying they are working on a solution and have let my mom use their wifi which has horrible reception in the old building. They ask that they maintenance staff hang pictures well we are still waiting and my mom moved in in late Feb! The food is INEDIBLE and is a common complaint for residents. They allow smoking in the building OMG! It is a family owned place so if you complain about anything they get real offended and defensive. They are supposed to have housekeeping and I have complained and it is still horrible. Last week I went in to discover flying ants. They provide cable but you get no DVR or tv guide channel, It is like living in the 80s. It is a horrible place and I recommend you look elsewhere. That is what we are doing because my mother is so depressed here it is a real disappointment. Oh the best part.... 80% of residents are in wheelchairs, walkers or use canes and NONE of the doors are automatic. A person can't get in and out by themselves easily if there is not an able bodied person to assist and the front office has business hours and only emergency contact after 5 or 6 on weekdays and 3pm on weekends. Some of the staff has been very nice but over the place is a real dump.
Response from Coventry PlaceJuly 17, 2019
The staff thanks you for your time and feedback. We are sincerely disappointed that your family is not satisfied with the community. We invite you to meet with the Director of Operations so we may address any outstanding concerns you have including obtaining a new laminated channel guide. Yes, the building is 32 years old and is in the process of being renovated. A part of this is addressing the need to upgrade technology including a new generator, HVAC equipment, and addressing the need to upgrade the internet access. After negotiating with several vendors, a new contract was signed with X-Finity to retrofit the building with wi-fi for all residents. This is in the process of being implemented and will be an added service at no cost to any residents. The property has also hired a new Director of Food and Beverage. The feedback on her menu’s has been favorable. Your mom is also welcome to join the Food and Beverage Committee and learn more about the changes in the Dining Room, menu planning and alternate options. The building was also designated as a smoke free building in April. A notification was shared with the residents and remains posted. We understand that our community is not a perfect fit for all families. This is why there is a clause in the lease that allows a resident to terminate the lease with a 30-day written notice. Thank you again for your time, feedback and the opportunity to address these concerns.
We couldn’t be happier with Coventry Place. Our Dad just moved in and he loves it already. The staff is courteous and attentive. What a relief to know he’ll be safe and well taken care of. We visited many different places, none could equal Coventry Place for quality and value. Hopefully, our Dad will have many happy years there and will develop lasting relationships.
Response from Coventry PlaceMarch 14, 2019
Thank you so much for your time and review! We are thrilled to have your father as part of the Coventry family!
My mom lived in a two bed room at Coventry Place. I visited and the room was infested with roaches. Yes, they redid the entrance but past the front it smells and is very old. Activities are limited. My mom lost a lot of weight due to the food not tasting well. I would not recommend this community to anyone.
Response from Coventry PlaceMarch 14, 2019
Thank you for your time and feedback. We are confused and concerned by your review. There are only four two-bedroom apartments in the community and these have been occupied for several years. The community completed phase one of a renovation in 2018. We invite you to visit us again and have lunch with us. Our new Director of Food and Beverage has received many compliments for her amazing menu! Please feel free to contact us at [removed] or [removed] if would like to discuss this further.
Toured this community last week and was not impressed with the staff. Yes, they did (cosmetic) upgrades. I suggest maybe having a more personable staff. The community is on a very busy road and small rooms. I suggest looking at another community.
Response from Coventry PlaceNovember 8, 2018
Thank you for your time. We are very disappointed that you did not have a favorable visit. We value our community and see all of our residents and staff as a family. You are invited to contact me to discuss your concerns personally at [removed] or [removed].
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.