A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Chester Street Residence

1725 Chester Road, Royal Oak, MI 48073

For pricing & availability

Best Meals and Dining

17 Photos
17 Photos available
Chester Street Residence in google map
street view of Chester Street Residence
Sheila - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Glad I was recommended

My mom is receiving excellent care and is making progress with gaining her ability to walk. Her heel sore is getting much better and both the nurse and pt are managing my mom's progress. She is getting care she could not have found in any rehab center and our family is grateful... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Chester Street Residence

Chester Street Residence is located in the thriving city of Royal Oak, Michigan. Chester Street Residence is located in a historic neighborhood — nestled among lovely parks, natural lakes, and vast farms. The convenient access to Detroit leads to dynamic recreational opportunities, such as high-end shopping, dining, museums, and more. The lovely city of Royal Oak itself offers excellent things to do, like fishing at Lake St. Clair, grabbing drinks at nearby breweries and vineyards, or shopping for fresh produce at the local farmers market.

The goal of this community is to help residents stay healthy and live independently for as long as possible. They offer personal care services and individualized care plans suited to each resident's needs. The professional and caring staff is available round-the-clock to help ensure optimal care and coordination. They also offer home-cooked meals, prepared with dietary needs and preferences in mind. There's a large dining room where residents can gather together, and room service is available for those who would like to eat in their rooms. Other services include medication management and assistance with activities of daily living.

Chester Street Residence currently offers private and semi-private units which residents can personalize as they see fit. Wi-Fi access...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Pricing for Chester Street Residence

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Chester Street Residence

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Professional Chef
Room Service
Kosher

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Ground Floor Units
Handicap Accessible
Cable or Satellite TV

Facility Amenities

Dining

Café or Bistro

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit
Uncovered Parking

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Barber Shop
Beauty Salon

Recreational areas

Movie or Theater Room
Piano or Organ

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Memory care

Secured Community
Enclosed Courtyard

Languages spoken

English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Live Musical Performances
Live Dance or Theater Performances

Reviews

for Chester Street Residence
4.5(51 reviews)
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.8

Friendliness

4.8

Meals & Dining

4.4

Care Services

4.7

Activities

4.6

Staff

4.7

Value for Cost

4.6

Overall Experience
40
5
3
1
2
Date Submitted
5
7
16
Reviewer
0
41
8
1
Care Received
11
40
1-20 of 51 reviews
Sort by

5.0
Sheila - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
October 16, 2022
Glad I was recommended

My mom is receiving excellent care and is making progress with gaining her ability to walk. Her heel sore is getting much better and both the nurse and pt are managing my mom's progress. She is getting care she could not have found in any rehab center and our family is grateful

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

3

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Philip M - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
October 6, 2022
Very caring.

The place is clean the food as wonderful the staff is friendly and took very good care of my mom it was a wonderful experience

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Sharon Q - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
October 6, 2022
I had a wonderful experience

I can give this 5 stars, people were kind, a very clean site, friendly people

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Joni M - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 6, 2022
Review

Great place

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Patricia M - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
October 6, 2022
A Friends Mom

Each time I have gone to visit a friend, the staff has been wonderful, the facility is super clean, and the food is excellent.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Amy A - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
July 18, 2022
Verified Review

My loved one was only at Chester Street Residence for a week before she passed, but we had a very good experience. The people there were very kind and very accommodating.


1.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
February 4, 2022
Verified Review
tour review

Our family had an in person tour and Chester Street seemed like a really nice community, but if you want to throw your money away, come here. The gentlemen we had the tour with seemed very dishonest and shady.

Response from Chester Street Residence

February 8, 2022

I appreciate that the reviewer thought Chester Street appeared to be a nice community. However, I regret that he found me to appear dishonest or untrustworthy. I have been doing this, as the owner, for ten years and am proud of the reputations we have earned. We do things differently than most communities. Everything is included in a fixed price: private room with full bathroom, all meals and full care through the end of life. We guarantee no extra charges and no increase in cost. Possible the reviewer didn't feel that I was sincere and honest about our policy. We have maintained this policy since our first day in business. We have had residents stay as long as 8 years and have provided everything that we promise. Our many reviews and resident family comments represent our commitment to our policies and care. We want everyone who comes through out Community to have a positive experience. If interested, I would be happy to talk more and help them feel better about Chester Street, our policies, our commitments and our entire team.


5.0
Ann H - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
September 23, 2021
Verified Review
It lives up to what people believe a living situation should be for your loved ones that require help with their needs.

Chester Street Residences would be 10 stars, because the care givers there are truly amazing. The cleanliness, their friendliness and willingness to tend to all the residents needs is just incredible, we are over the top pleased. Our loved one is so happy there which is the most important thing. They are absolutely capable of providing any and all different types of care for the residents no matter their level of care.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


3.0
ND - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
September 22, 2021
Verified Review
Beautiful facility, but beware.

Most of the care my loved one received was through hospice. So we didn't have much of an opportunity to interact with the residents. But the ones we did meet were very sweet. The facility was very clean. They were very good about that. But the food was horrible. And they just dropped the tray on the bedside table and walked away even though she couldn't even reach it or feed herself. I would suggest to anyone thinking about Chester Street, or any senior living facility, to read the fine print. There was a paragraph in the contract that said you must give 30 days notice to vacate. So when someone dies, you still have to give the 30 days notice and will be charged for the additional month, even if they're no longer living there. My loved one died alone because no one called me. It was a terrible situation. The director met me in her room the next morning to let me know how much I owed them. It's a bitter pill that I'm still trying to swallow. They also bad-mouthed the hospice care we brought in and pressured us to use the company that Chester Street recommended. So we had to deal with that transition as well during an already difficult time.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

0.5

Care Services

3

Activities

No data collected

Staff

3

Value for Cost

0.5

Response from Chester Street Residence

September 23, 2021

We are very sorry that the family didn’t feel better about their experience. We work hard to provide good loving care to all our residents. Hospice provides an aid twice per week and a nurse once per week. We provide care all day every day and try to make our residents comfortable and happy regardless of condition. We have had the same chef since we opened almost 10 years ago and most of our residents really enjoy the food and the dining experience. As the owner, I wish we could have had more interaction with the family to help solve any issues. It is very hard to know when the end of life will arrive. Our families are able to be in our community and visit their loved ones 24 hours a day every day. Our mission is to do EVERYTHING POSSIBLE, ALL DAY, EVERY DAY to help our residents and their family have the best experience possible.


3.0
A H - Toured community
Memory Care
September 9, 2021
Verified Review
My tour review

When touring this facility we felt that this was very overpriced for what we expected. The memory care unit was not what we expected and the residents were roaming around on their own. I did not see the one on one care that I needed for my loved one.

Response from Chester Street Residence

September 10, 2021

It is sometimes difficult to convey how much love and caring is involved in taking care of our residents and helping them feel at home in our Community. Residents moving around the community, in a safe environment, and feeling comfortable throughout the day is very important. As indicated in our mission, we try to do EVERYTHING POSSIBLE, ALL DAY, EVERY DAY to make the lives of our Residents and nice as possible. A short tour is not always the easiest way to convey this to potential family members. If there is anything further we can do to help you understand our care and community environment, we are always available to discuss those issues. Thank you for coming by our Community.


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
August 31, 2021
Verified Review
My tour review

This facility was nice but it seemed small and there was not a lot offered. Could only look at the model room when I toured and I wanted to see more like the dining and activity rooms

Response from Chester Street Residence

September 1, 2021

We appreciate your feedback about your tour. I am not sure when your tour occurred. We have gone from limited to tours to doing full Community tours as we have navigated the pandemic. Currently, fully vaccinated people can tour our entire Community including the model, specific rooms, the dining room, the upstairs lounge, the cafe, the beauty salon, physical therapy room and outdoor patio. Again, we appreciate your comments and please know we are doing full Community tours for fully vaccinated people.


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
August 9, 2021
Verified Review
My review of Chester Street Residence

Our family has an in person tour and the community seemed really nice, but unfortunately our care insurance would not be accepted at the community because they were not licensed.

Response from Chester Street Residence

August 16, 2021

Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are a License Exempt community from the State of Michigan. We have had all forms of Life Insurance excepted based on our status with the State.


4.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
August 4, 2021
Verified Review
I would recommend it

Our loved one was only there for a short time but we had a nice experience. We really liked [name removed] the owner. He bent over backwards for anything our family needed. He was very hands on, hard working and very helpful. He always made sure we were happy and comfortable.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

3

Care Services

4

Activities

No data collected

Staff

4

Value for Cost

4

Response from Chester Street Residence

August 16, 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand this is not always easy for the family members so we work hard to make the transition and stay at our Community as easy and nice as possible.


5.0
Mark M - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
June 17, 2021
Verified Review
Very happy with CSR

Chester Street community is always very clean, the friendliness of the staff team and their care services are excellent. They have done their best with the activities given the circumstances. When it comes to the value for cost it is very good and one of the best that we have seen.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Response from Chester Street Residence

August 16, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated!


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
May 17, 2021
Verified Review
Highly recommend

We chose Chester Street Residence because it seemed more like a family operation which I liked and got a much better vibe. It is a smaller facility and seemed to be a lot more care when I was talking to them. The grounds were very nice and well kept and the location was great. She did not participate in the activities but I got emails with the activities calendar and I know they were available and they communicated them well. They communicated well about everything and they put me at ease. I would absolutely recommend to others looking.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5

Response from Chester Street Residence

August 16, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback! Everyone who works here takes great pride in making it a family type atmosphere where everyone is on a first name basis. We greatly appreciate your feedback!


5.0
Julie Lichtenberg Stern - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
May 6, 2021
Wonderful place for my mom

Just a note to say how much my family loves Chester Street. The care that her loving caregivers give my mom is beyond anything we could have hoped for at this stage of her life. [name removed] and his son, [name removed], are simply tremendous and admired and appreciated by the staff. Chester St. Residence is truly a hidden gem for caring for older people with compassion.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5

Response from Chester Street Residence

August 16, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback! It is our joy and privilege to take care of our Residents and make this chapter of their lives enjoyable!


5.0
Melba Tom - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 29, 2020
Our friend Is Happy Here

Our dear friend moved into Chester Street when she could no longer live at home. As an older couple, we were not able to visit as often as we liked. When we did visit, it was a very comfortable and nice place. The staff knew us by name and made us feel welcome when visiting. The best part was our friend was happy in her new home. You could tell she was able to make new friends with the other residents and the aides who took care of her. We always enjoyed our visits with her and felt good she was well care for there.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Jim - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
June 5, 2020
Verified Review
Excellent place for your loved one

It is a top notch place. They have great ownership. People that work there are great. The community is clean and well managed. Excellent place over all. The staff is excellent. They have a nice patio area. The food is good. No complaints.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Nancy Low - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
May 12, 2020

I highly highly recommend this facility. My Dad has bad dementia and moved in when he could no longer care for himself in his senior apartment. All the staff from the maintenance worker, aides, nurses, cook, director and owners bend over backwards to make your loved one feel well cared for, mentally stimulated and happy. The Director [name removed] is the most kindest, knowledgeable and helpful Director/person I have ever met. The residence is a small 50 room place that was renovated before opening 8 years ago. Because it is small all the workers including the owners get to know all the residents. Most of the staff have been there from the beginning so the care is very consistent. Sadly on [date removed] my Dad passed away of non Covid illness. Chesterfield was very quick to stop unessential visitation the minute MI had their first Covid case so I had not seen my Dad in person for his last 3 weeks of life but I know that if I couldn’t be there he was in the best place he could be.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.5
Roxy Rockwell - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
January 1, 2020
Joining the CSR family.

We recently needed to find alternative living for our mother whose dementia had impacted her independence. Chester Street Residence (CSR) is a wonderful facility. It is clean, does not have the typical assisted facility smell, feels open and is not overly ornate, but comfortable. Our mother's apartment is a perfect size for her and doesn't feel confining. Before writing this review, I read the 3 negative reviews and provided, and while one was a circumstantial situation, the other two presented situations we have not seen. Our experience has been as good as this sort of situation can be. The move in was easy. Whenever we have had a question or concern, we get good follow-up. We've had a few very minor glitches along the way and it's not a perfect world, but for anyone in this situation, I would strongly recommend Chester Street Residence. They offer a new family to help your family deal with the unexpected changes life throws at you. The staff is exceptional. Even when we randomly turned up for tours, they were open, informative and very friendly. Since our mom has lived there, they've continued to be kind, efficient, friendly and adaptable to our mom's needs and quirks. They will relate stories when we come in and she speaks very fondly of them. Turnover is minimal which indicates that CSR is taking care of their staff so their staff can take care of the residents. Our mother did not want this move from her home and expressed that to us. Recently, her comment was that, if she had to live someplace other than her home, this was about as nice as it could be. It is a gift for us to know she is loved and cared for and safe. We feel fortunate to be part of the Chester Street Residence family.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


Viewing 1-20 out of 51 reviews

Neighborhood around Chester Street Residence

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Chester Street Residence

Chester Street Residence offers Studio. Learn more.

Chester Street Residence has received an average review rating of 4.5 based on 51 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (248) 439-6800 to reach a resident at Chester Street Residence.

To reach a resident at Chester Street Residence call: (248) 439-6800



Similar communities nearby

1 / 4
Find Senior Living
There are 102 facilities near Royal Oak, MI

Sunrise of Bloomfield Hills

6790 Telegraph Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(33 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Sunrise Assisted Living of Bloomfield HillsSunrise Assisted Living of Bloomfield Hills is located in beautiful Bloomfield Hills, Oakland County, Michigan. Beautiful inside and out, much like our residents, we take pride in our community. There is an area where you or your loved one can spend time...

The Sheridan at Birmingham

2400 E Lincoln, Birmingham, MI 48009

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.4

(18 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Royal Oak House Assisted Living & Memory Care

1900 N Washington Ave, Royal Oak, MI 48073

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(20 reviews)

Studio

Royal Oak House is a comfortable, family-like atmosphere in a quiet residential neighborhood with easy freeway access nearby, ideally situated near family, friends, shopping, and familiar medical professionals in Royal Oak, Madison Heights, Berkley, Huntington Woods, Clawson, and Troy. We are...

Anthology of Troy

3400 Livernois, Troy, MI 48083

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(13 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Maximize your independence and well-being by minimizing the hassles and headaches! Just a stone's throw from world-class shopping, dining and entertainment and across the street from the Troy Community Center, Stonecrest of Troy is inspired by the vibrant lifestyle of the City. Stonecrest of...

Belmar Oakland

5990 N Adams Rd, Troy, MI 48098

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

There comes a time in one’s life when assistance is as welcome as it is a necessity. At Windemere Park of Oakland, the one you love is our VIP. It is our profession and our pleasure to provide dignity, comfort and compassion with customized care 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Windemere is a...

Sun Valley Senior Living

2316 John R Rd, Troy, MI 48084

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(1 review)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Sun Valley Assisted Living is a State licensed, Adult Foster Care Facility we specialize in Alzheimer's and Dementia care. We pride ourselves in creating an environment where residents feel cared for and families find peace of mind and satisfaction. We are a state licensed, private pay facility....

Pomeroy Living Sterling Assisted Living & Memory Care

2200 Fifteen Mile Rd, Sterling Heights, MI 48310

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(3 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Total Loving Care

5500 Crooks Road Suite 128, Troy, MI 48098

$X,XXX+ monthly

Studio, Semi-Private

Total Loving Care, has been providing care to the sick, elderly, and disabled for over 18 years. Our goal has been Nursing Home Prevention and allowing individuals and couples to live their lives to the fullest. TLC Troy location sits on a beautiful 7 Acre private setting. Each Resident has a...

Cedarbrook

41150 Woodward Ave, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304

$X,XXX+ monthly

2.9

(12 reviews)

Studio

Franklin Terrace

26962 Franklin Road, Southfield, MI 48033

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.4

(9 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.