Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Devotional Services Offsite
Devotional Services Onsite
Indoor Common Areas
Outdoor Common Areas
Meals & dining
Value for cost
I love the community. The community has a very friendly atmosphere. The room is comfy and nice size for my loved one. I've had a great experience with the staff. The food is horrible according to my loved one. The food was bland the one time I ate there. I would recommend the community to others for their loved ones.
The big reason we didn’t go to Brookdale Melbourne is because it’s affiliated with Wave Crest in Melbourne. And Wave Crest was HORRIBLE. They’re trying to overcharge me, denying that there were two other women staying in the same room as my loved one. Rarely did they come in to check on her. The staff was nasty, yelling and screaming at me. It was a very dated facility, although clean. A few people were very sweet, but overall it was just horrible. There was no phone in her room, so I couldn't communicate with her. When I called them, they would put me on hold for 30 minutes, and I still I couldn’t get ahold of her. They didn’t give me updates on her health and how she was doing. I would not recommend you put a dog that bit you into Wave Crest. The food was so bad that she lost over 20 pounds. Based on our tour at Brookdale Melbourne, it looked fairly clean, and the people there were very friendly. They offered private rooms, and the rooms were very clean and nice. It's a pet friendly community. So even though there were no big red flags based on our tour, their affiliation with Wave Crest was a huge cause for concern.
Response from Brookdale MelbourneMay 6, 2021
Brookdale Senior Living does not own or operate Wave Crest Health and Rehabilitation Center. However, we appreciate you taking the time to visit Brookdale Melbourne and would welcome an opportunity to further discuss all that Brookdale Melbourne has to offer.
I would tell others to look at the community and talk to them seriously. It was a positive situation. I like the room for my loved one and all of that was very positive. The staff was stretched a little thin due to the pandemic. They took care of me when I need to come into the community.
As a VA Fiduciary for my Father and healthcare surrogate for both my parents and my wife's parents I take all their needs to include medial care availability & comfort seriously. I make quarterly visits to other locations near by in comparing cost, cleanliness, activities and amenities along with staff availability, friendliness, interactions with the guests and to those that reside there in looking for the best quality care that can be provide for them in regards to their current needs in both medical and comfort. I've got to say that I'm Very Happy and Comfortable in having their Home at Brookdale Melbourne. I'm very Grateful to the entire Staff at Brookdale Melbourne as I found each and everyone of them approachable and caring in our interactions and with our parents. I'm very impressed in how well & close the Management Team and Staff work together in making this truly feel like a Home. We love each and every one of them for it. I highly recommend Brookdale Melbourne ~
We chose Brookdale Melbourne because the closeness to family members and it was where he was from originally from. They also had availability in short notice. The room sizes are pretty good for one person. I have not eaten here but the food looked good and my father in law really like it. The best part about the community was the staff members and residents were really nice people.
I placed my Dad here & he ended up leaving after 3 weeks. The room was big enough for he needed. Most of the staff was nice but not aware of everything going on. I lived in another state at the time & got a call at 730pm from them that he was not there. How do you miss alot of stuff being moved out including a recliner & boxes. The lady that hands out the meds is not very good & when she finally got to my Dad he was in bed sleeping. woke him up to give meds. He fell & when asked for help she said that she can't help, that they are only there to assist. I finally [language removed] & said than come [language removed] assist me. They assign the seats at meals. Only a few of the residents are outgoing enough to say hi. If you can't get the meds to them each month than you have to use their services; which is expensive. Had to fight with them about for months over billing issues & finally ended up with a refund, which was a surprise. Unless you are in the area to keep checking on loved ones don't put them here.
I have a loved one who lives at this assisted living. I know that this was the right choice because the associates who take care of them are compassionate and really pay attention to preferences. There was a family and a resident that told us how happy they were the first time we came here that helped us make our decision. The room is a good size and has a nice view, the outside is beautiful and there is opportunity for exercise in the shade. The program activities person has a lot of entertainment and they go out on special trips many times each month. My loved one doesn't need much care but I see some people here who do and they appear well groomed and happy. It smells pleasant and I haven't tried the food but it looks good and you can make requests if you don't like the menu items.
They were not prepared for my visit and did not have any important information for me other than basic room tour info. This establishment felt more nursing home than an assisted living community.
It is a possibility. I'm looking for dementia care, but I don't see true interactive, brain stimulating activities. Would be alright for simple asst living. They do take Medicaid.
I was not impressed with my tour of this community. When speaking with the tour guide, they informed me that there they were going to start my father out in assisted living at first. Then move him to another part of the community if needed. I didn't want to move him anymore after placing him. This was not the community for us overall.
It was a very, very nice community to see as an option. The representative gave a thorough view and answered the questions I had. They even gave me a follow up call. I did not see anything wrong with the facility, staff, or atmosphere.
I was a little disappointed in how well this community was maintained. It was almost like the staff and property managers where just letting the place go down the hill. The carpet was in horrible shape and the paint on the walls was chipping away. It seemed a lot of maintenance worked needed to be completed as well that was being ignored. It was just not a place I would want my mother to live.
Bedroom I saw was a good size. of the 3 places I visited, it was the least clean, but not to an alarming degree. The staff was very polite and friendly.
My sister is doing well here at this community. Everything has worked well with her move to this community. They have helped her settle into the community very well. I know she safe and being cared for well. They have been great to work with, and I'am pleased with all they have done for us.
It seems to be going pretty good for my mom. Not much is wrong from my brother's view. My mom has complained about the organization for her bathing. Once she buzzed for help and it took a long time for a staff to help her. My brother believes that it is a wonderful place. I think the staff are trying the best to help get my mom comfortable. Overall, it seems like a decent community and we like it.
The place smelled really bad, very strong nursing home smell. Staff was friendly. Avtivities room was under construction, Computer was not working, was told there was a new one just not set up. Didn't look like things were maintained really well.
Would like to see arts and crafts and more music and live entertainment. social hours should include wine and beer sometimes. The residents are too sedentary. Need more activities to keep them interstellar, interactive, and awake.
We liked the location and the feel of the place. It didn't smell, and the memory care unit was small, which I liked. Mom might not be ready for that yet, but it will be there when she does. We liked the staff we met and the office manager. Everyone was very down to earth. And we can afford it, with some work, so it ticks most of the boxes. Have a feeling mom will not like the setting (not a house). We'll keep looking, but best so far.
Overall I think they do a good job at Brookdale Melbourne. They've worked well with my loved one, and she is settling in well. The facility itself is well kept and clean. My only issue is that communication with them can be pretty poor, their answering service could use some work.
Loved one new to facility but has been good experience and good choice so far. Friendly staff and clean facility
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.