A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

The Homestead

82-45 Grenfell Street, Kew Gardens, NY 11415

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

The Homestead in google map
street view of The Homestead
Jill - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Very satisfied!

I am very comfortable with my dad living at the New Homestead. I feel that he is safe and very well cared for. The staff is nurturing and caring\r\nThere are a lot of wonderful activities available for my Dad.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community The Homestead

Nestled in a serene, tree-lined neighborhood of Queens, New York is The New Homestead. We’re a family owned and operated assisted living community serving seniors in the area for more than thirty years. We understand how difficult it can be transitioning into assisted living, and our dedicated staff, services, and amenities were developed to help ensure every community resident feels welcome and secure.

Take your retirement to the next level of living, with our helping hand there to facilitate your ultimate independence. From on-site medical services to recreational activities, our convenient location is the ideal place to retire. We’ve maintained a solid reputation of excellence and success in meeting the needs of all residents and we do so enthusiastically, knowing we’re making a difference.

We’re suitably located in the heart of Kew Gardens, where tourists and New Yorkers alike always find something to do. There are an array of businesses, restaurants, and natural recreation opportunities surrounding us — famed sites like Central Park, The Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, and much more! While there are endless things to do locally, we maintain a quiet and inviting, retreat-like community safe from the region’s high-energy bustle.

The New Homestead is simply the...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Pricing for The Homestead

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at The Homestead

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Kosher

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Property Convenient to Public Transit

Common areas

Indoor Common Areas

Activities

Devotional Activities Offsite
Activities On-site

Reviews for The Homestead

4.1

(45 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.1

Care services

4.1

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

2.0

Activities

4.0

Value for cost

4.1

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 45 reviewsBack to top
0.5
February 11, 2016
William Garvey - Loved one of resident/client
NOT A PLACE IF PARENT HAS DEMENTIA

Williams first roomate urinated on the carpet and at times William. I filed a complaint with the city in 2012, after numerous compaints to management. I asked for William to be walked and have physical therapy to make him stronger nothing was provided till 2015 then it was to late. Many-times I or a family member visited William looked disheveled. I sent numerous emails to have his hair and nails cut. Residents bathroom by cafeteria was covered with feces. I have a picture dated 6/22/15 of a male resident with a long bib and a gag in his mouth. William was hopitlized three times in 2015 for falling out of bed, knocking into something. Last time he never returned to the Homestead. He had bedsores and a UTI. He passed four months latter. Why you ask I did not remove William from the Homestead it also had positives one the best activity director. The location the facility itself was a nice old hotel. It needs an update with carpet and furniture, the cafetria needs to be remodeled very depressing. The rooms sparse but adequate, the aids seemed helpful and friendly when I was there. The monthly cost was in Williams budget this is a major factor. I went to numorous faciltys the cost, the facility, location was very disappointing. The Homestead was not the best but not the worst if your parent is with it mentally. If not keep them home and get aids. I did this his last three months, or hire your own aids for the facility if money allows.


4.0
January 18, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Dad loves it here

The Homestead is a great assisted living for seniors. Love it there and dad has made lots of friends with other residents and everyone there really. He didn't even want us to go visit him, because he had plans with his friends there. if he is happy, we are happy.


4.0
October 31, 2015
Jill - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The New Homestead... Not fancy but great staff.

I am very impressed with the staff. They are caring and nurturing. I feel that my dad is very safe. The trips that they offer are really good. They go to baseball games and dinner theater.


5.0
October 17, 2015
Jill - Loved one of resident/client
Very satisfied!

I am very comfortable with my dad living at the New Homestead. I feel that he is safe and very well cared for. The staff is nurturing and caring\r\nThere are a lot of wonderful activities available for my Dad.


4.5
October 6, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It's been wonderful so far.

It's been wonderful so far. We have no complaints at all. The meals are a little on the small side, but that's okay, they are good. We are very happy with them. I would give them a four and a half out of five.


2.0
July 24, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Not A Good Fit

The problem my mother is having is she is with a roommate that snores and half the rooms are on the train tracks so even if they move her it would be noisy. Basically she hasn't slept since she's been there and she doesn't like the food. It is just not a great fit for my mother.


5.0
July 7, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Pretty much perfect!

I would really say that honestly The Homestead is perfect; it's not the fanciest facility, but the level of care they provide and how much they are willing to work with you really makes up for it. The people working there are great, they make you feel comfortable, and the facility's location is super convenient.


5.0
May 27, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Entirely satisfied

Things have gone very well at The Homestead. We've only been here a few weeks at this point, but so far I would give them high marks across the board. We are entirely satisfied, and would recommend it to others looking into senior living in the area.


5.0
March 10, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The Homestead, Kew Gardens

Our 100 year old loved one has been at the Homestead for three weeks. She seems very pleased. Everyone is very kind to her and she likes the food. She had been living alone and needed to be where she had some assistance while at the same time being somewhat independent. The Homestead has answered that need, and our family is very pleased.


4.0
January 29, 2015
Natasha OConnnor - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

I had to find a place for my mother quite quickly as she had a fall and could no longer live on her own. I also live overseas and had limited time to organise everything. The Homestead was the best- I had toured quite a few places. They have the one on one interaction for both my mother and myself. There are only a few people to speak to and they communicate via email phone when necessary. My mother is well cared for, has made good friends and I am very pleased to have picked this home for her. It's a home away from home. Most of all being so far away I know she is safe and looked after. It's a great community of nice people and very friendly. The staff couldn't do enough for her and me to feel welcome and get her settled. My friends who have gone to visit her are very impressed with the staff, her accomodation and everyone's friendliness. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a nice comfortable community home.


4.0
December 29, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

Things are going well so far at The Homestead. It's a nice looking, well kept, clean community, and the staff have all been very friendly and professional. They were very accommodating throughout the whole process, and were able to help get us set up quickly in our time of need.


3.0
December 5, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
They have communication issues

We've had some issues with The Homestead. The biggest one is how hard it is to communicate with them regarding issues involving your loved one. If you call them to discuss an issue they'll put you through to the relevant person's voicemail, and you'll never hear back from them. It's almost impossible to get a hold of someone directly. They make changes to my loved one's care that I don't like, and I'm always the last to hear about it.


4.0
October 13, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

The personnel are aware of what goes on and knows each individual that resides there. I feel Drs need to be attentive in their visits with residents regarding medication existing And adding. Menu and activity schedule need to be in large print, as does date and time.


2.5
October 2, 2014
Loved one
Seemed run down

My loved one stayed here briefly and I was not impressed by the facility or by the care provided. The place just seemed kind of run down to me, and the staff were not as present as I think they should have been. It isn't somewhere I would recommend.


5.0
September 29, 2014
Loved one - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Friendly and accommodating staff

They're doing a great job at The Homestead. Any time I run into any kind of a problem they're right on top of things and will be right there if anything needs to be fixed. When my loved one was having problems with leg circulation they made sure she had a high quality recliner in her room. They've been very accommodating to any requests or questions that I've had!


5.0
September 17, 2014
Loved one - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice looking place, working well so far

They're doing a great job at The Homestead so far, we'd give them high marks across the board. It's a nice looking place, it is clean, and the staff are all very friendly.


5.0
August 21, 2014
A Loving Niece - Toured community
Verified Review
Make Sure to Consider The Homestead! Its' a Winner!!!

My elderly aunt (age 90) while still very sharp mentally (except for some intermittent paranoia) and fiercely independent had been declining physically to the degree that she recently began requiring 24/7 care, a very expensive undertaking. So we started our search for an assisted living facility. After visiting The Homestead we knew our search had ended!!!! My aunt has now moved in on a trail basis for one month. She loves the food (a priority for her), her large private room (beautiful mahogany furniture, two closets, private bath with walk-in shower, flat-screen TV, AC and even a fridge) overlooking a beautiful residential neighborhood and a myriad of activities to keep her busy. I am impressed with the friendly and totally supportive staff and the level of care being provided. From a financial point of view the all inclusive monthly fee is considerably less than other facilities we saw which were in no way comparable to The Homestead. Now I can relax knowing that my aunt will be safe, comfortable and happy.


5.0
May 5, 2014
Loved one - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Very nice community!

The Homestead has a lot going for it, although the care they provide is more appropriate for those on the lower end of the care spectrum. My loved one has been very well cared for here! The facility has everything you could as for! There is an on site doctor, a psychiatrist, the aides are always present and available, and she even has a (fantastic!) case manager here. They are also able to provide any needed medication. which can be billed separately for insurance reasons if necessary. One aspect of their service that I really appreciate was they put a lot of thought into the pairings for their shared rooms. They are very cognizant of the personalities of their residents, and try very hard to match up people who will work well as roommates.


4.0
April 1, 2014
Nancy D - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
New Homestead good value and wonderful staff

My mom recently moved to the New Homestead. She has dementia and I was concerned that she be in a place where staff understood and were mindful of the needs of people with dementia. The Homestead is in a lovely, charming neighborhood in Kew Gardens easily accessible by train (it's across the street from the train station). It is an old hotel that has been transformed into an adult living facility. There are ongoing renovations, which are needed, but the space has a comfortable homey atmosphere. Meals are served in a large, bright dining room. The individual rooms for residents are clean and bright, and seem well kept. The best thing about the Homestead is the staff. It is clear that it everyone there cares about their job and the residents. Every time I have called, no matter who I talked to, they knew who my mom was (even after she had only been there a day), and on the first day when she was confused and wanted to leave, the manager took the time himself to take a walk with her, talk to her and remind her/explain where she was and why. That kind of attention is invaluable.


4.5
September 21, 2013
Linda - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
This is a lovely residence. The staff...

This is a lovely residence. The staff are very caring and engaged with the residents. Many activities and flexible approach to supporting residents with their interests. They take those interested on field trips. My dad recently went to a Mets' game and had a great time. They really seem to go the extra mile. Also, they treat the residents with respect, not in patronizing manner.


Neighborhood around The Homestead

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about The Homestead

The Homestead offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

The Homestead has received an average review rating of 4.1 based on 45 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Kew Gardens, NY

1 / 3

The Arbors at Islandia - East and West

1515 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Islandia, NY 11749

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(147 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Arbors Assisted Living is the Premier ALL INCLUSIVE assisted living option on Long Island.The Arbors Assisted Living community at Islandia East & West offers a nurturing and caring adult living community where each day brings something new to explore. The Arbors Assisted Living is more than a...

Atria West 86

333 West 86th Street, New York, NY 10024

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(104 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Ideally situated and all-inclusive, this luxury residence is tailored exclusively to older New Yorkers – and makes it easier to live in the artistic and cultural heart of the City, just one block from scenic Riverside Park. Featuring handsome pre-war architecture, art deco-inspired finishes and...

Woodbridge Place Senior Living

1191 Rapps Dam Road, Phoenixville, PA 19460

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(81 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Woodbridge Place, A Woodbine Senior Living Community, located in the quaint area of Phoenixville, PA is here to help families looking for a community that enhances the quality of life to the residents they serve.They say you can't go back BUT if your family is looking for a community that offers...

Birchwood Suites Enhanced Assisted Living and Memory Care

423 Clay Pitts Road, East Northport, NY 11731

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(85 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Birchwood Suites is a a fully enhanced assisted living community nestled on five acres of beautiful property in East Northport, NY. Our community offers a variety of luxury suites when life becomes too difficult or unsafe to live alone. Our Enhanced License, appointed by the New York State...

Traditions of Lansdale

1800 Walnut St, Lansdale, PA 19446

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(75 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Traditions of Lansdale: Caring for those who cared for us.Knowing your loved one will have the things that matter for health and security makes the decision to seek personal care a whole lot easier for the entire family.Traditions has individualized personal care that goes beyond the basics to...

Atria Lynbrook

100 Peninsula Boulevard, Lynbrook, NY 11563

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(75 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

For more than 20 years, Atria Lynbrook has proudly served the families of Nassau County. With a continuing commitment to quality, the community is undergoing an extensive renovation to enhance its beauty and functionality, scheduled for completion in March 2020. Residents will enjoy a host of...

Rose Tree Place

500 Sandy Bank Road, Media, PA 19063

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(80 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

When you think of assisted living and memory care, what do you see? If cookie-cutter apartments, quiet hallways, bland food and stereotypical activities come to mind, then think again. Over twenty years of experience have taught us that today's seniors want more choices and are leading a more...

Spring Hills Somerset

473 DeMott Lane, Somerset, NJ 08873

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(70 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

At Spring Hills Somerset, we are committed to making healthy living the foundation of every aspect of life. From dining that truly satisfies, to fitness that invigorates and motivates, down to the smaller details, such as our use of safe, non-toxic cleaning products in each assisted living...

The Arbors at Hauppauge

1740 Expressway Drive South, Hauppauge, NY 11788

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(78 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Arbors Assisted Living is the Premier ALL INCLUSIVE assisted living option on Long Island.The Arbors Assisted Living community at Hauppauge is more than a retirement community or an apartment complex for active adults. The Arbors senior communities are places where our loved ones can enjoy...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.