A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Sunrise of Shelby Township

46471 Hayes Road, Shelby Township, MI 48315

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Sunrise of Shelby Township community exterior
15 Photos
15 Photos available
4 Floor plans
4 Floor plans available
Sunrise of Shelby Township in google map
street view of Sunrise of Shelby Township
A.F. - Loved one of resident/client
4.0

I would tell anyone who needed assisted living for medical needs, that this is a pretty good place. They have done well in helping my mother-in-law take better care of herself.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Sunrise of Shelby Township

At Sunrise of Shelby Township, our community’s atmosphere is personal, charming, and family-oriented. Our team works to build relationships with each person and their family. Our family app, for example, allows us to send sentimental videos, photos, dining menus, and community updates to families to keep them informed and engaged.

We’re also pet-friendly and conveniently close to Lakeside Mall, Partridge Creek Shopping Center, Macomb Performing Arts Center, and Henry Ford Macomb Hospital. Our Designated Care Managers work to personalize and customize each resident's experience. From tailored meals, to unique care, and activities, our community and supportive team is readily available to support your wants and needs 24 hours a day.

Community Services and Amenities

Our passionate team plans and schedules a variety of events and activities to help residents relax, network, and simply have fun. Our signature programs include music therapy, connecting with nature, small group programming, and more. If there’s an activity, or even a meal that you’d like to try, let us know. We’re here to support you.

Three well-balanced meals, as well as snacks, are provided to residents daily. Our trained team members are available for around-the-clock service needs, and a licensed nurse provides monthly wellness visits to residents. Meetings...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Sunrise of Shelby Township is a community within Sunrise Senior Living properties. See all Sunrise Senior Living communities.

Pricing for Sunrise of Shelby Township

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sunrise of Shelby Township

Community Details at Sunrise of Shelby Township

Activities Offsite

Activities Onsite

Beautician Onsite

Devotional Services Offsite

Devotional Services Onsite

Indoor Common Areas

Meals Provided

Outdoor Common Areas


More on this community

Reviews for Sunrise of Shelby Township

4.1
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.1

Friendliness

4.1

Meals & Dining

4.2

Care Services

4.0

Activities

4.0

Staff

4.2

Value for Cost

3.9

Overall Experience
25
17
5
0
4
Date Submitted
7
8
32
51
Reviewer
0
34
16
0
Care Received
11
0
21-40 of 51 reviews
Sort by

5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 15, 2018
Very happy

There cannot be a better place for my mom. Before sunrise she was depressed and did nothing but watch TV. Now she is thriving for life again. She goes on outings and participates in the many activities they offer. Food isnt bad but they need to speed up service. The people that work there are so kind understanding and friendly. It is pricey but worth it if you can afford it. Parking is frustrating at times.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


0.5
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
November 1, 2017
Run in the other direction

Lack of training throughout the building, zero compassion, lack of common sense, very sad.dont waste your money.

Cleanliness

0.5

Friendliness

0.5

Care Services

0.5

Activities

0.5

Value for Cost

0.5

Response from Sunrise of Shelby Township

November 6, 2017

Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving(dot) com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team


3.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
September 22, 2017
Verified Review
Memory care kept locked away upstairs

This is a very nice community, bright, clean and beautiful grounds, the staff did a very good job with my tour, they took their time showing me around and answering all my questions. What stood out to me was that the memory care was on the third floor away from the rest of the community. I didn't feel that there was much interaction between the other levels and residents there. I did feel that this was not going to be a good situation for my mother.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

3

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

3


3.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
September 11, 2017
Verified Review
Our experience

My loved ones are adjusting to living at this community. The community does offer daily activities. The caregivers are very nice, however the wellness team seems disorganized and it is hard to get the same answer from different people. My loved ones have not complained about the food.

Cleanliness

3.5

Friendliness

3.5

Care Services

3.5

Activities

3.5

Value for Cost

3.5


3.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 29, 2017
Verified Review
Living In Memory Care Wing

This community offers assisted living and memory care and my loved one is living in the memory care side. They offer a few activities on the memory care side but they are different from what the assisted living offers and that can be a difficult adjustment for a person going from one side to the other. The food appears good I have not personally eaten there. The staff seems to be friendly and nice. The memory care is clean however there is always a slight odor in the air.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

3

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

3


4.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 2, 2017
Verified Review
They have made dad feel like he has a purpose

Dad has made such amazing progress since moving here I could not be more pleased. At first, it was a rocky start and we took him home but after sitting down with the staff and them listening they helped us with a solution and it was the right choice. He has gained weight. He went through physical and occupational therapy and he did so well they released him from those programs. He is helping out the caregivers s on his floor with other resident and it is making him feel like he is contributing. He gets along with the staff which is wonderful and all the residents and their families. The community is clean and very well maintained. Dad doesn't seem to care for the food too much but I've eaten meals there several time and the food is very good.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 2, 2017
Verified Review
Father is Doing Okay in This Community

My father is doing pretty okay with his move to this community. We might need to consider more options, but for now all is well. This is a good facility with kind people. They provide good meals for the residents. The staff is doing their best to care for him, and his needs. It has been a good experience, and this is a community I would recommend.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 1, 2017
Verified Review
Fit To My Grandmothers Personality

We really liked the feel of this community. The decor really seemed to go match with my grandmothers taste. I really liked the way the rooms were setup with a little kitchenette, a sitting area and of course the bathroom and the bedroom. When she is not taking advantage of her sitting area in her room she is down doing some of the activities and making friends which are nice. She is enjoying the food and eating well. The community is kept very clean and the temperature is quite comfortable. The staff is friendly and nice and very honest with their opinions and suggestions.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


3.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
July 3, 2017
Don't get caught up in the appearance

You get lured into the facility with all the "bells and whistles". They do have a lot of activities for your loved ones and the facility is very nice looking. However, the employee turn over rate is high, and there is a lack of communication between employees which can result in lower care for your loved ones.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

3

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

3


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
April 11, 2017
Verified Review
Their pricing was outrageous!

When I toured Sunrise, I quickly noticed it was not a good fit. They charged extra for everything. If my mother took 6 pills instead of 5, they charged extra. If she needed a diaper, extra. Also, the rooms were scared, it was not a choice for us.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
March 28, 2017
Verified Review
Not a Good Fit

I got enough time to see the community while touring and noticed they were a multi-level place. It was a nice place but I need a community with no stairs. The person I met with was professional and gave a nice tour. I would recommend this to a friend.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
March 2, 2017
Verified Review
To much clutter!

I looks like this community tried to make it a homely feeling, but failed. The place is way to cluttered. I did not care for it at all. The staff were nice and very helpful though. The community was clean, but it was hard to tell.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


3.5
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
December 23, 2016
Verified Review
Move in

The staff has gone above and beyond to help us move my loved one in and make her feel at home.

Cleanliness

3.5

Friendliness

3.5

Care Services

3.5

Activities

3.5

Value for Cost

3.5


4.0
S.M - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
September 29, 2016
An Outstanding Community

My mom is here getting top of the line experience. She enjoys the meals they serve her. The staff are friendly and attentive to my mom. I am happy with the level of care that is provided at this community and I would recommend them to family or friends.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
September 20, 2016
Verified Review
Nice place!

Our experience with Sunrise of Shelby Township has been a good one, so far. It was a big change for my loved one, and it took her a bit to get settled in, but the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The facility itself is well kept and clean, and I think they do a good job looking out for the people who live here!

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
September 7, 2016

My mom has been at Sunrise of Shelby Twp. 5 weeks and I am very pleased with how my mom is being taken care - the caregivers are wonderful the food is very good and it's very clean .

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
August 18, 2016

My mom has only been there 2 weeks but so far she likes it !

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
January 10, 2016
Verified Review
Moms

This is the place for Moms! All moms love it here and it is the place for everyones mother to be safe and happy.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
December 29, 2015
Verified Review
Very nice place!

We're very pleased with how things have turned out at Sunrise of Shelby! It's a very nice place! The staff is friendly and professional, and there is always someone around when you need them. The facility is clean and well kept, and it's just the right size for Mom, some of the places we looked at were just too big for her to be able to get around.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


2.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
December 7, 2015
Only for the tamest of dementia patients

My father had been staying here for a while. He has early-onset Alzheimer's disease. Be advised that if your loved one acts out or has a violent outburst, that they will be sent to the ER for a psychiatric consultation. This could be a hospital stay between a few days to a few weeks. This will happen in every instance of an outburst. The floorplan is not conducive to a well-supervised living situation. It's not difficult for residents to roam around in areas where there is no staff to monitor them. With that being said, I think a better floorplan and better monitoring would allow them to intervene and prevent some incidents escalating to a violent outburst. The staff is very friendly. They have great activities. But if your loved one isn't in a wheelchair and even has a slight chance of getting upset and having an outburst - I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

4

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

2

Response from Sunrise of Shelby Township

December 10, 2015

Thank you for your review; please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience with Sunrise. Please email us at Information (At) SunriseSeniorLiving (Dot) com. Thank you, Sunrise Team


Viewing 21-40 out of 51 reviews

Neighborhood around Sunrise of Shelby Township

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise of Shelby Township

Sunrise of Shelby Township offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Sunrise of Shelby Township has received an average review rating of 4.1 based on 51 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (586) 532-9559 to reach a resident at Sunrise of Shelby Township.

To reach a resident at Sunrise of Shelby Township call: (586) 532-9559



Similar communities nearby

1 / 4
Find Senior Living
There are 7 facilities near Shelby Township, MI

Rose Senior Living at Clinton Township

44003 Partridge Creek Blvd, Clinton Township, MI 48038

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(10 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Sunrise of Shelby Township

46471 Hayes Road, Shelby Township, MI 48315

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(51 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Our community is ready to celebrate 15 years this February. Our staff has over 50 combined years of care giving experience. We were awarded the Bronze Commitment to Quality Award by the NQA. Sunrise has over 350 locations is the US, Canada and England. We have been around for 40 years and what...

Meadows Assisted Living & Care Campus

71 North Avenue, Mt. Clemens, MI 48043

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(3 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Meadows Assisted Living and Care Campus is a family owned and operated community located in the heart of Mt. Clemens Michigan. Meadows is a brand-new fully licensed facility consisting of 30 private suites and 4 semi-private suites. Our suites come fully furnished (Twin bed, nightstand, lamp,...

Serene Gardens of Sterling Heights

44256 Mound Rd, Sterling Heights, MI 48314

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(19 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

We started with a simple idea: let’s create senior living communities that we’d want our own family members to call home. Over the past decade with that concept in mind, we’ve been blending science, art and technology to redefine what senior living is supposed to be. To us, that means all...

Waltonwood Lakeside

14750 Lakeside Circle, Sterling Heights, MI 48313

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(28 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private, 2bd

When only the best will do…Look to Waltonwood for Luxury Senior Living. At Waltonwood, our goal is not to be just another Senior Community. But rather, our goal is to ensure each resident and family member is treated with dignity and respect while striving to exceed their expectations. We are...

Clinton Creek Assisted Living and Memory Care

40500 Garfield Rd, Clinton Township, MI 48038

$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(1 review)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Westwood Inn NOW OPEN

19759 23 Mile Rd, Macomb, MI 48042

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(5 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Hampton Manor of Shelby

51831 Van Dyke Ave, Shelby Township, MI 48315

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.7

(11 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Shelby Manor

14184 22 Mile Road, Shelby Township, MI 48315

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.0

(1 review)

Studio, Semi-Private

Bickford of Shelby Township

48251 Schoenherr Rd, Shelby Township, MI 48315

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(13 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

We began our quest into senior living because of our love for our beloved mother, Mary Bickford, whose needs became too great for us to manage. As we researched senior living options, we were shocked at our findings. The options offered too much or too little — none met her needs and nothing...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.