A Place for Mom
Call us

Standiford Place

3420 Shawnee Drive, Modesto, CA 95350

Photo 1 of Standiford Place
See all 10 photos

About the community

Standiford Place provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment.

Nestled in the north end of San Joaquin Valley, you'll look forward to enjoying perfect weather most of the year at Standiford Place. We're conveniently close to Modesto, a charming community, which offers first-class shopping, excellent healthcare, fine dining and wonderful culture.

Our all-inclusive month-to-month rent covers:
- Private apartment suites
- Daily chef-prepared meals from scratch
- A variety of enriching activities
- Maintenance-free living
- Weekly housekeeping and linen service
- Local, scheduled transportation
- Most utilities including basic cable

Familiar Faces
From pleasant housekeepers, to attentive servers at mealtime, and helpful maintenance technicians who aare there when you need them, this community is the new extension of your family. We're here to make your life easier in any way we can.

Private apartment suites
Choose from a variety of comfortable senior living apartments in various sizes and configurations allowing you the freedom to furnish in any style that appeals to you.

Built with your comfort and safety in mind
Our easy-to-maneuver floor plans are ideal for seniors and we offer 24/7 emergency response services. We understand that each individual is...

Read More

Senior Housing Types

Independent living

Pricing at Standiford Place

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Starting at
1 Bedroom
Starting at
2 Bedrooms
Starting at

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.


Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.

For a local A Place for Mom Advisor

(877) 345-1716

Meals & Dining

Meals provided

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Cable or satellite tv

Community Amenities

Transportation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Covered parking
Uncovered parking


Dogs allowed
Cats allowed

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Barber shop
Beauty salon

Recreational areas

Billiards lounge
Fitness center
Movie or theater room



Primary language spoken by staff



Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Activities on-site
Activities off-site



(33 reviews)

Add a review
Verified Review
A Place For Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-3 of 33 reviews
Next Reviews Page

November 10, 2018
Jillian Manley - My loved one(s) live(s) or lived in this community

Even though I let them know my father had dementia and refused help they convinced me that my father would be fine there. They had many others in a similar situation. He missed the meal times, so I asked for the food to be delivered for an additional $5 per meal. They knocked once, and even though I told them he couldn't hear, they noted he didn't answer the door when they knocked, so no food was delivered. They also didn't clean his apartment for the same reason. He had three major incidents involving emergency services in the first eight days. Where I was told, he could not live there if it continued. After eight days it was clear he was not safe there, so I moved him out on the 10th day. They would not return the deposit and stated they would charge him for an additional 90 days. So for the ten days, he lived there they charged him over 6000 and tried to get another $6,000 extra out of him. The staff was unprofessional. The head chef and Assistant GM were openly speaking about firing the head of housekeeping in the main lobby in front of me and many others in the main Lobby. The people that live in the community are given ambassador roles which seems to create a lot og gossip and clicks. Food was horrible. One launch my Dad received when I was at the facility consisted of 1/2 cup of split pea soup and a thin 2" square of corned beef. Additionally, two days in a row he received a mini croissant with a half scoop of chicken salad and lunch is supposed to be the "Big" meal.

Response from Standiford Place

January 9, 2019

Hi Jillian, we appreciate feedback we receive because it gives us an opportunity to improve for our residents. Your feedback was shared with our management team for review. Unfortunately, our records do not align with some of the issues you mentioned. Our manager agreed to end the 90 day commitment and refund the community fees. Our cleaning records also indicate that his apartment was serviced while he was a resident. We apologize if there was any confusion while your father was a resident. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at [removed] to discuss this further. Thank you.

Reviewed on SeniorAdvisor.com

November 10, 2018
Sara Marcipan - My loved one(s) live(s) or lived in this community
Perfect Spot

My mom has been there for 6 months. It was a big move for her but she is all settled in and very happy. She enjoys the food and the activities. She has made new friends. Thanks to a Place For Mom for making this transition seemless.

Reviewed on A Place For Mom

July 27, 2015

I would not send my worst enemy here if they were disabled! My mother in law moved here 2 years ago it's always too hot and stuffy and has been known to smell like vomit. She can not move around as well at others and really receives no accommodations, the buses are not designed for wheel chairs, and have no access lifts. She is mostly independent and doesn't require an assisted living facility or nursing home, but there are only two disabled parking spots and they always have the two exact cars. I went in and politely asked for a parking spot (because my mother in law does pay about 3,000.00 a month between her and her partner for a one bedroom), I was met with the rudest reply ever! The exact words was a sarcastic "is she driving" followed by a chuckel and rejection! I was and stil am disappointed by the response I received from Mr. Lewinsky. What is worse is that they have lied about how much rent would be and rate locking then when asked they claim they don't recall. My mother in law picked this place because she had a friend living there but I always had a felling in the pit of my stomach about this place, we are currently looking for a new place for her to enjoy life and be treated with dignity.

Response from Standiford Place

July 28, 2015

Hi, I'm Katie, I work at Holiday Retirement Home Office. I'm so very sorry to hear that your mother has had a negative experience at Standiford Place. You are correct in that Standiford Place is an independent retirement community, so there is no level of assisted living or memory care service. However, with that said, no one should EVER be treated disrespectfully for asking a question to help their loved one. I'm so very sorry you experienced that. I've passed your comments on to Resident Relations here at Home Office. Please know that you are welcome to call them as well to add more details or follow up on the status of your concern. Their number is [removed]. My sincere apologies once more, Katie

Reviewed on SeniorAdvisor.com
See all reviews and more unlock all reviews
*Additional reviews gathered from Senior Advisor

Frequently asked questions about Standiford Place

Standiford Place offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Standiford Place has received an average review rating of 3.77 based on 7 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Similar communities nearby

1 / 3

The Park at Modesto (Now Open)

2832 Healthcare Way, Modesto, CA 95356
(5 reviews)

Dale Commons

3900 Dale Rd, Modesto, CA 95356
(19 reviews)

Stratford at Beyer Park

3529 Forest Glen Drive, Modesto, CA 95355
(6 reviews)

Cogir of Manteca Senior Living

430 N Union Rd, Manteca, CA 95337
(44 reviews)

Paramount Court

3791 Crowell Road, Turlock, CA 95382
(6 reviews)

The Commons at Union Ranch

2241 North Union Road, Manteca, CA 95336
(13 reviews)

Arbor Manor Senior Cottage Apartments

140 W Minnesota Ave, Turlock, CA 95382
(3 reviews)

Brookdale Tracy

355 West Grant Line Road, Tracy, CA 95376
(47 reviews)

Oakmont of Brookside

3318 Brookside Rd, Stockton, CA 95219
(28 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

Contact Us
701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.