3420 Shawnee Drive, Modesto, CA 95350
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
For a local A Place for Mom Advisor(877) 345-1716
Even though I let them know my father had dementia and refused help they convinced me that my father would be fine there. They had many others in a similar situation. He missed the meal times, so I asked for the food to be delivered for an additional $5 per meal. They knocked once, and even though I told them he couldn't hear, they noted he didn't answer the door when they knocked, so no food was delivered. They also didn't clean his apartment for the same reason. He had three major incidents involving emergency services in the first eight days. Where I was told, he could not live there if it continued. After eight days it was clear he was not safe there, so I moved him out on the 10th day. They would not return the deposit and stated they would charge him for an additional 90 days. So for the ten days, he lived there they charged him over 6000 and tried to get another $6,000 extra out of him. The staff was unprofessional. The head chef and Assistant GM were openly speaking about firing the head of housekeeping in the main lobby in front of me and many others in the main Lobby. The people that live in the community are given ambassador roles which seems to create a lot og gossip and clicks. Food was horrible. One launch my Dad received when I was at the facility consisted of 1/2 cup of split pea soup and a thin 2" square of corned beef. Additionally, two days in a row he received a mini croissant with a half scoop of chicken salad and lunch is supposed to be the "Big" meal.
Response from Standiford PlaceJanuary 9, 2019
Hi Jillian, we appreciate feedback we receive because it gives us an opportunity to improve for our residents. Your feedback was shared with our management team for review. Unfortunately, our records do not align with some of the issues you mentioned. Our manager agreed to end the 90 day commitment and refund the community fees. Our cleaning records also indicate that his apartment was serviced while he was a resident. We apologize if there was any confusion while your father was a resident. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at [removed] to discuss this further. Thank you.
My mom has been there for 6 months. It was a big move for her but she is all settled in and very happy. She enjoys the food and the activities. She has made new friends. Thanks to a Place For Mom for making this transition seemless.Reviewed on A Place For Mom
I would not send my worst enemy here if they were disabled! My mother in law moved here 2 years ago it's always too hot and stuffy and has been known to smell like vomit. She can not move around as well at others and really receives no accommodations, the buses are not designed for wheel chairs, and have no access lifts. She is mostly independent and doesn't require an assisted living facility or nursing home, but there are only two disabled parking spots and they always have the two exact cars. I went in and politely asked for a parking spot (because my mother in law does pay about 3,000.00 a month between her and her partner for a one bedroom), I was met with the rudest reply ever! The exact words was a sarcastic "is she driving" followed by a chuckel and rejection! I was and stil am disappointed by the response I received from Mr. Lewinsky. What is worse is that they have lied about how much rent would be and rate locking then when asked they claim they don't recall. My mother in law picked this place because she had a friend living there but I always had a felling in the pit of my stomach about this place, we are currently looking for a new place for her to enjoy life and be treated with dignity.
Response from Standiford PlaceJuly 28, 2015
Hi, I'm Katie, I work at Holiday Retirement Home Office. I'm so very sorry to hear that your mother has had a negative experience at Standiford Place. You are correct in that Standiford Place is an independent retirement community, so there is no level of assisted living or memory care service. However, with that said, no one should EVER be treated disrespectfully for asking a question to help their loved one. I'm so very sorry you experienced that. I've passed your comments on to Resident Relations here at Home Office. Please know that you are welcome to call them as well to add more details or follow up on the status of your concern. Their number is [removed]. My sincere apologies once more, Katie
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.