A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Plantation Manor

6450 Old Tuscaloosa Hwy, McCalla, AL 35111

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

1 Photo
1 Photo available
Plantation Manor in google map
street view of Plantation Manor
Marci H - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Super staff, cleanliness & food

Cleanliness is a major factor here and so is the friendliness of the personnel and staff. They have a great cook, the food is excellent. It doesn't matter when you show up, the food is great and the community is always clean. Someone could drop something and it's immediately picked up. The staff are always inquiring if a resident is thirsty or wants a snack. Things here are better than good, and better than great. I liked the place my mom was at before, but it was nothing like Plantation Manor.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Plantation Manor

The Plantation Manor is an assisted living community located in the heart of beautiful McCalla, Tuscaloosa County, Alabama. The town of McCalla is referred to by many as the jewel of the South. There are a number of activities that a senior can participate in when moving to this area. One of the biggest draws of the McCalla area are the local festivals and events that take place on a regular basis. There is literally a festival for every occasion, which means that a senior will be able to avoid getting bored in this area. This area has a small town feel with many of the big city amenities that people are looking for.

When most people think about the Plantation Manor, the first thing that comes to mind is commitment. Our staff take great pride in taking care of our residents. What sets us apart from other senior communities is that the team at Plantation Manor is very involved in the day to day lives of our residents. There are a number of special events that we put on for the residents, which gives them something to look forward to. Our staff is fully qualified to help residents...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Pricing for Plantation Manor

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Plantation Manor

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Ambulatory Care
Diabetic Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
High Acuity Care
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided

Facility Amenities

Common areas

Indoor Common Areas

Memory care

Wander Guard or Similar System Available
Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Memory Care Only Community

Activities

Devotional Activities Offsite
Activities On-site

Reviews for Plantation Manor

4.3
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Friendliness

4.4

Meals & Dining

4.5

Care Services

4.3

Activities

4.2

Staff

4.9

Value for Cost

4.3

Overall Experience
22
6
0
0
3
Date Submitted
1
2
27
31
Reviewer
1
25
4
0
Care Received
0
0
21-31 of 31 reviews
Sort by

4.5
Sandra Keith Hudson - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
April 18, 2016
Verified Review
Mother's care

Plantation Manor is truly the best place for my Mother. The staff care about each resident and see to all there needs. Mother has fallen twice and both times they have called me to let me know that she is ok, nothing broken.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


5.0
Sandra Hudson - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 17, 2016
Mother

The staff are the most caring and loving people I have ever had the joy to meet. They are taking really good care of my Mother. Thanks ever so much.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 1, 2016
Verified Review
Very nice place

Our experience with Plantation Manor has been a very good one, overall! The staff here is super friendly, personable, and they know both the residents and their family members by name! The facility itself is clean and well kept, and it seems very reasonably priced. I would recommend them!

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
May 14, 2015
Verified Review
Independent Living at It's Best!

Plantation Manor Independent Living Facility is great. It is small, very clean and neat and the food is wonderful. Because of the size the residents and the staff get to know each other and become friends. Everyone looks out for each other. My brother-in-law does not have any immediate family and was having health issues. He decided that he needed help with cooking and cleaning, until he could get his strength back, so He leased a one bedroom apartment from Plantation Manor. He only had intentions of staying there until he could get back on his feet, a couple of months at most, but he enjoyed the living arrangements so much, he is still there, and it has been almost a year. He is staying there by choice. His health has improved, he is driving again, and has a home that he could move back to. The friendly atmosphere and friends make his apartment feel like home. The rent is reasonable, so he can afford to stay there and still have his house. If you are looking for a small, plain, but very clean senior independent living facility, that more then meets the needs of its residents check out Plantation Manor.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 9, 2015

Dad is happy and situated. Staff is friendly and engaged with the residents. Clean well maintained.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Della Foster - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 3, 2015
Verified Review
the right choice

We recently placed my mother in Plantation Manor Assisted Living and have been very pleased with our choice. We like the cottage atmosphere with only 16 people in their building. Whenever we visit, the residents look happy and well cared for. My mother has dementia and was put into a cottage with similar patients. We were pleased that she was able to live in an assisted living facility instead of a nursing home. although the building is not new, it is well taking care of.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
February 16, 2015
Verified Review
They are doing a good job.

They are doing a good job. She really enjoys it, and she has other seniors around so she isn't just sitting home by herself. It's well kept, and clean. The staff is friendly, no concerns at all. We are happy with it.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


3.5
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
February 12, 2015
Verified Review
This was a great experience

Thought that the facility was very nicely designed, and it catered to all residents amazingly. The care was absolutely wonderful, the residents were often kept very busy among the activities and interacting with each other. The food was wonderful and the the amenities offered were always superb compared to other places I toured. A place you must not look pass

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 29, 2014
Mom

Thank you Plantion Manor!! When me and my family needed help the most they were there for us! My mom wouldn't be anywhere else;) ?God Bless

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


1.0
Anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
March 16, 2014
Verified Review
This was probably one of th...

This was probably one of the worst experiences in my life. After I was finally able to get into the facility (there is a number pad to get in) and one of the staff members called the director, she informed me that no appointment had been made. She said she normally didn't come in on Sat/Sun but because of some problem at the facility she would be there in about 10-20 minutes and I could wait. One of the workers (very nice) said she would give me the tour which consisted solely of seeing the one room that was available. It was definitely just 'a room'. Everything was drab and dingy looking. The bathroom was completely mismatched and none of it looked like anything had been done to it in years. I asked where the shower was when I looked in the bathroom and she indicated that they give the residents their baths in a whirlpool and that they change their diapers. All of the clients seemed to be asleep in their chairs and the two women who were awake would not look up or speak to me. It was not what I would define as assisted living. I did not stay to talk to the director because the place was SO depressing. Honestly, I wouldn't let my mom be put there if it was free. So depressing. I only put one star (it would have been none!) except I had to put one to submit this.

Cleanliness

1

Friendliness

1

Care Services

1

Activities

1

Value for Cost

1


4.0
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Memory Care
November 25, 2013
Verified Review
Toured assisted living and ...

Toured assisted living and independent living. Space clean and staff friendly. Planned activities in assisted living. Medical director will care for all needs of patients. Only asissted living room available does not have a shower or bath tub. Must use community whirlpool. Not interested for that reason. Independent living apartment roomy. No planned activities. Only offer 1 meal a day. Will not meet our needs.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


Viewing 21-31 out of 31 reviews

Neighborhood around Plantation Manor

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Plantation Manor

Plantation Manor offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Plantation Manor has received an average review rating of 4.3 based on 31 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (205) 477-6161 to reach a resident at Plantation Manor.

To reach a resident at Plantation Manor call: (205) 477-6161



Similar communities nearby

1 / 3
Find Senior Living
There are 1 facilities near McCalla, AL

Truewood by Merrill, Riverchase

1851 Data Dr, Hoover, AL 35244

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(35 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Located in Hoover, Alabama, Truewood by Merrill, Riverchase is a newly renovated senior living community featuring a total of 110 beautifully appointed residences: 86 assisted living and 28 memory care apartments. The innovative assisted living apartments, specialized dementia care suites and...

The Crossings at Riverchase

2171 Parkway Lake Dr, Hoover, AL 35244

$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(3 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Oaks on Parkwood

2651 Laurel Oaks Dr, Bessemer, AL 35022

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(6 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Plantation Manor

6450 Old Tuscaloosa Hwy, McCalla, AL 35111

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(31 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

The Plantation Manor is an assisted living community located in the heart of beautiful McCalla, Tuscaloosa County, Alabama. The town of McCalla is referred to by many as the jewel of the South. There are a number of activities that a senior can participate in when moving to this area. One of the...

Morningside of Vestavia Hills

2435 Columbiana Rd, Vestavia Hills, AL 35216

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(13 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

From the moment you walk through the door, you will experience the difference that is Chateau Vestavia. Family owned and locally operated, we are a part of the beautiful Vestavia Hills community. Our caring professional staff is committed to making this the most worry-free time of your life. We...

Regency Retirement Village - Birmingham

285 West Oxmoor Road, Birmingham, AL 35209

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(14 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Regency Retirement Village is a graciously appointed residential community designed to meet the needs of seniors. The beautiful facility offers affordable independent and assisted living. Our apartments are some of the finest in Birmingham with studios, one and two bedroom suites. We are located...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.