A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

Legacy at Grande Vie

2140 Five Mile Line Rd, Penfield, NY 14526

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

15 Photos
15 Photos available
Legacy at Grande Vie in google map
street view of Legacy at Grande Vie
Heidi F - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
A caring loving place for mom

The staff is caring, kind, and respectful. They have the biggest hearts and are amazing with the families. They have kept my mother safe from covid. Their communication with family also is amazing. I would recommend this community to others.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Legacy at Grande Vie

Grande’Vie, a Legacy Senior Living Community, offers seniors a vibrant lifestyle filled with daily opportunities for fitness, fun, fellowship, life-enriching activities, and personal growth. You can rest easy knowing that we take care of all the details. Family owned and operated, Grande’Vie has been providing NYS Department of Health licensed care for 40 years in the heart of Penfield, NY, and many of our dedicated and compassionate employees have been with us for over 10 years.

Grande’Vie offers:

• Assisted Living
• Enhanced Assisted Living
• Memory Care
• Respite Care
• Adult Daycare

Step inside and you’ll be greeted with genuine smiles and inviting, well-appointed common areas. Enjoy amenities such as chef-prepared meals, health and wellness classes, our signature Living Very Well life-enrichment activities/excursions, live entertainment, transportation, housekeeping, and much more. Take a stroll around our delightfully quiet campus near the Penfield Four Corners, walk to Starbucks or local restaurants, or just relax in one of our delightful courtyards.

Our professionally trained and experienced team is deeply committed to you, your family, and your well-being. Licensed nurses, case managers, and compassionate care aides create a worry-free setting with individualized attention...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.
Legacy at Grande Vie is a community within Watermark Retirement Communities properties. See all Watermark Retirement Communities communities.

Pricing for Legacy at Grande Vie

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Legacy at Grande Vie

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Ambulatory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Guest Meals
Professional Chef
Restaurant Style Dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Bath Tubs
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground Floor Units

Facility Amenities

Dining

Café or Bistro
Private Dining Room

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit
Uncovered Parking

Pets

Dogs Allowed
Cats Allowed

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Barber Shop
Beauty Salon

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Billiards Lounge
Fitness Center
Game Room

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Memory care

Secured Community
Enclosed Courtyard
Indoor Walking Paths
Outdoor Walking Paths

Languages spoken

English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Catholic Services

Reviews for Legacy at Grande Vie

2.8

(19 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

2.8

Care services

2.7

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

4.5

Activities

3.0

Value for cost

2.8

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-19 of 19 reviews
3.0
March 22, 2021
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
My experience with Legacy at Grande 'Vie

We chose Legacy at Grade 'Vie because of the value for the money as well as the location. The room sizes here are adequate for what she needed. I was not pleased with the cleanliness of her room, the facility itself was great and clean but they did not come to clean her room. I made it known that it needed to be cleaned but every time I went in there, I was having to pick things up and clean them. They were also not coming in to do her laundry. Even after I had complained, it took a week for them to come clean it. I do not have anything to compare the facility to, but I think I would recommend to others looking.


5.0
January 21, 2021
Heidi F - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A caring loving place for mom

The staff is caring, kind, and respectful. They have the biggest hearts and are amazing with the families. They have kept my mother safe from covid. Their communication with family also is amazing. I would recommend this community to others.


5.0
September 3, 2020
Shelley - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great Place for a Family Member

I would absolute recommend Legacy at Grande'vie and Village Wood. They have multiple activities for the residents and the friendliness of the staff. The community is very clean. Overall I get a good felling.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

September 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing. We are proud of our engaging programs, virtual events, innovative technology and thoughtful and caring associates who go above and beyond- we are glad it shows! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.


1.0
August 23, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Unsafe and discusting

Please stay far away, it is a horrible place. To sum it Grand’ vie is unsafe, very dirty and always short staffed. They don’t even have an RN on-site only a few LPN’s and med techs. Stay far away!

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

September 10, 2019

We take the health and well-being of our residents very seriously and are committed to excellence. Please reach out to me at [removed] to discuss your concerns and feedback directly. Cathy Lubanski Managing Director


2.0
August 13, 2019
anonymous - Toured community

rooms were small. the entire facility looked dated or old.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

August 28, 2019

Our building is certainly not new, but we keep it as clean as a whistle and filled with vibrant programs and happy residents. We pride ourselves on a warm, welcoming friendly atmosphere and that comes easily because our team truly loves what they do. If we can tempt you to visit again we'd be happy to introduce you to a few clubs, groups and ongoing programs or join us for lunch and a happy hour.


2.0
June 23, 2019
anonymous - Toured community

[Name removed], was very nice, knowledgeable and wanted to help me as much as possible. Even though Grand vie wouldn't be the best choice for my family she gave me information about other agencies to help me like the Veterans Association. It is an older building, but the wonderful staff would make up for the short coming of the building.


4.5
June 7, 2019
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

This facility is perfect for my mom in her current situation. Staff has been supportive, working with me long distance.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

June 20, 2019

We are so happy to see your mom is well and thriving with us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make her stay that much better.


4.0
September 9, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

This looks to be a nice facility with caring staff and good staff/guest interaction. It is an older facility but in the process of cosmetic renovations as the guests turnover.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

September 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our community and for your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on a warm, friendly atmosphere and professional associates. It comes easily because our team truly loves what they do. Our building is definitely not new but we keep it as clean as a whistle and filled with vibrant programs and happy residents. Thanks for visiting; I hope we see you again soon. Sincerely, Erica Dietz, Executive Director Posted on behalf of Erica Dietz.


1.0
August 7, 2018
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

The hallways smell like pee, the places need all new updates. The workers are always on there phone or no where to be found. Its not work the money the food quality is on the low side of the scale. Every time I come in my parent doesn’t look presentable like they just throw something on her.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

August 9, 2018

Please accept an invitation to join me for a tour and a coffee or dessert. I’ve had the privilege to serve as Executive Director for nearly three months and our standards are to present a welcoming, friendly, clean, good smelling positive place to live, work and visit. Please do feel free to call me at [removed] to visit or discuss. Sincerely, Erica Dietz, Executive Director Posted on behalf of Erica Dietz.


2.0
February 27, 2018
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Deceived

The assisted living area was fine. The memory care side is horrible. My recommendation is STAY AWAY. My dad was there for only a few hours and fell three times. They are very understaffed . We were totally deceived by the care they they said he would get. They painted a pretty picture but is was actually ugly. Stay away from memory care side.

Response from Legacy at Grande Vie

March 2, 2018

Resident and family satisfaction is our goal and priority and I apologize we didn’t meet your expectations. I have shared your review with the team for training and coaching. I would sincerely appreciate a call or visit to discuss your experience and learn more. Thank you for helping us improve. Sincerely, Lidija Gonzalez, Associate Executive Director Lidija Gonzalez, Associate Executive Director Posted on behalf of Lidija Gonzalez.


2.0
June 25, 2017
anonymous - Toured community

We never got to talk to the original person our tour was suppose to be with. She handed us over to someone else. That person was very nice, but I don't think she was really prepared. She had to hand us off to someone else at one point so she could take a call. They had to intrude on someone that lives there to show us a room. It was all very unorganised and unprofessional. My parents and I were not impressed.


4.5
December 6, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
great place to live

My mother has lived at the grand vie for 6 months. She loves it there. The staff is very kind and she loves the people she sits with at her diner table. I am very happy to see her loving life there.


2.0
November 14, 2015
Ann Marie - Toured community
Verified Review
Needs upgrading!!

I have visited many places in the area to find extended care facility for my 90 year old mom who recently fell. The staff was marvelous, but upon the tour of grand vie we noticed dirty carpets, dreary rooms, and did not find the facility homey.


5.0
October 29, 2015
Liz - Loved one of resident/client
Happy Home

Grande Vie has always provided my mother with the best care. After three years of living at the community in confident we made the best choice for her. Quick resolution of problems or concerns has been the feedback I've gotten from my two brothers as well. Over all, it's a great place. I can sleep at night knowing mom is safe with the caring and competent staff.


4.0
September 17, 2015
Mary J. - Loved one of resident/client
Caring House

We are very happy with our mothers placement at Grande Vie. When our mother could no longer live at home after our father passed away because of her memory issues, grande vie was able to provide outstanding dementia care. Caring house has been our saving grace and we are pleased with the community and the caring staff.


0.5
April 16, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
UNSAFE - SUBPAR - DREARY

Our mom was accepted by the Resident Relations Representative at Grandevie Penfield as a long-term care resident after being discharged from a hospitalization and resulting rehab stay for bone repair surgery from a previous fall. She was discharged from rehab and accepted by Grandevie's Resident Relations Representative as a 1-assist resident who needs constant supervision while ambulating. After living at Grandevie for about 18 hours, we got a call that mom had fallen again and she was the way to the hospital with a hip injury. She returned back to Grandevie after her hospitalization and rehab stay about 3 weeks later. After being back for less than 48 hours we got another call from Grandevie that she had fallen and was on the way to the hospital in an ambulance. After imaging studies and observation, she was sent back to Grandevie the following day. Three days later, mom fell for a 3rd time and required hospitalization, surgery and a 4th rehab stay. While at Grandevie she was hospitalized 3 times for 3 falls in less than 1 month. We moved her out.


1.5
January 4, 2015
greenleaf188 - Loved one of resident/client
poor care across the board

My parent was in the Grand Vie for a few months, I found the staff to be uncaring, the nursing staff quite condescending and the food terrible. We went with this facility as a quick placement post hospitalization and moved her out as soon as possible. No one seemed to want to help the residents and the weekend and night staff was dreadful


0.5
May 30, 2014
Anonymous - Industry reviewer
Don't even bother!

This place is horrible. I wouldn't put someone I hate in this place. The activities are horrible. They do the same thing day in and day out. All the residents complain about the activites and the food. It just got a major renovation done by the Legacy's and let me just say that this man, Mr. [Removed], has no idea what he is doing with an assisted living facility. He primarily owns Indepent Living and is trying to run the facility as such. Beware of rising costs of living at this facility. They raise the rates every year and never increase staff or food costs. All they do is raise the rent to line the already fat pockets of the owners. The staff that actually cares is great, especially Mavis [Removed]. She is the only one at the facility who even knows what she is doing. But other than that you get a low quality, ghetto aides because they pay the girls here so little. Barely minimum wage with maandatory over time happening on a daily basis. The aides are over worked and under paid. The administrator is a solid piece of work. She is consistently rude to visitors, and staff alike. She barely makes contact with the residents and makes sure the front desk staff knows not to let them bother her. She frequently attends bars with the upper staff and comes to the facility boozed up for extra-cirricular events that they rarely ever have. The administrator, resident care director, and head of maintenance are all buddy/buddy. They recently had staff members complain about racial and sexual harrassment occuring during work hours, and did nothing about it. Talk to any of the residents and you'll hear the truth, this place is horrible and none of them want to live there when there are a million better options in the area!


3.0
September 3, 2013
Phil - Toured community
Verified Review
Getting much needed remodel

They're doing an update, the legacy purchased the GrandeVie and it definitely needed a facelift. It was dark and more of a depressing atmosphere but they're doing a good job with the remodel. Maybe because of it they weren't really responsive to our needs, they were tearing bedrooms down and maybe just didn't need our business.

Additional reviews gathered from Senior Advisor

Neighborhood around Legacy at Grande Vie

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Legacy at Grande Vie

Legacy at Grande Vie offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Legacy at Grande Vie has received an average review rating of 2.8 based on 19 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (585) 381-0680 to reach a resident at Legacy at Grande Vie.

To reach a resident at Legacy at Grande Vie call: (585) 381-0680



Similar communities nearby

1 / 3
Find Senior Living
There are 59 facilities near Penfield, NY

The Amberleigh

2330 Maple Road, Williamsville, NY 14221

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(110 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Explore new interests at The Amberleigh, where our blend of desired amenities and convenient services offers residents a vibrant lifestyle that encourages health and independence through innovative recreational, educational, health and wellness programs. Our Williamsville, New York, Independent...

Legacy at Clover Blossom

100 McAuley Dr, Rochester, NY 14610

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(17 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Nestled in the woods near a charming residential neighborhood around the corner from Mercy High School in Brighton, NY, and moments away from I-490 and I-590 as well as the world-class arts and entertainment in Rochester, New York’s cultural district, Legacy at Clover Blossom is a premier...

Fleming Point

720 Latta Rd, Rochester, NY 14612

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(87 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Fleming Point provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment. Situated on beautifully landscaped grounds on the quiet community of Greece, you'll be delighted by our friendly staff and charming facilities. Residents also appreciate the convenience of being just minutes...

The Village at Unity

1471 Long Pond Road, Rochester, NY 14626

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(19 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Solstice Senior Living at Fairport

55 Ayrault Road, Fairport, NY 14450

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(31 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Detached Cottages / Bungalows

Discover the “Crown Jewel of the Erie Canal” at Solstice Senior Living at Fairport. Nestled in The Finger Lakes, one of the world’s top vacation destinations, our residents enjoy easy access to adventure, entertainment and the beautiful outdoors. Family members and caregivers find comfort in the...

Elison of Orchard Glen

6055 Armor Duells Rd, Orchard Park, NY 14127

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(22 reviews)

1bd, 2bd

Lease by October 29 and get $1,000 off your rent for the first three months. THAT’S A SAVINGS OF $3,000!*Among many health precautions now available in our community, we will require all associates who work here to vaccinate for COVID-19. Learn about this and our overall approach to help bring an...

Parkrose Estates

7251 Janus Park Drive, Liverpool, NY 13088

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(35 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

At Parkrose Estates, you can live the life you want to. Enjoy the convenience of restaurant-style dining, a wealth of life enrichment activities and the freedom to explore your interests within the community and around the Syracuse area. Our amenities and concierge services are designed to...

Legacy at Willow Pond

40 Willow Pond Way, Penfield, NY 14526

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(7 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Inviting and picturesque, Legacy at Willow Pond offers a lifestyle of relaxed luxury for older adults looking for a safe and secure, family-like atmosphere in Penfield, NY. With easy access to Route 441 and the I-490 Expressway, Willow Pond enjoys the perfect balance of a beautiful neighborhood...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.