Grand Emerald Place

4010 S. Ironwood Drive, South Bend, IN 46614


About the community Grand Emerald Place

Grand Emerald Place provides residents (and their pets) with a home-like environment, support for activities of daily living, and a community where they can thrive.

We develop personalized care plans to meet the needs of each resident, and a full-time registered nurse is available 24 hours a day to provide clinical oversight and coordination of care.

Our residents flourish by engaging in a wide variety of stimulating activities, such as bingo, tai chi, movie nights, arts and crafts, and social gatherings. We enjoy outdoor activities like walking club, gardening club, and outdoor teas.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living

Pricing for Grand Emerald Place

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Grand Emerald Place

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Memory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Anytime dining
Guest meals
International cuisine

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground floor units
Handicap accessible

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured community
Memory care only community
Indoor walking paths

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Main street shops
Indoor atrium

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Fitness center
Game room
Piano or organ

On-site dining options

Café or bistro
Private dining room

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Visiting chaplain or priest
Art classes
Cooking classes

Reviews for Grand Emerald Place

4.3

(49 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

4.4

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

4.5

Activities

4.3

Value for cost

4.4

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 49 reviews
5.0
August 6, 2021
Bruce S - Child of resident/client

The community has a full-time nurse their Mon-Fri and has other medical professions available also. The staff has family in the facility also, I also would recommend this community to others based on my experience.


4.0
July 26, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
My review of Grand Emerald Place (Enlivant)

We were able to do an in person tour twice, the first time there were not covid restrictions so we were able to see the residents out and about. The second time had restrictions and they were actually in a bit of a lock down so we did not get to see the resident. We did however get to see two different model rooms and walk through the different facilities they had. It is a very nice place, but it was just not the right place for our loved one. With her dementia to get to the dining room she would of had to gone from her room to the elevator, downstairs and to the dining room. We were worried she would get lost, and we did not know if someone would accompany her. Also right by the elevator was a stairwell, which also made us afraid if we didn't choose the elevator that she would get lost in the stairwell or even fall.


5.0
June 4, 2021
Jim W - Child of resident/client
A Great Place to Put Your Loved One to Be Safe and Happy

It is a beautiful community. The staff take care of the residents, and are great here. They keep the residents busy with activities. They have brain teasers, games, bingo, corn hole, and more for the residents to choose from. The communication with the staff is great. They are responsive to changes and requests. They have a new director in place. My loved one really likes the food.


4.5
March 12, 2021
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Great Smaller Community With a Home-Like Feel

We've found they've been very caring about best care possible in a smaller, individualized environment. We were thrilled that they had a good Covid protocol. It seems like Coivid-wise, they're in a good place. They're still offering activities. In the Fall they had a sing along with residents inside, and a couple of family members outside per resident, and they served hot chocolate and cookies. We observed the activities director coming in one-on-one offering crafting activities. The family has been able to go in a couple of times for visits, two of us at a time. We were pleased to see photos of our loved one around the Holidays where she was sitting next to other residents, wearing a little Christmas hat, and she was smiling and looked so happy. That made us feel so good. We love that the staff have fun with the residents, for example doing elf on the shelf. If there are care services they don't offer on-site, they were able to authorize off-site care for her. Once safe with Covid, they'll be offering more on-site services like haircutting, etc. When small issues have arisen, they have been in touch, and we've felt like we've worked through the issue together to a satisfactory result. There's only about 60 units here, with room for about 77 residents, and that really spoke volumes to us about the more direct attention our loved one has received. When our loved one needs something, they let us know right away. Whenever we've needed anything, they've bent over backwards to help.


4.0
March 11, 2021
AB - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
a good place living

The community closes at 6 pm so you cant visit after 6. The community is good with communication between the staff and the family and they are always quick to call us if we have any questions. I would recommend this community to others


3.0
December 4, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Property is going through a renovation, staff seemed very friendly, but did not offer memory care and at this point would need to be part of the equation.


5.0
November 26, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

I talked with [name removed] and this community does not have a memory care option. But [name removed] said their Michigan City community has a dedicated memory care building and [names removed] will call me. Michigan City is too far away but a good memory care option is very important so I’m keeping the MC community on the plate!


5.0
April 11, 2019
randy Sheneman - Loved one of resident/client
Mom is safe

The staff is very nice to my mother. I appreciate everything the staff does for her. It is a relief knowing my mom is safe.

Response from Grand Emerald Place

April 17, 2019

Randy - this is always our #1 priority. Thanks for entrusting us with your mother's care, we're glad she feels at home with us at Grand Emerald!


4.5
April 11, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Great Events, Great food

My father and stepmother were residents of Grand Emerald for a few years. They enjoyed the food immensely, we enjoyed the great parties and family events put on by the staff. The nurses were always on top of things. It is a great place!

Response from Grand Emerald Place

April 17, 2019

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad we could accommodate your dad and stepmom from all directions.


0.5
March 25, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Don't go there

Food is terrible and portions are skimpy. Residents rarely if ever receive their choice from the pre-selected menu because there isn't enough, there weren't sufficient ingredients to make an item, or the cook was "off" and someone else is filling in. Consequently, meat is predominately "processed" and fruit/vegetables are either from a box or can. There is a shortage of staff so basic housekeeping of residents is random or non-existent.

Response from Grand Emerald Place

March 28, 2019

We are so sorry to hear your experience with us has come in beneath our standards. We will certainly share your feedback with our local Nutrition & Dining teams. Additionally, please feel free to call our Enlivant Cares Resident Line if you have any other issues you'd like to discuss or feedback to give. Thank you.


3.0
October 19, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

The food was great, [name removed] and [name removed] were very understanding and addressed all my concerns. The entrance fee of $3000 is quite high. My only concern is smell, it smelled like a nursing home and one room we saw had it very strong.

Response from Grand Emerald Place

March 28, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback, we will certainly take this back to our team. Glad you enjoyed the food!


4.5
December 4, 2017
Gina Grimes - Toured community
Grand Emerald Place-Great quality

Grand Emerald Place is a perfect place for seniors to live and enjoy life -I know the staff and management are truly committed to providing the best quality of life for their residents-they go above and beyond!


5.0
September 26, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Very welcoming and caring

Grand Emerald Place is very friendly and caring. It is cost efficient with great care. The staff, as well as the residents, are so welcoming and caring. The food is very good and homemade. The residents genuinely care for each other and seem to have a lot of fun. We are so happy that we found Grand Emerald as a home for our mother.


4.0
September 12, 2017
Dale Ferraro - Loved one of resident/client

Extremely friendly staff and residents. Meals are home cooked with little reliance on processed foods. Excellent chef.


4.0
August 21, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Good Tour Of This Facility

I had a pleasant tour of this community. Everyone was kind, and helpful to my family, and I. The community looked nice from what I saw. Everything appeared to be well-kept. The staff was friendly, and informative. The experience went well, but I did find another community that suited my mother needs better.


4.0
July 10, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Abundance of food and friendly faces

It is a beautiful and clean community. Many activities for the residents if they want to participate. No complaints regarding the food, they provide ample proportions. The staff is very friendly, but there is a lack of communication between the staff and caregivers. All they needed to do to help my aunt with her physical therapy was to move the wheelchair back so she could do her leg exercises. It seems with my insistence they are communicating more with me, but there are times when they still do not return my calls. Overall it seems they are improving.


5.0
June 4, 2017
Laurie Balla - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

My mom is really happy here. Everyone who works here really cares and they do a wonderful job making sure that she has a happy life! It feels like home here! [Removed] is awesome! All of the other staff is too!


5.0
June 4, 2017
L David Hart - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

Staff very friendly always knowing mom by name. Nice environment – Great Meals!


4.0
June 4, 2017
Sheryl Porter - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

They do a good job overall. Mom loves the staff, they treat her well.


5.0
June 4, 2017
The Weis Family - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

The process of moving my dad and stepmother was handled by the community, alleviating the stress for us. The apartment is nice, spacious and bright, staff has been kind and considerate. The food has been a hit with my dad! We highly recommend Grand Emerald Place.


Neighborhood around Grand Emerald Place

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Emerald Place

Grand Emerald Place offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Grand Emerald Place has received an average review rating of 4.3 based on 49 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near South Bend, IN

1 / 3

St. Paul's

3602 S Ironwood Dr, South Bend, IN 46614
(6 reviews)

Morningview Assisted Living Residences

475 N Niles Ave, South Bend, IN 46617
(6 reviews)

Cedarhurst of Edison Lakes

1025 Park Pl, Mishawaka, IN 46545
(26 reviews)

Tanglewood Trace

530 Tanglewood Ln, Mishawaka, IN 46545
(41 reviews)

Brookdale South Bend

17441 State Road 23, South Bend, IN 46635
(29 reviews)

Wood Ridge Assisted Living

17650 Generations Dr, South Bend, IN 46635
(30 reviews)

Heritage Point Assisted Living and Memory Care

1215 Trinity Place, Mishawaka, IN 46545
(23 reviews)

Brookdale Granger

430 Cleveland Road, Granger, IN 46530
(29 reviews)

StoryPoint Granger

6330 N Fir Rd, Granger, IN 46530
(23 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.