Garden Village

8550 North Granby Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64154

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Garden Village in google map
street view of Garden Village

About the community Garden Village

Garden Village provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment.

Our all-inclusive month-to-month rent covers:
- Private apartment suites
- Daily chef-prepared meals from scratch
- A variety of enriching activities
- Maintenance-free living
- Weekly housekeeping and linen service
- Local, scheduled transportation
- Most utilities including basic cable

Familiar Faces
From pleasant housekeepers, to attentive servers at mealtime, and helpful maintenance technicians who aare there when you need them, this community is the new extension of your family. We're here to make your life easier in any way we can.

Private apartment suites
Choose from a variety of comfortable senior living apartments in various sizes and configurations allowing you the freedom to furnish in any style that appeals to you.

Built with your comfort and safety in mind
Our easy-to-maneuver floor plans are ideal for seniors and we offer 24/7 emergency response services. We understand that each individual is unique and that needs may change over time. Holiday Retirement does not provide any health care services. Residents are welcome to use outside home health care options that may enable them to continue enjoying life at our community.

We are dedicated to...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Independent living

Pricing for Garden Village

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Starting at
1 Bedroom
Starting at
2 Bedrooms
Starting at

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Garden Village

Health Care Services

Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Physical therapist
Occupational therapist
Speech therapist
Massage therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
Professional chef
Restaurant style dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Full kitchen
Ground floor units

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit
Covered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Indoor atrium
Barber shop


Grocery shopping and errands
Laundry service / drycleaning


Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Primary language spoken by staff


Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Billiards lounge
Fitness center

On-site dining options

Café or bistro
Private dining room


Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Art classes
Educational speakers / life long learning

Reviews for Garden Village


(82 reviews)

Write a Review



Care services




Meals & dining




Value for cost



Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 82 reviews
October 22, 2021
Kristie L - Child of resident/client
My review of Garden village

So far everything is good at this community. This is a great place for the money that is spent. They do have activities that are a bit restricted just to give the residents something to do but covid friendly.

October 14, 2021
James - Child of resident/client
Peace of Mind

It is worth checking into this community for your loved one. Everything is above average. Overall it is a good value. They have quite a bit of activities available for the residents to choose from.

August 31, 2021
Anonymous - Child of resident/client
Not What it Presents Itself To Be

This isn't the best place for your loved one. This is supposed to be a safe community, and the doors remain open. There are squatters coming in to live. My loved one doesn't feel safe here. The food has made my loved one sick in the past, and they no longer uses the dining room. There has been a high turnover of staff and residents.

Response from Garden Village

September 27, 2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that you had some experiences that were not fully satisfactory for you and your loved one. The squatter mentioned had been a family member who had been staying with a resident onsite, however, they had exceeded their regularly allowed timeframe and the resident had been notified. The doors are securely locked for the safety and security of our residents and the management team had installed cameras to ensure there’s proper surveillance on the property. We do have a new chef that joined the team and overall the dining experience has greatly improved. Feel free to invite yourself and your loved one to dine in and try new dishes, and personally meet our chef. Although a few associates have taken other positions, we are very happy with the new associates and how they line up with our company goals and have servant's hearts.

August 12, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Overall a good community

We have only been able to hear about the activities but it does seem like they offer a lot. We like the cost and the community itself, it is a little run down and older but overall it really is a good community.

Response from Garden Village

August 13, 2021

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our community. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with our activities, our team works hard to create engaging and fun events for residents to enjoy and participate in.

April 26, 2021
Anonymous - Toured community
My Review of Garden Village

The community appeared to be run down. It was further away from the family than we had liked. The people, dining room and apartments were nice. They didn't seem to do meal checks or to check on the residents and these were important aspects for us.

Response from Garden Village

April 28, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on our community.

April 2, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
Shop Around More Before Going Here

You need to go by and check on your person. They say it's independent, and my loved one was, but I saw a lot of people who were less able. I would worry about my loved one if I wasn't there checking on her. I think it all comes down to management. The manager was nice, but perhaps not meant to be a manager. She'd tell you face to face that she would take care of things, but then didn't follow through. I know Covid time is weird, but I still expected more. I have since moved my loved one out, and would not put her back here. Cleanliness was great at first, but really went downhill within a few months time. They were not taking out the trash frequently, and it was just blowing around outside. They also forgot to bring my loved one her food several times when they were bringing it to the rooms once Covid hit.

Response from Garden Village

April 13, 2021

Hello, thank you for your review. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about these concerns and gather further information. Please contact the community directly, they would be happy to speak with you. Thank you

March 31, 2021
Sandy - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
generally concerned

The staff is very nice and they are genuinely concerned about the residence. The food is not very good. Communication is good between the community and the staff. The

March 12, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
I would recommend

We chose Garden Village mainly because of the price, the value for what you get was great. The apartment sizes here vary, the one he is in is big enough for one person. He said that he really enjoys the food provided. They have also been good with communication and keep us informed with newsletters. They have been great to work with and I would recommend them.

March 11, 2021
anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
I would not recommend the Garden Village

The rooms here are pretty average size, i would not recommend this community to others. Garden Village needs more management, i don't believe they are running it 100% due to the new management decisions. The meals here are minimal, there are no choices you either take it or leave it.

Response from Garden Village

April 13, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your review. We take these kind of concerns very seriously and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly for further information to see how we can help. Please contact the management team directly. Thank you

March 5, 2021
Anonymous - Toured community

This facility, independent living is absolutely beautiful, affordable and well-maintained for its age. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. I am happy to say that my father will be living here and enjoying a beautiful view with wonderful staff, nurses and residents to keep him company.

March 4, 2021
Anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
our experience

The food is very bad and their rooms are very small. The staff was very friendly before we moved they were very nice but after we moved in that has not happened. I would not recommend this community.

February 25, 2021
Anonymous - Sibling of resident/client
Verified Review
my review

If there is an issue the communication is not good. They seem to avoid your calls and do not return them. The only response you can get is thru social media. I would not recommend this community due to management.

Response from Garden Village

April 13, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your review. We regret to hear that you have had this experience and would like to get further details on your concerns. Please contact the local team directly, they would be happy to speak with you. Thank you

February 5, 2021
Terry P - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I am glad we were able get our loved one in there

The community is real clean, and the staff members are real good we have not had any problems with them. We do know they have a good amount of activities for the residents to participate in. They are going to have a super bowl party this Sunday, they have an exercise room and a cinema room. There is just all kinds of stuff for them to do.

December 2, 2020
Pam Roesch - Loved one of resident/client
I would recommend, but they need to improve the food (the most important thing)

I would want others to know that my friend here is very involved, she helps a lot of people. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. I do think the appearance of the building itself needs some work. I have seen the menu, the food is not good. They give them very little portions and every night it is the same meal, they do not have a lot of variety. I would recommend for the facility itself, but they need to improve the food quality.

October 14, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Love the environment

We chose Garden Village because it is close to family members. The room sizes are very adequate and spacious, particularly the kitchen. The food is very tasty, they have a lot of variety. The best part about the community so far would be the landscaping, it is very pretty. I would recommend.

August 5, 2020
Cindy Shields

Can't say enough good things about garden village don't know what l Would do if I wasn't here love the activities the food and all the people here

June 4, 2020
Kathie Turner - Loved one of resident/client
Thank goodness for Garden Village!

When my 92-year-old mother fell and was hospitalized for the 4th time within a year, I knew she needed additional help. She had been insistent that her 2-bedroom apartment was just the place for her--but now that she's settled into Garden Village, she is SO happy! She doesn't need to worry about groceries or fixing meals; the laundry area is just down the hall; the staff is superb; the meals are tasty. Some people said, "oh, with COVID-19, this isn't the time to move her into independent living!" Actually, this is *exactly* the time: the staff at Garden Village is taking extraordinary measures to keep their residents safe, and I'm so grateful that she doesn't have to expose herself to the virus by going out. My profound thanks to [names removed], who have made the transition as easy as possible not only for Mother, but also for me.

March 17, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Management slow response to issues

Requesting service for issues inside of room doesn't get resolved in a timely manner.

December 13, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Clean quiet orderly. [Name removed] very knowledgeable about the adult care the business.

August 28, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Staff was very friendly and Sales Leader was knowledgable. Activities were more limited than some of the other facilities I toured. The facility is older and needs to be updated and some attention to maintenance.

Neighborhood around Garden Village

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Garden Village in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Garden Village

Garden Village offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Garden Village has received an average review rating of 4.2 based on 82 reviews. See all reviews.

Similar Senior Communities Near Kansas City, MO

1 / 3

Tiffany Springs Senior Living & Rehab

9101 N Ambassador Dr, Kansas City, MO 64154
$X,XXX+ monthly


(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Riverstone Retirement Resort

9000 North Congress Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64153
$X,XXX+ monthly


(33 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Senior Star at Wexford Place

6500 North Cosby Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64151
$X,XXX+ monthly


(86 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Connect 55+ Kansas City

111 NW 94 St, Kansas City, MO 64155
$X,XXX+ monthly

1bd, 2bd

The Grand Royale (Opening Summer 2021)

2900 NE Kendallwood Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64119
$X,XXX+ monthly


(1 review)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Bristol Manor of Smithville

1502 S Commercial Avenue, Smithville, MO 64089
$X,XXX+ monthly


(11 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Westwood Manor

7115 Stewart Road, Liberty, MO 64068
$X,XXX+ monthly


The Wellington Senior Living (Opening Summer 2022)

1051 Kent St, Liberty, MO 64068
$X,XXX+ monthly

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Victory Hills

1900 North 70th Street, Kansas City, KS 66102
$X,XXX+ monthly


(36 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.