Deer Meadows Retirement Community

8301 Roosevelt Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19152

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Deer Meadows Retirement Community in google map
street view of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

About the community Deer Meadows Retirement Community

At Deer Meadows Retirement Community in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, we are a one-stop shop for your evolving care needs. We offer a wide spectrum of medical care services, so you will never have to worry about moving if your care needs change. From an independent living lifestyle to more advanced nursing services -- we have all you could want for the good times and times of need. Our continuum of care services are unmatched with an ever-growing list of medical and rehabilitative services facilitated by caring and highly-qualified staff. We are a Christian-based community with a mission to care for seniors with respect and dignity, no matter their religion, race, gender, or national origin. All persons are cared for here with compassion and quality services. Contact a Senior Living Advisor today, and see all the ways we can care for you.

Community Services

Attentive and qualified staff are available around all hours of the clock for immediate resident needs. Care is tailored to your needs here, and as your care needs evolve so will the services that come to you. We offer all the services and amenities you could need from an assisted living and memory care community. Residents love our chef-prepared meals,...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care
Independent living

Pricing for Deer Meadows Retirement Community

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Deer Meadows Retirement Community

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Kosher
Vegetarian

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured community

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Transportation at cost
Property convenient to public transit

Services

Beautician

Recreational areas

Swimming pool

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Languages spoken

Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Activities on-site
Activities off-site

Reviews for Deer Meadows Retirement Community

3.6

(35 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.9

Care services

3.6

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

5.0

Activities

3.6

Value for cost

3.7

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 35 reviews
3.0
October 21, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
Our tour experience

Our family had an in person tour and we did not really care for it, the activity area was to far removed from where the residents would stay and the dining room seemed a little dingy. It is an older facility.


5.0
December 17, 2020
Kristina N - Loved one of resident/client
If You're Looking for a Place for Mom Check Out Deer Meadows

Deer Meadows is a wonderful community. The people there really care. The food is really good, and my loved one loves it. Some of the activities include trivia and, along with others for the residents to choose from. My loved one's apartment is wonderful.


5.0
October 29, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Overall community is good, and would recommend

We have only seen a little bit of this community so far due COVID, but staff members have been really good and helpful especially during this time. Their communication has been great, first they were sending us emails about what is going on weekly, and now it is bi-weekly. From our understanding our loved one is being well taken care of. The helpfulness really stood out to us, and one of the main reason our loved one chose this place, was because it is more of the independent style of living, and they don't have to move if they started to need more care, the care services come to them.


5.0
October 9, 2020
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Review of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

Very welcoming. Clean, friendly staff. Moving my mom to the community.


3.0
September 3, 2020
Judy - Loved one of resident/client
My familie's experience

Most of the staff was been very friendly, however there is a language barrier which makes communication a little difficult and makes things more complicated. As far as the community in general the reason we picked it was there was a lot included in the price, but after awhile they started to raise the rates. Since we aren't able to see our loved one we are depending a lot on the communication there to keep us updated. This community is all on one floor which makes it accessible to the residents in a wheel chair or a walker. His room is a decent size, it has a decent layout. Our loved one loves the bingo and card games that are offered.


2.0
September 3, 2020
Anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

This is a lovely place to see — kept quite well. At this time and since there has been lockdown of course, it is very different — like a ghost town — no activities, no opportunity to exercise which has increased my disabilities. The aides are wonderful. The food is terrible. I thought it was bad when I first came 1.5 years ago; but it is pretty much unbelievable or hardly there. I, personally eat mostly toast, coffee.


1.0
September 3, 2020
Mrs. Eileen R. Boyce - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

Nice employees. Everyone nice to an old lady! I have a small apt. I keep it clean myself. There are 8 large apts. on the 5th floor, full kitchens, large ref, stove, dishwasher, 1.5 bathrooms, 1-2 bedrooms, they do not pay what the cruel, mean, uncaring administrator [name removed] priced my apt. when I came here, [date reomoved], 1 yr. feels like 10 yrs. I have a heart condition, my R/B is 2,760 a month. I do not eat any food, it tastes terrible! This [name removed] refuses to lower my rent, my [name removed] passed away after Dementia [date removed]. Shame to give this whole federal employee pension and S.S. to live here. I am going to sue this dump. I will not allow [name removed] to kill me from stress. She doesn't care! I know the owners are for rich men from N.Y. I will sue them also! Please help me I am 85 yrs old!


5.0
September 3, 2020
Bentley G. Baker Sr. - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

5+ months of living here with a lot of good experiences. I highly recommend it to everyone.


5.0
September 3, 2020
Margaret Gibsons - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Review of Deer Meadows Retirement Community

I have my nice apartment. I find it hard to stay with all these problems we have now.


5.0
August 10, 2020
Kalisha Le’Sha - Loved one of resident/client
Beautiful Environment

Deer Meadows is a beautiful environment the staff is amazing my grandmother loves it she said it feels like family, and the food ! Delicious, and did I mention quiet and peaceful like a summer breeze.


4.0
June 5, 2020
Betty Miller - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Efficient

The area where my mother is is always very clean, the rest of the community, however can get dirty. The staff is very nice. From what I have seen, the care my mother is receiving is very good. They do a really good job with working through some of her behaviors. The food could be improved, however the activities are pretty good. Deer Meadows is a good value for the level of care, especially considering they are slightly less expensive than other communities in the area.


1.0
September 11, 2019
Mike jordan - Loved one of resident/client

The critical care was the worst!

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

September 11, 2019

Mike, we truly are sorry if you don't feel like you've had the best experience here. Please reach out, and we'll do our best to accommodate you. Thank you for your patience.


0.5
August 26, 2019
Anonymous - Resident/client
Behavioral health is not contractual in A lot of nursing homes. Beware

This institution is very deceptive. My parent went there for physical rehab could not return home in their care plan it was not followed when upper mgt came in they said after taking all Moms funds that they had no contract to service behavioral health which was my mothers medical issue [name removed] came in from their side to back us Be ware of places that say they help elders but only lie to get all their funds and your love still remains very ill this matter us called breach of contract and it will cause medical fiscal emotional pain for years to come for the whole family Shame on you Deer Meadows and corporate staff for your greed and unkindness to our elderly community particular our elderly with behavioral health issues like depression.

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

September 13, 2019

We are terribly sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your experience here. We do our best to make sure each and every resident receives the care and service they deserve. Please reach out to us so we can make it up to you. Thank you for your patience and understanding.


1.0
August 4, 2019
Linda - Loved one of resident/client
Stay away!!!!

Please beware! My friend was there for a week after a lung transplant. They neglected to give her the anti rejection meds! Thank goodness her doctor caught it by reviewing her blood work and she was taken out of there immediately! How could they neglect giving her such a critical medication? How does that even happen?! It’s frightening and unfathomable. ????????????????????

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

October 24, 2019

Linda, we are sadden to hear that you did not have the best experience at our facility. Please contact us so we can make it up to you.


4.5
May 7, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Highly recommend

Excellent and caring staff on all levels. Full range of care depending on needs. Many activites available for residents to participate in. Clean, well lit, secure, and friendly. Highly recommend

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

May 13, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the support here at Deer Meadows.


5.0
April 3, 2019
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

Wonderful retirement Community

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

April 5, 2019

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback.


5.0
July 3, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Clean, well lit, friendly staff and residents, nice size rooms, full calendar of events, answered all questions, easily accessible.

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

September 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Here at Deer Meadows we do our best to make you feel at home and we are so glad you are enjoying your experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated.


4.0
November 27, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

Large community offering various levels of care based on need. Our tour was conducted by a member of the security team and included each building and touched on many of the services, activity areas, dining, etc. Definitely a consideration.

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

May 14, 2019

Thank you for your response!


3.0
August 28, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Not inviting

This community did not seem as clean as the community we chose. This is an older community. The person that took us on tour was friendly. I did not think this community would work for my loved one.

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

September 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Here at Deer Meadows we are constantly improving our ways to make sure everyone feels comfortable and satisfied. We really appreciate you providing your feedback, and we apologize if you didn't feel it was a good fit for your loved one. Please reach out if there is anything we can do to help!


4.0
August 15, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Location Has A Gift Shop

This community is a beautiful property. However, it is rather large and I was a little concerned that my aunt might not get the one on one attention that she needed. With being such a large community I found the rooms to be a little smaller than some of the other communities we looked at. One of the features this community offered was a gift shop which I thought was a nice feature. The staff seemed friendly and nice and interacted with the residents.

Response from Deer Meadows Retirement Community

September 5, 2018

Thank you for your review. Here at Deer Meadows we are known for providing our undivided attention to each and every one of our residents. We really appreciate you giving us your feedback. Let us know if we can improve your experience here in any way!


Neighborhood around Deer Meadows Retirement Community

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Deer Meadows Retirement Community in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Deer Meadows Retirement Community

Deer Meadows Retirement Community offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Deer Meadows Retirement Community has received an average review rating of 3.6 based on 35 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Philadelphia, PA

1 / 3

Wesley Enhanced Living Pennypack Park

8401 Roosevelt Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19152
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The Estates

1304 Rhawn St, Philadelphia, PA 19111
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(5 reviews)

1bd, 2bd

Holy Redeemer Lafayette

8580 Verree Rd, Philadelphia, PA 19111
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(2 reviews)

1bd, 2bd, Studio

Wesley Enhanced Living Burholme

7040 Oxford Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19111
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(15 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Paul's Run

9896 Bustleton Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19115
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(27 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private, 2bd

Oakwood Residence

2109 Red Lion Road, Philadelphia, PA 19115
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.5

(12 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Manor & Manor Court

753 Welsh Rd, Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006
$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Artis Senior Living of Huntingdon Valley

2085 Lieberman Dr, Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(15 reviews)

Studio

Sunrise of Abington

1801 Susquehanna Road, Abington, PA 19001
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.