In the heart of Florida’s horse country, you’ll find Brookdale Paddock Hills. The tree-lined paths, acres of nature, and an abundance of outdoor recreational opportunities are only the beginning of the wonders you’ll discover in Ocala, Florida. Located just a short drive from the University of Florida, with its many amenities including Shands Hospital and the Florida Museum of Natural History, there’s a peaceful atmosphere with town conveniences.
From research-based memory care services to hands-on assisted living care services, you’ll find great, customizable care available for every resident. Our staff is ready to assist you in a wide variety of tasks, like dressing, personal hygiene, mobility, medication assistance, and much more.
You’ll have the care that you need, when you need it. If you’re seeking memory care services, our Clare Bridge program can help you find a sense of belonging and purpose while also helping preserve who you are. Using discussions, brain games, and our B-Fit program, daily structure is provided to maintain your abilities and encourage the use of your current skills.
Whether you’re sitting with a quiet book in our comfortable community room or meeting friends for a stroll in the courtyard, you’ll feel at home...
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Devotional Services Onsite
Indoor Common Areas
Outdoor Common Areas
Meals & dining
Value for cost
Our family had an in person tour and right off the bat we knew this was not the community for our loves ones. The carpets were dirty, it was very dark and dreary, just horrible.
Response from Brookdale Paddock HillsSeptember 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to visit and share your feedback. We are committed to continuous quality service and care and will share your feedback with our management team.
Our Grandfather like the Brookdale Paddock community, although he does complain about the food. He says they get turkey sandwiches every day for dinner so it gets repetitive. Also the activities are still pretty limited, but the community is very clean and well managed.
[name removed] is great! Natalie is great as well, and the lady that helped us get into Brookdale Paddock Hills. I would say without a doubt to go give it a look. My loved one has been very happy here.
From tour to move-in was great. [name removed] was wonderful. Friendly staff.
Brookdale has been great. They have been very attentive to my mother. The food is ok most of the time, but lately it has been particularly bad we think as a result of Covid-19. There has also been a lot of staff turnover as well. The care is ok as well. They do seem a little disorganized, which has caused a problem with medication coordination in the past. Getting billing disputes resolved has also taken a long time, almost 6 months.
Ok, my dad was in the memory care part of the Paddock hills facility. When he first moved in there was a guy named [name removed] who was the manager and he was good. But they made a change in mgmt. and brought in a lady named [name removed] and the place went downhill fast. She is all about the money and not about the care for our loved ones. My sister had to go every other day to make sure my dad ate, she had to clean his room, she had to take his clothes home to wash them. We even had to ask them for toilet paper, of all things. He did not like their food, which did not look very appetizing, so we also had to bring him food. A lady that was in the memory care part fell and had two black eyes and they would not let her go in her room so she would sit outside her room and yell very loud H E L P for hours. We would go to see my dad and if it was a couple days since last time we were there we would find several plates of un-ate meals in his room. They quit giving him his meds because they say he refused them and they can only try to get him to take his meds 3 times per day and if he does not take them after the third try they throw the meds for that day in the garbage. Bottom line is if you have a loved one with memory issues and want good care from them stay away from this place. I don't know about the assisted living part but the memory care part of the facility is not good.
Ultimately just too far from where my Dad lives for him to do daily visits with with Mom. It’s an older facility that’s just been renovated. There’s really only one area, divided in 2 for daily activities, plus courtyard and dining room, besides the rooms in Memory Care. Good option though if you’re on a strict budget, accepts Medicaid too. Clean and newly renovated, but smaller facility.
My dad stayed here twice. I paid in advance both times. His first stay was in the main area. It was not bad, and the price was good. There were a few problems. For example, they left urine-filled diapers in his wastebasket instead of disposing of them. His second stay was in the memory care area. It was very different. It was small and dark, and it generally smelled bad. I saw roaches in the dining area, and when I mentioned them to a staffer, she said she would have to contact the people who did pest control. She left the roaches alone as they watched the diners eat. The staffers were friendly, but the atmosphere was sub-par. After my dad left for a better facility, I started getting bills. I called Paddock Hills, and they told me to ignore them. They said they took a long time to deposit checks, and that their computer would keep sending me bogus bills until the checks cleared. After my dad died, I got a notice from a collection agency. I am still getting calls and notices. I checked my account, and I found that Paddock Hills still had not deposited my check. I have a photocopy of the check, proving I gave it to them in advance. They are trying to charge me for an extra day plus hundreds of dollars in collection fees. I had to stop payment on my first check, at a cost of $30. I sent them a new check for the original amount, but they refuse to deposit it unless I remove language indicating the bill is paid in full. They lost my check. They told me to ignore the bills. They sent a collection agency after me. Now they insist on being paid extra for their incompetence. I wouldn't go near this place in the future.
Response from Brookdale Paddock HillsJuly 1, 2019
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. The care and safety of our residents is our top priority, and we are committed to providing quality care and services to them. We encourage you to reach out to State Collection Agency to further discuss any concerns you may have. Thank you.
Reasonably clean, well staffed & on the low end of the prices... Almost to low...
We didn’t move there but stayed for respite care for a week and I would not recommend the place at all.
overall nice facility; however room sizes are a little small and I think at this time my mother is still independent enough that she could be in an independent living facility
My father is definitely thriving at Brookdale Paddock Hills. He's more alert and responsive. I took good care of him when he was in my house but I couldn't give him the interaction with people his own age which he gets at Brookdale. I am happy with my choice. He's in the memory care wing which is a bit harder to deal with. I often find him in clothing that is not his and doesn't fit that well but when I said something about it they immediately made strides to correct the situation. He was never a very outgoing person but he has made friends with the other residents which is more than I expected. He's on a fixed fee for his care which makes the cost more manageable for his depleted finances. Overall I'd say that things are going very very well. Thank you for directing us there.
My husband has lived here since March 2018. He has adjusted well, due to the good care. He has congestive heart failure and dementia (mild). I highly recommend this to anyone looking for loving care.
Visited on [date removed] - The facility was clean, the staff was friendly, the prices were more reasonable than around the villages. I still think that it's too soon for memory care for mom, I will keep this place is in consideration.
Very nice + comfortable + caring people - who I feel take good care of my wife.
This is a well-established community in the SE part of town. The tour was thoroughly adequate, as are the rooms and facilities. I must say the complimentary lunch was less than impressive, though. The tour manager was pretty new, and not yet familiar with the prices of various senior needs beyond the basic room.
Although this facility was not as "chic" as some I have seen in the past I was enamoured with the staff. It was a clean facility and I just felt at home and also felt there was a feeling of warmth from staff to patient and vice Versa. So long story short I signed on with them and [Removed] will be moving there just after mid January.
My Mom is a new resident at this facility. She became a resident during the hurricane mess. They were very accommodating. They were able to get her room set up till I was able to get her furniture there. The complete staff was wonderful in making her comfortable and welcoming and seeing to her needs.
I had a nice and very professional tour with the community. However, the community seemed hospital oriented. Resident were in wheelchairs and walkers and right now he did not need that type of care. They were not the best fit for my dad.
The experience is doing well. I do feel my mother is safe, and in good hands. Everything has worked out well.
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.