Bethany Retirement Community

4950 North Ashland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60640

About the community

Retirement should be a wonderful moment to look forward to. Here at Bethany Retirement Community in Chicago, Illinois, residents are empowered to live their best life. Revel in our quality car that enlivens the whole person via physical, social, and spiritual resources.

Bethany Retirement is a faith-based, non-profit community in proximity to all of Chicago’s greatest attractions, like the Navy Pier, Cloud Deck, SkyDeck Chicago, Field Museum and more. Our location and campus supports an active living atmosphere for residents and their guests. We are also conveniently located close to Methodist’s Hospital of Chicago, offering residents a safety net of 24/7 emergency medical care.

Bethany Retirement operates on our mission, “Called to Care,” which traces back to the Methodist Church. Today, we are home to a variety of faiths, which enriches our congenial, diverse, and understanding environment. With 125 years of service, we are proud to create a community where every resident is welcome. To learn more about our enriching community, contact a Senior Living Advisor at A Place for Mom, today!

Community Options

To ensure optimum physical wellbeing, we provide access to good healthcare and clinical support with licensed nursing and well-trained staff onsite 24/7 around the clock. Our community offers three,...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Independent living

Pricing at Bethany Retirement Community

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities

Health Care Services

Memory care
Ambulatory care
Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Dentist
Have a question?

Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.

(866) 819-9754

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
Restaurant style dining
Organic

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Handicap accessible

Community Amenities

On-site dining options

Café or bistro
Private dining room

Transportation & parking

Resident parking available
Transportation at cost
Property convenient to public transit
Uncovered parking

Pets

Dogs allowed
Cats allowed

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Barber shop
Beauty salon

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Fitness center
Game room
Movie or theater room

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Grocery shopping and errands
Laundry service / drycleaning

Memory care services

Enclosed courtyard
Indoor walking paths
Outdoor walking paths

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Protestant services

Reviews of Bethany Retirement Community

3.9

(33 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.8

Care services

3.8

Staff

No data collected

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

3.9

Value for cost

3.9

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-10 of 33 reviews

4.0
August 13, 2020
Kevin - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A Nice Place

Everyone At Bethany Retirement seems friendly and helpful. The room size and layout of the community is good. My likes the food. They have an outdoor courtyard for residents to use. My mom is happy there.


3.0
June 18, 2020
Anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
Excellent Location

They have new owners. The place is nice. The environment is nice. But it needs some updating. The new administration does not help the residents. The activities are not for independent living. It is a transition right now. They have some remodeling planned. It is an excellent location. They do have transportation.


3.0
June 8, 2020
Louise - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great location, good size rooms, kind staff, icky food.

When the new management took over the food quality went down. The staffing went down as well when the the management changed. Rooms are good size. They have a good value for the neighborhood they are in and what you get for the money. The wellness/ activities director is doing the best she can with the Covid-19 virus. They are doing the best they can.The administrator has never returned my calls. They are not great with communication around working people hours.


3.0
September 5, 2019
Daughter-in-law - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Good activities

Good social programs with several activities and outings- definitely the highlight. Residents complain about food (processed/pre made.) but this is improving gradually. Residents are nice and tend to welcome diversity. Nice facility. Look for increases in rent/care costs over your original quote. Our fees increased nearly 50% over the first two years.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Hello and thank you so much for the great comments about our activities and the community!..Regarding increases: Our rent increases are competitive with other communities in the area...in fact they are lower...right now the increases are at 4% annually. Please see the administrative office so we can take a look to make sure all is correct. Rents/Fees should not increase by 50% over two years....Thanks so much.


3.0
June 15, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Our tour was great. [name removed] was a good tour guide. We love the free parking for residents and visitors. You can walk from the parking lot to the Center while being inside for most of the walk by cutting through the Hospital and though a connecting walkway. It had nice classy remodeling. They are home to a variety of faiths. You can transition to Assisted living with out having to make a move to another location. Typical city views. We did decide on a place by the lake. A Place For Mom Senior Living Advisor [name removed] is a gem and so very awesome. I am so glad she helped us out so comprehensively.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Thank you so much for your nice comments! Much happiness in your new home... :) Annette Murray replied at 2019-09-06 16:43


4.0
November 11, 2018
Patricia Islas - Loved one of resident/client
Good community for my dad

I moved our father in about 5 months ago. He likes the food a lot and the variety they have. We both think the staff are respectful, caring and really try to meet my fathers needs where needed. My father needs a little bit of support with his memory. He currently really likes the memory care staff and classes he takes. I like how Bethany offers a variety of activities for the residents. The staff are diverse. One thing that would be good to offer are excercise classes. And Overall it’s hard to find a place with residents of diverse backgrounds. But overall my father feels really good about Bethany.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Hi Patricia and thank you so much for your kind comments about Bethany Retirement Community! I am so happy your father is adjusting well! We love having him here! Regarding exercise classes: We have four exercise classes weekly in our auditorium. Please check our Activity Calendar or ask for one at our front desk. Thanks again! :)


5.0
September 17, 2018
Kevin Chan - Toured community

Great community with great staff and residents! Highly recommend.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Thank you so much for your nice comments! Much happiness in your new home... :) Annette Murray replied at 2019-09-06 16:43


5.0
October 2, 2017
Marvin - Resident/client
Great Active Community!!!

I have been a resident here for almost a month. I moved here because a neighbor of mine moved here and said great things about it. There are so many things to do! It would be hard to just sit in your apartment....nor would you want to. There are plenty of activities and outings and the staff and residents are wonderful and fun. The food is delicious and the gardens are beautiful! I would encourage everyone to give Bethany Retirement Community a try!

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Thank you Marvin! We love having you here!!


4.0
July 25, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Experience was A Nice One

This is a nice facility, and our tour of it went very well. The staff we met was polite, and informative. Our questions were answered. The community looked nice, and well-kept from what we saw. The experience went well, and everyone was kind to my family, and I.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

September 6, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope you have made the choice of Bethany Retirement Community as your new home!


5.0
April 17, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A community for care

We toured this community. We did visit and were going to move in, but there were some changes. The community is clean and maintained. The staff is so attentive and caring. They offer a nice variety of meals that are offered and a variety. They offer a lot of nice activities that would be nice if she is able to move in later on. We would recommend this community for the nice care and a good value for others.

Response from Bethany Retirement Community

April 21, 2017

Hello! Thank you so much for your nice comments! We really appreciate it! Feel free to come and visit us soon again as we have updated our first floor lobby area. I hope we are able to help your loved one at another time. We hope to see you again soon! Annette - Sales/Marketing Director :)


Frequently Asked Questions

Bethany Retirement Community offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Bethany Retirement Community has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 33 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar Senior Communities Near Chicago, IL

1 / 3

The Selfhelp Home

908 W. Argyle Street, Chicago, IL 60640
(6 reviews)

The Admiral at the Lake

929 W Foster Ave, Chicago, IL 60640

The Breakers at Edgewater Beach

5333 North Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60640
(74 reviews)

Covenant Home of Chicago

2720 W Foster Ave, Chicago, IL 60625
(11 reviews)

Senior Suites Ravenswood Manor

2800 West Montrose Avenue, Chicago, IL 60618
(16 reviews)

Artis Senior Living of Lakeview

3535 N Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
(14 reviews)

Paul House and Healthcare Center

3800 North California Ave, Chicago, IL 60618
(17 reviews)

Renaissance Saint Luke

1501 W Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL 60657
(5 reviews)

Brookdale Lake View

3121 North Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60657
(81 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

Contact Us
701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.