A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

Atria Hillcrest

405 Hodencamp Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Atria Hillcrest Community Building
Atria Hillcrest in google map
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
extremely kind and helpful

What really stands out about Atria Hillcrest is the care and friendliness of the entire staff. They always have a big smile on, and are extremely kind and helpful. The staff is really the best thing about the place. I was very impressed with them. The food is very good also. The place itself has been refurbished and looks and smells as good as new. It is a very nice and well organized care facility.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community Atria Hillcrest

Discover exciting NEW enhancements at Atria Hillcrest in Thousand Oaks, California, including a custom-designed movie theater, upgraded spa offering manicures and pedicures, a modern bistro, redesigned patio and outdoor dining, custom fitness center, visiting physician's exam room, library, WiFi, and a Saflok security system. We are also proud to introduce our new Life Guidance memory care neighborhood on-site, where we provide innovative, specialized care in a secure, structured setting for those living with Alzheimer's or other forms of dementia.

Beautiful Atria Hillcrest is a comfortable, elegant community tucked away among oak trees in sunny California. Recently remodeled, Atria Hillcrest features serene gardens and walking paths as well as a complete social calendar, including weekly happy hours. Atria Hillcrest is also just one hour from downtown Los Angeles.

Community Services and Amenities

Atria Hillcrest maintains a vibrant environment where services and amenities are readily available to all residents, and engagement is encouraged every day. Residents can always enjoy congregating with friends and neighbors in our comfortable common areas, getting a fresh haircut at our beauty salon and barber shop, watching a film in the movie theater, or even taking a stroll in our expansive courtyard. We offer complimentary transportation as well, so residents can...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Pricing for Atria Hillcrest

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Atria Hillcrest

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Memory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice Available On-Site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Anytime Dining
Guest Meals
Professional Chef

Room Amenities

Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground Floor Units
Private patio, deck, or balcony
Cable or Satellite TV

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Enclosed Courtyard
Indoor Walking Paths

Transporation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Uncovered Parking

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Beauty Salon
Computer or Media Center

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Pets

Cats Allowed
Dogs Allowed

Languages spoken

Farsi

On-site dining options

Café or Bistro
Private Dining Room

Recreational areas

Fitness Center
Game Room
Golf Course or Putting Green
Movie or Theater Room

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Catholic Services
Jewish Services

Reviews for Atria Hillcrest

4

(43 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.1

Care services

4.0

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

4.3

Activities

4.0

Value for cost

3.8

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 43 reviewsBack to top
4.5
August 4, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
very good

My mother stayed at Atria Hillcrest for about a month for respite care and they were very good. It would be a different experience if she had her own room and was settled there permanently, but it was good. She enjoyed the food, the activities, and everything.


5.0
June 2, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
extremely kind and helpful

What really stands out about Atria Hillcrest is the care and friendliness of the entire staff. They always have a big smile on, and are extremely kind and helpful. The staff is really the best thing about the place. I was very impressed with them. The food is very good also. The place itself has been refurbished and looks and smells as good as new. It is a very nice and well organized care facility.


3.5
April 14, 2015
anonymous - Toured community

Clean, comfortable, attractive, and friendly. However they do not deliver any medical services. At all. There is NO medical care here. And their communications are abominable. Nobody knows anything, not even about their own policies, and you get a different answer about services and pricing depending on who you ask. However, it is a lovely environment at a good value if all you need is room and board and some basic assistance, such as incontinence care.


4.0
March 18, 2015
Family Member - Resident/client
Nice but very expensive.

My loved one used to live here. It became too expensive, and we couldn't afford it any longer. I felt like they were all about the money. The staff had constant turnover. It was clean, and they had lots of activities, and it was a nice place to live. The money part was just too much.


0.5
September 19, 2014
Laura Cartier - Loved one of resident/client
Run

My Mom has lived in this facility for 11 years. We moved her to the new "Life Guidance" floor last year - she was one of the first residents of the new floor. She has been a guinea pig from the start. The have had five different directors on the floor since it's inception. They have not come through with the level of care that was promised. We are paying $6800 per month - that is "Rolls Royce" level care. We are receiving -at best - Volkswagon level care. The memory care unit is grossly understaffed and staff quits on a weekly basis. (As do there Directors - as I stated above.) Call the Atria and when you are put on hold - listen to their "glowing description" of what the Life Guidance floor has to offer. It is a complete joke. We are currently being forced to relocate my Mother due to the gross lack of care. This is not the caregivers fault - it is management and the lack of hiring competent people who will stay. We have been waiting since September 14th for any one in management to contact us about our concerns. They have not. We went in at 9 am today - there is not one level of management in the entire building - AGAIN. Run, don't walk - to find your loved one a different place. You will be doing your loved one a great service to NOT have them live here.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

September 24, 2014

We apologize for the communication complications you have experienced and welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally to gain a better understanding of your situation. Please reach out via [removed] and if you would kindly include “Atria Hillcrest” in your subject line, we can quickly include the appropriate directors in the correspondence. We are here to help and hope to hear from you soon.


5.0
July 9, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Great place for Mom!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is good with good variety.


5.0
June 13, 2014
Family Member - Toured community
Verified Review
Very nice but a little smaller than the Camarillo location.

This was the smaller of the two Atria communities I considered. I really liked them, it was very nice. The staff I dealt with were very nice as well.


4.5
May 14, 2014
Family Member - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It would be very nice if one is able to participate

It's supposed to be for people who can get around, and my loved one is staying in bed, due to pain. This may not be the best fit because of the activities. It's a lovely place it's very nice, the food is good, the people are nice. They have lots of activities. It's definitely a more independent place. This just might not be the right fit. They don't have a community table, and if you are new you sit by yourself. There is a little bit of initial isolation. It would be very nice if one is able to participate, and they do try to get the residents involved, our loved one just can't participate.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

May 16, 2014

Thank you for writing to share your family members’ experience and I am sorry to hear that they are in such pain. We are hoping this pain will subside and more activity participation will be possible in the future. I apologize for any feelings of isolation during the initial meals and want to let you know that our resident ambassadors will be making it a priority to help your family member feel more comfortable and involved. Please feel free to reach out via [removed] should you have more concerns or feel we can be of further service to you and your family. Also, if you include “Atria Hillcrest” in your subject line, we can quickly include the appropriate directors in the correspondence. Rest assured that we are doing the very best we can for your family member and are here to help!


5.0
April 7, 2014
solo - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Best Find For Mom

Atria was awesome – newly remodeled throughout, excellent staff ( not only the office staff but maintenance,food service,and housekeeping), and had great rooms. We lucked out and did not have to go on a reserve list – one resident was leaving the deluxe 1 bedroom 2 days after Mom’s walk through. They offered us the ground floor unit at a prorated rate for the end of the month and because the previous resident was so long term, they totally redid the inside if the apartment – top to bottom – as well as put in a tub instead of the current shower per my Mom’s request…AT NO EXTRA COST!! The facility/community rep is the best and answered all of our questions and helped during the move in by staying on top of everything. The whole facility is bright, cheerful, and open spaced feeling with nice grounds/walking/sitting areas outside. We are all happy and pleased and although it might seem out of place for Mom as compared to her home, she seems to be really enjoying the transition. Anyway – we all want to THANK YOU again for all of your help in making this tough decision so pleasant for us. You are the best ! Steve and Lisa


4.0
January 9, 2014
Daughter - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Good, but Backbreaking Cost

He's only been there a little while, but two physicians have called and introduced themselves, and anything we need they seem to try and accommodate. They seem to be pretty nice, I have to say. The cost difference between this and the last community is backbreaking, $6000 without furniture, so there is something wrong with every place. So far, though, they have been very nice. On top of paying for them, they recommended a private 24 hour caregiver, and the cost has just skyrocketed. We are really pleased with the caregiver, and we're thinking about just moving him back home since he isn't doing the activities and really isn't getting anything extra out of being there.


5.0
January 7, 2014
Wife - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Lovely Place

He was only there five days and they were wonderful. It wasn't anything they did, just a family struggle that made him have to leave. I just loved it though; one would he the staff, two would be the cleanliness, and three the facility was lovely.


5.0
January 3, 2014
Family - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It's good, it's going well.

It's good, it's going well. My mom is happy there. They make it clear what's included in the price. I would like to see a little more variety in the activities. I think the food is very good, I've tried it a few times. I think the warmth and caring of the staff and the friendliness of the residents, felt different than the others I visited, and that is why I chose this over others that I saw.


1.0
November 15, 2013
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Atria's Memory Care Facilit...

Atria's Memory Care Facility seemed to be the best choice for us at the time, however, they promised a lot and did not deliver. They are not able to accommodate our mom's specialized needs, and we are now looking for another home.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

November 19, 2013

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with our community. Every new resident receives an assessment when they move-in and periodically during his or her stay. These assessments help us tailor services to each resident’s unique needs. If the level of care necessary exceeds what we are able to provide, we like to work with the family as they locate a new residence. We would like to discuss your concerns in more detail. Please contact us at [removed] and include the Atria community name in your subject line. We look forward to speaking with you.


4.5
October 2, 2013
Corinne - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
One Issue - Otherwise Everything is Great!

Everything is good. I did just have one thing I didn't like. The reason I don't give them a 5 is because I had an issue that came up recently. Dad has been there for almost two months now. He is getting showers three times a week. The other day I helped him get dressed and I noticed that his toe nails were just out of control and no one had done anything about it. They must have seen them when they were helping him shower. I was pretty upset about that. Otherwise the food is great, place is great and they're very kind to him. He doesn't' know where he is but that's okay; he didn't know where he was when he was at home either. He definitely is being taken care of. The place is practically brand new and I like the shared room set up.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

October 30, 2013

"I’m glad to hear that your family has had a pleasant experience overall with our community, and I would like to address the concern you mentioned in your review. I apologize that you did not receive a notification that your dad’s nails were in need of maintenance. Although our staff does not provide nail care services, we do have a full service salon where an appointment can be made, or you may schedule a visit with your father’s podiatrist. If we can answer any questions, please contact our community directly at [removed] or via email at [removed], and be sure to include the Atria community name in your subject line.


3.0
August 14, 2013
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I feel like I'm fighting with them everyday!

It's beautiful. The rooms are new, it's clean and for the most part, the staff is friendly. There have been a lot of hiccoughs and growing pains since my mom moved in. My mom was the second person to move in to their memory care unit and one of the last to get her name on the door. It's a constant battle with the medication and them not doing it right. It's a challenge to keep her occupied and engaged. They assured me that they would keep her busy and maybe for and 87 year old they are keeping them busy but for a 68 year old, she has too much free time. It's been a really really rough three months. I feel like I'm fighting with them everyday. They're taking pretty good care of her overall (she's safe, bathed, fed) but what they sold us on is not what they delivered. If she wasn't settled in I would move her. He doctors don't think that's a good idea right now.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

October 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our deepest apologies for any confusion with your mother’s medications and activities. We will certainly discuss your review with the appropriate staff to ensure that her medicines are being delivered accurately according to the prescriptions. We will also consider her engagement in the activities offered to see where improvements might be made. We offer between nine and eleven events in our memory care neighborhood each day and we encourage residents to participate if they are willing. We would appreciate you contacting us at [removed] so that we can continue this conversation and make things better for your family (please be sure to include the Atria community name in the subject line).


4.0
August 14, 2013
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Like the layout

Like the layout


4.0
August 7, 2013
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
it was a lovely facility, t...

it was a lovely facility, they are going through some heavy indoor reconstruction...so it is a little upside down in there, but they are saying it should all be done by october. There was a little bit of pressure to get my Father in law NOW before the rates go up after the upgrades finish...but ultimately it was too far in Thousand Oaks and he prefers to stay in Vegas.


4.0
August 5, 2013
Marie - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great staff!

When I initially started working with my advisor, Shirley, and she set up the initial visit (fall of last year), I met with a gentleman at the time and he followed up with us for several months. When the time came for my father to move in, there was a different person in his position but both were great. There have been a lot of administration changes recently but things have still been fine. Currently my dad doesn't need a lot of care, but what he has been getting is fine and there is a nice variety of activities. I have only had one item of concern that I brought to the attention of one of the administrators and she addressed both my initial concern and my follow-up question right away. I wish there hadn't been a concern but the way she handled it was great!


5.0
June 23, 2013
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Gorgeous and less expensive...

Gorgeous and less expensive than either the Grand Oaks or Belmont. Newly rennovated and has wifi in every room (this was the only place that offered that). Great food and eating area. No pool; however, they go to a pool twice a week and have several other outings. Theatre and library. The upgrades made me see myself living there which was interesting - perhaps it was the 10 massive Oaks that appeared to be quite old and protected. Putting green and whatever care is needed is provided discretely in your apartment - no need to move as your needs change. I was very impressed!


3.0
December 27, 2012
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Visit scheduled for Friday at 10am. A...

Visit scheduled for Friday at 10am. Apparently no separate facilities for Dementia patients.

Response from Atria Hillcrest

May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope that you enjoyed your visit with us and I wanted to let you know that we recently opened our new Life Guidance® memory care program for those living with Alzheimer’s or other types of dementia. In addition, we have also restyled our restaurant with al fresco dining options and added a custom-designed movie theater, a new technology center and universal Wi-Fi, and an upscale spa – all on-site. I hope that you will visit us again soon and if you have any questions, please email us at [removed] and include the Atria community name in your subject line.


Neighborhood around Atria Hillcrest

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Atria Hillcrest

Atria Hillcrest offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Atria Hillcrest has received an average review rating of 4 based on 43 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Thousand Oaks, CA

1 / 3

Pacifica Senior Living: Riverside Legacies Memory Care

6280 Clay Street, Riverside, CA 92509

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(209 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Our memory care community offers six different cottages with specialty care for both high and low functioning Dementia. The unique cottage style offers a cozy family style environment which transitions our residents from their family home to our compassionate Pacifica Riverside family. Our...

Pacifica Senior Living Northridge

8700 Lindley Ave, Northridge, CA 91325

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(178 reviews)

Studio, 2bd, Semi-Private

We Put the CARE in Memory Care' identifies us for a reason! Our roots go back more than 20 years. Our Memory Care Only community was defined and established as a labor of love with a single focus to serve our precious seniors with dementia to the best of our abilities. Many years later, we have...

Pacifica Senior Living Hillsborough

11918 Central Avenue, Chino, CA 91710

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(142 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Pacifica Senior Living Hillsborough provides a full range of choices for today's seniors. Choosing a senior living community represents a lifestyle choice and we understand that our residents are choosing much more than a comfortable living environment to call home. Our community delivers...

Lakewood Park Manor

12045 South Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90242

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(130 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Lakewood Park Manor is a fully licensed independent and assisted living facility. Situated in Downey, we feature first class accommodations and personalized service packages created for each resident. Our services include assistance with dressing, personal hygiene, medication administration, more...

Pacifica Senior Living Oxnard

2211 E Gonzales Rd, Oxnard, CA 93036

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.9

(120 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Pacifica Senior Living Oxnard, an award-winning full-service luxury senior apartment community located in beautiful Oxnard, CA. Our assisted living apartments and exquisite memory care neighborhood offers luxurious care, peace of mind, and maximum comfort tailored to the needs of each...

Pacifica Senior Living Chino Hills

6500 Butterfield Ranch Road, Chino Hills, CA 91709

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(113 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Right Place. The Right Choice. Welcome Home! At Pacifica Chino Hills we are proud to offer a full-service retirement community specializing in assisted living and memory care. The community is an intimate 2-story building nestled in the heart of Chino Hills, with easy freeway access to the...

Meridian at Anaheim Hills

525 South Anaheim Hills Road, Anaheim Hills, CA 92807

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(103 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Located in prestigious Anaheim Hills, California, The Meridian At Anaheim Hills is a full-service, resort-style retirement community. Whether you are rediscovering what retirement means to you, or looking for a home that provides continuing care, The Meridian At Anaheim Hills has innovative...

Atria Del Sol

23792 Marguerite Parkway, Mission Viejo, CA 92692

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(86 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Atria Del Sol is an inviting senior living residence serving active older adults. In addition to independent and assisted living options, our thoughtfully designed community now offers Life Guidance, Atria's innovative memory care program for residents with Alzheimer's or other forms of...

Valley Crest Memory Care

18524 Corwin Road, Apple Valley, CA 92307

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(81 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Valley Crest Memory Care located in Apple Valley, California, offers a distinctive approach to specialized memory care. We provide a safe, secure and compassionate home for your loved one. From cozy rooms, to peaceful gardens and home-cooked meals, you have peace of mind knowing your loved one is...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.