The Hearth at Gardenside

173 Alps Road, Branford, CT 06405


About the community The Hearth at Gardenside

The Hearth provides the area's top care programs, activities, and services at a price point that creates an unparalleled value and unforgettable experience.
At The Hearth at Gardenside, you'll enjoy gracious living, engaging activities and delicious Hearth-Healthy dining options on 19 wooded acres, just minutes from historic downtown Branford, CT. Branford's exquisite location on Long Island Sound makes it a quintessential New England town. Offering a sparkling shoreline, lovely beaches, abundant gourmet restaurants, the historic Blackstone Memorial Library, the church-lined town green, and a bustling town center, Branford residents are proud of its New England heritage.

We offer a complete range of senior living options to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. From independent living for those who want to enjoy an active, fulfilling life without the worries of home maintenance, to assisted living and memory care for those who require a little extra support€”it's all designed to help you Live More and achieve wellness in every aspect of your life.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care
Independent living

Pricing for The Hearth at Gardenside

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at The Hearth at Gardenside

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Dentist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
International cuisine
Professional chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground floor units
Handicap accessible

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Wander guard or similar system available
Secured community
Designed specifically to accommodate memory loss
Enclosed courtyard

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Transportation at cost
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Main street shops
Barber shop

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Languages spoken

Italian
Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

On-site dining options

Bar or pub
Private dining room

Recreational areas

Billiards lounge
Fitness center
Game room
Piano or organ

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Catholic services

Reviews for The Hearth at Gardenside

3.9

(17 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.9

Care services

3.7

Staff

4.8

Meals & dining

4.8

Activities

3.9

Value for cost

3.8

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-17 of 17 reviews
5.0
March 5, 2021
Diane W. - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of The Hearth at Gardenside

I love Gardenside! I have the ability to be me and enjoy each day. I look forward to the activities to keep busy.


5.0
March 5, 2021
Rose S. - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of The Hearth at Gardenside

I have been enjoying my stay at Gardenside. It is lovely! I am happy that I met new friends!


5.0
March 5, 2021
Ann W. - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of The Hearth at Gardenside

Greenside is a delightful residence. I enjoy the delicious meals prepared or my by Chef [name removed]. New friendships have been established and old ones renewed.


4.0
March 5, 2021
Margaret B. Clancy - Resident/client
Verified Review
Review of The Hearth at Gardenside

I believe this is an excellent assisted living facility for many reasons. First, its location off Rt. 1 is so easily reached. It is near stores and entertainment such as The Kate theater named after Katharine Hepburn. It is close to Yale museums and the seashore. Besides offering excellent activities and food, the van provides scenic & out-trip rides and transportation to doctor appointments.


3.0
November 16, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Our experience at The Hearth

Our loved one contract a bad virus while he was at the community, he ended up going to the hospital for about a week, The community then shut down and quarantined after he got sick. It was stressful and they were not very communicative at all, and it was just a bad experience.


4.0
September 10, 2020
Steve - Loved one of resident/client
Safe Guarding Your Loved One

We were there for 13 months. I feel that they did a good job of caring for my loved one. The distance was difficult for the family to go visit of our loved one. The experience overall was good. There were daily activities for residents. Due to my loved one being a fall risk, the community kept her in the dining room to participate in activities and keep watch over her.


3.0
September 10, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
An Experience of a More Active Elder

I would tell my friends that it isn't a place for someone who is active. This is a community that provides more support for those needing more care. If you have a loved one who is more active there isn't much for overall interaction. The room my loved one is in is an efficiency room. The cleaning has been wonderful. The window is bright. Everything has been a la cart and my loved one does their own laundry. You can pay for this service if you would like. The food is prepared, and bland due to dietary restrictions, according to my loved one, due to other residents. I have eaten the food and I've never had any complaints. This community in my opinion has done a great job in managing the global pandemic. We haven't been able to see my loved one due to the restricted visiting hours during the day. However we appreciate this to keep the residents safe.


4.0
April 17, 2020
John Dix - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
We are Satisfied, Mom is Happy

The Hearth at Gardenside is a very comfortable community. People there are attentive. The community is actually more elegant than we expected. Room sizes are good, food is excellent. My only concern is that they do not fully understand this virus.


3.5
April 14, 2020
Paul Neri - Toured community

It's too hard to review at this point as my brother was hardly in for a few weeks before he was sheltered in place with the rest of the residents in their respective rooms. Before the lockdown my brother was starting to like it and integrate.


0.5
September 13, 2018
Margaret - Loved one of resident/client
Watch out!

The grounds outside are fairly nice but the Building is not very clean... & upper management is terrible. The memory care side of the facility is just embarrassing... they feed them terrible food. The patients are clearly not being cared for well. There is better options if you care for your elderly relative!

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

September 25, 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Hearth at Gardenside. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out to us at [removed]. We look forward to hearing from you. -The Hearth at Gardenside


2.0
September 10, 2018
Cla - Loved one of resident/client
Experience

I have a relative thetr and staff is pretty good. Only problem is if you have medications distributed you may get wrong one or they do not order before last pill is distributed. In addition oifvyou are ambulatory and don’t need a lot of assistance, there isn’t much to do. Only bingo every day .0n weekends they give a scenic ride to beaches and parks but they aren’t allowed off bus! For what they pay per month not worth it

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

September 25, 2018

Hi there, I would like to get some more details about your experience with us. Please contact us at [removed] so we can work with you to make this right.


5.0
April 20, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Top contender

It was very pretty here. It was a good contender. We decided against it because the price was a little too high. It was also newly built and there wasn't many residents. I felt this wouldn't allow for much socialization.

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

June 19, 2017

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Hearth at Gardenside! Thank you for your review and for your feedback.


4.0
April 20, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Some improvements needed

Somethings get forgotten over there. There is a huge difference between the staff during the week and on the weekends. The staff on the weekends has less supervision and spends a lot of time on their cell phones. It's nothing dangerous but there could be more attentiveness. The food is okay, there's two options which is fine but the food isn't cooked right there and is cold a lot of the time. One night they had the option of pot roast or pizza. The pot roast dish had vegetables but the pizza was just pizza, nothing else. They could have at least served it with green or something.

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

October 23, 2018

Hello, thank you for sharing your positive experience! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!


4.0
July 6, 2016
Anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review

I am very happy in this facility.It was my choice to come here and had no trouble making the move from Missouri to Branford. I love the social gatherings and the opportunity to meet so many new people.Activities are interesting and there are wide variety .Overall gardenside provides a comfortable caring atmosphere.I would have no problem recommending gardenside to someone looking for a "new home"

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

July 15, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience with us at The Hearth at Gardenside and are very happy to have you as part of our Hearth family! Thanks Again, Melissa Boyle, Executive Director


5.0
April 17, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I would rate them very highly overall.

I would rate them very highly overall. It's clean and the staff is friendly. There is plenty to do, and we don't really have any complaints at this time.

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

June 17, 2016

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you have had a positive experience with us here at The Hearth at Gardenside! Sincerely, Melissa Boyle, Executive Director


5.0
May 8, 2014
Family Member - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It's a wonderful place. She loved, them.

It's a wonderful place. She loved, them. I give them a five. There really isn't anything I think should be done differently or better. We were only there a short time, less than a month, but they did a good job while we were there.

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

June 17, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with us! Sincerely, Melissa Boyle, Executive Director


5.0
March 25, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Enjoyment & Rewards for the Later Years

The Hearth@ Gardenside is like a resort when you walk through the doors. It is bright, warm & and a welcoming environment. There are people around & activities going on all the time. Mom loves it here & she was hesitant at first. Once she got involved with different activities (w/in the 1st week) she is never in her apartment. And the nice thing is that there are no worries either as we know that she is well cared for. She has enjoyed bingo, wii bowling, the live entertainment & even the weekly happy hour for the residents. She came from a 55+ condo environment where she sat in her unit all day - now you need to make an appointment with her just to chat on the phone. We looked at other places in the area but none compared to this. Yes there were things that we liked - larger unit size maybe- but after being here for 2 months the 1 bedroom is perfect.

Response from The Hearth at Gardenside

June 17, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that your mother has had a positive experience with us here at The Hearth at Gardenside! Sincerely, Melissa Boyle, Executive Director


Neighborhood around The Hearth at Gardenside

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hearth at Gardenside

The Hearth at Gardenside offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

The Hearth at Gardenside has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 17 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Branford, CT

1 / 3

The Village at Mariners Point

111 South Shore Drive, East Haven, CT 06512
(20 reviews)

Cedar Woods

80 Cedar Street, Branford, CT 06405
(30 reviews)

The Mary Wade Home - Boardman Residence

118 Clinton Ave, New Haven, CT 06513

Artis Senior Living of Branford

814 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405
(5 reviews)

Solstice Senior Living at Guilford

201 Granite Road, Guilford, CT 06437
(25 reviews)

Meadow Mills

153 Leeder Hill Dr, Hamden, CT 06517
(9 reviews)

Atria Larson Place

1450 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT 06517
(32 reviews)

Maplewood at Orange

245 Indian River Road, Orange, CT 06477
(24 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.