Standish Village

1190 Adams Street, Boston, MA 02124

Over 300,000 Families Helped

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Get Started for FREE, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Standish Village in google map
street view of Standish Village

About the community Standish Village

Standish Village offers local seniors service-enriched Assisted Living and a state-of-the-art Compass Memory Support Neighborhood featuring innovative, research-based programming for those with memory loss developed in affiliation with the Boston University School of Medicine Alzheimer's Disease Center.

The community boasts 85 spacious rental apartments and is located in the heart of the historic Lower Mills neighborhood which borders Dorchester, MA, and Milton, MA. The neighborhood includes a variety of retail shops, restaurants and bakeries all within walking distance. Residents enjoy an enriching, supportive lifestyle with personalized services, innovative EnrichedLIFE programming, a fine dining experience featuring their award-winning Brain Healthy Cooking Program, and upscale amenities.

Standish Village is owned and managed by Massachusetts-based Senior Living Residences, 'The Right Values Company' with a proven 20-year reputation among professional referral sources, residents and families for quality care and services, innovation and integrity.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing for Standish Village

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Standish Village

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Dentist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
International cuisine
Professional chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Kitchenette
Ground floor units
Air conditioned

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured community
Designed specifically to accommodate memory loss
Enclosed courtyard

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Beauty salon
Computer or media center

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Languages spoken

French
Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

On-site dining options

Bar or pub
Café or bistro
Private dining room

Recreational areas

Game room
Piano or organ
Raised garden beds

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Catholic services

Reviews for Standish Village

3.8

(12 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.0

Care services

3.8

Staff

No data collected

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

3.8

Value for cost

3.7

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-12 of 12 reviews
4.0
May 6, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
Would recommend

The facility is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and they communicate very well. However, they could improve on their orientation schedule for those who have mild dementia. Not for the memory care unit, but for regular assisted living.


1.0
May 30, 2017
Wendy Rojas - Loved one of resident/client
[Removed]

At first we thought my Mom was happy here then as she needed more assistance Aides began taking advantage and [Removed] her. I witnessed first hand three separate Aides giving my elderly her fallen pills from the floor. When two of the Aides were confronting me and when I reported this to top Administration at the location, I was thanked for pointing this out because there is not a written rule to not give pills off the floor! So they have Aides attend a handwashing in service but they need a written rule for not giving pills off the floor?! Absolutely disgusting! At the end of my Mom's stay she said she felt the Aides did not care. Really sad.

Response from Standish Village

June 20, 2017

When this incident occurred two years ago, ?we took immediate steps to retrain our staff in our policies and procedures regarding our medication management service. We do indeed have a written procedure for handling a situation when ?residents or staff inadvertently drop a pill ?on the floor. Our medication management service is called SAMM (self administered medication management), which means that our resident care aides hand residents their medications, along with a glass of water, and the residents take their pills themselves. When pills are dropped by an aid or a resident, residents then have the ?option to ?be given new medications. I am disturbed and? sorry that your Mom felt that ?any member of our staff was uncaring.? This is what causes me the most angst about your review. We try very hard to hire only the best - people who have compassion for the elderly and treat them with dignity and respect at all times. We provide continuous training for our staff in every department at our communities to make sure they are upholding our Right Values which puts Resident Quality of Life as our number one priority. I would hate to think that any resident in any community would not feel completely supported, appreciated and valued. I will personally revisit this with the staff who took care of your Mom two years ago. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this privately. -Robert Larkin, President, Senior Living Residences [removed]


5.0
May 27, 2017
Larry Feeney
Verified Review
A Safe Harbor

Client is very happy. Place is well run and all appear very concerned about residents. I have confidence it was a good decision.


3.0
May 26, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

We have had some kind caregivers for our family member over the last few years. The current director [Removed] is very difficult to work with. We have found her to be rigid and at times unprofessional. She has made a very difficult situation so much more stressful and overwhelming. Not a good fit for us.

Response from Standish Village

June 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our community. I appreciate that you mentioned the kind caregivers you have encountered at Standish Village. The wellness team at Standish Village from our Resident Care Director to the wellness nurses and our wonderful group of resident care associates try their best to provide great care and supportive services to residents. We aren’t perfect, but that’s what we strive for. ?I am, however, so sorry that you have not had the same experience working with the community's director.? Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss this privately. My door is always open to residents and their families. -Robert Larkin, President, Senior Living Residences [removed]


4.0
November 9, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
This community was not what I expected!

The administrative staff could improve on their bedside manner. We have had numerous disagreements about the care of my loved one. They seem unprofessional and that it is more about money than the residents. The caregivers that work with my loved one are great. The community is beautiful. They offer a lot of wonderful things. I would move in if I could


4.0
September 1, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A Nice Community, My Tour Went Well

I really enjoyed our tour of this community, it went very well. The staff I met was nice and friendly. Our tour guide was kind and informative. She answered my all questions. The community appeared to be well maintained, everything was nice and clean. It was a very nice tour. This is a good community.


4.5
July 19, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
It Was Lovely

I was able to meet with management who gave me a good tour. I was able to see how lovely it looks. It was clean and I did not see anything to complain about. I only noticed that this community is smaller than other places. I would recommend this community.


4.0
January 14, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Nice looking place!

I toured this community while looking into care options for a loved one. The facility was well kept and clean, and all of the staff I met seemed friendly and professional. However, I don't think this felt quite as "homey" as some others that we toured. We ended up selecting another community, but this is somewhere I would have considered as an option for my loved one.


5.0
July 1, 2015
Kathy Clements - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Standish Village is Home.

My parents recently moved to Standish Village which I can say is the very best thing that could have happened. They have a lovely apartment with bright windows that was completely renovated....lovely facility and gardens.However, As wonderful as the apartment is-It is the wonderful staff that welcomed them in and has made them feel as though they have been there a very long time. Their kindness, respect and care is superior from Matt the resident director, Shari director in Memory care services, Roy, Katie, Suzie all the nursing aides....Anthony the chef and ALL we come in contact with. Standish (Shari) recently planned an occasion to celebrate my parents 60 th anniversary and had a ceremony, wedding cake, champagne and all things celebratory to make this a smashing Event and wonderful memory.We have been so touched by this wonderful community and can NOT say enough good about Standish Village. Lots to do, many activities and trips,much support, great location, access to medical care locally,and great communication with family members. My parents feel at Home, truly. Check them out for traditional and memory care excellence. PS. The food is great too!!


3.5
October 22, 2013
Family Member - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
May not be right for him

I think this may not be the best place for him, it comes down to cost and there aren't a lot of other different options for him. It's near transportation, Lower Mills I think is a fine area, I just think the age population is not right for him, they're much older than he is so I don't know if there's any place where he'll feel comfortable. He does try, they're very friendly and he has connected with some. I think they're caring people there, but he needs help they can't give him. The location is good, it's next door to a place he worked out in every morning, it's right around the corner so that was good for him. I think the biggest thing is fitting in with the other residents. There was some question about whether Standish was following through on the activities they said they were going to do, but I don't live there so I don't know.


3.0
December 24, 2012
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Nice, but frequent change in management

Nice, but frequent change in management


4.0
December 16, 2012
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Completed a tour and the facility was...

Completed a tour and the facility was nice. Was second on the list.


Neighborhood around Standish Village

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Standish Village in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Standish Village

Standish Village offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Standish Village has received an average review rating of 3.8 based on 12 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Boston, MA

1 / 3

Assisted Living at Fenno House

540 Hancock St, Quincy, MA 02170
$X,XXX+ monthly

Studio, 1bd

Atria Marina Place

Four Seaport Drive, Quincy, MA 02171
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(37 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Sophia Snow House

1215 Centre St, West Roxbury, MA 02132
$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Brookdale Quincy Bay

99 Brackett Street, Quincy, MA 02169
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(38 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Rogerson House

434 Jamaica Way, Jamaica Plain, MA 02130
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(8 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

The Atrium at Faxon Woods

2003 Falls Boulevard, Quincy, MA 02169
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(27 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Edelweiss Village

2220 Centre Street, West Roxbury, MA 02132
$X,XXX+ monthly

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Sunrise of Braintree

618 Granite Street, Braintree, MA 02184
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(30 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Bridges by EPOCH at Westwood

140 University Avenue, Westwood, MA 02090
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(9 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.