A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

Serenity House I

3075 Carter Circle, Denver, CO 80222

For pricing & availability

LIMITED AVAILABILITY

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

4 Photos
4 Photos available
Serenity House I in google map
street view of Serenity House I
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
This Assisted Living Community Is a Good, Safe Community

This is a good, safe environment for your loved one. The staff are very positive to work with. The food looks good, and my loved one doesn't complain about the home cooked meals. There are activities on occasion, they use the TV more for entertainment. There are 10 residents in the community.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Serenity House I

Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all worlds----a small, intimate residential living environment along with the programming, structure and stability that come with having 135+ total beds.

Serenity House has been in business since 1998, and is operated by Michael Zislis, PT, a licensed physical therapist with over 30 years of experience in rehabilitation. Serenity House has the full spectrum of assisted living services available including assistance with: all activities of daily living, mobility, medications, incontinence, personal hygiene, meals, laundry, housekeeping, recreational activities, fitness and beauty/barber services. All of the homes are wheelchair accessible and have in-house, on-call physician and nursing services available. Our homes are clean, attractively appointed and use furniture that is both comfortable and ergonomically sound.

Serenity House is uniquely positioned to provide our residents with a variety of activities that are designed to be enjoyable as well as to enhance independence. Our award winning Activity Director and her staff organize both in-home activities as well...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Care Homes
Care Homes
Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.
Serenity House I is a community within Serenity House Assisted Living, Inc. properties. See all Serenity House Assisted Living, Inc. communities.

Pricing for Serenity House I

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Serenity House I

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Ambulatory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
Staffing & Ancillary Services
High Acuity Care
Medication Management

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
International Cuisine
Kosher
Vegetarian

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Ground Floor Units
Handicap Accessible

Facility Amenities

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit

Pets

Dogs Allowed
Cats Allowed

Common areas

Private Bath
Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Beauty Salon

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Game Room
Raised Garden Beds

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Grocery Shopping and Errands
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Memory care

Wander Guard or Similar System Available
Secured Community
Memory Care Only Community
Enclosed Courtyard

Languages spoken

English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Visiting Rabbi

Reviews for Serenity House I

3.9

(9 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

4.0

Staff

4.0

Meals & dining

5.0

Activities

4.3

Value for cost

3.9

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
1-9 of 9 reviews
4.0
October 27, 2021
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
This Assisted Living Community Is a Good, Safe Community

This is a good, safe environment for your loved one. The staff are very positive to work with. The food looks good, and my loved one doesn't complain about the home cooked meals. There are activities on occasion, they use the TV more for entertainment. There are 10 residents in the community.

Response from Serenity House I

October 29, 2021

Thanks so much for your review. The residents in the home participate in structured activities as able and as tolerated; the type and duration of the activities are impacted by the health status of the residents. We have daily activities in the home conducted by our Engagement Leads and care staff. Additionally, outside vendors come into the home to conduct special events and performances, and we have 2 fifteen passenger buses for community based outings. Please feel free to contact me any time with requests. We will be sure to work diligently with you to fulfill your requests. Thanks so much for allowing us to provide care for your loved one!


0.5
February 16, 2019
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Not a place for Alzheimer's patients

My father suffers from Alzheimer's and we chose to place at Serenity House. One of the main reasons we could not care for him at home anymore was because he would be awake most of the evening and wander about the house. When we spoke with [Name removed] and the caretakers at Serenity House, we were assured that they were able to deal with this behavior and had much experience with Alzheimer's patients. We were told there was a door chime on my father's bedroom and that the overnight staff would be alerted that he was out of his room. The first week my dad was there, we got a call from Serenity House saying my father couldn't stay in that home because he kept wandering into the rooms of other residents. This was upsetting and confusing because we had been open about this, and assured by the staff that they could deal with this. A few days later, my mom went to visit my dad and was told he was moving that day to another house way across town. This was very upsetting to my mother and not a decision that was in the family's best interest. I called[Name removed] and had to speak with him at length. After that conversation he said they would find a home for my dad closer to us. At the new home there were continuing problems. The staff were very kind and caring, but did not seem to know how to re-direct a person with Alzheimer's. Then one day [Name removed] called me and was very rude. He was upset about an incident that I was not aware of and he did not take time to explain. He interrupted me constantly and was very condesending. During that conversation, it was apparent that he did not have all the information and I had to correct him several times, as did the other staff that was on the line. I've never been treated so rudely and unprofessionally and am appalled that my mother was paying $4.600 a month for us to be treated like this. There are several other incidents that I won't take the time to write down. Serenity House seems to take good care of elderly patients, but in my experience the staff were not trained or experienced in Alzheimer's/memory care. I would not recommend them for these types of conditions.

Response from Serenity House I

April 6, 2019

Thank you for providing your review, although your family member was not at the Serenity House I location. Based upon our assessment of your family member prior to admission, we believed that our Geddes location would be a good fit as it had a larger male population, provided 24/7 awake staff dementia care, and was located near his wife. After a period of time at Geddes however, it became evident that his dementia presented with unpredictable periods of agitation and combativeness which we did not see during the assessment. Additionally, he would wander into the private bedrooms of other residents at the home, at times frightening them. In spite of our staff member's diligent work to redirect him, we were not always successful, and could not be by his side at all times throughout the day and night. After consulting extensively with his primary care physician group, and reporting his behavioral response during their medication modifications, we felt that his behavior was more in line with, and would be more tolerated by the residents that we had at another one of our locations. We reported to family that we had a location farther East that was immediately available, however, this was declined as it was too far from his wife. So, we eventually found another location closer to his wife with residents with more advanced dementia. Unfortunately, after a period of months at the new location, despite efforts made by the primary care doctor group to further modify medications to stabilize his intermittently aggressive and potentially dangerous behavior, as well as our staff's best efforts to redirect, we requested that family find an alternative care location. We hope that your family member is comfortable and is doing as well as can be expected in his new home.


5.0
July 25, 2016
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A Tour We Had

I liked the tour I took, it was good and the guide took his time talking about the community. They did have a good set up and it looked nice. We saw a private room but my mom did like having to share the bathroom with other residents and she did not have enough room to walk around if she wanted.

Response from Serenity House I

July 26, 2016

Thanks so much for providing this review. Mike


5.0
August 24, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
exemplary

The staff at Serenity House I are just exemplary. My in-laws do not participate in many activities but they did go on a field trip recently and really enjoyed it. The staff at this facility is very well trained, calm, and caring. They really know how to handle any bad situations that may come up.

Response from Serenity House I

August 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are happy to provide assisted living services to your in-laws. Mike Zislis


4.0
February 17, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
She is doing well here!

Overall I think they do a good job at Serenity House. My loved one hasn't been here long, but I think she has shown a lot of improvement since moving in. The facility itself is clean and well kept, and the staff all seem very friendly. They are definitely worth a look if you're searching for care in the area.

Response from Serenity House I

March 19, 2015

Thank you so much for allowing us to provide assisted living services to your family member. Please let us know if you have any specific requests that would improve the experience.


4.0
December 3, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Seemed like a nice place, did not work out for us

Serenity House seemed like a nice place overall, but unfortunately it didn't end up being a good fit for Mom. I wish they had been a bit more thorough with their assessment, as initially they thought they could handle her but they told us we would need to find somewhere else only a few days after moving her in. For those whose care needs do meet what they are able to provide I'm sure they would do an excellent job, however.

Response from Serenity House I

March 19, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review. We will continue to do pre-admission assessments and work to make the best determination regarding the placement location. Best wishes to you and your family. Mike


5.0
June 6, 2014
Sisterwoman - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Blessed to have Serenity House!

We are blessed to have our mother reside at the Carter House, one of the Serenity Homes. Our mom is happy, and is well cared for at this home, and it is a home, not a nursing care facility. We know our mom is safe, has delicious meals prepared for her, and participates in interesting activities appropriate for a senior her age. The caregivers are knowledgeable, kind and very friendly. We could not be happier with Mike Z. and his staff running the Serenity Homes. We are lucky!

Response from Serenity House I

June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review. It is an honor and privilege to provide assisted living care for your mother. Please let us know if you should ever have any requests in the future.


4.0
April 2, 2014
Loving Daughter - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
We love it here!

We love it here! There's really no specific areas of improvement, so we are very pleased! The one complaint my loved one has would be about the food. However, we really liked that it's more of a home environment here, since that was really important to my loved one.

Response from Serenity House I

June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do this review. It is an honor and privilege to provide assisted living care for your loved one. We are committed to providing excellent care including well balanced and delicious meals. We will review the menu and food preparation. When you have a moment, please get in touch with Sonia at [removed] to discuss any requests or suggestions. Thanks so much.


4.0
March 10, 2014
A M - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Very nice community!

Unfortunately my loved one was only here a short time, but from my tour and the work we did getting her moved in I was very impressed by what I saw here. The owner and his administrators are all wonderful, friendly people. Sonya, one of the administrators, helped me work up a personalized care plan for my loved one that I was very excited to see in action. The owner, Mike, is a physical therapist and really places a lot of emphasis on a rigorous fitness program for the residents. He really took a personal interest in my loved one, her needs, and how his facility could best assist her. Since this is a smaller residential community all of the residents get a lot of individual care and attention. The only negative I can think of is that my loved ones personal bedroom was on the smaller side.

Response from Serenity House I

March 19, 2015

Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to care for your family member and taking the time to provide your review. Best wishes. Mike

Neighborhood around Serenity House I

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Serenity House I

Serenity House I offers Private, Semi-Private and 1 Bedroom. Learn more.

Serenity House I has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 9 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (303) 584-8926 to reach a resident at Serenity House I.

To reach a resident at Serenity House I call: (303) 584-8926



Similar communities nearby

1 / 3
Find Senior Living
There are 35 facilities near Denver, CO

Lincoln Meadows Senior Living

10001 South Oswego Street, Parker, CO 80134

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(86 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Lincoln Meadows is the premier Senior Living community, Assisted Living and Memory Care community in Parker, Colorado. This elegant southeast Denver residential community puts a new level of affordable luxury within your reach. We know how difficult change can be, especially for seniors. Together...

Hillcrest of Loveland

535 N Douglas Ave, Loveland, CO 80537

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(45 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private, 2bd

Hillcrest of Loveland is an assisted living community located in Loveland, Colorado, in Larimer County. A friendly environment where you can make new friends and feel safe and supported, Hillcrest of Loveland is the ideal place for you to make a new home. Loveland is an interesting city with...

MeadowView of Greeley

5300 29th St, Greeley, CO 80634

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(41 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

We are committed to providing quality services in an inviting and comfortable environment. Our professional and personalized services are designed to enhance the quality of life for those we serve. We are dedicated to those who entrust their housing and service needs to us. At Meadow View of...

Legend of Colorado Springs

2368 Research Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(18 reviews)

1bd, 2bd

At Legend of Colorado Springs, an assisted senior living and memory care community, residents enjoy endless blue skies, beautiful, natural scenery of Pikes Peak from a sprawling second-floor balcony, along with the perfect blend of amenities and services that make residents feel right at...

Harvard Square Retirement & Senior Living

10200 E Harvard Ave, Denver, CO 80231

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(100 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Live at Harvard Square Retirement Community in Southeast Denver, and you will experience service beyond the expected. Way beyond in fact. Our friendly, experienced staff really goes the extra mile (or two, or twenty) whenever needed. You'll find examples of this in every area. So not only do we...

Brookdale Lowry

150 Quebec Street, Denver, CO 80230

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(93 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Savor a Rich and Full LifeIf you’re looking for an assisted living and memory care community in Denver, Colorado, look no further. Nestled in the Lowry Air Force Base area, our community is convenient to the grocery stores, banks, the public library and VA hospital. But even though we’re in a...

Seven Lakes Memory Care

1990 Pikes Peak Dr, Loveland, CO 80538

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(80 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Seven Lakes Memory Care is located in beautiful Loveland, Colorado. We offer full memory care services to our residents experiencing Alzheimer's, dementia and memory loss. We provide a comfortable home-like community with four neighborhoods. Each neighborhood has 12 apartments, a large living...

Lakewood Reserve, A Juniper Senior Living Community

555 South Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO 80226

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(76 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

A community in the mountainside city of Lakewood, Colorado, in Jefferson County.

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.