About Assisted LivingAssisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.Complete guide to assisted livingBest of 2024 Assisted Living Winners
About Memory CareMemory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering. Complete guide to memory careBest of 2024 Memory Care Winners
About Independent LivingIndependent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to independent livingBest of 2024 Independent Living Winners
About Senior LivingSenior living is a term used to describe various housing and care options for older adults from maintenance-free, 55+ facilities for active seniors, to secure, fully staffed facilities for seniors with Alzheimer's or dementia. Complete guide to senior livingFind senior living facilities near you
About Nursing HomesNursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.Complete guide to Nursing Homes
About Senior ApartmentsSenior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to Senior Apartments
About Care HomesResidential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.Complete guide to care homes
Veteran ResourcesVA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
VERIFIED PARTNER

Serenity House I

CompareSaveShare

3075 Carter Circle, Denver, CO 80222

7.5
Review score
11 reviews
Add review
7.5
Review score
11 reviews
5 star
36%
4 star
46%
3 star
9%
2 star
0%
1 star
9%
See all reviews
7.9
Review score
123 reviews
16 facilities
For pricing & availability:
(866) 374-4058
Serenity House I
CompareSaveShare
Serenity House I community exterior
44 Photos available
Serenity House I in google map
street view of Serenity House I

Get pricing & check availability

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

Brandy
-
Family/friend
5.0
Recommended
My loved one was previously a resident at Serenity House I and I LOVED this facility. Best place ever and the caretakers are amazing. [Names removed] were the most compassionate caretakers. I would recommend Serenity House I to others.

About the facility
Serenity House I

Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all worlds----a small, intimate residential living environment along with the programming, structure and stability that come with having 135+ total beds.

Serenity House has been in business since 1998, and is operated by Michael Zislis, PT, a licensed physical therapist with over 30 years of experience in rehabilitation. Serenity House has the full spectrum of assisted living services available including assistance with: all activities of daily living, mobility, medications, incontinence, personal hygiene, meals, laundry, housekeeping, recreational activities, fitness and beauty/barber services. All of the homes are wheelchair accessible and have in-house, on-call physician and nursing services available. Our homes are clean, attractively appointed and use furniture that is both comfortable and ergonomically sound.

Serenity House is uniquely positioned to provide our residents with a variety of activities that are designed to be enjoyable as well as to enhance independence. Our award winning Activity Director and her staff organize both in-home activities as well...

Read more

Senior living options offered

Memory Care

Residential Care Home

Pricing
for Serenity House I

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
Private
Starting at $XXXX/mo
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Tours
at Serenity House I

Select tour type
Select preferred date
Select preferred time

Compare

Serenity House I community exterior
Serenity House I

3075 Carter Circle, Denver, CO 80222

Brookdale University Park
Brookdale University Park

2020 South Monroe Street, Denver, CO 80210

Brookdale Pinehurst Park
Brookdale Pinehurst Park

3790 West Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80236

Montage Hills
Montage Hills

2500 S Roslyn St, Denver, CO 80231

7.5
Review score
11 reviews
7.5
Review score
11 reviews
5 star
36%
4 star
46%
3 star
9%
2 star
0%
1 star
9%
9.6
Review score
64 reviews
9.6
Review score
64 reviews
5 star
57%
4 star
36%
3 star
3%
2 star
2%
1 star
2%
9.5
Review score
33 reviews
9.5
Review score
33 reviews
5 star
79%
4 star
6%
3 star
3%
2 star
9%
1 star
3%
9.5
Review score
59 reviews
9.5
Review score
59 reviews
5 star
48%
4 star
34%
3 star
7%
2 star
3%
1 star
8%
Studio
--
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
--
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
--
2 bedrooms
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
--
2 bedrooms
--

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

Room Discount

Lowers your rent by a dollar amount or percentage.

Active promotion

Fee Discount

Reduces entrance fees required upon move in

Active promotion

No

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

Yes

Care types offered

2

Memory Care, Residential Care Home

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Independent Living

Care types offered

1

Memory Care

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Memory Care

Amenities
at Serenity House I

Healthcare Services

  • High Acuity Care
  • Memory Care
  • Medication Management
  • Staffing & Ancillary Services
  • Incontinence Care
  • Diabetic Care
  • Non-Ambulatory Care

Meals & Dining

  • Anytime Dining
  • No Sugar
  • Organic
  • Guest Meals
  • Room Service
  • Meals Provided
  • Low / No Sodium
  • International Cuisine
  • Pureed Meals
  • Vegan
  • Special Dining Programs
  • Gluten-free
  • Vegetarian

Room Amenities

  • Cable or Satellite TV
  • Air Conditioned
  • Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
  • Ground Floor Units
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers
  • Handicap Accessible
  • Wi-Fi/high-speed internet

Community Amenities

Transportation & parking

  • Resident Parking Available
  • Property Convenient to Public Transit
  • Complimentary Transportation
  • Transportation at Cost

Pets

  • Cats Allowed
  • Pet Care Available
  • Dogs Allowed

Common areas

  • Central Fireplace
  • Outside Patio
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Common Areas
  • Private Bath
  • TV Lounge
  • Beauty Salon
  • Computer or Media Center
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Library

Recreational areas

  • Arts and Crafts Center
  • Raised Garden Beds
  • Movie or Theater Room
  • Game Room

Services

  • Beautician
  • Grocery Shopping and Errands
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Languages spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Activities

  • Cooking Classes
  • Live Dance or Theater Performances
  • Devotional Activities On-Site
  • Birthday Parties
  • Art Classes
  • Happy Hour
  • Pet-focused Programs
  • Devotional Activities Offsite
  • Educational Speakers / Life Long Learning
  • BBQs or Picnics
  • Visiting Chaplain or Priest
  • Live Musical Performances
  • Community Service Programs
  • Activities On-site
  • Stretching Classes
  • Live Well Programs
  • Trivia Games
  • Wii Bowling
  • Activities Off-site
  • Cards / Pinochle Club
  • Sensory-based Programs
  • Gardening Club
  • Cooking Club
  • Yoga / Chair Yoga
  • Bible Study Group
  • Dances
  • Current Events Club
  • Forever Fit
  • Visiting Rabbi
  • Day Trips and Outings
  • Intergenerational Programs
  • Tai Chi
  • Reminiscence Programs
  • Brain fitness / Dakim
  • Wine Tasting
  • Holiday Parties

Reviews

for Serenity House I

7.5Review score11 reviews
7.5
Review score
11 reviews
5 star
36%
4 star
46%
3 star
9%
2 star
0%
1 star
9%
L and M Serenity, LLC
7.9
Review score123 reviews16 communities
Write a review
A Place for Mom has scored Serenity House I with 7.5 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 2 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Serenity House I has 11 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 4 out of 5.
Overall Rating
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5
Friendliness
4.3
Care Services
4.0
Staff
4.0
Meals & Dining
4.7
Activities
4.2
Value for Cost
4.0
A Place for Mom has scored Serenity House I with 7.5 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 2 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Serenity House I has 11 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 4 out of 5.
Parent company
L and M Serenity, LLC
7.9
Review score123 reviews16 communities
Filters
Overall Experience
Date Submitted
Reviewer
Care Received
Verified Review
A Place For Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community.
1-11 of 11 reviews
Brandy - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
May 14, 2024
5.0
Verified Review
Recommended
My loved one was previously a resident at Serenity House I and I LOVED this facility. Best place ever and the caretakers are amazing. [Names removed] were the most compassionate caretakers. I would recommend Serenity House I to others.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
5
Value for Cost
5
Anonymous - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
October 11, 2023
3.0
Verified Review
Review for Serenity House I
I felt like it was more of a home than a warehouse.It is expensive but I do trust the day staff.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
4
Care Services
3
Staff
3
Meals & Dining
4
Activities
3
Value for Cost
3
Anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
October 27, 2021
4.0
Verified Review
This Assisted Living Community Is a Good, Safe Community
This is a good, safe environment for your loved one. The staff are very positive to work with. The food looks good, and my loved one doesn't complain about the home cooked meals. There are activities on occasion, they use the TV more for entertainment. There are 10 residents in the community.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
4
Staff
4
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
4
Value for Cost
4
Response from Serenity House I
October 29, 2021
Thanks so much for your review. The residents in the home participate in structured activities as able and as tolerated; the type and duration of the activities are impacted by the health status of the residents. We have daily activities in the home conducted by our Engagement Leads and care staff. Additionally, outside vendors come into the home to conduct special events and performances, and we have 2 fifteen passenger buses for community based outings. Please feel free to contact me any time with requests. We will be sure to work diligently with you to fulfill your requests. Thanks so much for allowing us to provide care for your loved one!
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
February 16, 2019
0.5
Not a place for Alzheimer's patients
My father suffers from Alzheimer's and we chose to place at Serenity House. One of the main reasons we could not care for him at home anymore was because he would be awake most of the evening and wander about the house. When we spoke with [Name removed] and the caretakers at Serenity House, we were assured that they were able to deal with this behavior and had much experience with Alzheimer's patients. We were told there was a door chime on my father's bedroom and that the overnight staff would be alerted that he was out of his room. The first week my dad was there, we got a call from Serenity House saying my father couldn't stay in that home because he kept wandering into the rooms of other residents. This was upsetting and confusing because we had been open about this, and assured by the staff that they could deal with this. A few days later, my mom went to visit my dad and was told he was moving that day to another house way across town. This was very upsetting to my mother and not a decision that was in the family's best interest. I called[Name removed] and had to speak with him at length. After that conversation he said they would find a home for my dad closer to us. At the new home there were continuing problems. The staff were very kind and caring, but did not seem to know how to re-direct a person with Alzheimer's. Then one day [Name removed] called me and was very rude. He was upset about an incident that I was not aware of and he did not take time to explain. He interrupted me constantly and was very condesending. During that conversation, it was apparent that he did not have all the information and I had to correct him several times, as did the other staff that was on the line. I've never been treated so rudely and unprofessionally and am appalled that my mother was paying $4.600 a month for us to be treated like this. There are several other incidents that I won't take the time to write down. Serenity House seems to take good care of elderly patients, but in my experience the staff were not trained or experienced in Alzheimer's/memory care. I would not recommend them for these types of conditions.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
2
Value for Cost
0.5
Care Services
2
Activities
3.5
Response from Serenity House I
April 6, 2019
Thank you for providing your review, although your family member was not at the Serenity House I location. Based upon our assessment of your family member prior to admission, we believed that our Geddes location would be a good fit as it had a larger male population, provided 24/7 awake staff dementia care, and was located near his wife. After a period of time at Geddes however, it became evident that his dementia presented with unpredictable periods of agitation and combativeness which we did not see during the assessment. Additionally, he would wander into the private bedrooms of other residents at the home, at times frightening them. In spite of our staff member's diligent work to redirect him, we were not always successful, and could not be by his side at all times throughout the day and night. After consulting extensively with his primary care physician group, and reporting his behavioral response during their medication modifications, we felt that his behavior was more in line with, and would be more tolerated by the residents that we had at another one of our locations. We reported to family that we had a location farther East that was immediately available, however, this was declined as it was too far from his wife. So, we eventually found another location closer to his wife with residents with more advanced dementia. Unfortunately, after a period of months at the new location, despite efforts made by the primary care doctor group to further modify medications to stabilize his intermittently aggressive and potentially dangerous behavior, as well as our staff's best efforts to redirect, we requested that family find an alternative care location. We hope that your family member is comfortable and is doing as well as can be expected in his new home.
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
July 25, 2016
5.0
Verified Review
A Tour We Had
I liked the tour I took, it was good and the guide took his time talking about the community. They did have a good set up and it looked nice. We saw a private room but my mom did like having to share the bathroom with other residents and she did not have enough room to walk around if she wanted.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Response from Serenity House I
July 26, 2016
Thanks so much for providing this review. Mike
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
August 24, 2015
5.0
Verified Review
exemplary
The staff at Serenity House I are just exemplary. My in-laws do not participate in many activities but they did go on a field trip recently and really enjoyed it. The staff at this facility is very well trained, calm, and caring. They really know how to handle any bad situations that may come up.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
4
Activities
5
Response from Serenity House I
August 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are happy to provide assisted living services to your in-laws. Mike Zislis
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
February 17, 2015
4.0
Verified Review
She is doing well here!
Overall I think they do a good job at Serenity House. My loved one hasn't been here long, but I think she has shown a lot of improvement since moving in. The facility itself is clean and well kept, and the staff all seem very friendly. They are definitely worth a look if you're searching for care in the area.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
Response from Serenity House I
March 19, 2015
Thank you so much for allowing us to provide assisted living services to your family member. Please let us know if you have any specific requests that would improve the experience.
anonymous - Family/friend
Memory Care
December 3, 2014
4.0
Verified Review
Seemed like a nice place, did not work out for us
Serenity House seemed like a nice place overall, but unfortunately it didn't end up being a good fit for Mom. I wish they had been a bit more thorough with their assessment, as initially they thought they could handle her but they told us we would need to find somewhere else only a few days after moving her in. For those whose care needs do meet what they are able to provide I'm sure they would do an excellent job, however.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
Response from Serenity House I
March 19, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review. We will continue to do pre-admission assessments and work to make the best determination regarding the placement location. Best wishes to you and your family. Mike
Sisterwoman - Family/friend
Memory Care
June 6, 2014
5.0
Verified Review
Blessed to have Serenity House!
We are blessed to have our mother reside at the Carter House, one of the Serenity Homes. Our mom is happy, and is well cared for at this home, and it is a home, not a nursing care facility. We know our mom is safe, has delicious meals prepared for her, and participates in interesting activities appropriate for a senior her age. The caregivers are knowledgeable, kind and very friendly. We could not be happier with Mike Z. and his staff running the Serenity Homes. We are lucky!
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Response from Serenity House I
June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review. It is an honor and privilege to provide assisted living care for your mother. Please let us know if you should ever have any requests in the future.
Loving Daughter - Family/friend
Memory Care
April 2, 2014
4.0
Verified Review
We love it here!
We love it here! There's really no specific areas of improvement, so we are very pleased! The one complaint my loved one has would be about the food. However, we really liked that it's more of a home environment here, since that was really important to my loved one.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
Response from Serenity House I
June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do this review. It is an honor and privilege to provide assisted living care for your loved one. We are committed to providing excellent care including well balanced and delicious meals. We will review the menu and food preparation. When you have a moment, please get in touch with Sonia at [removed] to discuss any requests or suggestions. Thanks so much.
A M - Family/friend
Memory Care
March 10, 2014
4.0
Verified Review
Very nice community!
Unfortunately my loved one was only here a short time, but from my tour and the work we did getting her moved in I was very impressed by what I saw here. The owner and his administrators are all wonderful, friendly people. Sonya, one of the administrators, helped me work up a personalized care plan for my loved one that I was very excited to see in action. The owner, Mike, is a physical therapist and really places a lot of emphasis on a rigorous fitness program for the residents. He really took a personal interest in my loved one, her needs, and how his facility could best assist her. Since this is a smaller residential community all of the residents get a lot of individual care and attention. The only negative I can think of is that my loved ones personal bedroom was on the smaller side.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
Response from Serenity House I
March 19, 2015
Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to care for your family member and taking the time to provide your review. Best wishes. Mike
Viewing 1-11 out of 11 reviews

Neighborhoods
around Serenity House I

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Serenity House I in google map

Frequently Asked Questions
about Serenity House I

Serenity House I offers 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

A Place for Mom has scored Serenity House I 7.5 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.

 

We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.

 

Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.

Call (303) 584-8926 to reach a resident at Serenity House I.

Similar communities nearby

Find Memory Care

Photo of Abundant Blessing and Care - Eastman Avenue
5 star
50%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private
Abundant Blessing and Care - Eastman AvenueAbundant Blessing and Care – Eastman Avenue is an assisted living residential care home center located in the serene town of Denver, Colorado in Colorado County. The senior care center has been designed in a unique ranch like manner in the vicinity of...
Serenity House V community exterior

Serenity House V

3068 South Kearney Street, Denver, CO 80222
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
67%
4 star
33%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private, 1bd
Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all...
Photo of Abundant Blessing and Care Assisted Living

Abundant Blessing and Care Assisted Living

2510 S Holly Place, Denver, CO 80222
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
Private, Semi-Private
Abundant Blessing and Care Assisted Living is a senior care home located in the beautiful Holly Hills neighborhood of Denver, Colorado, in Denver County. Located in the South Platte River Valley with the High Plains to the West, and the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains to the East, Denver is a...
Serenity House VI community exterior

Serenity House VI

3235 South High Street, Englewood, CO 80113
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.5
Review score
9 reviews
8.5
Review score
9 reviews
5 star
45%
4 star
33%
3 star
22%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private, 1bd
Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all...
Photo of Jewel Assisted Living II

Jewel Assisted Living II

2141 S Lansing Court, Aurora, CO 80044
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
Private, Studio, 1bd
Serenity House III community exterior

Serenity House III

2480 S. Holly Street, Denver, CO 80222
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.5
Review score
8 reviews
8.5
Review score
8 reviews
5 star
38%
4 star
62%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private, 1bd
Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all...
Serenity House VII community exterior

Serenity House VII

2337 So. Forest Drive, Denver, CO 80222
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
3.0
Review score
5 reviews
3.0
Review score
5 reviews
5 star
60%
4 star
20%
3 star
20%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
1bd, Semi-Private, Private
Serenity House Assisted Living, winner of the State Health Department 'Best Practice' award is one of the largest residential care home providers in Colorado. With 17 locations in Denver, Englewood, Centennial, Lakewood, and Littleton, Serenity House is able to offer its residents the best of all...
Photo of Poppy's Place

Poppy's Place

6088 South Locust Street, Centennial, CO 80111
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
75%
4 star
0%
3 star
25%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private
Dear Delane and Poppy's Place Staff, Words defy me. I can't tell you how much it meant for my family to wake each day for eleven years knowing that my Grandmother was in your care. Because of you M. was surrounded by love, patience, humor and song until her final moments. You were right. Who...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom. A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Back to top