Morningside of Charlottesville

491 Crestwood Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903


About the community Morningside of Charlottesville

Morningside of Charlottesville provides personalized care in an elegant and home-like setting for residents with Assisted Living, Memory Care and Respite Care needs.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Memory care

Pricing for Morningside of Charlottesville

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Morningside of Charlottesville

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Dentist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Anytime dining
Guest meals
Professional chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Kitchenette
Cable or satellite tv
Air conditioned

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Secured community
Enclosed courtyard

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Beauty salon
Central fireplace

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Billiards lounge
Fitness center
Game room

On-site dining options

Private dining room

Activities

Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Art classes
Cooking classes

Reviews for Morningside of Charlottesville

4.1

(25 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.3

Care services

4.3

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

4.0

Activities

4.1

Value for cost

4.2

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 25 reviews
4.0
August 18, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Friendly and helpful, one of the biggest things that stood out

The cleanliness of the community was one of the first things that stood out to us, it is very clean and no fowl smells. Their activities director just left who was amazing and always had a lot of things going on, but now we aren't exactly sure what activities they have going on. We would recommend this community to others. Our only complaint right now which we know other facilities are going through, would be the trouble with staffing. There is a shortage of nurses and CNA's so sometimes they are not able to refill our loved ones medication on time.


3.0
July 7, 2021
anonymous - Toured community

Nice and clean. A few safety features I think can be improved (handicap door access and keycode type of safety for elevators).

Response from Morningside of Charlottesville

July 14, 2021

Thanks for visiting us and for sharing your thoughts. We're glad you liked the community and found it inviting and clean. I am the Executive Director and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to hear your suggestions for improvement. Please contact me at the community when you have a moment to talk. Thanks in advance for your input.


4.0
June 7, 2021
MA - Child of resident/client
the community has helped my7 loved one feel more alive

The staff is very friendly and helpful

Response from Morningside of Charlottesville

June 28, 2021

Thanks for the nice review! We were thrilled to read your compliments for our friendly, helpful team and appreciate your feedback.


4.0
July 12, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Great staff and clean. Nice layout and good services. The memory care section smelled pretty bad, but that could have been an off day. Good size rooms.


5.0
March 29, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Level of care wasn’t high enough, but loved it


5.0
November 12, 2018
Elizabeth Smith - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Morningside of Charlottesville.

We have been very pleased with Morningside. The nurses are friendly and they treat my Mother as if she were their own, which I really appreciate. If you are looking for a nice facility, with nurses and staff who really care, you should visit Morningside.


5.0
October 9, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Clean. Competent. Accommodating. Possible placement


5.0
September 14, 2018
R Vaughan - Loved one of resident/client
An answer to prayer!

You can't get any better than Morningside! they helped us every step of the way and were always kind, considerate, thoughtful and especially compassionate! [Name removed] and the team have extensive experience both personally and professionally which enables them to truly understand all aspects of transitioning your loved one into assisted living! Morningside was truly an answer to prayer for us! They set the standard for memory care, by providing an engaging yet safe environment for all of the residents. We are grateful everyday to know that our Mom is looked after with such expertise and compassion! From the beginning you will have whatever support you need to help transition, and comfort not only the new resident but the family too.


3.0
February 22, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Feature wise, it seemed to have the essentials. However, it felt more like nursing care than assisted living. The inside reminded me of a hospital rather than an apartment building. They do accommodate pets however, do not have washer/dryers in the rooms. They did offer the possibility of a three month trial stay for my mother to see if she liked it. Logistics might be difficult but, it was a novel idea.


4.0
January 15, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Emphasis of dignity of residents. They have assisted living and memory care but no nursing care. Hospice will come in. Very nice PT and OT site. Nurse only during the day. Community fee waived for veterans. Monthly rent starts at $3400 for a small studio, no kitchenette. 1 bedroom deluxe is $5000 per month. Care maxs out at $1030/month which would take care of someone who is bed ridden, needs help bathing, toileting, and eating. Medication management is an additional $285 or $480 per month. VA benefit allows an 5% discount per month. 80 total residents, capacity of 115. That may be a warning flag as they have plenty of openings.

Response from Morningside of Charlottesville

January 18, 2018

Thank you for visiting our community and for your detailed review. I am the Executive Director and wanted to be sure you are aware that we do have nursing staff available to meet the day to day needs of our resident's. If one of our residents reaches a point where they need acute medical intervention, we work closely with families to find placement within a nearby, reputable skilled nursing community to meet those needs so that our resident can then safely return home to Morningside. Also note that the licensed capacity is the maximum number of residents allowed by law and is more of an indication of the size of our apartments and common space than a true count of number of residents we would allow, which is under 100. We wish you the best as you explore senior living options and hope that you consider Morningside of Charlottesville. Please contact us if you have any further questions.


5.0
October 24, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

I saw several people living there that I knew from playing golf at Lake Monticello. I was very impressed with every aspect of Morningside


4.0
September 21, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Nice tour

Morningside of Charlottesville was a nice community. They were in the process of updating the facilities at the time of our tour. Also when we toured they had mostly shared rooms available. We chose another community based on our care needs.


3.0
August 24, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
New changes?

Things are not going as well as we had hoped at Morningside of Charlottesville. The main reason we had moved into this community was for the rehabilitation exercise programs. As of now we still have not been able to partake in the program. The issue seems to be due to new management and changes in the personnel and staff turnover. Management stated that internet was to be included in the price but we have to pay for it then they will reimburse us for our monthly payment. As of now, we have not seen the actual bill that was to be emailed to us. Some of the staff members are not treating the residents with care and gentleness, some seem rather brusque. There was an issue with the call buttons not working which was very upsetting for the residents needing assistance to the restrooms. One positive note is the food seems to be improving from when we first arrived at this community. At this point, we are unsure of what the next step should be.


3.5
July 26, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
This is a nice community.

All of the staff are caring, attentive and helpful. They keep the community very clean. The only complaint I have is that the food is terrible. The management is trying to work on improving this. The service help is nice and tries, however they are short staffed. They offer a lot of activities and my loved one enjoys the music activities. This community is in a lovely area and the rooms have a nice view. This community offers excellent rehabilitation and I would recommend it.


4.0
September 22, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mom Is Well Here

My mother is doing very well here at this community. I know she is being cared for very well. They have a lovely staff here, they have been great to work with. They do a good job with the cleanliness of the community. There are many activities available for the residents. They have really provided me a peace of mind. I know she is in good hands here.


4.5
June 14, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mom loved her respite stay at Morningside of Charlottesville!!!!!

I cannot say enough about the great care my mom received at this community. When they picked her up from the skilled nursing community the person sat down next to her and explained everything that was going on. They were on top of things and were great advocates for her. The food was good, healthy and they offered a lot of choices. We would use this community again if additional respite care is needed.


5.0
March 28, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Lovely place!

From our initial tour, I really loved Morningside, and my Mother liked it. The staff is very friendly, competent, they seem to really care about the residents. They helped expedite her move there. We have a very good feeling about the place. Doing therapy there, she is now using a walker and no longer in a wheelchair. They are renovating so it's messy right now, but they're doing their best. I'm glad we saw the community when it wasn't being renovated. It's a lovely place.


4.0
September 12, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

all around great place. A good value, great people, beautiful facility.


4.0
July 6, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A very caring place..

It seems like a very caring place. The staff is very caring. Everybody is very friendly. The place is clean. They try to do a lot for their residents. So far we are very pleased. The value is pretty good. The care services are going good so far. Everything has been going really good. It's a nice place. I can't rate the activities because my loved one hasn't taken advantage of them yet. It is not applicable.


5.0
March 15, 2015
Anonymous - Toured community

Lovely facility, we think she will enjoy it once we get her cooperation.


Neighborhood around Morningside of Charlottesville

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Morningside of Charlottesville

Morningside of Charlottesville offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Morningside of Charlottesville has received an average review rating of 4.1 based on 25 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.


Similar Senior Communities Near Charlottesville, VA

1 / 3

The Colonnades

2600 Barracks Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
(13 reviews)

Monticello Ridge Crossing ALF

218 Ridge St, Charlottesville, VA 22902
(2 reviews)

Rosewood Village Greenbrier

500 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901
(19 reviews)

Linden House Assisted Living

1250 Branchlands Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901
(6 reviews)

The Blake at Charlottesville

250 Nichols Ct, Charlottesville, VA 22901
(2 reviews)

Commonwealth Senior Living at Charlottesville

1550 Pantops Mountain, Charlottesville, VA 22911
(27 reviews)

Anthology of Charlottesville (Opening Late 2021)

343 Archer Ave, Charlottesville, VA 22911

Rosewood Village at Hollymead Town Center

2029 Lockwood Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22911
(19 reviews)

Renaissance Assisted Living & The Harbor at Renaissance

422 William Mills Drive, Stanardsville, VA 22973
(28 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.