3025 W Sycamore St, Kokomo, IN 46901
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Ask an A Place for Mom advisor at no cost.(866) 819-9754
Meals & dining
No data collected
Value for cost
The community is very good at caring for our loved one. They make her feel welcomed. They are allowing virtual visits with loved ones as well.
My older brother moved to Kokomo Place earlier this year. He really appreciates the cleanliness of the facilities and the quality of the meals. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.
When my dad first moved in I was happy with the services and care. We were promised security, good food and that they would help him become sociable with others. We were very welcomed and helped in the doors with the move. My dad was there for 5 months. After about month 3, I came to find out that my dad whom has been lost before and diagnosed with dementia and suffered from 13.1 A1C when admitted was allowed to walk next door to the gas station on the busy Sycamore road ALONE to get drinks and snacks. Every time I gave my dad money he was immediately broke. He would spend $12-$15 at a time and actually sit and visit with the employees at the gas station. He was drinking 44oz diet cokes which in turn gave him several UTI's. I also had the arrangement (I have sole guardianship and POA) that I was to know if any siblings or friends signed him out and took him out of the facility. Again, this lasted the first few months and after that, this lacked as well. There were no real activities to speak of. My dad never left his apartment except to eat and even then he talked them into letting him eat in his apartment, making messes and again excluding himself from any socialization. When I asked if they could shampoo the carpet around his chair that he spilled stuff all the time, I was told they only do that once a year. He became more depressed and complained daily he wanted to leave. I found an alternative arrangement of a wonderful lady to care for him full-time in her home and has several outings and activities and as soon as I notified The Kokomo Place.. I was immediately shunned. I had no help whatsoever in holding a door open that was right next to his apartment and had to carry all items through to the clear front of the building, disturbing the other residents as they stared on. As he gets older and needs additional help again, I did inform them that I would plan on moving him back.. however, after these experiences... this will NOT be where he returns. Beware as even though you move out they will not let you back in the apartment and take it over while continuing to charge you until your notice is up. In my opinion, you should still have ownership as long as you are paying the outrageous all cash fees. We paid almost $25k including a move in fee (not sure what that was for because I couldn't even get help hooking up a home phone) in 5 months. Total rip off. , Very unsatisfied and beware as they show you good food and then on several occasions serve bologna and hot dogs. I do feel that the nurses were great and friendly, but the administration needs the house cleaned!
Response from Kokomo PlaceJuly 25, 2019
Christy - we are very disappointed to see this and we'd like to address these claims. Your dad was never allowed to leave with anyone without your permission, of which we kept a list and communicated to all staff. We always encouraged him to join our daily activities but he preferred to stay in his apartment and we respected that. When you informed us that you were moving him out for personal reasons, we recommended that you coordinate a day and time with our Executive Director. We never received notification from you the day you moved your dad out and that is why no one was scheduled to assist you. We're very sorry that you feel you had a bad experience with us and we appreciate the feedback but we do feel that we provided the best possible care for your father in the time he was with us. We wish you both the best of luck.
I wish it wasn't all private pay as that is rather difficult for us. I do like Kokomo Place. Many of the CNS's and RN's are quite friendly and helpful. My dad visits my mom daily and staff watch out for him too. One day he didn't come in and they called him at home to make sure he was ok (he was, just not feeling well so he stayed away). Mom has been getting good care and good food. There have been some times when mom has needed cleaned better or meds given closer to the instructed times but I do understand small staff and 40 beds to take care of. Some issues but staff is open to hearing what's going on and appear to do their best to fix it. I like that KP is small and doors are secure. I honestly do not know how the activities are as I've not visited mom during the weekday. I know she's played bingo a couple of times and colored with another resident.
Dad has gone for respite car for about 4 weeks total in 2018. We find that the staff is more like family than "staff", making dad feel very much at home. He did wish there were more activities and a church service on weekends, though. All in all, its the next best place to home.
Kokomo Place has Mom so comfortable. This is now Mom's home. She calls it home and we are so happy. Overall, Mom loves the staff, the food, and the entire experience. The place is beautiful and lovely. Plus, we love it that it is secure.
The staff is wonderful. They really have gone out of their way to make Dad comfortable and happy. Dad has been very happy here. It is a friendly atmosphere. They work so well with Dad and with the family.
We were so happy that the staff worked with us to make the move in for my Mom very pleasant. In fact, they helped us find someone to help auction our farm to help us. When we discussed the possibility of selling the farm, Mom looked at me after seeing her apartment, smiled, raised her arm and said, "Sold!". It was such a good experience. The staff is awesome! Everyone is so pleasant, courteous, and friendly. I am so happy. Any time I ask a question, I get a full, detailed answer. I really appreciate that. I could not be happier with the staff. I would love to love here, too. Great meals every day, laundry done, housekeeping, great staff. I would move in, too.
My mom has been there since Jan 2017. First let me say I went and checked out several other places and none seemed to fit her needs better than Kokomo Place. After being there just a little while I noticed a great improvement in her overall being. She is thriving there - she is not staying in bed all day like she was at my home. They have exercising every morning and all sorts of activities throughout the rest of the day, everyday. There is an events coordinator who puts together a monthly calendar to inform the residents of what they can expect to do on a daily basis. But let me tell you a little about their staff. They have a GREAT staff. From their nursing (24/7) to their financing to their business office. [Removed], their Community Resident Manager, helped me get my mom VA assistance, as she was qualified for the assistance. Let me tell you, he made my life easier. I'm sure if I had to do it all myself, with the VA, I'd still be handling it and not know what to do. [Removed] got in touch with people and kept on top of the individual situations as they appeared. To make a longer story short [Removed] more than assisted in getting my mom VA assistance, as she was qualified for it. Overall, you won't find a nicer place of people who make you feel welcomed the first day you come. You and they call this place YOUR HOME.
This Assisted Living facility is clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. I looked around before choosing Kokomo Place, we are very happy , it is the best for our Mother's needs.
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.