6117 Charlevoix Woods Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Meals & dining
Value for cost
This is a wonderful place. The residents are well-cared for and the staff are great. The meals are prepared to order and delicious!
Friendly staff! Location quietly tucked away from 28th SE, wildlife is all around. The deer some and visit 2-3 time a day. The food is restaurant is quality and does not repeat over and over like other places I've seen
Whatever the place was like a few years ago, it's certainly changed since! The facility if lovely and in a wonderful location, near anything you might need but far enough back to avoid traffic. The staff work hard and care about the residents. Management also helps and has open doors constantly. Each activity every day is resident chosen and tailored to their interests, and the food is phenomenal. They hire their own chefs, so everything is in-house, not provided by an outside group.
Beautifully maintained, the staff is kind and caring, love their new Dir of Nursing and they are tucked away in a peaceful wooded area.
No staff. Resident are always soiled. Lack of training. The Alzheimer's part only has one RA to take care of 20 plus residents. The administration is always changing. They are forcing their religion on residents and staff. I wouldn't put my love ones there. The rooms have bugs in them. No activities that are continuous. The Supervisors are rude and don't know the residents. Resident stay with UTIs and falls.
Response from Emerald Meadows Assisted LivingNovember 8, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We do provide more aides per resident than you observed, and while we are under new management, Emerald Meadows' operations staff has been with us for decades. We also do have area ministers who volunteer their time with our community, but we welcome people of any faith, and do not discriminate based on religious beliefs, whether it be our staff or our residents. I know that only addresses a few of the thoughts you brought up, so I welcome you to contact our Community Manager Evan Geels at [removed] or [removed] so we can discuss this further.
When you feel the need to remove a loved one from a facility then you know things are bad. Despite the numerous discussions and concerns that have been brought forth things are slowly starting to change for how long hopefully permanently but who knows. There is poor communication between staff issues with medication. We no longer feel that it is in the best interest to keep our loved one there so we are taking them out.
Response from Emerald Meadows Assisted LivingAugust 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Emerald Meadows. I would like to first apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory! I am glad you took the time to share your concerns — and if you have any issues you'd like to discuss further, I hope you will contact me again. I’m glad you have noticed the positive changes we've made, and I am confident that these improvements will persist. Sincerely, Shawn Phillips, Community Manager
My husband is so happy at Emerald Meadows Assisted Living, the staff are super, they take such good care of their residents. My husband even likes being a part of all the great activities and special events and going out on the terrific field trips they have there. He enjoys the food and going to to the dining area where he can socialize with the other residents. He is making friends and we would both recommend Emerald Meadows to everyone looking for a place for their loved ones. They are superb here.
Response from Emerald Meadows Assisted LivingAugust 11, 2017
Thank you for this five-star review! We are so glad to know that you and your husband enjoy being part of the Emerald Meadows family. :)
My aunt is still adjusting to living at Emerald Meadows Assisted Living. The staff have been nice and patient with her. The community is clean and they do offer daily activities.
Response from Emerald Meadows Assisted LivingFebruary 7, 2017
Thanks for the four stars! We do understand that moving to a new community is a big adjustment for people, and we do whatever we can to ease the transition. Activities is one way to make new friends, so our staff work hard to offer a variety of opportunities. Thanks for noticing!
Some of the staff seemed very nice. The DON however I found to be very rude and unprofessional. She was not only rude to me but to the individual who I visited as well. When she left the room the resident stated to me "she doesn't like me very much". I found the environment to be tense and unwelcoming because of her and would not recommend sending a loved one there for that reason.
I could write a book about this place and would never leave a loved one here. They are under staffed make all kinds of excuses for errors. Medicine is never given on time or at all! Workers are in break room on cell phones or no where to be found. When you walk in at times all you smell is urine and the poor residents are soiled in it. Some of the workers are very rude and treat residents like they are a burden. Please don't put your loved ones here they deserve better!
My Mom is very happy there.Everybody is nice to her and the staff is great.Mom has made a lot of friends and really enjoys BINGO ! She really enjoys activity's. The food is good and lots of variety.She has fun with a lot of the staff. Miss ones that use to be there. It is a very clean place , would recommend to other people.
Very nice place and employees. A lot of them come and go or fired for dumb reason and they were the best employee. The new DON is really werid and call herself helpimg out but making herself look dumb. Keep family away from here, the only ones that really care about your family members are the employee that work there the supervisors don't care at all. Missing the old DON......
I think they could improve on the meals. They have a lot of things that they warm up. The med techs, they need to be more friendly. They're okay but they can raise their voice and they get a little upset at the person they're helping. I think if there is a problem they need to walk away. My mom is there. I came unexpectedly and one of the med techs was yelling at my mom in her room. She's having a hard time adjusting because she doesn't want to take all the medicines that they were giving her. Now she's refusing to take the medicines because they're making her sleepy and she doesn't like that. We're trying to get her evaluated soon.
This place got rave reviews and recommended by Place for Mom so I placed my parents here. Their sheets are stained and have holes. They never bothered to change sheets after my father peed the bed (they just made it). There are too few aids per resident,. It takes about an hour for an aid to show, then they took my father to the bathroom then left for 15 minutes. The nurse refused to follow doctors orders because, "That wasn't the way we were trained." I was appalled. Fellow residents are very pleasant and I will miss visiting with them at meals. I would stay far away from this place if you care about the safety of your parents, or loved one. I'm looking to moving my family ASAP. I don't know how much they pay Place For Mom to be recommended, but after seeing how my parents were being cared for I will no longer take their recommendations seriously!!!!!!!!!!
They have been the best. From newsletters to christmas cards they are my #1 pick if we can afford them. Plus a great friend of ours is there.
Small, but nice.
This was the first place I visited. This was okay. The people seemed very friendly.
This is a wonderful home! My father is now on a waiting list, and hoping to move in ASAP. First my family, then my father went for a visit and were very impressed.
Good price. $2900/mo. Christian environment.
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Studio, 1bd, 2bd
Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.