A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

1700 Beam Avenue, Maplewood, MN 55109

For pricing & availability


Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center Community Exterior
6 Photos
6 Photos available
3 Floor plans
3 Floor plans available
Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center in google map
street view of Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
Overall we are very pleased

We chose Elk Ridge because they specialize in memory care and the staff really know what they are doing. They have been great and the office staff are wonderful too. They seem very involved and they check on her and with the family often. They do have a lot of great activities provided for the residents. I have heard some not so great things about the food so far. Overall she is safe and we have been pleased.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center in Maplewood, Minnesota, provides residents and families with the services and resources they need as they transition to community living. This state-of-the-art community features lush gardens, sun-filled courtyards, and warm common areas that make socializing easy. Here, residents can choose freedom, security, and connection with all the comforts of home.

Located in Maplewood, Minnesota, a vibrant city with a strong heritage, Elk Ridge residents enjoy living in a diverse and charming corner outside Minneapolis. Residents love the proximity to North Hazelwood Park and Maplewood Mall, as well as the many dining and entertainment options surrounding the community. The community offers easy access to major highways and interstates, making the centralized location perfect for visiting family and loved ones. Elk Ridge is also adjacent to Fairview St. John's Hospital for immediate medical needs.

Residents and families can find peace through the JEA-exclusive Meaningful Moments programming. The staff offers customized care plans and purposeful activities to support each resident's mind, body, and spirit. The dedicated care team works hard to provide residents with high-quality care, maximum independence, and support when needed. Other services in this community include routine housekeeping, laundry services, meal preparation, assistance with activities of daily...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center is a community within Anthem Memory Care properties. See all Anthem Memory Care communities.

Pricing for Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

Health Care Services

Memory Care
Diabetic Care
Incontinence Care
High Acuity Care
Medication Management
Staffing & Ancillary Services

Meals & Dining

Low / No Sodium
No Sugar
Organic
Vegan

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Bath Tubs
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Full kitchen
Ground Floor Units

Facility Amenities

Dining

Private Dining Room

Transportation & parking

Property Convenient to Public Transit
Resident Parking Available

Common areas

Private Bath
Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Barber Shop

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Jacuzzi
Piano or Organ
Raised Garden Beds

Services

Housekeeping
Beautician
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Memory care

Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Memory Care Only Community
Enclosed Courtyard

Languages spoken

English
Spanish

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Other Religious Services
Bible Study Group
Art Classes

Reviews

for Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center
3.8(16 reviews)
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.4

Friendliness

4.1

Meals & Dining

3.4

Care Services

3.4

Activities

4.0

Staff

3.7

Value for Cost

3.3

Overall Experience
5
8
0
0
3
Date Submitted
5
8
12
Reviewer
0
15
1
0
Care Received
16
1-16 of 16 reviews
Sort by

1.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
November 2, 2022
Verified Review
Would not recommend

They were so understaffed and did not have near enough people to watch over or care for the residents. They did not do any activities with the residents, The most that I saw them do was watch movies. It was total chaos and I could not let my wife be in that environment, so I decided to take her out. Unless they really changed some things, I would not recommend this facility to anybody. It was so bad that I filed a complaint with the state.

Cleanliness

2

Friendliness

2

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

1

Activities

1

Staff

2

Value for Cost

1

Response from Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

November 3, 2022

It is disheartening to see such a negative review. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a more positive experience at our community. We take your feedback seriously and are discussing as a team. Thank you.


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 18, 2022
Verified Review
Overall we are very pleased

We chose Elk Ridge because they specialize in memory care and the staff really know what they are doing. They have been great and the office staff are wonderful too. They seem very involved and they check on her and with the family often. They do have a lot of great activities provided for the residents. I have heard some not so great things about the food so far. Overall she is safe and we have been pleased.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

4

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

4

Response from Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

October 19, 2022

Thank you for your review! At Elk Ridge, we strive to provide the best in memory care and we are grateful to our amazing team that take pride in caring for our residents and their family members. We value your feedback and will review with our team. Thank you for choosing Elk Ridge.


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
July 25, 2022
Verified Review
a good community

The friendliness of the staff did vary depending on who you spoke with, but [name removed] who is the activities coordinator is just excellent, she also helps coordinate the care and she really did give our loved one individualized care. Based on our families experience we would recommend this community to other families.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

3

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

4

Activities

5

Staff

3

Value for Cost

3


5.0
Renee B - Toured community
Memory Care
July 21, 2022
Not a facility for a bedridden person!

Had my loved one in facility for week and a half for respite care Inadequate staff not trained to care for an individual that is bedridden. Understaffed needed help eating most of time plate was just left. Was not turned from side to side ended up in hospital for 5 days with bed sores. After 4 months have a nurse every day to care for his wounds which are finally starting to heal.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

3

Meals & Dining

1

Care Services

1

Activities

No data collected

Staff

3

Value for Cost

3


5.0
David P - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
July 19, 2022
Verified Review
A place for mom

My parents were unhappy at their previous facility and my mom was not getting the care and attention that she needed. We came to Elk Ridge and knew that they were going to get great care here and that has held true. They have a lot of great activities provided, I would give higher than a 5 if I could in that category. You can tell that the staff here really truly care about the residents they are working with. We would definitely recommend them to others looking for memory care.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 14, 2022
Verified Review
I Like Elk Ridge

I was very pleased with our experience. The community is understaffed. There were times that things weren't able to done to assist my loved one due to the shortage of staff. The staff that were there were very friendly, cooperating, and caring. Overall I was very happy with the staff they had. The community worked well with dietary restrictions for my loved one.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

4

Activities

No data collected

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 14, 2022
Verified Review
A Good Place

They have caring employees.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

5

Activities

4

Staff

5

Value for Cost

4


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
February 25, 2022
Verified Review
Our experience with Elk Ridge

Elk Ridge was easy to work with and I think the care was a lot better here than the previous facility my loved one was at. We are still waiting on a refund that we were told we would get within 30 days, so that has been disappointing.


4.0
Jill W - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 26, 2021
Verified Review
Wonderful Caring Staff

All of the staff are wonderful caring people. They were short staffed which could cause some issues but overall they were wonderful. They did have a lot of activities and things planned most days however, my loved one did not participate.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

5

Activities

3.5

Staff

5

Value for Cost

4

Response from Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

October 27, 2021

We are pleased to hear that your experience with us was a good one, Jill! Here at Elk Ridge, we value all of our customer’s experiences and love hearing their feedback. Thank you again for your words of praise, and we hope you continue to have positive experiences with us in the future!


4.0
Scott - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 14, 2021
Verified Review
A good place

We chose Elk Ridge because we liked the facility and we initially liked the staff. We did not realize how short staffed they really are and that is where the problems lie. We are paying for a level of care that we sometimes we do not feel we are getting. The staff that they do have are really good and go over and above for my mom. Overall I am very pleased with the facility, they are just trying times right now with covid going on.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

2

Activities

5

Staff

3

Value for Cost

1

Response from Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

October 20, 2021

We are pleased to hear that your experience with us was a good one! Here at Elk Ridge we value all of our customer’s experiences and love hearing their feedback. Thank you again for your words of praise and we hope to continue having positive experiences with you in the future! We appreciate you being understanding during trying times, and we continue to try to give excellent care to our residents, their families, and the community!


1.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
February 24, 2021
Verified Review
They are under staffed

We were not able to get inside to see how clean the community was but as far as our loved one hygiene, that was not taken care of. The first four weeks she was there she contracted covid, and during that time the services they provided were not good. She fell out of bed four times, had to go to the hospital and ended up getting sepsis. They did not have enough staff, and they just did not have enough staff that was knowledgeable for those individuals who need the extra help. They were friendly enough to get you into the community but once you got in, that was not the case. The nurses never had time to speak with you, and the value was a rip off.

Cleanliness

No data collected

Friendliness

1

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

1

Activities

No data collected

Staff

1

Value for Cost

1


1.0
Susan M - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
January 11, 2021
Verified Review
Unhappy with level of care

I put my aunt in this facility when it was just opening up and was brand new. There was a certain amount of chaos due to that and the manager we spoke to left soon after she was in here, but has since then returned. I do believe this contributed to the issues we had. I had to remove my aunt very shortly after because she had an emergency hospitalization due to the level of care she received here. She was dehydrated because no one was keeping track of her food or liquid intake. The hospital staff told me that this should not have happened. I feel like they are so busy taking care of the higher maintenance residents, that they do not put much care into the residents who are more quiet. I was very unhappy with the quality of care she received here and would not recommend.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

1

Care Services

0.5

Activities

2

Staff

4

Value for Cost

1


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
May 19, 2020
Verified Review
They are caring and safe community

The community is good about keeping up on the cleanliness. The staff is also very friendly. Any extra care that is required for your loved one, however, you do need to pay more for. The cost of Elk Ridge is already pretty steep, so the added fees can be concerning. Whenever I call in with a request for care with my loved one, the staff is always willing to follow through. The community has had problems in the past with retaining staff and as a result, there don't seem to be quite enough activities that appeal to everyone. The food is also just adequate. During the Covid-19 pandemic, the community has been a bit slow with communicating what exactly they are doing to protect the residents.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

3

Value for Cost

4


5.0
Elizabeth Webster - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
May 7, 2020
Verified Review
A pearl of places

If you do your research, you will find that Elk Ridge has everything your loved one could ever need and more. The staff are interactive and the residents can freely move around, are engaged, and are not confined. I can't say enough about Elk Ridge that I am going to volunteer there, that's how much I love this place. I call it a pearl of places because they allow residents to live out their lives with dignity and respect. When you go there, you get everything your family member could ever need. Even though my sister passed away, the staff still check in on me to see how I am doing. They are awesome!

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
April 13, 2020
Verified Review
Overall a positive experience.

It has been a whirlwind, shortly after moving my mom into Elk Ridge they discontinued visitors due to Covid -19. Was glad to find Elk Ridge. My mom seems to like the food. I speak to my mom every day and she really enjoys the painting, bingo and hand massages. It has been hard for her with no family contact but she seems happy. Overall it has been a very positive experience with Elk Ridge.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 16, 2020
Recommend Elk Ridge

We have found Elk Ridge to be a safe & comfortable home for our loved one. The staff are caring & helpful. The facility is clean & inviting. Interaction with families is welcomed & encouraged. We are happy with the level of care.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


Neighborhood around Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center

Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center offers Studio and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center has received an average review rating of 3.8 based on 16 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (651) 779-0500 to reach a resident at Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center.

To reach a resident at Elk Ridge Alzheimer's Special Care Center call: (651) 779-0500



Memory Care communities nearby

1 / 4
Find memory care
There are 74 facilities near Maplewood, MN

The Homestead at Maplewood

1890 Sherren Avenue East, Maplewood, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(29 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The Homestead at Maplewood is a 61 unit senior living community that offers both assisted living and memory support services. We are owned and operated by Volunteers of America National Services and have been since we opened in 1995. Volunteers of America National Services is an affiliate of...

Gable Pines

1260 County Rd E, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(45 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Gable Pines is a beautiful community that opened in June of 2016. Offering options for independent living, assisted living, and memory care. The life enrichment (activities) program is very full and well rounded. The culinary department provides meals that not only nourish, but also delight! All...

Suite Living - Vadnais Heights

508 Liberty Way, Vadnais Heights, MN 55127

$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(1 review)

Studio

Suite Living of Vadnais Heights is a 32 private suite Assisted Living & Memory Care Senior Community that provides quality care to our seniors, with a personal touch. Our communities are small and intimate, providing a cozy warm atmosphere that feels like home. Suite Living is locally owned and...

Encore at Maplewood

2300 Hazelwood Street, Maplewood, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.2

(29 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Encore at Maplewood is a small senior living community located in Maplewood, Minnesota. Here at Encore, we pride ourselves on being a a close knit family and provide our residents with the care and love that we would give to our own family. Our location is in a beautiful environment where...

Suite Living - North St. Paul

2710 13th Ave E, North St Paul, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

5.0

(1 review)

Studio

Suite Living of North St. Paul is a 32 private suite Assisted Living & Memory Care Senior Community that provides quality care to our seniors, with a personal touch. Our communities are small and intimate, providing a cozy warm atmosphere that feels like home. Suite Living is locally owned and...

Maple Hill Senior Living

3030 Southlawn Dr, Maplewood, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.7

(17 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Suite Living Maplewood

2300 Hazelwood Street, Maplewood, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(1 review)

Studio, 1bd

Comforts of Home Maplewood is located overlooking beautiful Knucklhead Lake.  With 20 private Memory Care rooms and 22 private Assisted Living rooms we are able to provide each resident with quality care at a competitive price with a personal touch.  Come discover what makes us different!

Maplewood Care Center

1900 Sherren Avenue East, Maplewood, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

Ecumen Lakeview Commons

1200 North Lakewood Drive, Maplewood, MN 55119

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(14 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Polar Ridge Senior Living

2365 Helen Street N, North St. Paul, MN 55109

$X,XXX+ monthly

2.5

(1 review)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.