A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Sunrise of Bonita

3302 Bonita Road, Chula Vista, CA 91910

For pricing & availability


Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Sunrise of Bonita community exterior
11 Photos
11 Photos available
3 Floor plans
3 Floor plans available
Sunrise of Bonita in google map
street view of Sunrise of Bonita
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
My tour review

This community was good but there was no outdoor area for my loved one. This was the only reason we felt like we had to go with another community. This was a great tour.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Sunrise of Bonita

About Sunrise at Bonita


Community & Location Highlights:

Convenient location in central Chula Vista, CA
Near regional shopping centers and Scripps Mercy Hospital
Surrounded by scenic gardens and lush trees

Sunrise at Bonita in Chula Vista, California, is a senior assisted living community focused on individual wellness, offering personalized services and exclusive amenities. Our designated care managers are dedicated to serving each resident's unique needs to ensure comfort, freedom and happiness. Residents engage in daily activities and events to enrich their mind, body and spirit, and enjoy delicious home cooked meals in our spacious dining room. Residents here enjoy a relaxed, chore-free lifestyle and have more time for fun. We are conveniently located near shopping, dining and Scripps Mercy Hospital. Visit our community today to see why our residents are proud to call Sunrise at Bonita home.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Sunrise of Bonita is a community within Sunrise Senior Living properties. See all Sunrise Senior Living communities.

Pricing for Sunrise of Bonita

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sunrise of Bonita

Community Details at Sunrise of Bonita

Activities Offsite

Activities Onsite

Beautician Onsite

Devotional Services Offsite

Devotional Services Onsite

Indoor Common Areas

Meals Provided

Outdoor Common Areas

Private Bath

Vegetarian


More on this community

Reviews

for Sunrise of Bonita
4.5(106 reviews)
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.6

Friendliness

4.6

Meals & Dining

4.5

Care Services

4.4

Activities

4.4

Staff

4.0

Value for Cost

4.4

Overall Experience
65
25
11
3
2
Date Submitted
3
7
12
Reviewer
4
55
37
7
Care Received
8
98
1-20 of 106 reviews
Sort by

2.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
August 2, 2022
Verified Review
Tour experience

Sunrise of Bonita was HORRIBLE. They had one room available, which was run down & dirty, besides being tiny. It has one tiny windows that looked out over a private property that was basically a junkyard. Their prices are astronomical!

Response from Sunrise of Bonita

August 9, 2022

Hi customer, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. We are committed to providing you with a great experience and encourage you to contact us at information@sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team


3.0
BF - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
July 18, 2022
Verified Review
Beautiful Faciltiy

I would advise that when doing the intake process, you should get into details about what expectations you have. If there is specific equipment/special needs, specify what that equipment is.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

3

Activities

4

Staff

3

Value for Cost

4

Response from Sunrise of Bonita

July 19, 2022

Hi BF. We're sorry that you did not have a positive experience. Would you care to share more? Please email us at info@sunriseseniorliving.com so we can address your concerns.


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
June 13, 2022
Verified Review
Community Tour

I really liked Sunrise of Bonita. It was close to home, and a small community like we were looking for. It would have been a good choice. But their cost was on a sliding scale depending on the level of care needed, so they would have been a little outside of our budget as our loved one's health care needs progressed. But their staff was so helpful and nice. They really worked with me to see if we could make it work and were very gracious when in the end it truly was outside of our budget.

Response from Sunrise of Bonita

June 15, 2022

Hi Customer, Each and every guest who enters a Sunrise community is important to us. It is wonderful to know that you had such a positive experience when touring Sunrise of Bonita. We would be pleased to answer any remaining questions you may have. If you have additional questions, you are welcome to contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team


3.0
Anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
March 15, 2022
Verified Review
My Tour Experience at Sunrise of Bonita

A random staff member showed me around the community and I never met with the staff member who I made an appointment with.

Response from Sunrise of Bonita

March 23, 2022

Allow us to take a closer look at this for you. Please contact us at information@sunriseseniorliving.com with your information so we're able to best assist you. Thank you.- The Sunrise Team


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
March 7, 2022
Verified Review
My tour review

This community was good but there was no outdoor area for my loved one. This was the only reason we felt like we had to go with another community. This was a great tour.


5.0
Celia - Toured community
Memory Care
March 7, 2022
Verified Review
Tour of Sunrise

Sunrise of Bonita was awesome, we were very impressed with the facility and they were our first choice. The only reason we did not choose to have my father here was he needed a place where they could speak Spanish because it would make it much easier for him to adapt.


3.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
February 17, 2022
Verified Review
Tour of Sunrise

We toured with Sunrise and the tour was not as thorough as we would have liked it to be. The facility was more suited for individuals who need more care, and my loved one was not at that point yet.


4.0
Suzan H - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 11, 2021
Verified Review
Happy with my choice

We love Sunrise and my husband seems to be adjusting well. We chose this facility because the price was right and in our area, they were one of the few ones who took insulin dependent residents. The staff seem to all be very friendly, caring, and patient. I would recommend to others looking.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

4

Activities

No data collected

Staff

5

Value for Cost

5


3.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
April 8, 2021
Verified Review
Our tour experience

We had a favorable tour, and the facility was very close to where we live. But in doing our research, we found reviews mentioning negative things regarding safety incidents. That, coupled with a 2-story building with no elevator, and a very steep entry fee even for a shorter respite stay, led us to decide on a different community.


4.0
GRK - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
March 18, 2021
Verified Review
Friendly, Nurturing, and Convenient

Let me preface a couple of things. I have worked in this industry, so I have more knowledge than the average person. Also, keep in mind our experience here has been during Covid times. Some of the people I've talked to have expected to receive nursing home care at assisted living prices. If you understand that Sunrise of Bonita can provide assistance to the resident, and not nursing home care, then it's quite a good. The staff is very friendly. The community is stable. Communication systems are quite good. And they're very good about calling me with concerns about my loved one as health declines, as well as keeping her doctor in the loop. And that's very helpful for me. Their Covid procedures have been helpful in keeping residents safe, and they have a high vaccination rate. Our loved one has isolated herself a bit voluntarily due to the pandemic, and that's no fault of Sunrise. But things should get better in time once Covid eases up. Now that we're both vaccinated, I'll be allowed to go visit in her room after months and months, which I'm looking forward to. I would absolutely recommend Sunrise.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

3.5

Activities

No data collected

Staff

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
February 1, 2021
Verified Review
Highly recommend

We chose Sunrise of Bonita at the time because it was recommended to us for his needs as well as I have a family members who knows people who live here and had a good experience. The room sizes are on the smaller side compared to others we looked at. I would definitely recommend.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

5

Activities

No data collected

Staff

No data collected

Value for Cost

5


3.0
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
December 21, 2020
Verified Review
make sure to have a thorough evaluation

Originally they evaluated my mother for assisted living, but after 6 weeks they wanted to put her in the memory care facility, this was a $2000 difference. The staff was really nice and they did a great job. The facility is in the middle of nowhere and there is not a lot of places to walk outside.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

5

Care Services

2

Activities

3

Staff

4

Value for Cost

3


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
December 2, 2020
excellent facility

It's an excellent facility for loved ones' care, It is expensive but they take great care of our loved one. The food right now is not the same as it was before covid. Before covid, they had a great variety and the food was good. I would recommend this community if you can afford it.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


3.0
Skye - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
June 22, 2020
Verified Review
Heavy sales and low delivery

They present t and offer a lot more than they actually really do. We had to complete 68 pages of electronically signed papers. For five weeks it cost over $10,000 there and we were really disappointed with the service that were promised and not delivered. They made a major medication error that continued for nine days before it was resolved. I didn't feel very happy and safe being the basics precaution weren't being followed like hand washing. They painted a beautiful picture but did not deliver.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

3

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

2


5.0
Sharon Hudson - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
November 15, 2018
Verified Review
A Great Place for Mom

My 91 year old mother has been in Bonita Sunrise Senior Living for just under a year. Though her initial month or so were very stressful for her, she has settled in and is very happy there. The staff is fabulous and from day 1, everyone called her by name. By day 3, everyone called me (her daughter) by name. They provide a very welcoming atmosphere,, and assured us there would be a period of adjustment, which there was. Mom has her favorites on the staff who deal directly with her, but they are all very efficient and mindful of her needs. I do not feel well could have chosen a better place for her. They provide a lot of activities for residents and their families, and family is always welcome to join them in the dining room for a meal (at a nominal cost). My mom's favorite activity is when Hershey Kiss, the Therapy Miniature Horse comes into her room to visit--makes her day!

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
November 15, 2018
Verified Review
A well managed facility

Overall I am very pleased with Sunrise Bonita. The staff is excellent and the turnover low so the residents can bond with caregivers. The food is spotty, some days are better than others. This is the third place my loved one has been housed and this is by far the best. It is more expensive than most but if that helps staff retention, then its worth it. Management seems to go the extra mile to keep things on track.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
August 9, 2018

Very clean, modern facility.Staff extremely welcoming. Rooms were spacious for what they were.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
April 17, 2018

Wonderful facility, easy access for residents to the main recreational areas because it is a nice, smaller size than many facilities I have seen. Their prices reflect the staff to resident ratio. Excellent floorplans.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
January 11, 2018

I found the facility very clean and nice, I would be happy to have my loved one there except for the costs!

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
November 27, 2017
Verified Review
Happy but not a good fit

My uncle is in this community and he likes it but he is starting to look for other arrangements. This is a community geared to assisted living and he is more independent. It seemed to have the staff and they were knowledgeable about his special diet. It is nice and clean and they fed him good.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


Viewing 1-20 out of 106 reviews

Neighborhood around Sunrise of Bonita

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise of Bonita

Sunrise of Bonita offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Sunrise of Bonita has received an average review rating of 4.5 based on 106 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (619) 470-2220 to reach a resident at Sunrise of Bonita.

To reach a resident at Sunrise of Bonita call: (619) 470-2220



Similar communities nearby

1 / 4
Find Senior Living
There are 37 facilities near Chula Vista, CA

Ivy Park at Otay Ranch

1290 Santa Rosa Drive, Chula Vista, CA 91913

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(8 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Ivy Park is the newest, luxury community in the Otay Ranch area of Chula Vista. We opened in 2018 and are under new management as of May 1, 2021, and our company has decades of senior living expertise and experience, managing over 35 senior living communities throughout California and Nevada. ...

Pacifica Senior Living Bonita

3434 Bonita Rd, Chula Vista, CA 91910

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Pacifica Senior Living Bonita is a beautiful, three-story Mediterranean-style building nestled in the center of Bonita's quiet country setting bordered by horse trails and golf courses, while still providing easy freeway access to an array of shopping centers, churches, banks, restaurants and...

Westmont at San Miguel Ranch

2325 Proctor Valley Rd., Chula Vista, CA 91914

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.8

(9 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Westmont at San Miguel Ranch is a beautiful, scenic assisted living center located in beautiful Chula Vista, San Diego County, California. Nestled along the coast of Southern California, seniors can enjoy picturesque views of San Diego and the Pacific Ocean. Offering a small-town feel in a large...

Sungarden Terrace Assisted Living and Memory Care

2045 Skyline Drive, Lemon Grove, CA 91945

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(17 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Sungarden Terrace is family owned for over 19 years and takes great pride in providing excellent care in a warm, nuturing environment. Some of our staff have been with us since our doors opened. Our reviews are all 4 and 5 star reviews focusing on great care, a family-like atmosphere, excellent...

Paradise Village

2700 E 4th St, National City, CA 91950

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(32 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

WELCOME TO PARADISE! Introducing Paradise Village, the newest retirement community located in San Diego's South Bay. Offering retirement and assisted living in a resort-style, gated community with a Mediterranean flair. One bedroom, one bedroom w/den, 2 bedroom, and penthouse options. Studio and...

Plaza Village Senior Living

950 L Avenue, National City, CA 91950

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(12 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

PLAZA VILLAGE IS A UNIQUE APPROACH TO SENIOR LIVING From our innovative design to our resident centered approach to care and activities, you'll notice the difference. Our assisted living and memory care programs are designed to meet the individual care needs and social needs of each resident. ...

St. Paul's Plaza

1420 E. Palomar St., Chula Vista, CA 91913

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(2 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Coronado Retirement Village

299 Prospect Place, Coronado, CA 92118

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.3

(6 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Coronado's Luxurious Senior Living! Thank you for your interest in Coronado Retirement Village. We are a family owned & operated licensed community that offers high Secure (Memory) Care. With beautiful views of San Diego Bay and the historic Coronado Bridge, our residents enjoy the...

Mesaview Senior Assisted Living

7971 Culowee St, La Mesa, CA 91942

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(2 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private, 1bd

Our speciality is providing quality care at resonable rates. Villa La Mesa offers modest, homelike accommodations nestled in a very quiet residential area of 'Old' La Mesa. With a total licensed capacity of twenty-nine (29) residents, Villa La Mesa is small enough to offers a warm, homelike...

St. Paul's Villa

2340 4th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

$X,XXX+ monthly

2.8

(7 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Nestled in the heart of Bankers Hill, St. Paul’s Villa offers supportive oversight and a range of services for the senior who is no longer comfortable living at home by providing personal care support in our assisted living. We have created a home-like atmosphere through our resident centered,...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.