About Assisted LivingAssisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.Complete guide to assisted livingBest of 2024 Assisted Living Winners
About Memory CareMemory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering. Complete guide to memory careBest of 2024 Memory Care Winners
About Independent LivingIndependent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to independent livingBest of 2024 Independent Living Winners
About Senior LivingSenior living is a term used to describe various housing and care options for older adults from maintenance-free, 55+ facilities for active seniors, to secure, fully staffed facilities for seniors with Alzheimer's or dementia. Complete guide to senior livingFind senior living facilities near you
About Nursing HomesNursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.Complete guide to Nursing Homes
About Senior ApartmentsSenior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to Senior Apartments
About Care HomesResidential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.Complete guide to care homes
Veteran ResourcesVA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
VERIFIED PARTNER

Glen Arden

CompareSaveShare

214 Harriman Dr, Goshen, NY 10924

7.7
Review score
9 reviews
Add review
7.7
Review score
9 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
0%
3 star
11%
2 star
11%
1 star
22%
See all reviews
7.7
Review score
9 reviews
2 facilities
For pricing & availability:
(866) 374-4058
Glen Arden
CompareSaveShare
Glen Arden
55 Photos available
Glen Arden in google map

Get pricing & check availability

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

Dawn
-
Family/friend
5.0
Recommended
My loved one is a resident at Glen Arden and she is extremely happy there. They are all incredibly nice and she loves the staff. They truly look out for the people who live there and treat them like family. It is always spotless there and always smells great. Her laundry is done regularly

About the facility
Glen Arden

Nestled in the foothills of the scenic Catskill mountains in a pastoral setting, Glen Arden offers memory care, assisted living, and independent living options to seniors 62 years and older in Goshen, New York. The expansive, modern community features a multi-story design with elegant features and plentiful windows. Situated 60 miles outside of New York City, this tranquil location offers small-town living with big-city resources.

Experience small-town charm in Goshen with vibrant community events. Discover local artists through the seasonal Goshen Art Walk, enjoy food and games at the annual Great American Weekend event, or celebrate the start of each new year at the town’s New Year’s Eve Ball Drop event. Find local produce, flowers, and artisan crafts at the Goshen Farmers’ Market. Learn about the regional history at the Harness Racing Museum. At Glen Arden, you choose how to spend your valuable time.

Community Details

Residents can age in place at Glen Arden with the on-site continuum of care. Independent living residents enjoy the freedom to live independently with just the right amount of support. Enriched Housing provides assisted living residents with extra guidance and support with daily tasks, personal and medical care. Those with Alzheimer’s, dementia, and other memory loss diseases...

Read more

Senior living options offered

Assisted Living

Independent Living

Pricing
for Glen Arden

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock pricing
Studio
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at $XXXX/mo
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Tours
at Glen Arden

Select tour type
Select preferred date
Select preferred time

Compare

Glen Arden
Glen Arden

214 Harriman Dr, Goshen, NY 10924

Babalola Family Type Home For Adults
Babalola Family Type Home For Adults

84 Sprague Avenue, Middletown, NY 10940

The Promenade at Middletown
The Promenade at Middletown

70 Fulton St, Middletown, NY 10940

Braemar Living at Wallkill community exterior
Braemar Living at Wallkill

21 Riverside Dr, Middletown, NY 10941

7.7
Review score
9 reviews
7.7
Review score
9 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
0%
3 star
11%
2 star
11%
1 star
22%
10
Review score
5 reviews
10
Review score
5 reviews
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
7.3
Review score
38 reviews
7.3
Review score
38 reviews
5 star
47%
4 star
26%
3 star
11%
2 star
3%
1 star
13%
6.3
Review score
26 reviews
6.3
Review score
26 reviews
5 star
42%
4 star
31%
3 star
12%
2 star
0%
1 star
15%
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
--
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
Studio
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
--
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
--
2 bedrooms
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
2 bedrooms
--
2 bedrooms
--
2 bedrooms
--

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

No

Pet friendly

No

Pet friendly

No

Bathing/dressing

No

Bathing/dressing

No

Bathing/dressing

No

Bathing/dressing

No

Household chores

No

Household chores

No

Household chores

No

Household chores

Yes

Mobility monitoring or transfers

No

Mobility monitoring or transfers

No

Mobility monitoring or transfers

No

Mobility monitoring or transfers

Yes

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Independent Living

Care types offered

2

Memory Care, Residential Care Home

Care types offered

1

Assisted Living

Care types offered

2

Assisted Living, Memory Care

Amenities
at Glen Arden

Healthcare Services

  • Staffing & Ancillary Services
  • Incontinence Care
  • Diabetic Care
  • Medication Management
  • Non-Ambulatory Care

Meals & Dining

  • Meals Provided
  • Gluten-free
  • Vegan
  • Professional Chef
  • No Sugar
  • Vegetarian
  • Guest Meals
  • Restaurant Style Dining
  • Low / No Sodium
  • Room Service

Room Amenities

  • Air Conditioned
  • Ground Floor Units
  • Full kitchen
  • Private patio, deck, or balcony
  • Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
  • Cable or Satellite TV
  • Bath Tubs
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers

Community Amenities

On-site dining options

  • Bar or Pub
  • Private Dining Room
  • Café or Bistro

Transportation & parking

  • Transportation at Cost
  • Uncovered Parking
  • Resident Parking Available
  • Complimentary Transportation

Pets

  • Dogs Allowed
  • Weight Limit (lbs)
  • Cats Allowed

Common areas

  • Meeting Room
  • Butterfly garden / Hummingbird garden
  • TV Lounge
  • Beauty Salon
  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Outside Patio
  • Indoor Atrium
  • Library
  • Barber Shop
  • Computer or Media Center
  • Outdoor Common Areas
  • Main Street Shops
  • Private Bath
  • Central Fireplace

Recreational areas

  • Raised Garden Beds
  • Game Room
  • Billiards Lounge
  • Woodworking Shop
  • Arts and Crafts Center
  • Movie or Theater Room
  • Golf Course or Putting Green
  • Fitness Center
  • Swimming Pool
  • Piano or Organ
  • Jacuzzi

Services

  • Laundry Service / Drycleaning
  • Housekeeping
  • Beautician

Languages spoken

  • English

Activities

  • Water Aerobics
  • Educational Speakers / Life Long Learning
  • Cooking Classes
  • Yoga / Chair Yoga
  • Activities Off-site
  • Day Trips and Outings
  • Devotional Activities Offsite
  • Qi Gong
  • Current Events Club
  • Forever Fit
  • Activities On-site
  • Birthday Parties
  • Intergenerational Programs
  • Trivia Games
  • Visiting Chaplain or Priest
  • Karaoke
  • Live Musical Performances
  • Dances
  • Visiting Rabbi
  • Protestant Services
  • Other Religious Services
  • Wii Bowling
  • Catholic Services
  • Gardening Club
  • Brain fitness / Dakim
  • BBQs or Picnics
  • Jewish Services
  • Happy Hour
  • Live Dance or Theater Performances
  • Community Service Programs
  • Stretching Classes
  • Art Classes
  • Holiday Parties
  • Wine Tasting
  • Tai Chi
  • Live Well Programs

Reviews

for Glen Arden

7.7Review score9 reviews
7.7
Review score
9 reviews
5 star
56%
4 star
0%
3 star
11%
2 star
11%
1 star
22%
Bethel Communities
7.7
Review score9 reviews2 communities
Write a review
A Place for Mom has scored Glen Arden with 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 6 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Glen Arden has 9 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 3.5 out of 5.
Overall Rating
3.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Friendliness
4.4
Care Services
4.3
Staff
4.2
Meals & Dining
4.0
Activities
3.8
Value for Cost
3.5
A Place for Mom has scored Glen Arden with 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 6 reviews in the last 2 years. Over all time, Glen Arden has 9 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 3.5 out of 5.
Parent company
Bethel Communities
7.7
Review score9 reviews2 communities
Filters
Overall Experience
Date Submitted
Reviewer
Care Received
Verified Review
A Place For Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community.
1-9 of 9 reviews
Michael R - Toured community
Assisted Living
March 25, 2024
1.0
Bait-n-Switch
Bait-n-Switch: a complete waste of my time trying to get my Mom admitted to the their Enhanced living facility. After jumping through all sorts of hoops to get financial, medical evaluation, and other admissions requirements met, the unit that my mother and I were shown on multiple occasions and implied was available through this whole procedure was suddenly made not available to her at the last minute. The alternate placement that they offered was not acceptable to my mother. In an attempt to upcharge the to the placement she requested, we were told it would only be available if we were willing to pay twice the price - Not Happening! We now must start the procedure all over again at another facility because they are unwilling honor their commitment to accommodate her needs. Bottom line – don’t believe a thing they tell you.
Staff
1
Response from Glen Arden
March 28, 2024
We are truly sorry that you have this impression. We are a Continued Care Retirement Community, and our first commitment is to our contract holders of Independent Living. When entering our community, there is a process that each potential resident must complete before a reservation can be offered. Our social worker evaluates each patient and makes the recommendations that she feels best suits the incoming resident. The medical and financial assessments, as well as the face-to-face evaluation are all part of the regulatory requirements that must be met before we can offer a suite. I am sure it feels like jumping through hoops, but it is a requirement we must meet to make sure we can meet a resident’s needs. A tour of the community is part of the initial contact to make sure you want to move forward with Glen Arden. For the tour we show a room that is representative of the rooms we have available. The room you were shown was a mid-size room. We have some that are larger, and some that are smaller. All of Glen Arden EHU units consist of 2 person suites, each with a private bedroom, bathroom, and a shared common area. When the room you initially saw was unavailable you were offered a space that was double the size to accommodate your mom’s preference for a private room. This was no bait and switch as we do not guarantee that a resident will not have a “suite mate.” Our EHU is small, and we can’t promise complete privacy unless the resident wants to take the entire two suites, which entails a higher monthly rate. We provide the highest level of care in our EHU, at an affordable rate and the patient care is exceptional. We recognize that placement of a loved one is an extremely stressful situation. We are sorry that you came away with the impression you did, as we are honest and forthright in all our interactions with prospective and current residents. If the community your Mom has decided to move to doesn’t work out, please feel free to reach back out to us. Wishing you and your Mom the best of health.
Dawn - Family/friend
Assisted Living
March 21, 2024
5.0
Verified Review
Recommended
My loved one is a resident at Glen Arden and she is extremely happy there. They are all incredibly nice and she loves the staff. They truly look out for the people who live there and treat them like family. It is always spotless there and always smells great. Her laundry is done regularly and her room is cleaned all of the time. My loved one has said many times that she feels very fortunate to live there. She's engaged and enjoys the activities and is making friends- it's the best of everything.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
5
Value for Cost
5
Mary Jane S - Resident/client
Independent Living
March 21, 2024
5.0
Happy camper
I became a resident in September of 2005. Through the past 19 years I have participated in many activities from exercise to offer in our residents assoc. Our housekeeping staff has kept my apt healthy and clean. Maintenance the same. Meals are healthy. I feel safe and cared for here at Glen Arden CCRC. Orange County, NY has always been my home. You can be the favorite grandparent at Glen Arden, living next door to Legoland. I feel that by deciding to move here widow, age 72 yrs, I will be able to become part of an aging community and thrive! I am "upright and mobile."
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
5
Thomas T - Family/friend
Independent Living
February 21, 2024
5.0
Great community for Seniors
My friends Mom lives in this community. She moved in about 7 months ago after losing her husband. She is thriving in this environment. She lives independently, has transportation if she needs it and lives amongst some really nice people. She has a better social life than I do. I had dinner with her and the food was delicious. The place was spotless. I used a public restroom while I was there and it was immaculate. Her apartment has housekeeping and it had been done that day and it was spotless. The employees I interacted with really cared for the residents I saw during my stay. I am not old enough to live here yet, but will consider this. There are new owners managing this property and the renovations are beautiful. Most importantly my friends Mom is really enjoying living here.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
5
Activities
5
Value for Cost
5
Beth - Family/friend
Assisted Living
November 18, 2023
1.0
Stay Away
My mom was there for 3 years. When she entered, she gave them a large sum of money ([removed]). They were to invest it and a year after her departure/demise 90% of it was to be returned. She died during COVID and we waited a year. When that time came we got a call from a negotiation firm saying Glen Arden was on the verge of bankruptcy, had essentially misappropriated the funds, used the money for operating expenses, and we were left to settle for pennies on the dollar. This is the short version. Do not put anyone you care about in this place. They will rob them and you blind.
Cleanliness
3
Friendliness
4
Care Services
3
Staff
4
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
4
Value for Cost
1
Stacy B - Family/friend
Independent Living
May 9, 2023
3.0
Care is great - DO NOT opt for the Residency Agreement w/Refund Option
We executed a contract where the resident pays more money up front and upon their passing a refund is given to their estate. This is regulated by the state. Once my family member passed away, Glen Arden DID NOT abide by the contract and we had no recourse but to settle for a much lower dollar amount.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Care Services
5
Staff
5
Meals & Dining
4
Activities
1
Value for Cost
3
anonymous - Family/friend
Independent Living
September 16, 2020
5.0
Verified Review
Highly Recommended
I have already recommended this community to four people. The community is a private run community, the quality is better because of this. The way they protect your money, it is helpful. They have a three tiered system with Independent Living, Assisted Living, Nursing Home. This is all under the same contract. The residents can move through the tiers as it is a fluid movement. They also have different floor plans to choose from.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
5
Activities
4
Virginia M Ratsep - Family/friend
Independent Living
August 18, 2019
1.5
If I knew then what I know now I would never have supported my parents moving into this facility. 1. The facility is in serious financial trouble. The "let's make a deal" approach to "selling" apartments has had a huge negative impact. This facility has not been self-sustaining for 10 or more years and they are not in compliance with DOH/CCRC Council financial requirements. 2. We were told during the sales pitch and through their brochure that they offered assisted living. They do not because they are not certified for that level of care. Instead, they offer enhanced living. When my mother needed to move to that section after rehab she was denied because she needed her blood pressure monitored. We offered to have our private staff do that and again we were denied. 3. The staff is friendly but I fear some of these people will be leaving due to union negotiations that will negatively impact the health benefits based on the facilities push to cut costs. Doesn't seem fair that years of mismanagement now fall on the shoulders of the employees. 4. The apartments are decent and comfortable. If you are considering this facility I strongly urge you to seek out the advice of an eldercare financial advisor, lawyer, accountant or all three. Go in with your eyes open. We are still waiting for the 2018 financial report which was due in June. So many red flags.
Cleanliness
1.5
Friendliness
1.5
Value for Cost
1.5
Care Services
1.5
Activities
1.5
Erin Stamp - Family/friend
Independent Living
March 12, 2019
5.0
Amazing, friendly and accommodating facility
We loved my mother into Glen Arden from another facility due to some issues there. She started in the Enriched Housing Unit, which is comparable to an assisted living facility but has since moved into her own private apartment in the Independent Living section. From the first contact everyone I have talked to and met with has been nothing but amazing and accommodating. It's a smaller facility, but that makes it homie. My mother has made alot of friends in the other residents and she is very happy. What we especially like is that should she need to needrehab, nursing or assisted living it's all under the same roof and she can move as needed. We looked at Glen Arden about 12 years ago and am glad we finally made the right choice for my mom. All the staff is friendly and outgoing and will help with anything you need. I have since referred numerous people to both A Place for Mom as well as Glen Arden.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Viewing 1-9 out of 9 reviews

Neighborhoods
around Glen Arden

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Glen Arden in google map

Tips for evaluating your community options

Safety is a primary concern when seniors and their families look for Assisted Living. To ensure that a community meets your needs and expectations, we recommend that seniors and family members:

  • Tour the location: Touring allows you to speak to current residents and staff, and helps you confirm the accuracy of the community description and photos. Use our touring checklist to help guide your visit.

  • Confirm the availability of required services: Before you commit, make sure that the community offers all the services your senior needs, and that those services can be provided within your budget.

  • Know the New York regulations for Assisted Living: Each state has its own laws and inspections processes to ensure seniors reside in a safe environment. Depending on your state, you may even be able to look up inspection reports for the community(ies) you’re considering. Learn more about New York regulations for Assisted Living.

Frequently Asked Questions
about Glen Arden

Glen Arden offers Studio. Learn more.

A Place for Mom has scored Glen Arden 7.7 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.

 

We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.

 

Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.

Call (845) 360-1469 to reach a resident at Glen Arden.

Similar communities nearby

Find Assisted Living

The W Senior Living at Goshen community exterior

The W Senior Living at Goshen

46 Harriman Dr, Goshen, NY 10924
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
0%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
50%
Studio, Semi-Private
Photo of The Eliot at Erie Station

The Eliot at Erie Station

12 John St, Middletown, NY 10940
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
42%
4 star
29%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
29%
Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private
Located in the heart of the Hudson Valley near the Wallkill River and the Shawangunk Mountains, lies the Eliot at Erie Station assisted living community in beautiful Middletown, New York. Just a stone's throw away from the hustle and bustle of New York City, simply take a train, bus, or even the...
Photo of Mount Alverno Center

Mount Alverno Center

20 Grand St, Warwick, NY 10990
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
Photo of The Carlucci Home

The Carlucci Home

516 Mullock Road, Port Jervis, NY 12771
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
9.6
Review score
15 reviews
9.6
Review score
15 reviews
5 star
86%
4 star
7%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
7%
Semi-Private
The Carlucci Home The Carlucci Home is an assisted living community for senior women located in Port Jervis, Orange County, New York. Port Jervis, which is situated at the junction of New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, is a beautiful city that offers a rich history and an abundance of...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy. If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom. A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Back to top