A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Veteran Resources

The Woods at Canco

257 Canco Road, Portland, ME 04103

For pricing & availability

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

9 Photos
9 Photos available
18 Floor plans
18 Floor plans available
The Woods at Canco in google map
street view of The Woods at Canco
J S - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
Hoping for Improvement

I had another loved one in the community a few years ago. My loved one that is now in the community, and we were told that the community was sold recently in the last few months. My loved one feels the meals are horrible, and the portions are small. Almost every night they get a box dinner to take back to their room for dinner around lunch time. They are to be having snacks on the counter for the for residents and they are hardly stocked at all. There are times my loved one has asked for additional portions for food, and the community says they didn't make enough for extras. They are to be cleaning my loved one's room each week. I have asked about this at the front desk and they have said they are short staffed. The staff have been tremendously helpful. They have even made an outreach call to me when they thought my loved one was having issues.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility The Woods at Canco

Stately, craftsman-style architecture with cross-gabled roofs and large windows welcomes you home at The Woods at Canco — a Holiday Retirement community offering a luxurious lifestyle and exceptional independent living services in Portland, Maine. Located in the historic neighborhood of Lunts Corner, The Woods at Canco provides residents with a peaceful, pet-friendly atmosphere that promotes a sense of community throughout the entire campus.

Spend summer evenings sharing old stories while gathered around the outdoor fire pit with friends, or enjoy some peace and quiet while browsing through the extensive library. At The Woods at Canco, you choose how to make the most of each day.

You’ll always have a place to rest your head at night through Holiday Retirement’s Travel and Stay program. Through this exclusive program, residents of all Holiday communities can stay up to seven days in any sister community free of charge. With over 200 locations in 43 states, you can continue to explore the country without worrying about lodging expenses.

Great Place to Work Institute has honored The Woods at Canco with certification as a Great Place to Work® for their 2021-2022 awards.

Community Services and Amenities

Live better, age more successfully, and stay independent longer at The Woods...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.
The Woods at Canco is a community within Holiday Retirement properties. See all Holiday Retirement communities.

communities are within your filtered price range. for The Woods at Canco

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Want to see starting rates and learn more about what's included?

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at The Woods at Canco

Health Care Services

Staffing & Ancillary Services

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Bath Tubs
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Full kitchen
Kitchenette

Facility Amenities

Transportation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Uncovered Parking

Pets

Dogs Allowed
Cats Allowed

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Indoor Atrium
Barber Shop

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Billiards Lounge
Fitness Center
Game Room

Services

Beautician

Languages spoken

English

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Art Classes
Cooking Classes

Reviews for The Woods at Canco

3.6

(34 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.9

Care services

3.6

Staff

3.9

Meals & dining

1.8

Activities

4.0

Value for cost

3.7

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 34 reviews
4.0
May 12, 2022
J S - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Hoping for Improvement

I had another loved one in the community a few years ago. My loved one that is now in the community, and we were told that the community was sold recently in the last few months. My loved one feels the meals are horrible, and the portions are small. Almost every night they get a box dinner to take back to their room for dinner around lunch time. They are to be having snacks on the counter for the for residents and they are hardly stocked at all. There are times my loved one has asked for additional portions for food, and the community says they didn't make enough for extras. They are to be cleaning my loved one's room each week. I have asked about this at the front desk and they have said they are short staffed. The staff have been tremendously helpful. They have even made an outreach call to me when they thought my loved one was having issues.


3.0
February 11, 2022
Michael W - Resident/client
Verified Review
Happy with my choice

I find it very comfortable to live here. The facility is always very clean, the people are helpful, and the more days I spend here, the more it grows on me. The staff that they do have do an excellent job, the only issue is just that they need more of them to help out. I would recommend The Woods at Canco to others who are looking.


4.5
October 22, 2021
Richard - Resident/client
Verified Review
Overall a good community

I am having a pretty good experience so far, no complaints as of yet, the community is kept really clean and the staff members have been very very friendly. The dining staff is a little slow at times because they are understaffed, but they are working to make improvements and our new chef has done a great job so far. The activities director is great, there are always great things going on and plenty of different outings to take.


3.0
September 8, 2021
Nancy - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
My Review of The Woods at Canco

The service is below par due to the shortage of staff in the dining room and the kitchen. I think it is a great community, overall. The lower scores all apply to being shorter staffed due to the pandemic. It would be helpful if the staff paid more attention to the cleanliness of the community.

Response from The Woods at Canco

September 9, 2021

Hi Nancy, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Our staff works hard to keep our residents happy and comfortable, and we take feedback seriously when it comes to improving our services. We appreciate your time and we will certainly take this into consideration.


1.0
May 4, 2021
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I would not recommend

Our experience was terrible at The Woods at Canco. No one followed through with what they said they would and we ended up paying even though she was not staying here. The staff did not follow through on any promises that were made either, I would not recommend to anybody who is looking.

Response from The Woods at Canco

May 17, 2021

Hello, thank you for your review. We regret to hear that you have not been completely satisfied with your experience and are confident this does not represent our community as a whole. We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding that may have occurred. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact the community directly. Our goal is to have happy residents and family members so your feedback is important to us. Thank you


3.0
January 25, 2021
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
If Bon Appetit is important, try not to make a decision during the pandemic

We chose The Woods at Canco because of the location and they had a semi-stand alone cottage available so she would not be inside the main building. I had a meal up here and the food was not good. The quality needs to be improved and when it was delivered it was cold. It was very hard to make a decision with the pandemic going on, we were not able to see activities, test meals, etc. Overall, if food is high priority for your loved one I would not recommend. If there is anyway you can post the decision until pandemic is over, I would recommend doing that. It is the only way to give it a true test.


3.0
September 30, 2020
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
My loved one's experience.

The food was horrible. If you ever needed a tray brought to you, you would get the leftovers from whatever was there. There was a cleaning lady that would come in and clean and then have to leave, and say she would come back, and never did. My loved one went two weeks without have her room vacuumed. My loved one asked for a vacuum to be able to vacuum her own room. The staff didn't seem to have answers to any of my questions, about my loved one, food, or anything else. My loved one was only in the community for a couple of days out of a specific month, the community made us pay that entire month's fee. I was getting letters letting me know that I had to pay, and then I ended up paying the fee. The problem in the letter was that they were talking legal action.


3.0
August 7, 2020
Joseph A Capozza Jr with son Joseph F Capozza - Resident/client
My Dad's responses to The Woods survey

Dad: I really liked [name removed]. She excelled in every task she performed. Very nice lady and a hard worker. Also very happy with [name removed] the head chef. [name removed] and [name removed] also like very much. Son: I am very happy with the care and facilities. I am particularly impressed that you have been able to keep the residents safe from the pandemic. Every body I have had to talk with has been friendly and professional. It is truly a tribute to all who manage and work at The Woods. Only complaint is the turnover.


1.0
August 6, 2020
Karen Spizuoco - Loved one of resident/client

I’m not happy. My mother was without air conditioning for 2 weeks. It was in the high 80’s the whole time. Her equipment is old and needs to be replaced. And her room has been cleaned 2 times in 3 1/2 months . Despicable!!!!

Response from The Woods at Canco

September 17, 2020

Hi Karen, thank you for taking the time to rate and review our community. We regret to hear that you have not been completely satisfied with your experience. We understand that there was a unique situation with this unit that involved the community having to bring in Mechanical services to service the unit. In the meantime, our team was able to work with the resident to come up with a temporary solution. Due to protocols put into place to ensure the safety of our residents, our housekeeping cadence did move to a bi-weekly cadence. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to reach out to the local team, they would be happy to speak with you about your concerns and see how we can help. Thank you


1.0
August 13, 2019
Joseph & Barbara Barbeau - Resident/client
Big mistake.

Some Items that needed attention on first day, still pending. Thermostat hanging off wall bt wires feor last three months. Gutters never cleaned. Water damage to bedroom ceiling has not been repaired. I awoke one morning soaking wet during heavy rainstorm. Temporary repair made.


5.0
July 17, 2019
Bill B. - Loved one of resident/client
Comfortable living

The living space is quite comfortable. We have a large, bright living apartment. The staff is very personable and responsive. The Foodservice is way above average. The big bonus is a nice big patio with great privacy.


4.0
June 12, 2019
Bill Bolton - Loved one of resident/client
Lovely space

Hands down the largest and most private apartment we toured. A large wrap around private patio is what sold us. They are short handed on the house keeping side which has caused some heartburn.


1.0
June 30, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

Awful management & can't reach corporate offices. Constant busy signal. My sister lives nearby & is washing towels & changing my mom's bed. 2 separate times 2 different groups of 5 women who made up the housekeeping staff have all quit. Thank goodness my sister lives near her. We are shopping for a better place for my mom.

Response from The Woods at Canco

July 16, 2018

Hello there, we are sorry to hear about your negative experience at The Woods at Canco. Your message has been forwarded to the management team, who would appreciate the opportunity to reach a resolution together. Please reach out to Annette at [removed] or directly in the community. Thank you, and we hope to speak with you soon.


5.0
June 9, 2018
anonymous - Toured community

Though the property is an older facility, it's functionality but no frills weighs quite heavily as a good if not great landing place for mom. While you don't find a theater style movie room here, it has a real sense of community not just with residents but the city as well - today a police officer had lunch with them, next week it is the mayor. Activities schedule was robust with something for everyone, included in the price is three meals a day. Apartments range in size and configuration but very reasonably priced. Nursing and other specialities is provided by third parties not on-site staff, as additional cost although potentially covered by insurance if not privatized. Chapel, library, on-site salon (extra cost) and other community functions are available, also rides to medical practitioners and grocery shopping if desired to have your own food in the apartment.


4.0
September 25, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Positive Experience

Unfortunately this community did not work out well for my mother, and her needs. She ended up needing more care than they were able to provide. However we did have a good experience in this community. They were very helpful, and was quick to answer any question I may have. It was a positive experience.


4.0
June 27, 2017
anonymous - Toured community

Nice facility--friendly staff and residents seemed happy. The apartments are nice and floor plans more than adequate.


4.0
April 4, 2017
anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
So far, so good!

I doing very well since I moved into The Woods. They offer a variety of activities and I have joined in a few. They provide all 3 meals and they're not the best but not terrible either. I would recommend this community to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place.


4.0
March 8, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice Price, Good Community

This is a nice community, unfortunately my mother had an accident, and is currently in the hospital. This is a good independent senior community, It is reasonably price, and well maintained. The staff is kind, and friendly. The only thing that needs improvement is the food, my mother didn't enjoy the meals. Overall it is a good community, and I would recommend it.


4.0
January 18, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Overall I'm Happy

My mom is doing fine in this community and I am pretty happy with all the staff. Overall I am happy with the care and services they provide. She enjoys the activities and meals that is made and provided for her. They do a fine job keeping the community clean as well as maintaining her room.


4.0
September 7, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
She Is Happy Here

My loved is doing well here at this community. She has adjusted very well to it, and she is happy here. She is being cared for very well and we are pleased. As long as she is happy and receiving good care, I'am satisfied.


Neighborhood around The Woods at Canco

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about The Woods at Canco

The Woods at Canco offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

The Woods at Canco has received an average review rating of 3.6 based on 34 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (207) 772-4777 to reach a resident at The Woods at Canco.

To reach a resident at The Woods at Canco call: (207) 772-4777



Similar Senior Communities Near Portland, ME

1 / 3

Birch Heights

7 Kendall Pond Road, Derry, NH 03038

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(80 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Birch Heights provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment. Situated on beautiful grounds in the scenic town of Derry, you'll love the quiet elegance of our facilities while enjoying the convenience of being in the heart of it all. We may have a small town feel, but...

Atria Marland Place

15 Stevens Street, Andover, MA 01810

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(57 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

For more than 18 years, Atria Marland Place has been the senior living provider of choice for Andover's wisest older adults. Building on this foundation of trust, they've recently completed a thoughtful, thorough renovation to expand and enhance their community — including the addition of Atria...

Atria Maplewood Place

295 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(48 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

At Atria Maplewood Place, you'll find a friendly, family-like environment in a peaceful New England town. Residents are close to shopping, the theater, movies, places of worship and Revere Beach. Atria Maplewood Place combines the convenience of city life with the comforts of country living.Atria...

Langdon Place of Nashua

319 East Dunstable Road, Nashua, NH 03062

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.7

(39 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Langdon Place of Nashua is located in historic and scenic Nashua, New Hampshire, the only city to be voted 'The Best Place to Live' by Money magazine on two separate occasions. Our lovely city is quaint and welcoming with plenty of recreational, cultural and religious opportunities that our...

Colonial Gardens

105 Cherry Hill Drive, Beverly, MA 01915

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(43 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

We believe that Colonial Gardens Gracious Retirement Living is so much more than walls and windows - it's a place to enjoy home-cooked meals, game night, or a quiet evening with family and friends. It's where you always feel comfortable, safe, and secure. At Colonial Gardens Gracious Retirement...

Atria Merrimack Place

85 Storey Avenue, Newburyport, MA 01950

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(39 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Atria Merrimack Place in Newburyport, MA in Essex County is a senior living community for active, independent-minded seniors. Our community resides on beautiful grounds, with lush greenery in a quiet residential area. We're located in close proximity to the Interstate 95 and surrounded by the...

Sunrise of Huntington Common

1 Huntington Common Drive, Kennebunk, ME 04043

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(32 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private, 2bd

Located in picturesque Kennebunk Maine, Huntington Common offers the most sophisticated independent retirement living in York County. Just three miles from the ocean and around the corner from quaint downtown Kennebunk, Huntington Common provides the perfect blend of community living and privacy....

Ledgewood Bay

43 Ledgewood Dr, Milford, NH 03055

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(35 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Ledgewood Bay Assisted Living, Independent Living & Memory Care is nestled in a quaint planned community in beautiful Milford, New Hampshire. This picturesque hilltop, with fantastic views of the White Mountains, community is close to Route 3, 101 and 101A and centrally located near numerous...

Maple Suites

30 Holiday Dr, Dover, NH 03820

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(31 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Maple Suites provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment. Nestled within 31 acres of woods, you'll love the peaceful tranquility of our beautiful facility hidden away in the trees. We're just one mile away from downtown Dover, shopping, excellent healthcare and...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.