A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

The Jefferson

9401 Old Sauk Road, Middleton, WI 53562

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

The Jefferson in google map
street view of The Jefferson
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
I'm so happy here

I can's say enough good things about this community. This is a happy place for people who suffer form depression they get mentally healthy. They go above and beyond by helping you get what you need. The management are responsive and caring. They have a nice courtyard and porch are with lots of bird feeders, very peaceful. The food is wonderful here they have 2 great chefs and the portions are filling. They come do a deep clean 1x a week on Wed. I am getting my money's worth, I would recommend this community to anyone in need.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community The Jefferson

Welcome to The Jefferson, a senior living apartment community in Middleton, Wisconsin, AKA “The Good Neighbor City.” Living here, you’ll find good neighbors just outside the door of your maintenance-free apartment ready to join you in a wide array of coordinated activities and events. With our helpful staff checking items off your to-do list, you can reclaim your time to spend however you please! The Jefferson is situated just outside of Madison, putting you within easy reach of historic attractions in the capital city, like West Towne Mall and Olbrich Botanical Gardens. We’re near St. Mary’s Hospital as well, for added peace of mind. When the mood for broader travel strikes, our exclusive “Travel and Stay” program offers residents the opportunity to visit hundreds of our sister communities around the country! The possibilities are simply endless when you choose The Jefferson. Discover more about all The Jefferson offers by contacting an A Place for Mom advisor today!

Our Community

Retirement means you get to set your own pace, as we take care of the details. We offer an array of services for your comfort and convenience. Coordinated activities and events are sure to be exciting, including nightly movies, field trips to unique...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Independent Living
Independent Living
Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Pricing for The Jefferson

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at The Jefferson

Health Care Services

Memory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice Available On-Site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Physical Therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Guest Meals
Professional Chef
Restaurant Style Dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Bath Tubs
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground Floor Units

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Uncovered Parking

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Indoor Atrium
Barber Shop

Services

Beautician
Grocery Shopping and Errands
Housekeeping
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Pets

Cats Allowed
Dogs Allowed

Languages spoken

German
Spanish
American Sign Language

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Billiards Lounge
Fitness Center
Game Room

On-site dining options

Bar or Pub
Café or Bistro
Private Dining Room

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Catholic Services

Reviews for The Jefferson

4.2

(88 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.2

Care services

4.2

Staff

2.0

Meals & dining

1.0

Activities

4.2

Value for cost

4.2

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 88 reviewsBack to top
4.0
November 8, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I love having my mom here

The Jefferson has a very friendly staff and the people there are pretty nice. The manager knew me by name even though I had only talked with them a couple of times. Anything they can do to help, they do. If there’s something wrong with her apartment then the maintenance will come and fix it right away. The food is good, a little too fancy for me, and my mom has trouble eating it, but they give her a nice three course meal and they’ll help her eat because she has choking issues. They’ll help her get to and from the dining room so she’s able to pick out what she likes. They have a menu about a week and a half ahead of time so she can just pick and choose what she wants and already knows what she’ll be getting. They have a lot of activities like cards, paintings, crocheting, bingo, and a bus will come around to take them out shopping. They’ll have the football games playing with some ice cream too! The only problem I’ve found is that they only have 1 small elevator so there can be a bit of a wait for that around meal times but I think everyone has gotten used to it. There’s a big atrium with glass so the sunlight comes in, the middle of the building has a big entry way and it seems like quite a bit of a walk from one place to the next, but overall it just seems like a really nice place. They even have a third party healthcare system so if a resident needs different kinds of skilled nursing, bathing, dressing, meds, anything like that, they have it in the facility so anyone can take advantage of it. I would recommend them.


5.0
October 30, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I'm so happy here

I can's say enough good things about this community. This is a happy place for people who suffer form depression they get mentally healthy. They go above and beyond by helping you get what you need. The management are responsive and caring. They have a nice courtyard and porch are with lots of bird feeders, very peaceful. The food is wonderful here they have 2 great chefs and the portions are filling. They come do a deep clean 1x a week on Wed. I am getting my money's worth, I would recommend this community to anyone in need.


4.0
August 22, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A nice community

This community offers a shuttle in the morning. It would be nice of they would offer it in the afternoon as well. The people are friendly and helped with my friends transition into the community. Everyone has helped to make her feel welcome. She likes the food and some of the activities they offer including church services. This community is not located in a good location for her.


5.0
August 16, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A nice tour for care

We toured this community for care. We did not like the size of the rooms for my mom. We did not want a studio and we felt we needed a bigger room. The staff was nice and caring. We had a meal on the tour and the food was excellent. They do have some activities. We would recommend that families.


4.0
July 26, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Pleased

My father is well in this community. I'am pleased with all they have done for our family.


5.0
July 6, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Outstanding Care and Comfort

The care at this community. The staff is caring and attentive to his needs. We like the menu of the variety. The view is beautiful for him to enjoy. I like knowing that he is offered to be involved in the nice variety of activities. They clean his room daily and he is so very happy with the nice view from his room. The atmosphere is very nice and we like knowing that he is participating; We highly recommend this community highly for other families for the outstanding benefits of this community


4.0
June 26, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A community for mom's care

My mom toured this community They staff were nice and caring. My mom wanted a room with a washer and dryer. The community was clean. The staff was more than willing to help. the environment was nice and the location was nice. We would recommend this community for the nice environment with a good value for other families.


4.0
May 4, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
I took a tour!

My tour of The Jefferson went pretty well. The person that took me around was friendly and informative. Thr facility was clean and well set up, but it was not the best fit for my mother at the time.


4.0
April 24, 2017
Gerald L Parrish - Resident/client
Verified Review
'My Beautiful Home, The Jefferson'

The Jefferson is a Wonderful place to call Home. Most of the Staff is Genuinely Caring, Friendly and Concerned about the tenants. They like feedback as to how things are going. To be honest I haven't given them my concerns about enlarging the Wait Staff and Cleaning Staff by one each. However, I am new (say 6 weeks). We usually have a Meal Survey once or twice a month. Then there's the overall monthly meeting. So your voice is heard. You have to make sure it is understood. I like it here. I want to stay. It's Beautiful. U can make it your HOME! COME VISIT. I DID!!! Thanks [Removed].


5.0
February 18, 2017
anonymous - Toured community

Fabulous place for seniors. Lots of activities , great food, and lots if opportunities to socialize.


4.0
February 15, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Dad likes this community.

The staff are friendly and we have no issues with them. The food is good and the menu is excellent. The community is clean and well maintained. They try to accommodate the residents with a shuttle bus to take them out to places. I would recommend this community.


4.0
January 17, 2017
anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Pet friendly facility!!

I had recently toured this property and was really pleased with everything I had seen. I had recently signed papers and made the decision this is where I would be living. My favorite thing about this place is that it is pet friendly. I think it is very important that seniors are able to have there pets with them as they get older. I also had a chance to sit down and try the food which i also very much enjoyed. I have no been able to cook for myself in two years. I am really looking forward to making the move into this place.


3.0
January 3, 2017
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Slow meals!!

The Jefferson is a nice apartment complex, the place is clean, I have housekeeping come to my apartment every Thursday and help me out. I will be moving out, though, because my apartment is very small. Also, the food service is very slow! I am down to eating only twice a day and skipping dinner because it's so slow. Other than that it is not a bad place.


5.0
December 6, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Amazing staff !!

I have not moved into my new community yet, but I am very excited to do so. [Removed] has been wonderful at helping me set up everything that I need to with the move and the rest of the staff have been very helpful as well. I had a chance to try a few meals and they where very tasty with lots of flavor.


5.0
October 19, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A Friendly Atmosphere!

My mother was living in this community for a short time but she really liked it. The adjustment period in the beginning was a little hard but then it got better. It was a safe place with wonderful staff. We have no complaints about this place they maintained everything clean and had activities available.


4.5
October 14, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
So far so good!!

This community is clean and taken care of. The staff are so far so good. The manager and sales manager were nice, accommodating and helpful with mom. Mom seems to like the food and there is plenty of it. The have an assortment of activities. I would recommend this community.


5.0
September 29, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The perfect place for mom!!!

Mom only stayed at this community for a short time. The staff are very good and I have no complaints. The community is clean. The food is good and they offer a variety of choices. You can order as big a meal or as small a meal a you like. There is a calendar of a lot of activities. I would recommend this community.


4.0
September 12, 2016
anonymous - Toured community

Had a good visit at The Jefferson. it meet most of my criteria...nice place. Rejected it because at this time am not interested in meals, nor am I willing to pay the fee for included meals.


5.0
September 6, 2016
Sharon Sperling - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great place for Mom

Perfect place for my mom! She needed more care than the Senior Independent Living apartment complex she was currently living. The Jefferson provides three great meals a day, lots of activities, and I can add to the list of medical care as she needs it. The staff was very helpful and everyone seems friendly.


5.0
August 23, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I only have good things to say about The Jefferson!!!

They offer a lot of different activities for the residents to enjoy. The staff are hospitable, caring, knowledgeable and friendly. I have eaten there along with some of my loved ones other friends and we are impressed with the service, the presentation and the large variety of good tasting healthy food they offer. I would definitely recommend this community.


Neighborhood around The Jefferson

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about The Jefferson

The Jefferson offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

The Jefferson has received an average review rating of 4.2 based on 88 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Middleton, WI

1 / 3

Clarendale of Algonquin

2001 W Algonquin Rd, Algonquin, IL 60102

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.8

(163 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

At Clarendale of Algonquin, we offer a variety of community features. Residents can enjoy regular off-site adventures and excursions. Cats and dogs are allowed in private quarters. Free resident parking available at our location. Our purpose-built community has the advantage of specialized care,...

Harbour Village

5700 Mockingbird Lane, Greendale, WI 53129

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(78 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Harbour Village is a senior living community in Greendale, Wisconsin that provides independent living, assisted living and memory care services to senior citizens.With a convenient location just outside Milwaukee, Harbour Village retirement community in Greendale offers independent living,...

The Fountains of Crystal Lake

965 N Brighton Circle W, Crystal Lake, IL 60012

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(71 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

The Fountains at Crystal Lake Over twenty years of experience have taught us that today's seniors want more choices and are leading a more active lifestyle than generations before. That's why at Fountains a Crystal Lake we created an Independent Living, Assisted Living & Memory Care community...

New Perspective Senior Living | Sun Prairie

222 South Bristol Street, Sun Prairie, WI 53590

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(65 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Offering: Independent Living, Assisted Living, Memory CareNew Perspective’s Sun Prairie senior living community is located outside of Madison, Wisconsin near Deansville, Marshall, and Token Creek. Nestled in town just off Main Street, shopping, parks and healthcare clinics are just minutes away....

StoryPoint Libertyville

901 Florsheim Rd, Libertyville, IL 60048

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(66 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to StoryPoint Libertyville! This isn’t just a place to reside — it’s a place where our community members truly shine, and we are glad to share this experience with them. Our various senior living options include independent living, enhanced living, assisted living, memory care, and...

The Waterford at Fitchburg

5440 Caddis Bend, Fitchburg, WI 53711

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(60 reviews)

1bd, 2bd

Get to know the warm, friendly environment at The Waterford at Fitchburg and you'll see how thoughtful amenities and world-class services come together in harmony. Residents at our Independent Living and Assisted Living community in Fitchburg, WI, are afforded the privacy and freedom to live a...

Menomonee Place

N84 W17147 Menomonee Ave, Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(59 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Our senior living community in Menomonee Falls, WI, is a warm, lively environment where our residents get compassionate care and help with their daily routine. We develop individual care plans to meet the needs of each resident, and a full-time registered nurse is available 24 hours a day to...

Green Oaks Senior Living

14595 W Rockland Rd, Libertyville, IL 60048

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(44 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Here you'll enjoy a spacious, park-like property with beautiful brick buildings. Walking paths meander through the landscape, leading you to a small, tranquil lake. The community feels warm and welcoming with areas that are alive with activity alongside quiet neighborhoods that provide serenity...

Bella Vista

631 Hazel St, Oshkosh, WI 54901

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(42 reviews)

1bd, 2bd

Bella Vista Independent & Assisted Living in Oshkosh, WI is the adaptive reuse of the former Mercy Medical Center. Located across from Menomonee Park on the shores of beautiful Lake Winnebago, Bella Vista is minutes away from a growing downtown complete with specialty shops and restaurants, and...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.