Sky Peaks

1520 Sky Valley Drive, Reno, NV 89523

About the community Sky Peaks

Sky Peaks provides a fulfilling, independent lifestyle in a welcoming environment.

Perched in the foothills above northwest Reno, you'll love Sky Peaks' beautiful views, comfortable facilities and caring staff. Residents also appreciate the convenience of being just minutes from shopping, dining, healthcare and all the attractions of the biggest little city.

Our all-inclusive month-to-month rent covers:
- Private apartment suites
- Daily chef-prepared meals from scratch
- A variety of enriching activities
- Maintenance-free living
- Weekly housekeeping and linen service
- Local, scheduled transportation
- Most utilities including basic cable

Familiar Faces
From pleasant housekeepers, to attentive servers at mealtime, and helpful maintenance technicians who aare there when you need them, this community is the new extension of your family. We're here to make your life easier in any way we can.

Private apartment suites
Choose from a variety of comfortable senior living apartments in various sizes and configurations allowing you the freedom to furnish in any style that appeals to you.

Built with your comfort and safety in mind
Our easy-to-maneuver floor plans are ideal for seniors and we offer 24/7 emergency response services. We understand that each individual is unique and...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Independent living

Pricing for Sky Peaks

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Starting at
1 Bedroom
Starting at
2 Bedrooms
Starting at

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sky Peaks

Health Care Services

Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Physical therapist
Occupational therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Guest meals
International cuisine
Professional chef

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Ground floor units

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Transportation at cost
Property convenient to public transit

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Indoor atrium
Barber shop


Laundry service / drycleaning


Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Languages spoken


Primary language spoken by staff


Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Billiards lounge
Fitness center

On-site dining options

Private dining room


Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Visiting chaplain or priest
Protestant services

Reviews for Sky Peaks


(28 reviews)

Write a Review



Care services




Meals & dining




Value for cost



Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 28 reviews
September 17, 2021
Laura - Sibling of resident/client
Would Definitely Recommend

From the very beginning when I first started speaking to the admissions person, he was very informative, helpful, and family-like. And that has just continued ever since my loved one moved in. With her mobility issues and introverted personality, it's been hard to meet people outside of the cafeteria, but she feels comfortable there, and she knew a couple of people who already lived there, so that helped. The apartments are small but nice, but that's just the nature of senior living. The staff is too small, but the ones that are there are doing a good job. There's just not enough of them. She's had no complaints about cleanliness and tells me the food is pretty good.

August 18, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Beautiful community, but management needs to respond better to resident concerns.

Upon arrival, cleanliness and everything was really great. Our loved one was greeted well by the daily staff, but not management. We had quite a few hiccups with management there. There was also a huge debacle with the kitchen staff where they all up and left (although that could have been Covid-related). So they were trying to put together pizzas and deliver food to the residents. It was a huge challenge for the staff and residents, and I'm sympathetic to that, but it could have been handled better. On one occasion, I attended a resident-management meeting, and I was very disappointed in how the management reacted to the residents. I felt they were combative and negative toward the residents. A lot of the complaints were regarding diet, especially in relation to health conditions. Management says they aren't in control of the food, that all of those decisions come from corporate. They said there's nothing they can do about it. It is what it is. And that's completely inappropriate when people are paying that much for this type of care. That kind of left a bitter taste in my mouth, and things just went downhill from there. I kept asking for a welcome packet/information, and finally a couple moths in I had to type it up myself and ask them to print it. My loved one ended up in the hospital with a medical crisis, where the hospital recommended we move her to assisted living. Yet Sky Peaks tried to talk us out of moving her to assisted living. So we decided to put in our notice altogether, and management also tried to talk me out of putting in my notice until a certain day. Which seemed strange but made mores sense when I asked for a refund. They said they don't do partial refunds. My biggest concern is that management is not responsive to the tenants. I feel like they still need to take the feedback positively and and not be so combative toward the residents. It's a beautiful facility, but I'm just not sure about how it's being run. It was a disappointing experience. I loved the apartments, the grounds are well kept, the location is perfect. Housekeeping and maintenance are great and went above and beyond. One of the maintenance crew saw me trying to get rid of some large furniture and came up to me and asked if I would be interested in donating it to a resident who had absolutely nothing. So the daily staff are very attentive and caring, but management is not at all. It's not a bad place overall. There are a lot of positives. But if you choose this community, I would just recommend that you stay involved and actively advocate for your loved one.

Response from Sky Peaks

August 23, 2021

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our community. We regret that you have not had the best experience as we always work to create an wonderful place for our residents to call home. We did have some associates who left the dining team however we are very excited to welcome all our new team members, who share our mission of helping older people live better. We appreciate your feedback as it's important for us to be aware of everyone's input on how the community is functioning and is the best way to improve in the future. Have a great day.

August 3, 2021
anonymous - Toured community
Tour of Sky Peaks

We toured Sky Peaks and it was a very nice facility. We actually know a few people who have their loved ones in this facility and are happy with it.

Response from Sky Peaks

August 4, 2021

Hi there, thank you so much for sharing this feedback! We are delighted that you are considering Sky Peaks in your senior living search. If you have any further questions on our community and offerings, please do not hesitate to contact the local team directly, they would be happy to help in any way they can. Thank you

May 13, 2021
Carol - Resident/client
Something for Everyone Here

The maintenance team is quick to fix items for the residents. All of the community is good. The home is bright once the sun comes up. It makes me cheerful and ready each morning I see the sun. The food is good. They have something different each day for meals. Today for example they had Boston cream pie for dessert. There are sugar-free options available.

April 28, 2021
Anonymous - Toured community

Beautiful community. Too pricey for my father. Lot of fees. Lots of happy seniors.

April 27, 2021
anonymous - Child of resident/client
Verified Review
My review of Sky Peaks

We chose Sky Peaks because at the time it was during covid and it seemed that their protocols were very good and they were very clean. The apartment sizes here seem to be adequate. The meals are chef prepared and they have choices to choose from off the menu. I would recommend to others looking.

April 1, 2021
DB - Friend of resident/client
Verified Review
safe and secure community

The experience overall has been very good. The food was not very good. The community is very clean. The staff is very nice and it is a good location and they have a shuttle bus for dr appts. I would recommend this community to others.

March 12, 2021
Ronald V - Resident/client
Verified Review
Highly recommend

I chose Sky Peaks because they allow smoking here. The apartment sizes here are good it has been a good experience so far and I would recommend them to others looking.

February 4, 2021
Anonymous - Sibling of resident/client
A Nice Place To Live

The staff and community are wonderful. The food is a complaint by loved one. The food is sometimes not the best tasting. Everything else is wonderful. The staff and management are wonderful to deal with and help the residents.

August 31, 2018
Lynne Charlat - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Keep looking, this isn't the one you want.

Constant turn over of staff. At times only 1 person serving entire dining room leading to over two hour wait time for food service. Staff that hangs on works hard, but excessive turn over leads to disruption in daily activities, meal service, and overall happiness of residents. Something not right about the management of this place. Would not recommend it unless cost and apt. size are your only motivation to find a place. Sadly, that is what makes my mother refuse to leave.

January 2, 2018
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Beautiful facility but food could use some help

The food here is not very good but it will do. We lost the manager when I came and another one a week ago but she will be back in 2 weeks, however, some of the staff usually seems to be confused. Some of the residents should not be here as they are obviously in need of much more help and not able to walk without help. I love the beauty here and the maintenance man is terrific.

July 17, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Nice Place!!

I have no complaints about how my tour went of this community for my father. The staff where on time to our appointment and made sure to answer any questions we had for them in detail. I thought they had a lot of nice amenities for all of the residents and did a good job maintaining the facility. It was just not the right fit in the end decision.

July 17, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Clean Property!!

I had recently taken a tour of this community for my father and everything went well for us. The staff where very polite and made sure to answer any questions we had for them in detail. The property was clean and they had a lot of great amenities for all of the residents. My dad just ended up not making the move anywhere in the end decision.

July 12, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The Community is Great

My dad is doing just fine and he tells me that he likes the community. He likes the food and the activities the most. The staff are making the residents comfortable and safe, so far they have been good. We picked them because he already knew some people living here and it was affordable.

June 12, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Pleasant Experience!!

I have no complaints about the tour I had taken of this community for my loved one. The staff where on time to our appointment and made sure to give my loved one and I lots of great information of everything they had to offer. They had a nice floor plan with lots of great amenities available to all of the residents. Overall It was pleasant just was not the right fit for my mother .

March 17, 2017
Slow response!

I did not tour the Sky Peaks because it was outside our price range, so I can't really rate anything except overall impression. The 3-star overall is because they were quite slow with responses to my questions. I would email them a question and it would be dead air for a few days before I received a response. It did not give me a good feeling. I tried to change the rating to 3 stars, but it won't do it.

November 9, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great place!

A super experience so far! Just moved in and everyone is super friendly and helpful. I couldn't be happier!

September 7, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A Good Fit

The atmosphere and care is going very well for my brother. This community has no problems staying clean, the staff do a good job. My brother likes his meals and it seems to be healthy because he has lost a few pounds to be healthier. Since it has been fine so far, I would absolutely recommend this community to family or friends.

May 27, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Sky Peaks Rocks as well as A Place for Mom

Super people! Helpful , kind ,compassionate!

December 5, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

This is a nice facility, but it is overpriced. The staff is very friendly and competent. They could communicate a little better with us definitely. The food is decent.

Neighborhood around Sky Peaks

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Sky Peaks

Sky Peaks offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Sky Peaks has received an average review rating of 4.3 based on 28 reviews. See all reviews.

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Similar Senior Communities Near Reno, NV

1 / 3

Atria Summit Ridge

4880 Summit Ridge Drive, Reno, NV 89523
(39 reviews)

Lakeside Manor

855 Brinkby Ave., Reno, NV 89509
(48 reviews)

Revel Rancharrah

5315 Kietzke Lane, Reno, NV 89511
(16 reviews)

Brookdale Sparks

1900 East Prater Way, Sparks, NV 89434
(20 reviews)

MorningStar Senior Living of Sparks

2360 Wingfield Hills Road, Sparks, NV 89436
(35 reviews)

Cascades of the Sierra

275 Neighborhood Way, Spanish Springs, NV 89441
(16 reviews)

Carson Plaza

2120 East Long Street, Carson City, NV 89706
(47 reviews)

Atria Grass Valley

150 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945
(4 reviews)

Cascades of Grass Valley

415 Sierra College Drive, Grass Valley, CA 95945
(2 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.