1520 Sky Valley Drive, Reno, NV 89523
Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.
Base fees by room type
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.
Meals & dining
Value for cost
From the very beginning when I first started speaking to the admissions person, he was very informative, helpful, and family-like. And that has just continued ever since my loved one moved in. With her mobility issues and introverted personality, it's been hard to meet people outside of the cafeteria, but she feels comfortable there, and she knew a couple of people who already lived there, so that helped. The apartments are small but nice, but that's just the nature of senior living. The staff is too small, but the ones that are there are doing a good job. There's just not enough of them. She's had no complaints about cleanliness and tells me the food is pretty good.
Upon arrival, cleanliness and everything was really great. Our loved one was greeted well by the daily staff, but not management. We had quite a few hiccups with management there. There was also a huge debacle with the kitchen staff where they all up and left (although that could have been Covid-related). So they were trying to put together pizzas and deliver food to the residents. It was a huge challenge for the staff and residents, and I'm sympathetic to that, but it could have been handled better. On one occasion, I attended a resident-management meeting, and I was very disappointed in how the management reacted to the residents. I felt they were combative and negative toward the residents. A lot of the complaints were regarding diet, especially in relation to health conditions. Management says they aren't in control of the food, that all of those decisions come from corporate. They said there's nothing they can do about it. It is what it is. And that's completely inappropriate when people are paying that much for this type of care. That kind of left a bitter taste in my mouth, and things just went downhill from there. I kept asking for a welcome packet/information, and finally a couple moths in I had to type it up myself and ask them to print it. My loved one ended up in the hospital with a medical crisis, where the hospital recommended we move her to assisted living. Yet Sky Peaks tried to talk us out of moving her to assisted living. So we decided to put in our notice altogether, and management also tried to talk me out of putting in my notice until a certain day. Which seemed strange but made mores sense when I asked for a refund. They said they don't do partial refunds. My biggest concern is that management is not responsive to the tenants. I feel like they still need to take the feedback positively and and not be so combative toward the residents. It's a beautiful facility, but I'm just not sure about how it's being run. It was a disappointing experience. I loved the apartments, the grounds are well kept, the location is perfect. Housekeeping and maintenance are great and went above and beyond. One of the maintenance crew saw me trying to get rid of some large furniture and came up to me and asked if I would be interested in donating it to a resident who had absolutely nothing. So the daily staff are very attentive and caring, but management is not at all. It's not a bad place overall. There are a lot of positives. But if you choose this community, I would just recommend that you stay involved and actively advocate for your loved one.
Response from Sky PeaksAugust 23, 2021
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our community. We regret that you have not had the best experience as we always work to create an wonderful place for our residents to call home. We did have some associates who left the dining team however we are very excited to welcome all our new team members, who share our mission of helping older people live better. We appreciate your feedback as it's important for us to be aware of everyone's input on how the community is functioning and is the best way to improve in the future. Have a great day.
We toured Sky Peaks and it was a very nice facility. We actually know a few people who have their loved ones in this facility and are happy with it.
Response from Sky PeaksAugust 4, 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for sharing this feedback! We are delighted that you are considering Sky Peaks in your senior living search. If you have any further questions on our community and offerings, please do not hesitate to contact the local team directly, they would be happy to help in any way they can. Thank you
The maintenance team is quick to fix items for the residents. All of the community is good. The home is bright once the sun comes up. It makes me cheerful and ready each morning I see the sun. The food is good. They have something different each day for meals. Today for example they had Boston cream pie for dessert. There are sugar-free options available.
Beautiful community. Too pricey for my father. Lot of fees. Lots of happy seniors.
We chose Sky Peaks because at the time it was during covid and it seemed that their protocols were very good and they were very clean. The apartment sizes here seem to be adequate. The meals are chef prepared and they have choices to choose from off the menu. I would recommend to others looking.
The experience overall has been very good. The food was not very good. The community is very clean. The staff is very nice and it is a good location and they have a shuttle bus for dr appts. I would recommend this community to others.
I chose Sky Peaks because they allow smoking here. The apartment sizes here are good it has been a good experience so far and I would recommend them to others looking.
The staff and community are wonderful. The food is a complaint by loved one. The food is sometimes not the best tasting. Everything else is wonderful. The staff and management are wonderful to deal with and help the residents.
Constant turn over of staff. At times only 1 person serving entire dining room leading to over two hour wait time for food service. Staff that hangs on works hard, but excessive turn over leads to disruption in daily activities, meal service, and overall happiness of residents. Something not right about the management of this place. Would not recommend it unless cost and apt. size are your only motivation to find a place. Sadly, that is what makes my mother refuse to leave.
The food here is not very good but it will do. We lost the manager when I came and another one a week ago but she will be back in 2 weeks, however, some of the staff usually seems to be confused. Some of the residents should not be here as they are obviously in need of much more help and not able to walk without help. I love the beauty here and the maintenance man is terrific.
I have no complaints about how my tour went of this community for my father. The staff where on time to our appointment and made sure to answer any questions we had for them in detail. I thought they had a lot of nice amenities for all of the residents and did a good job maintaining the facility. It was just not the right fit in the end decision.
I had recently taken a tour of this community for my father and everything went well for us. The staff where very polite and made sure to answer any questions we had for them in detail. The property was clean and they had a lot of great amenities for all of the residents. My dad just ended up not making the move anywhere in the end decision.
My dad is doing just fine and he tells me that he likes the community. He likes the food and the activities the most. The staff are making the residents comfortable and safe, so far they have been good. We picked them because he already knew some people living here and it was affordable.
I have no complaints about the tour I had taken of this community for my loved one. The staff where on time to our appointment and made sure to give my loved one and I lots of great information of everything they had to offer. They had a nice floor plan with lots of great amenities available to all of the residents. Overall It was pleasant just was not the right fit for my mother .
I did not tour the Sky Peaks because it was outside our price range, so I can't really rate anything except overall impression. The 3-star overall is because they were quite slow with responses to my questions. I would email them a question and it would be dead air for a few days before I received a response. It did not give me a good feeling. I tried to change the rating to 3 stars, but it won't do it.
A super experience so far! Just moved in and everyone is super friendly and helpful. I couldn't be happier!
The atmosphere and care is going very well for my brother. This community has no problems staying clean, the staff do a good job. My brother likes his meals and it seems to be healthy because he has lost a few pounds to be healthier. Since it has been fine so far, I would absolutely recommend this community to family or friends.
Super people! Helpful , kind ,compassionate!
This is a nice facility, but it is overpriced. The staff is very friendly and competent. They could communicate a little better with us definitely. The food is decent.
See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.
To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:
If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.
Please enter a valid email address.