Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

428 Kawaihae Street, Honolulu, HI 96825


About the community Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

Nestled in the lush Ka'alakei Valley, Hawaii Kai is a welcoming haven. Stroll the walking paths and enjoy serene sites of blooming flowers and bubbling waterfalls. Cool off in the saltwater pool. Dine on culturally inspired chef-prepared meals and take in ocean views from the dining room. Enjoy meaningful relationships with neighbors and staff, and a strong connection with the surrounding community. You're close to shopping centers, healthcare, many unique local attractions, and just 20 minutes from downtown Honolulu and Waikiki.

Hawaii Kai is feeling more like family than ever with new leadership at the helm of caring staff, many who've been serving our residents for decades. With a renewed sense of ohana and ongoing upgrades to our beautiful grounds, we're your award-winning choice for senior living in Honolulu.

Our all-inclusive month-to-month rent covers:

  • Private apartment suites
  • Daily chef-prepared meals with local flare
  • A variety of enriching activities
  • Maintenance-free living
  • Housekeeping and linen service
  • Local, scheduled transportation
  • Utilities

Familiar faces

This community is the new extension of your family. From pleasant housekeepers, attentive servers at mealtime who've been here for decades, and helpful maintenance technicians, there is always someone there when you need them, We're...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Independent living

Pricing for Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care

Meals & Dining

Meals provided

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Bath tubs
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Cable or satellite tv

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Property convenient to public transit
Uncovered parking

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Barber shop
Beauty salon

Services

Beautician

Recreational areas

Swimming pool
Billiards lounge
Fitness center
Game room

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Devotional activities offsite
Art classes
Cooking classes

Reviews for Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

4.5

(42 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.6

Care services

4.5

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

4.3

Activities

4.5

Value for cost

4.5

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 42 reviewsBack to top
5.0
August 6, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

Friendly and attentive staff.


5.0
August 6, 2020
Lindalee Schultz - Loved one of resident/client
Great Reception!

The last couple of times we’ve been to see Mom, front desk was helpful, courteous, and so nice. They were organized and I appreciate that they do this over and over and over again and still wear a smile! Covid has all of us on edge and I’m thankful the staff at Hawaii Kai help to ease our anxiety!


4.0
August 6, 2020
Alton - Resident/client
Good job

I keep myself busy having all these services here makes my life easier. I teach stretching exercises at city parks and here at the Hawaii Kai retirement community. I have 10 classes a week.


5.0
September 1, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community
Plan the Route

As we were driving to visit the first assisted living facility recommended by A Place for Mom. my father said to me he would not say a word he was just going too sit there! I agreed he didn't need to talk, just look it over. Once the representative started explaining the features and opportunities and directed all questions to him about what had brought him to Hawaii in the first place, he opened up and chatted away. We did not end up choosing this particular facility as it didn't have a garden, but my father's attitude turned around completely and his choice is now a comfortable fit for him. My dad is a retired pilot and kept putting off making any choice. I reminded him that he NEVER would have just jumped in the plane and taken off without a detailed charted route after making sure that that the fuel tanks were full.


4.0
April 10, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Visited [date removed]. Beautiful place but mom didn't not like the pool since it was round and she couldn't swim laps. Also she felt neighborhood did not allow for beautiful walks that she is used to at Kapiolani Park at Waikiki. Lovely outdoor dining bistro outside at the pool. Very nice dining rooms.


3.0
February 18, 2018
Anonymous - Toured community

Shows its age. Doesn't have a nursing home facility on the premises. Doesn't have a buy-in requirement which is a plus.


5.0
January 26, 2018
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Can't beat the location

My Father used to live at this facility 15 years ago so it was a very easy decision to bring my In-Law’s here. The building itself is very nice and you have an ocean view. My In-Law’s apartment is right over a koi pond as well. You can’t beat the location for the price. It’s has been recently remodeled and they have new flooring and fountains. For activities, they have a lot of social events and a lot of trips to go shopping. I would recommend this facility to other families.

Response from Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

March 13, 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for the awesome review! We are proud that you were able to choose us twice to help both your father and your in-law's live better. We hope to see you again soon!


5.0
January 17, 2018
Anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
All of My Expectations are Being Met

All of my expectations are being met here at Hawaii Kai. The people here from the administration to the kitchen crew to the maintenance workers have been courteous and quick to solve any issues I might have. They have so much variety here in regard to food as well. I was surprised that they only offer plain yogurt, but otherwise, they offer several options at mealtimes, and are more than willing to accommodate special dietary needs. I'm still new, so I have not been able to participate in any activities yet, but they have various games and exercise classes here, among other things that I would like to join in once I have then chance. I think the single most wonderful quality of this community is its spaciousness. My studio is on the first floor, and I love being able to come right out onto the walking paths they have. It's really an expansive community in many ways, and I would recommend it to other families.


4.0
December 11, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The staff is really good here

My Mom is here currently but will be coming home. The staff has been really good and they really do try their best to make sure she’s happy. I’ve eaten there quite a bit and the food is great. They have a lot of options available and it seems to change often. It’s definitely nutritious. They have all kinds of activities that the residents can participate in like trips out on the town, games, and there’s even a monthly calendar they put out that goes more into detail about what they have planned. Everyone was really friendly and helpful where they could be, so my Mom coming home isn’t based on her experience with the community itself. Overall, I would recommend them.


4.0
December 1, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
The staff makes my dad feel at home

My Father is very happy here and I like that the rent includes everything like his meals. It is less for us to have to worry about and the biggest thing is that he is happy. When we were looking at facilities, we needed something right away and this community was able to accommodate us within 1 week. This was our first and only facility that we looked at because we liked it so much. There are a lot of activities here and my dad is not required to follow them. For activities, they offer things like exercise, watching football, transportation to the mall, as well as transportation to medical appointments. The staff here is great and they treat my dad with respect. They make him feel more at home. I would recommend this community to other families.


4.0
November 17, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Very nice facility

We chose to move Mom back to Hawaii since that is where she is from as well the majority of our relatives too. From what my Mother has said, she thinks the place is very nice. Of course this is a big change in lifestyle and the staff is doing what they can to help her adjust. My mom is not one to socialize nor participate in a lot of activities. It has only been a month and hopefully she will try to participate in some of the many activities they offer to keep busy.


5.0
September 4, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community

We had very good experience of touring this community.It is spacious with lots of open spaces and walking area. The apt. are good size and look comfortable some even has the wash and dryer inside . We tried their lunch which is good .The portion is just right with low salt and low sugar also has several courses to chose from. This community appears very well managed and up keep.


3.0
August 15, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Everything is going alright!!

My mother has recently made the move into this community and so far things are going alright for her. She has made the adjustment and is slowly getting acquainted with all of the residents in her new living environment. I have been pleased with the staff and am comfortable with the quality of care they have been providing her. Overall it has been a great place and I would recommend it to anyone.


4.0
August 15, 2017
Anonymous - Resident/client
Verified Review
Helpful Staff!!

I have no complaints about how things are going for myself since I made the move into this community. The staff are friendly and I am comfortable with the care they have been providing myself. They serve us three meals today and they all have been tasty. I also have been starting to participate in some of the great activities they have available to all of the residents. Overall it has been a pleasant experience so far and I would recommend it to anyone.


5.0
February 8, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A great community

This is a great community for the care of a loved one. My mom was very happy with the staff and the attention that she was given. The food is outstanding. We were happy to know that she was active. The community is clean and we would recommend other families wold be happy with the care and the value.


4.0
December 16, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
A great place

I like the care that my mom is getting. great care with the excellent staff members here. The meals are good a nutritious. She does the activities and doing the exercises are helping here. I like this beautiful community and would recommend other families for the care and the value of a loved one.


5.0
October 3, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community

This location isn't very convenient for my parents. Beautiful area, though.


5.0
April 25, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Accommodating Community

My mother really loves this community and I am pleased with all they have done for us. They have been very accommodating and they were able to accommodate her special needs. The community is nice and everything looks very clean. The staff has been helpful and kind, they are always there when she needs some help. They do offer nice activities through out the week. She likes the food, and the meals are nice. They have been very responsive to my concerns. I would recommend this community.


3.5
March 18, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Nice place

Hawaii Kai Retirement is clean and nice. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. My problem is my parents are in Assisted Living. My mother is capable of independent living but my father needs a little care with medicine and catheter. They lost all their independence moving from the house they lived in for 59 years. They have no family close by to help them. they are frustrated by having to schedule appointments on certain days at certain times. No one has taken them by the hand to show them how to take the transportation to the grocery store. The staff in assisted living is used to people who do not leave and my mother wants to leave. They end up taking taxis. I will be taking another trip out there to help them overcome some of these obstacles.


1.0
September 14, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Needs To Improve

I think that Hawaii Kai needs to work on improving their care for the assisted living unit. All of their staff members need to be a little better trained at doing their job. I do not rate them very highly.

Response from Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

September 30, 2015

Hi, I'm Katie, I work at Holiday Retirement's Home Office. First, I'm glad you brought your concerns to our attention. Second, please know that we take our dedication to senior living and improving the senior experience very highly. I've escalated your concern to our Resident Relations department for their review. You are more than welcome to call them as well if you have any additional details to share. Their phone number is [removed]. Thank you, Katie


Neighborhood around Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community

Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Hawai'i Kai Retirement Community has received an average review rating of 4.5 based on 42 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Honolulu, HI

1 / 3

Wilson Senior Living Kailua

96 Kaneohe Bay Dr, Kailua, HI 96734
(7 reviews)

Kina 'Ole Estate

45-225 William Henry Rd, Kaneohe, HI 96744

'Ilima at Leihano

739 Leihano St, Kapolei, HI 96707
(32 reviews)

Kalama Heights

101 Kanani Road, Kihei, HI 96753
(9 reviews)

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Sign up for our newsletter
Get insights and articles in your inbox.

Please enter a valid email address.

701 5th Ave #3200, Seattle, WA 98104

A Place for Mom is paid by our participating communities, therefore our service is offered at no charge to families. Copyright © 2021 A Place for Mom, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Terms. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.