About Assisted LivingAssisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.Complete guide to assisted livingBest of 2024 Assisted Living Winners
About Memory CareMemory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering. Complete guide to memory careBest of 2024 Memory Care Winners
About Independent LivingIndependent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to independent livingBest of 2024 Independent Living Winners
About Senior LivingSenior living is a term used to describe various housing and care options for older adults from maintenance-free, 55+ facilities for active seniors, to secure, fully staffed facilities for seniors with Alzheimer's or dementia. Complete guide to senior livingFind senior living facilities near you
About Nursing HomesNursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.Complete guide to Nursing Homes
About Senior ApartmentsSenior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.Complete guide to Senior Apartments
About Care HomesResidential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.Complete guide to care homes
Veteran ResourcesVA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
VERIFIED PARTNER

Avista Living

CompareSaveShare

9014 South Ferndale Place Drive, Houston, TX 77064

3.0
Review score
12 reviews
Add review
3.0
Review score
12 reviews
5 star
25%
4 star
25%
3 star
17%
2 star
0%
1 star
33%
See all reviews
For pricing & availability:
(866) 374-4058
Avista Living
CompareSaveShare
Avista Living
22 Photos available
Avista Living in google map

Get pricing & check availability

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You also consent to receive texts and calls, which may be autodialed, from us and our partner providers; however, your consent is not a condition to using our service.

anonymous
-
Family/friend
4.0
Good with reservations
Everything is pretty good except there are no activities for residents. It is just a place to park your relative with nothing to stimulate them or improve their condition. Most residents just stay in bed all day with no incentive on the part of Avista to get them out of bed and provide som

About the facility
Avista Living

hink of the home you have always dreamt to live in during your golden years- a home provided with a fireplace, a beautiful garden, privacy, independence, spaciousness and yet cozy. Most importantly, you can call this place your home. There are no worries about maintaining it! You can be assured that there will be on-hand assistance and care whenever you need them.

24 hour supervision
Shared or private rooms
Three meals a day with optional snacks
Laundry and housekeeping
Assistance with medication
Transportation arrangements
Assistance with personal care and activities of daily living
Referral to community resources
Referral to other healthcare providers
Wellness program and nutrition
All utilities, phone and TV hook-up (monthly phone and cable services available for additional fee)
Wheelchair Accessible

Senior living options offered

Residential Care Home

Pricing
for Avista Living

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at $XXXX/mo
Unlock pricing
Private
Starting at $XXXX/mo
*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Tours
at Avista Living

Select tour type
Select preferred date
Select preferred time

Compare

Avista Living
Avista Living

9014 South Ferndale Place Drive, Houston, TX 77064

Fairbanks Court Assisted Living
Fairbanks Court Assisted Living

7810 Trentway St, Houston, TX 77040

Light Heart Memory Care - Webster
Light Heart Memory Care - Webster

910 Kingsgate Ln, Houston, TX 77058

God Love Assisted Living Homes
God Love Assisted Living Homes

9131 Gianna Ct, Houston, TX 77083

3.0
Review score
12 reviews
3.0
Review score
12 reviews
5 star
25%
4 star
25%
3 star
17%
2 star
0%
1 star
33%
9.5
Review score
14 reviews
9.5
Review score
14 reviews
5 star
57%
4 star
36%
3 star
7%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
9.5
Review score
11 reviews
9.5
Review score
11 reviews
5 star
82%
4 star
9%
3 star
9%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
9.4
Review score
21 reviews
9.4
Review score
21 reviews
5 star
75%
4 star
5%
3 star
10%
2 star
10%
1 star
0%
1 bedroom
--
1 bedroom
--
1 bedroom
Starting at $X,XXX/mo
1 bedroom
--

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Active promotion

No

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

No

Pet friendly

Yes

Pet friendly

No

Care types offered

1

Residential Care Home

Care types offered

2

Memory Care, Residential Care Home

Care types offered

2

Memory Care, Residential Care Home

Care types offered

1

Residential Care Home

Amenities
at Avista Living

Healthcare Services

  • High Acuity Care
  • Staffing & Ancillary Services
  • Diabetic Care
  • Incontinence Care
  • Non-Ambulatory Care
  • Medication Management
  • Memory Care

Meals & Dining

  • Meals Provided

Room Amenities

  • Bath Tubs
  • Wheelchair Accessible Showers
  • Respite or Short Term Stays Offered

Community Amenities

Transportation & parking

  • Resident Parking Available
  • Transportation at Cost
  • Complimentary Transportation

Pets

  • Dogs Allowed

Common areas

  • Indoor Common Areas
  • Private Bath
  • Outdoor Common Areas

Services

  • Beautician

Languages spoken

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Activities

  • Buddhist Services
  • Activities On-site
  • Christian Services
  • Adventist Services
  • Devotional Activities On-Site

Reviews

for Avista Living

3Review score12 reviews
3.0
Review score
12 reviews
5 star
25%
4 star
25%
3 star
17%
2 star
0%
1 star
33%
Avista Senior Care, LLC
4.8
Review score15 reviews2 communities
Write a review
A Place for Mom has scored Avista Living with 3 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 1 review in the last 2 years. Over all time, Avista Living has 12 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 2.9 out of 5.
Overall Rating
2.9
Cleanliness
4.2
Friendliness
3.0
Care Services
3.4
Staff
2.3
Meals & Dining
3.5
Activities
2.5
Value for Cost
2.8
A Place for Mom has scored Avista Living with 3 out of 10 using our proprietary review score based on 1 review in the last 2 years. Over all time, Avista Living has 12 reviews with an average "overall experience" of 2.9 out of 5.
Parent company
Avista Senior Care, LLC
4.8
Review score15 reviews2 communities
Filters
Overall Experience
Date Submitted
Reviewer
Care Received
Verified Review
A Place For Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community.
1-12 of 12 reviews
anonymous - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
January 31, 2023
3.0
Verified Review
A small facility with no activities to motivate residents.
There are some improvements that can be made. For instance, the aides are apparently not to touch the thermostat until the owner gets there, so sometimes it's cold in the mornings. I don't think they come in often to check and see what our loved one needs. The meals are often cold when they get to her. There are no activities (mostly due to the other residents not being at a level where they could participate - and I understand that's not Avista Living's fault). She is getting her scheduled showers three times a week. And we were able to got her PT/OT schedule worked out with them.
Cleanliness
3
Friendliness
4
Care Services
4
Staff
4
Meals & Dining
4
Activities
1
Value for Cost
2
anonymous - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
March 17, 2022
0.5
Verified Review
Be very very careful.
It was a horrible experience. Don't take your loved ones there. They are mean and cruel, and it created great sadness for me to believe that I had actually placed my loved one there. They had absolutely no activities. I cannot score their care services low enough. If your loved one has any special needs, forget about it. They told us they could accommodate, and they could not and did not.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
0.5
Care Services
0.5
Staff
0.5
Meals & Dining
3
Activities
0.5
Value for Cost
0.5
anonymous - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
February 29, 2020
4.0
Good with reservations
Everything is pretty good except there are no activities for residents. It is just a place to park your relative with nothing to stimulate them or improve their condition. Most residents just stay in bed all day with no incentive on the part of Avista to get them out of bed and provide some type of daily activities for the residents besides lying in bed watching tv or sitting around watching tv/sitting outside.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
3.5
Value for Cost
3
Care Services
4
Activities
2
anonymous - Industry reviewer
Residential Care Home
September 29, 2015
1.0
This place is a [removed] all that they say that they offer are l[removed] poor residents are just waiting on a [removed] while doing nothing but watching tv the owners doesn't care nor do they spend time with the residents I'll recommend that you'll be better off getting your loved one a private caregiver before you allow them to waste away in either one of Avista's facilities at least they'll be entertained and get to see outside more
Cleanliness
1.5
Friendliness
1
Value for Cost
1
Care Services
1
Activities
1
Disappointed - Industry reviewer
Residential Care Home
September 25, 2015
0.5
Don't believe the hype
I will not recommend this place because all the residents do is sit in the living room watching game shows all day no outdoor activities they are sitting around and wasting away all of the food served is out dated 3 years or less Hannah feels if she freeze it then it's ok they care more about cleanliness than resident care and all of the residents clothes are washed together they sell themselves to be the best but it's all lies those fake games that they say that the residents play are false they doesn't have any activities but watch game shows all day so if you want your love one to rott away this is the perfect place for them the owners only want money but the staff is the best but the owners are the worst
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
0.5
Value for Cost
0.5
Care Services
5
Activities
0.5
anonymous - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
March 18, 2015
5.0
Verified Review
I'm pretty happy with them.
I'm pretty happy with them. They seem to be taking pretty good care of her. It's kept clean, and the staff is friendly. The food really isn't an issue for us, but it always looks good when I go. I would rate them pretty highly.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
Teresa - Industry reviewer
Residential Care Home
November 13, 2014
4.5
Wonderful Place
This place is very caring to their residents. The environment is very cozy. It's feel like home. Home is spotless and beautiful. The caregivers are very nice and sweet. I would totally live here when it my turn.
Cleanliness
4.5
Friendliness
4.5
Value for Cost
4.5
Care Services
4.5
Activities
4
Anonymous - Toured community
Residential Care Home
October 13, 2014
4.0
Verified Review
Review of Avista Living Residential Care Home in Houston, TX
This is a great place and gives great care. I have my father here as this is the care he needed when he came out of the hospital. His medication has been taken care of now and leveled out.
Cleanliness
4
Friendliness
4
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
4
Anonymous - Industry reviewer
Residential Care Home
February 3, 2014
0.5
Inside Scoop
This facility is nice, however the management doesn't spend time with the resident's as they pretend they do. They also, don't do ANY of the activities unless family, Dr.'s etc are around. Just don't take your family/friends to the 2nd facility, if it's opened yet. I can imagine that being 10 times worst unless One previous Manger that was there before returns. Wouldn't put my worst enemy in these facilities. Rip off
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
0.5
Value for Cost
0.5
Care Services
0.5
Activities
0.5
Loved one - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
January 22, 2014
4.0
Verified Review
Nice place
I think they do a great job here. The staff are all very friendly and caring, and they keep the place looking nice. It's got a warm and caring atmosphere. The activities could use some work, although many of their residents are not lucid enough to participate anyway. My biggest issue with this place is that the food has been very hit or miss, which depends a lot on which staff member is preparing it. This is something I've been working with them on, and I think it is improving.
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
4
Care Services
4
Activities
3
Family member - Family/friend
Residential Care Home
October 11, 2013
5.0
Verified Review
I liekd the care and the way they man...
I liekd the care and the way they managed the patients, it was more personable, everything was good except they're holding the funds for the month
Cleanliness
5
Friendliness
5
Value for Cost
5
Care Services
5
Activities
5
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Residential Care Home
December 20, 2012
3.0
Verified Review
1. Home ( 1970's) was in original con...
1. Home ( 1970's) was in original condition. Space was adequate 2. Residents appeared well cared for Mix of capabilities from bedridden and non responsive to higher functioning 3. Personnel appeared competent - Caregiver is impressive Net option for families unable to spend more for a "nicer" environment.
Cleanliness
3
Friendliness
3
Value for Cost
3
Care Services
3
Activities
3
Viewing 1-12 out of 12 reviews

Neighborhoods
around Avista Living

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:
Avista Living in google map

Frequently Asked Questions
about Avista Living

Avista Living offers Private and Semi-Private. Learn more.

A Place for Mom has scored Avista Living 3 out of 10 using our proprietary review score.

 

We assign review scores to give a more reliable view into senior living communities and home care agencies. Our review scores prioritize reviews that are recent — the past 24 months — because we know families need current information when choosing senior care.

 

Those with many recent, positive reviews receive a high review score, while providers with few recent reviews — regardless of how positive — receive a lower review score. Communities with no recent reviews will not have a review score, even if older reviews are positive. The maximum A Place for Mom review score a community can receive is 10 points.

Call (281) 653-9001 to reach a resident at Avista Living.

Similar communities nearby

Find Residential Care Home

Photo of Cypress Assisted Living I

Cypress Assisted Living I

12714 Park Forest Drive, Cypress, TX 77429
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
1.0
Review score
27 reviews
1.0
Review score
27 reviews
5 star
63%
4 star
19%
3 star
7%
2 star
4%
1 star
7%
Private, Semi-Private
Cypress Assisted Living is a licensed Type B 11-bed assisted living residence designed for elders who are unable to live alone but choose not to reside in a nursing home. Our intimacy allows for one-on-one loving care. We are located in the wooded Timberlake Estates near Hwy. 290/Huffmeister in...
Photo of Cypress Assisted Living III

Cypress Assisted Living III

13106 Bexhill Dr, Houston, TX 77065
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
0%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
100%
1 star
0%
Private, Semi-Private
Comfort Care specializes in providing the perfect blend of care and assistance in a comforting, warm and supportive home-like residence. We offer exceptional senior living options to assist the elderly.Comfort Care Assisted Living Facility is a 7 bed facility located in Northwest Houston. We give...
Photo of Avid Care Cottages-Champions

Avid Care Cottages-Champions

5807 Old Lodge, Houston, TX 77066
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
5 star
22%
4 star
33%
3 star
34%
2 star
0%
1 star
11%
Private, Semi-Private
Avid Care Cottages - Champions is a residential care community located in the city of Houston, Texas in the county of Harris. The district of Houston where Avid Care Cottages - Champions is located is perfect for seniors looking for a small environment in a home-like setting. Champions Village is...
Photo of Cypress Assisted Living- Drake Prairie Lane
Private, Studio, 1bd
Photo of Avista Home

Avista Home

11703 Echo Spring Ln, Houston, TX 77065
Starting at $X,XXX+ monthly
8.3
Review score
5 reviews
8.3
Review score
5 reviews
5 star
40%
4 star
40%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
20%
Private, Semi-Private

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom. A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.

Back to top