A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Independent Living
Senior Living

Sunrise of Santa Monica

1312 15th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90404

For pricing & availability


Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit”, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent to receive calls and texts, which may be autodialed, from us and our customer communities. Your consent is not a condition to using our service. Please visit our Privacy Policy for information about our privacy practices.

Sunrise of Santa Monica community exterior
13 Photos
13 Photos available
4 Floor plans
4 Floor plans available
Sunrise of Santa Monica in google map
street view of Sunrise of Santa Monica
W Davis - Loved one of resident/client
4.0
A Safe, Comfortable Place for Your Loved

Sunrise is warm and comfortable looking. It is very clean and looks new. The majority of the staff are very friendly. The community is in a convenient location. The staff communication with the family has been very good. The meals have either been overcooked, unappealing, or served cold. It would nice to see this improved. The soup offered is very good.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the facility Sunrise of Santa Monica

Step into a Sunrise Assisted Living community and you can't help but feel at home. We stop at nothing to make your experience warm and inviting, from our homelike exterior architecture, to our comfortable community areas and choice of suites to our exceptional outdoor gardens and landscaping. Look around and you'll notice fresh flowers throughout the residence, and you may even spot our dog or our cat. And of course, there are always the friendly smiling faces of our staff to ensure that each day spent here is a welcome one.

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.
Sunrise of Santa Monica is a community within Sunrise Senior Living properties. See all Sunrise Senior Living communities.

Pricing for Sunrise of Santa Monica

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
Semi-Private
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Sunrise of Santa Monica

Community Details at Sunrise of Santa Monica

Activities Offsite

Activities Onsite

Beautician Onsite

Devotional Services Offsite

Devotional Services Onsite

Indoor Common Areas

Meals Provided

Outdoor Common Areas


More on this community

Reviews

for Sunrise of Santa Monica
4.0(22 reviews)
Write a Review

Cleanliness

4.2

Friendliness

4.2

Meals & Dining

3.0

Care Services

4.0

Activities

4.0

Staff

3.0

Value for Cost

3.8

Overall Experience
10
7
4
0
1
Date Submitted
2
4
7
Reviewer
1
9
12
0
Care Received
2
20
1-20 of 22 reviews
Sort by

4.0
W Davis - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
November 11, 2022
Verified Review
A Safe, Comfortable Place for Your Loved

Sunrise is warm and comfortable looking. It is very clean and looks new. The majority of the staff are very friendly. The community is in a convenient location. The staff communication with the family has been very good. The meals have either been overcooked, unappealing, or served cold. It would nice to see this improved. The soup offered is very good.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

2

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Staff

3

Value for Cost

4

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

November 14, 2022

Hi W, Thank you for the wonderful things you said about Sunrise of Santa Monica and the dedicated care givers and team members. Our residents are part of the Sunrise family and we take enormous pride in having the privilege to take care of them.


1.0
Jo - Resident/client
Memory Care
September 6, 2022
I would not trust Sunrise of Santa Monica to care for my mother. They failed miserably.

I had my MIL at this facility since 2017. The care really degraded over time but it's been down right horrible since the last director left. For over two months, They failed to administer 5-6 medications and one of the medication was for stroke! Furthermore, they failed to alert me. Yet, that didn't stop them from charging me $[removed]a day/$[removed] month specifically for this care. They also charge separately for incontinence care yet I saw my MIL lay in soiled bed much too often. I finally moved her out and requested my refundable deposit. For two months, the director avoided my call in attempt to keep the money. I am going to have to do the small claims. Ugh. I typically do not write bad reviews but this is a pretty bad case. One does not expect such poor care of loved ones at any place let alone from a provider who charges so much.

Cleanliness

1

Friendliness

1

Meals & Dining

3

Care Services

1

Activities

2

Staff

1

Value for Cost

1

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

September 26, 2022

Hi Jo, We take your experience at Sunrise of Santa Monica very seriously and would like to review this matter closer. Please contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com so we can promptly review and address these concerns. – The Sunrise Team


4.5
M L B - Toured community
Memory Care
April 13, 2022
Verified Review
My tour review

The tour was fine, helpful and we just went with another community because it just gave us that feeling that we needed.

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

May 17, 2022

Hi M, Each and every guest who enters a Sunrise community is important to us. It is wonderful to know that you had a positive experience when touring Sunrise of Santa Monica. We would be pleased to answer any remaining questions you may have. If you have additional questions, you are welcome to contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team


5.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
February 1, 2022
Verified Review
My tour review

This community was fine but there was another community that just made more sense for my loved one.


3.0
anonymous - Toured community
Assisted Living
October 13, 2021
Verified Review
My tour review

This community was great it was just not what I was looking for or needed care wise.


4.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Assisted Living
August 2, 2021
Verified Review
For us it was a perfect step between skilled nursing and senior care

Our loved one was there for just a few months for respite care, but our experience was good. The community was clean, and we thought the staff members and their care services were great. The meals and dining service was good. They did have activities going on. At first since this was our families first experience with a community, the value for cost was sticker shocking, but after looking around we thought it was fine.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Meals & Dining

4

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Staff

4

Value for Cost

4


5.0
G. M. - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 26, 2021
Verified Review
Do Your Research, Go with what works for you both Financially and Personal

The community was way too expensive for us. Sunrise was able to keep my loved one busy gardening and with other activities. This wouldn't be my first choice due to the cost. The staff communication was very good with the family.

Cleanliness

No data collected

Friendliness

5

Meals & Dining

No data collected

Care Services

4

Activities

5

Staff

4

Value for Cost

2


5.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
January 26, 2016
Verified Review
Its all good.

Its all good. I do not have any complaints about ANYTHING with this facility. I would absolutely recommend to friends and other family. Just Overall a fantastic place.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

4

Value for Cost

4


4.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
August 17, 2015
Verified Review
Overall, It Has Been Good

I think that they could improve on service in the dining room. I think that they need to add some staff too. Honestly, I think they could use a pastry chef or someone that is good at baking. I know it sounds strange, but people like their desserts and they could be better. Overall though, it has been good.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

4

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

August 26, 2015

Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving (dot) com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you, Sunrise Team


5.0
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
June 24, 2015

We enjoyed our visit and tour. I look forward to taking my mother there for lunch and to meet some of the residents. The activities looked interesting for her. I had the impression that they would work with us on my father's reluctance to move.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.5
anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
June 18, 2015
Verified Review
very nice, friendly, and helpful

I have been very well pleased with Sunrise of Santa Monica. There is a lady that lives there whom I love and have helped out for years, and I am happy to say that she is doing well. The people there are very pleasant to work with. All the staff are all very nice, friendly, and helpful. The only possible area for improvement is that they do seem like they might be a tad understaffed. I am not sure if that is accurate or not, but that has been a perception of mine. But they do a really great job.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4.5


3.0
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
April 11, 2015
Verified Review
nice place overall

The nursing staff and all those people are really very great. I do have some issues with the administration however as they have a tendency to make promises that they don't keep. That is one area for improvement. Another would be to make sure that the residents are able to make it to all the activities. Overall it is a pretty nice place. The food is pretty decent also.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

4

Care Services

4

Activities

2

Value for Cost

4

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

April 14, 2015

Thank you for your review and please know that we take all concerns seriously. We’d like to learn more about your experience with Sunrise, so please email us at Information(At)SunriseSeniorLiving(dot)com. Thank you, Sunrise Team.


5.0
Barbara Steinhauser - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
March 7, 2015
First Week Went Well

We had to move Nana to Assisted Living and the staff at Sunrise understood how difficult this was. They were kind and supportive- the Executive Director met with us one on one a few times to address our concerns. The custodian helped us hang a heavy painting, providing the hardware. And the activities director made sure our Nana was busy immediately. The garage is an added benefit and the care staff watched her like a new mother watches a newborn. Very cozy place. We all relaxed, knowing Nana will be looked after here and will enjoy activities like art classes and The Getty tour. Added bonus is a church service with communion- she didn't have this at her last place. And it's all on two floors so she can walk down the hall to Bingo or take a quick elevator ride to the dining room.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


3.5
Family Member - Toured community
Memory Care
July 28, 2014
Verified Review
This was very expensive.

This was very nice and very expensive. The base rate was a couple of thousand more than the place I chose. The rooms are smaller here too. The parking wasn't very good, you either had to find metered parking on the street or pay $12 at the lot next door .

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

5

Care Services

4

Activities

3.5

Value for Cost

3.5


3.0
Anonymous - Toured community
Memory Care
June 12, 2014
Verified Review
You know how everything is ...

You know how everything is an extra charge for care in a lot of these places? They seemed to have a lot of that on top of the extra stuff my mom was going to need. By the time I was all done with it, the place I chose was a little more expensive but it was all inclusive so I didn't feel like I was being nickeled and dimed. Sunrise was a very nice community.

Cleanliness

3

Friendliness

3

Care Services

3

Activities

3

Value for Cost

3


3.5
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
April 21, 2014
Verified Review
Not perfect, but very good.

My Dad has been at Sunrise on the Memory Care floor almost two months now. Obviously, a difficult decision to move him there as we had 24/7 caregivers for him at home. We felt he would receive good care and better stimulation at Sunrise. The staff is very, very friendly and I am very pleased with the level of stimulation he receives there, including going on outings up to two times per week. We still have a private caregiver with Dad from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. We have noticed that when the private caregiver is not there, Dad is not receiving the kind of care and attention we were hoping for. We understand his needs cannot be met exactly at the moment he needs them met, however, there have been mornings that he has soaked the bed. My concern is that he isn't checked on often enough during the night. They only have two full time staff for the overnight hours. I appreciate how difficult it is to manage a population of patients suffering from various forms of dementia and given that understanding, I feel Sunrise is doing a very good job.

Cleanliness

4

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

3.5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

3.5

Response from Sunrise of Santa Monica

August 26, 2015

Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Information (at) SunriseSeniorLiving (dot) com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you, Sunrise Team


5.0
Marybeth - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
October 25, 2013
Verified Review
A safe, caring environment

Sunrise is a beautiful, well kept facility with a very helpful, friendly staff. The staff has made my Mom's adjustment and mine very easy. Mom is enjoying the quality care she is receiving and I am enjoying the peace of mind that she is in a caring, safe environment.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


5.0
Stacy - Loved one of resident/client
Memory Care
September 23, 2013
Verified Review
Everything is Great

I'm not paying for it, it's my brother-in-law that's paying, but I know they gave us a deal for this first month. It's sort of half price because they're sort of evaluating my sister right now. It will go up in price if we leave her there. We really don't know what her needs are going to be so that's why we opted for this. I think everything is great. My sister is in the memory unit. There's assisted living and the memory unit. Tomorrow they're providing transportation for her to her doctor's appointment, so that's good.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

5

Activities

5

Value for Cost

5


4.5
Traci - Toured community
Memory Care
September 4, 2013
Verified Review
Not What I Was Looking For

Sunrise was okay. I didn't get as comfortable of a feeling from the interation I had in my initial conversation with them. You know how everything is an extra charge for care in a lot of these places? They seemed to have a lot of that on top of the extra stuff my mom was going to need. By the time I was all done with it, the place I chose was a little more expensive but it was all inclusive so I didn't feel like I was being nickeled and dimed. Sunrise was a very nice community. If my mother was at an earlier point in her life I may have considered it. It just wasn't what I was looking for.

Cleanliness

4.5

Friendliness

4.5

Care Services

4.5

Activities

4.5

Value for Cost

4


4.0
Robert - Toured community
Memory Care
August 27, 2013
Verified Review
More Expensive

We liked it but it was a little bit more expensive than another place. It would have been our second choice.

Cleanliness

5

Friendliness

5

Care Services

4

Activities

4

Value for Cost

3


Viewing 1-20 out of 22 reviews

Neighborhood around Sunrise of Santa Monica

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunrise of Santa Monica

Sunrise of Santa Monica offers Studio, 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedrooms and Semi-Private. Learn more.

Sunrise of Santa Monica has received an average review rating of 4 based on 22 reviews. See all reviews.

Call (310) 899-1976 to reach a resident at Sunrise of Santa Monica.

To reach a resident at Sunrise of Santa Monica call: (310) 899-1976



Similar communities nearby

1 / 4
Find Senior Living
There are 82 facilities near Santa Monica, CA

Sunrise of Playa Vista

5555 Playa Vista Drive, Playa Vista, CA 90094

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(45 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Step into a Sunrise Assisted Living community and you can't help but feel at home. We stop at nothing to make your experience warm and inviting, from our homelike exterior architecture, to our comfortable community areas and choice of suites to our exceptional outdoor gardens and landscaping....

Belmont Village Westwood

10475 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(18 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Belmont Village of Westwood, California is situated in a lushly landscaped residential neighborhood in the heart of Westwood. Our senior living facility is located along Wilshire Boulevard's 'Golden Mile.' Residents enjoy shopping at its best on Rodeo Drive, Century City and Westwood Village....

Atria Park of Pacific Palisades

15441 W Sunset Blvd, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.5

(16 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Residential location in sought-after Pacific Palisades Village, five miles from the John Wayne Cancer Institute and Saint John’s Health Center. Rooftop terrace with ocean and mountain views, lovely outdoor gardens, beauty salon and spa with services available by appointment, Wi-Fi, scheduled,...

Meridian at Ocean Villa

413 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90402

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.8

(6 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Preservation of Personal Dignity & Enhancement of Quality of Life is our Primary Goal.' Ocean Villa's purpose is to create an atmosphere as close to that which you or your loved one would enjoy at home. As a state-licensed Assisted Living Home for ambulatory and non-ambulatory seniors, we offer...

Ivy Park at Culver City

4061 Grand View Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90066

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(29 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

A Sunrise Senior Living "Villa" community specializing in Assisted Living and Memory care focusing on low to moderate Alzheimer' or dementia. Rated by THE GILBERT GUIDE as the premier Assisted Living facility in California.Our resident-driven programming, meals, and surroundings were designed to...

Bentley Suites by Serenity Care Health

851 4th St, Santa Monica, CA 90403

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.7

(3 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Bentley Suites by Serenity Care Health Bentley Suites offers highly trained professionals, including an RN, Medical Director, Pharmacy Consultant, Nutrition Director, and Activity Director 24/7. The facility also offers all of the amenities enjoyed in a modern Residential Care Facility for the...

Terraza Court Senior Living

10955 Washington Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(4 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Terraza Court Senior Living is a newly renovated premiere senior living community located in the bustling town of Culver City, Los Angeles County, California, one of the many industry cities around Los Angeles. Residents who live here have access to a variety of ethnic restaurants and quaint...

Bentley Manor by Serenity Care Health

3425 McLaughlin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90066

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(12 reviews)

Studio, Semi-Private

Bentley Manor By Serenity Care Health Welcome to Bentley Manor! We are a 27-bed assisted living facility located in Los Angeles, California. We accommodate seniors who require assistance with activities of daily living in a luxurious, safe and home-like setting which enables our residents to...

The Plaza at Westwood

2228 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.8

(20 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Located in the heart of renowned Westwood, Westwood Plaza offers life without the demands of cooking, cleaning, housekeeping and maintenance.  At Westwood Plaza we do the work so you can pursue life's leisure. The Community  Living at Westwood Plaza offers the opportunity to enjoy the...

The Watermark at Westwood Village

947 Tiverton Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(10 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Welcome to Vintage Westwood Horizons Independent Senior Living in Los Angeles, California.Make yourself at home at Vintage Westwood Horizons in Los Angeles, California. It’s a friendly, flexible environment that celebrates your individuality and nurtures your soul. We recognize that each new...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.