Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

1615 Brush College Road Northwest, Salem, OR 97304

Connect With a Local Advisor:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid phone number.

Please enter a valid email address.

By clicking Talk to an Advisor, you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our customer communities, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living in google map

About the community Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

Looking for an exceptional senior living community?
Well, you’ve found it. When you combine an exceptional lifestyle, ready-made friends and outstanding service, the result is what we call
Retirement Perfected™
Welcome to Bonaventure Retirement and Assisted Living Community Life is good here in our community, and we like to share it with welcomed guests. You'll be proud to share it with your friends and family too. You will appreciate the great architecture, high ceilings, natural light and unequaled common areas for entertaining. Or perhaps you'll want to take a stroll through our peaceful neighborhood and beautifully landscaped gardens. In this friendly neighborhood, you'll find Gibson Creek and a home you will relish.

Good times, good friends and a good place on long summer evenings. Sit on the patio or go for a walk. During the holidays, cozy up to the fireplace or meet up with your friends without having to brave the winter weather. In every season, enjoy one of the many activities and events. You'll always be minutes from excellent shopping, banking, restaurants, health care and more. This really is the best of everything.

Retirement Perfected, right here That's life on your terms at our community. Create...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted living
Independent living

Pricing for Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
2 Bedrooms
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice available on-site
Nurse
Podiatrist
Physical therapist

Meals & Dining

Meals provided
Anytime dining
Guest meals
Restaurant style dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair accessible showers
Respite or short term stays offered
Wi-fi/high-speed internet
Cable or satellite tv

Community Amenities

Transporation & parking

Resident parking available
Complimentary transportation
Uncovered parking

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry service / drycleaning

Common areas

Outdoor common areas
Indoor common areas
Main street shops
Beauty salon

Pets

Cats allowed
Dogs allowed

Recreational areas

Arts and crafts center
Billiards lounge
Game room
Piano or organ

On-site dining options

Private dining room

Activities

Devotional activities on-site
Art classes
Day trips and outings
Happy hour

Reviews for Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

2.9

(29 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.3

Care services

3.1

Staff

1.3

Meals & dining

2.0

Activities

3.0

Value for cost

2.8

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews Page
1-20 of 29 reviews
2.0
August 26, 2021
Jolie - Child of resident/client
Don't Come Here

They've been terrible. It started out good, but all of a sudden all of the staff that we liked disappeared, and no one will say anything about them. The people who administer medication still know what they're doing. But they can't keep staff there in general, and they're charging us for services they're not providing. I've discussed that with them, and they haven't changed anything. My loved one is very unhappy there.


4.0
June 11, 2021
Anonymous - Toured community

Staff is very friendly, helpful and understanding. Facility is clean and uncluttered. Lots of activities going on. Excellent menu! We picked this facility for my 93 year old father who needs extra care.


1.0
April 8, 2021
Dr. John Callahan - Resident/client
Verified Review
just our opinion

My husband and I don’t take lightly writing this review but we want to help others be aware of what you might face when you move your loved one into a Bonaventure property or any other assisted living facility. We went through so much with this facility and it won't let us post our whole story. You better get everything in writing and be ready for a constant headache. They are not worth your time and energy.


0.5
July 2, 2020
Ally - Loved one of resident/client
Don’t bring your family member here

Do not send your family member here the woman that claims to Be the regional managers attire was completely inappropriate and her anger issues need to be corrected. The staff is negligent and does not follow Residents plan of care they did not check my grandfather’s depends hourly like they are supposed to they left my grandpa without his oxygen tank and unable to breathe. I’m disappointed and sickened and would hate to see anyone else’s family member be left it the care or lack there of at this facility.


1.0
February 27, 2020
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Do not use Gibson Creek!

We checked my Dad and Step Mother into Gibson Creek when the hospital discharge my Step Mother after her stroke. They were helpful and accommodating to get them in very quickly. However, almost immediately they started to fail on the assisted living part. My Step Mother didn't get her critical blood thinner medication for three days resulting in an emergency room visit. We lost all faith in the Gibson Creek facility and officially submitted our 30 day notice to move out. The family moved them out within a week. My step sister moved in during that week to make sure my Step Mother was provided with her critical medications. I would not use Gibson Creek Assisted living facility under any circumstance. Your loved one may not survive it.


5.0
July 10, 2019
Anonymous - Toured community

Looks nice got all the info I needed on today's tour.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

July 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your Tour today. We are happy that you got all of the information needed.


4.0
July 3, 2019
Luanne Smith - Loved one of resident/client
Great, caring staff

Our dad has lived at Gibson Creek for two years. My brothers and I really appreciate the staff who take care of him and the way they relate to him. They do a terrific job. There are lots of activities to take part in, though he doesn't participate, but he does enjoy the entertainers that come in. The staff has worked with us to try to accommodate our dad's increasing needs.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

July 16, 2019

Thank you, Luanne for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience with Gibson Creek by Bonaventure. We greatly appreciate it.


5.0
January 25, 2019
Anonymous - Industry reviewer
Recommend Gibson Creek by Bonaventure

I have spent time in the Gibson Creek community and the staff are always professional and courteous. I have spoken to several residents at this community and the majority of them seem very happy and they all seem to be well cared for. That is something I appreciated. I would absolutely recommend this community.


0.5
July 31, 2018
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Don't pick anything Bonaventure!

The food is horrible, usually served cold and the vast majority of it is pre-processed/frozen. Salads are made with greens that should have been thrown out long ago, meat portions are horrifically small, even for seniors. Staff training is not something they pride themselves on. Staff turnover is the highest I have ever seen. Housekeeping is also atrocious. Read the other reviews for this place before considering it... Yelp, google, glassdoor. Look for Bonaventure reviews online. Very bad reputation.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

January 25, 2019

We are sorry about your experience, however we want to assure that there have been several changes to how things operate over the past 6 months including menu options. We would like to invite anyone interested in taking a tour of our community to come in and have a meal on us. If you have any additional questions you can email gmansfield (at) livebsl dot com


3.0
October 27, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Nice, but Not a Good Fit For Us

I toured Gibson Creek while looking at living options for my mother. Overall, I thought that the community was nice, but we were being shown independent cottages there. I decided that that wasn’t right for her. I really wanted my mother to be in a one building setting so she could be closer to the care she needs, so we chose another community for her.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

October 31, 2017

Thank you so much! We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent tour of our Gibson Creek community. We hope your mom is happy and you are more than welcome to reach out anytime with any additional thoughts or questions: Gashby (at) livebsl.com.


5.0
August 17, 2017
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A comfortable tour for care.

We toured this community for care. The staff were nice and informed me of what was available at the time. We would of like the cottages, but at the time they had a waiting list. They offer good activities for the residents to participate. We would recommend this community for a good value.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

September 20, 2017

Thank you so much! We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent tour of our Gibson Creek community.


5.0
April 10, 2017
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Mom's Happy Care

This is a good community with great care. My mom does like the care from the staff. The meals are good and she is liking the variety. We are pleased to know that she is happy. They do have activities that are offered to the residents. We would recommend the care and the good value to other families for loved ones care.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

Thank you for your Feedback. We are happy that you are happy. We appreciate that based on your mother's experience, you would recommend us. Please feel free to send any additional feedback to [removed]


3.0
December 29, 2016
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
A Fine Community

I enjoyed see all that this community has. The care and staff were good. The activities and environment was fine. After getting the price to live here it was too expensive. I could not see myself here at that price.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback. It is appreciated. We love hearing that you enjoyed what our community has to offer, however we are sorry to hear that the price was a deciding factor for you to not move in. We strive to price ourselves competitively based on the value of what we offer our residents. Please feel free to provide any additional feedback to [removed]


3.5
December 12, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I would not recommend this community.

The care is not the greatest. They have a younger staff of marginal caregivers. They do not offer call buttons the residents can wear they use pull cords. The food is decent if you are in the dining room. If you pay extra and have the food brought to your room it is usually cold. The community is clean. The maintenance could be a little better. I feel mom is safe here it is just not a top notch place.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

We appreciate and value your feedback. At Bonaventure we are always looking fore ways to improve. Please feel free to send any additional feedback to [removed]


5.0
June 7, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It's A Very Nice Place

The community is very nice and up kept. The staff did care for my mom but they could have been a little more helpful like helping her walk around. For the most part my mom was clean but I did notice the staff were not doing their best at picking up after Mom. The food seemed decent and my mom had choices to pick from. My mom felt she was out of place and it did not fit her needs so I would recommend this community if it fits the right person.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

Your honest feedback is truly appreciated. Please feel free to send any additional comments to [removed]


4.5
March 24, 2016
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Great People

The first month for my mother here was great. This is a lovely community. The community is very clean and well-kept. The staff here is very kind and helpful to my mother and her needs. The community does offer nice activities for the residents, and my mother loves the food. I would suggest this community for anyone to take a look at.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback and positive review. Bonaventure focuses on offering different activities and menu options for our residents to choose from. We are happy that you and your mother are happy. Please feel free to send us any additional feedback to [removed]


1.0
November 15, 2015
Sonya Henny - Loved one of resident/client
Awful....

Gibson creek was a nightmare. Document everything as they will "not remember" or staff attrition will conveniently disrupt any continuity for requests made prior to the transition. Just watch closely, should you decide to move your loved one here - particularly if they have higher level needs. Buyer beware is the best way to sum it up....

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

January 25, 2019

Sonya, We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our Gibson Creek community. We want to ensure you, and everyone else that there have been many changes over the last few years for the better. There will always be some sort of transition in the senior living industry with a communities employees. We want to make sure we always have the best staff in place for our residents.


0.5
November 6, 2015
Anonymous
Verified Review
horrible place

Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living was a horrible place. The ownership company and it's operations officer is worst [removed] When I moved her I moved her into a one bedroom unit and I was setting her up with medicaid but medicaid wont pay if they are in a one bedroom. The manager said it was fine and the family would just pay the difference between a studio and a one bedroom. Well, that turned out not to be the case and they had to move her into a studio. [removed] Her call light was under blankets to where she couldn't even get to it. The staff didn't even know she was in building when I called to check on her. They charged us for things they weren't provided. It was just a terrible experience. I would not recommend this facility.


4.0
June 16, 2015
Anonymous - Toured community
Verified Review
Seemed nice overall, rooms too small for us

We toured this community while looking into senior living options for a loved one. I toured quite a few in the area and Gibson Creek was one of the ones I really liked. The staff here seemed very friendly and kind to the residents, and I liked that the community was all on one floor. However, the rooms were just too small for Mom's taste, she wouldn't have been comfortable.

Response from Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

December 28, 2017

We appreciate your honest feedback of our Gibson Creek Community! Please feel free to send any additional feedback to [removed]


3.0
May 18, 2015
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
It is fine but it's short of staff

The main issue I have is that they are short of staff. The facility itself is nice and clean. Overall it has been fine. It's working out because the facility is very close to where I live. That is why we chose this facility. It has been fine but the staff could use some improvement. They are friendly and kind but could use more employees. Other than that it is okay.


Neighborhood around Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living in google map

Frequently Asked Questions about Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living

Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living offers Studio, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedrooms. Learn more.

Gibson Creek Retirement Cottage & Assisted Living has received an average review rating of 2.9 based on 29 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Salem, OR

1 / 3

Prestige Senior Living Orchard Heights

695 Orchard Heights Road Northwest, Salem, OR 97304
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(23 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Brookdale River Road

592 Bever Drive Northeast, Keizer, OR 97303
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.1

(12 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Bonaventure at Keizer Station

5525 Mcleod Ln NE, Keizer, OR 97303
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.8

(3 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

The Village at Keizer Ridge

1165 McGee Court NE, Keizer, OR 97303
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(10 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Coral Springs RCF

2520 Coral Ave NE, Salem, OR 97305
$X,XXX+ monthly

2.5

(3 reviews)

Studio

Reflections Memory Care

2480 Coral Avenue NE, Salem, OR 97305
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.9

(7 reviews)

1bd

Cedar Village Assisted Living & Memory Care

4452 Lancaster Drive Northeast, Salem, OR 97305
$X,XXX+ monthly

3.7

(22 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Madrona Hills

707 Madrona Avenue Southeast, Salem, OR 97302
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(43 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Hidden Lakes

400 Madrona Avenue Southeast, Salem, OR 97302
$X,XXX+ monthly

4.4

(100 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.