A Place for Mom
Assisted Living
Veterans Resources
Independent Living
Memory Care
About Assisted Living

Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.

Complete guide to assisted living
About Care Homes

Residential care homes are shared neighborhood homes for seniors who need a live-in caregiver to assist with activities of daily living, like dressing and bathing.

More about care homes
Veterans Resources

VA benefits for long-term care, such as Aid and Attendance benefits, can help eligible veterans and their surviving spouses pay for senior care.

Guide to VA benefits for long-term care
About Home Care

Home care relies on trained aides to provide companionship and non-medical care for seniors living at home.

More about home care
About Independent Living

Independent living facilities offer convenient, hassle-free living in a social environment for seniors who are active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

Complete guide to independent living
About Memory Care

Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Complete guide to memory care
About Nursing Homes

Nursing homes provide short-and long-term care for seniors who have physical or mental health conditions that require 24-hour nursing and personal care.

Complete guide to nursing homes
About Senior Apartments

Senior apartments offer accessible, no-frills living for seniors who are generally active, healthy, and able to live on their own.

More about senior apartments

Bickford of Overland Park

10665 Barkley Street, Overland Park, KS 66212

Get pricing & check availability:

Please enter a valid full name.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

By clicking “Submit” you agree to our Terms of Use. You also consent that we, or our partner providers, may reach out to you using a system that can auto-dial; however, you do not need to consent to this to use our service. Our Privacy Policy describes information collection and use.

Bickford of Overland Park Community Exterior
Bickford of Overland Park in google map
street view of Bickford of Overland Park
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
5.0
Excellent staff!

Things are going swell and my mother is doing really well at Bickford of Overland Park. The staff is excellent! They just make everybody feel like they are at home. They go out of their way to help. They have residents who have been there longer pair with a new resident. They do a lot of activities, my mother is never in her room when I call anymore. They go on little field trips out of the place as well. The food I would rate a four and a half. They've struggled with keeping good kitchen staff.... Read more

Read all reviews

About the community Bickford of Overland Park

We began our quest into senior living because of our love for our beloved mother, Mary Bickford, whose needs became too great for us to manage.  As we researched senior living options, we were shocked at our findings.  The options offered too much or too little — none met her needs and nothing felt like home.  Since we couldn't find what we wanted, we decided to create what we needed.  Our main desire was to create a place that helped her achieve an equivalent peace and happiness that she had earlier in her life.

We understand that selecting a senior living community for your loved one is one of the toughest decisions that you will ever face. We will work with you to ensure that the transition is as easy and comfortable as possible. Whether your loved one is at home, in the hospital or even in another state, we can work with your hospital, insurance company, and doctor to make your difficult decision easier on you and your family.  Aging can be difficult — but we've also seen the beauty in aging.  Our mother's happiness inspired us.  We created Bickford for her and now we're devoted to serving...

Read More

Senior Living Options Offered

Assisted Living
Assisted Living
Assisted living facilities offer housing and care for active seniors who may need support with activities of daily living, like bathing, dressing, and medication management.
Memory Care
Memory Care
Memory care facilities provide housing, care, and therapies for seniors who have Alzheimer’s disease or other forms of dementia in an environment designed to reduce confusion and prevent wandering.

Pricing for Bickford of Overland Park

Total monthly costs depend on room type, select services, and the level of care needed.

Base fees by room type

Unlock Pricing
Studio
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo
Unlock Pricing
1 Bedroom
Starting at
$XXXX
/mo

*Prices quoted are monthly rental charges and are provided by the communities themselves. Actual prices may differ due to one-time fees, timing and care services required. Speak with your Senior Living Advisor to learn more.

Amenities at Bickford of Overland Park

Health Care Services

Diabetic care
Memory care
Incontinence care
Ambulatory care
Medication management

Staffing & ancillary services

Hospice Available On-Site
Doctor
Nurse
Podiatrist

Meals & Dining

Meals Provided
Guest Meals
Professional Chef
Restaurant Style Dining

Room Amenities

Wheelchair Accessible Showers
Bath Tubs
Respite or Short Term Stays Offered
Wi-Fi/high-speed internet
Kitchenette
Ground Floor Units

Community Amenities

Memory care services

Wander Guard or Similar System Available
Secured Community
Designed Specifically to Accommodate Memory Loss
Memory Care Only Community

Transporation & parking

Resident Parking Available
Complimentary Transportation
Transportation at Cost
Property Convenient to Public Transit

Common areas

Outdoor Common Areas
Indoor Common Areas
Beauty Salon
Central Fireplace

Services

Beautician
Housekeeping
Laundry Service / Drycleaning

Pets

Cats Allowed
Dogs Allowed

Languages spoken

Spanish

Primary language spoken by staff

English

Recreational areas

Arts and Crafts Center
Jacuzzi
Piano or Organ
Raised Garden Beds

On-site dining options

Café or Bistro
Private Dining Room

Activities

Devotional Activities On-Site
Devotional Activities Offsite
Visiting Chaplain or Priest
Catholic Services

Reviews for Bickford of Overland Park

3.9

(47 reviews)

Write a Review

Cleanliness

3.9

Care services

3.9

Staff

5.0

Meals & dining

No data collected

Activities

4.0

Value for cost

3.9

Sort
Filters
Rating
Reviewer

Verified Review
A Place for Mom has verified the person writing the review and their connection to the community
Next Reviews PagePrevious Reviews Page
21-40 of 47 reviewsBack to top
1.0
May 24, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Steer away from High Occupancy Facilities

We became very dissatisfied with Bickford in very short time. My wife had been at Bickford for less than 3 weeks and it became abundantly clear that she was getting VERY little supervision - almost no help with the tasks we discussed in her assessment. There were several VERY serious problems that believe are a result of a grossly UNDER staffed facility. Bickford has 28 rooms - it appears that they maintain occupancy of 25 - 27 residents at any given time. From our experience in the initial 30 days of my wifes stay at Bickford it became VERY problematic regarding the UNDER staffing business model of their facility. ESPECIALLY on Weekends! Out of anger and frustration I moved Peggy into another Memory Care place - Care Haven Homes - It appears that Care Haven Homes uses a business model that is MUCH more attuned to delivering the necessary level of care for their Residents. Without going into great detail I will simply state the I would NOT recommend Bickford. However, I would like to say that I believe the major problem with Bickford is their Business Model - obviously their primary concern is NOT delivery of good care but it is to keep Maximum possible occupancy wile keeping operating costs at a minimum - Hence the understaffing problem. I can only surmise that this is NOT unique to Bickford - but that probably would be common with Facilities that house more than 20 Residents under the same roof. I do NOT believe it is possible to adequately deliver necessary services to that many (20+) Residents in one building/facility. Therefore I would recommend steering away from "Memory Care" operations that use that business model. Bickford failed us - my wife miserably.


5.0
March 9, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Excellent staff!

Things are going swell and my mother is doing really well at Bickford of Overland Park. The staff is excellent! They just make everybody feel like they are at home. They go out of their way to help. They have residents who have been there longer pair with a new resident. They do a lot of activities, my mother is never in her room when I call anymore. They go on little field trips out of the place as well. The food I would rate a four and a half. They've struggled with keeping good kitchen staff.


4.0
January 18, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
extremely happy, but a little understaffed

My mother is extremely happy there. There's not enough staff members to work with the residents they have there. Sometimes she does not get a shower and right not now, she is not able to care for herself. They need more staff there. Overall, a great place.


4.0
January 9, 2016
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Really Good To Work With

All I can say about the place is that every time we have had a request, they have always tried to work it out and have just been really good to work with. I can not think of any improvements that they can make.


5.0
November 12, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

Eso far things have gown very well. The staff seems very helpful and caring.


5.0
November 5, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client

They were great. Very helpful with this transition for my mom. Very happy, clean and caring place. My mom is very happy so far.


5.0
October 6, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
very pleased

Overall I am very pleased with Bickford of Overland Park. The facility is clean. The staff are friendly. She is getting good care. It has been a good experience. I have no complaints about this facility.


5.0
August 22, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
I Would Recommend Them

Well my loved one says that the food there is very good and he also likes staying there. He likes all the staff and they take really good care of him. I would recommend Bickford of Overland Park to anyone.


4.0
August 19, 2015
anonymous - Toured community

Security at the front door, friendly and helpful staff, clean facility with a homey, not institutional feel, very nice courtyard area and indoor walkway to memory care facility.


4.0
August 12, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Totally Impressed!

I don't give a 5 to hardly anything because nothing is perfect, unless it is perfect! I'm happy with all things regarding care and the staff. My mother is very picky with food, but all the times I've been there and I've seen what they served, its always hot, and always seems to be fresh. I was just there Monday, and I'd say on that aspect of it I can find no concerns or anything that I would complain about. Everytime I've been there, the staff has been great, everyone is extremely respectful, loving, patient with the residents, they are phenomenal.


5.0
May 19, 2015
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review

Staff are friendly and provide what I see as quality care.


4.0
April 29, 2015
anonymous - Toured community

Nice Facility.. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Lots of interaction with the residents. Amanda did a great job of walking me through and providing the details and answers to my questions.


3.0
January 8, 2015
anonymous - Toured community

I toured this facility before signing up with A Place for Mom. The facility is clean, no odors noted. However, I was unsettled by the fact that a resident, on the second floor, was trying to go to her apartment to use the bathroom,(someone was coming with a key), and the person providing me with the tour, told the resident she would tell someone to assist her to get into her apartment and use the bathroom. We went downstairs and into the small dining/conference room, talked for a while longer, and she never told another staff member the resident was still waiting to get into her apartment. I won't be looking at this place any further, for my mom.


5.0
November 14, 2014
anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
experience has been very positive

My aunt loves doing the activities more than anything else in the world, and they provide some of the best! The experience for the entire family has been very positive. Any time we have questions they always provide very helpful answers and guidance. The only area I can even think of to improve is that there was a time or two where the soup has been too salty and not hot enough. Other than that, it has really been a really positive experience.


5.0
September 26, 2014
Anonymous - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Bickford of Overland Park: A wonderf...

Bickford of Overland Park: A wonderful, warm, and inviting place. My aunt was only there for a short time, but they were very good and caring to her. What I really liked about it, is that it's small. Everybody knows everybody.


4.0
January 2, 2014
Son - Toured community
Verified Review
Looked nice, but not right for Dad

The facility itself looked very nice, but I don't think it would have been right for my Dad. It was a larger community than what we were looking for, and I feel like with his memory issues it would have been very easy for Dad to get lost. The price ceiling was also very high. It started with an amount we could afford but could almost double based on increasing care needs.


3.0
December 5, 2013
Cousin - Toured community
Verified Review
Jumbled Rooms

This was the first place I saw. They talked a good game, but I didn't think it was very clean and I felt like what they were telling me was maybe-so. I didn't like the way the rooms were -pretty junky. It looked like no one really seemed to care how to they looked aesthetically. Stuff was just stacked in a corner. The room that I looked at was jumbled. If it was a smaller place and they had good personal care, that would have been great, but I didn't see none of that going on when I was there. They had a class going when I was leaving, but when I came nothing was happening. Activities probably happen, but not on any sort of regular basis. She wouldn't have been happy there. Too much stuff was out of place. I wouldn't want to live in a place like this!


3.5
November 30, 2013
Brenda - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Why we changed facilities.

I was looking for a place that was willing to communicate with me by phone on how my mom was doing when things would come up that I should know about. I notice the staff are more personable with the residents and it is a smaller environment, but still offers the amenities that my mom is interested. In the beginning I thought bigger was better and I found this to be a wrong fit for my mom. Even though the beginning few weeks were very hard on my mom with the change the staff worked hard to handle the problems we were running into to get my mom to fit in. They had some staff changes right when we moved in which I was not very happy with but then people do change jobs and it seemed it was just bad timing on our part when we were moving in. I even notice spouses of the residents come and volunteer and I see more families visiting their loved ones. I think it is a good family atmosphere.


3.0
October 29, 2013
A Place For Mom Customer - Toured community
Verified Review
Very dark inside. The main...

Very dark inside. The main areas were not clean: soda cans and crumbs on the large dining table; food spilled on the menus; and an odor of urine when I came through the entrance. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate my needs.


3.0
September 9, 2013
Ella from Pennsylvania - Loved one of resident/client
Verified Review
Adequate

That was okay. We moved mom there simply to rehab from a broken leg. The care was adequate. My mom was the best memory wise and relationship wise (compared to the other residents) and you don't want that. The meals would be one hour before service. I don't know why, maybe they were lazy or something but they would get all the residents in and then it would be another hour before they ate. That was a conintuing problem. Mom recovered at Bickford from her broken leg.


Neighborhood around Bickford of Overland Park

See what the neighborhood has to offer and what’s nearby:

Frequently Asked Questions about Bickford of Overland Park

Bickford of Overland Park offers Studio and 1 Bedroom. Learn more.

Bickford of Overland Park has received an average review rating of 3.9 based on 47 reviews. See all reviews.


Similar Senior Communities Near Overland Park, KS

1 / 3

Park Meadows Senior Living

5901 W. 107th Street, Overland Park, KS 66207

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(96 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

We can’t wait for you to call Park Meadows Senior Living in Overland Park, Kansas, home. This Kansas City suburb offers Midwestern charm alongside big city venues, cultural centers, and museums set against a backdrop almost as pastoral as a John Steuart Curry painting. With nearly 45 golf courses...

Senior Star at Wexford Place

6500 North Cosby Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64151

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.2

(86 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Senior Star at Wexford Place! Wexford Place is an independent living, assisted living, and state-of-the-art memory support community located in the heart of "The Northland" in Kansas City, Miissouri. It's a community filled with friendship and lots of ways to enjoy a life full of...

Senior Star at Villa Ventura

12100 Wornall Road, Kansas City, MO 64145

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(50 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Welcome to Senior Star at Villa Ventura! Villa Ventura is an independent and assisted living community located near the southern edge of Kansas City. It's a community filled with friendship, sunshine, and lots of ways to enjoy a life full of purpose. Inside Villa Ventura, residents gather for...

Glenwood Village of Overland Park

9201 Foster St, Overland Park, KS 66212

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.0

(54 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Glenwood Village of Overland Park provides assisted living and memory care services to seniors in the Overland Park, Kansas area. The city of Overland Park has excellent healthcare and recreational options, making it an ideal place for retirement.Our spacious apartments come with all of the...

Sunrise of Leawood

11661 Granada, Leawood, KS 66211

$X,XXX+ monthly

3.6

(58 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Sunrise of Leawood is an assisted living community in Leawood, Johnson County, Kansas that specializes in long and short-term memory care stays. The community is conveniently located in an affluent suburb, that's south of I-435 in the Kansas City Metropolitan Area. Leawood is nestled between...

The Parkway Senior Living

550 NE Napoleon Dr, Blue Springs, MO 64014

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.3

(48 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd

Opened in 2015 - The Parkway Senior Living Community is the first continuing care community in the Blue Springs, Missouri area. The Parkway is designed for the convenience and satisfaction of residents. All services and amenities are provided with attentiveness and professionalism to ensure...

Legend at Capital Ridge

1931 SW Arvonia Pl, Topeka, KS 66615

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.6

(41 reviews)

Studio, 1bd

Legend at Capital Ridge is an assisted living and memory care residence committed to providing quality services in an inviting, comfortable environment. We offer professional, personalized services designed to enhance the quality of life for those we serve. We remain dedicated to those who...

Sunrise of Lenexa

15055 West 87th Street Parkway, Lenexa, KS 66215

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(46 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, 2bd, Semi-Private

Step into a Sunrise Assisted Living community and you can't help but feel at home. We stop at nothing to make your experience warm and inviting, from our homelike exterior architecture, to our comfortable community areas and choice of suites to our exceptional outdoor gardens and landscaping....

Morningside Place Memory Care

6921 W 81st Street, Overland Park, KS 66204

$X,XXX+ monthly

4.1

(45 reviews)

Studio, 1bd, Semi-Private

Morningside Place, an Anthem Memory Care Community is an assisted living conveniently located in the beautiful, upscale city of Overland Park, Johnson County, Kansas. With easy access to four major Interstate highways and a less than forty minute drive from Kansas City International Airport,...

The features and amenities that are displayed on this page contain marketing information provided by the community. A Place for Mom has not confirmed the completeness of the provided information, and cannot guarantee its accuracy.

To conduct a complete investigation, seniors and their families should:

  • Tour any listed location to confirm the accuracy of the community description
  • Confirm that the community offers services that are required for the senior’s specific needs and budget
  • Check additional licensing and state audit information

If you become aware of any information that should be updated or noted, please contact A Place for Mom.

A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It does not indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.